DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the control display device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde et al. (US 2018/0289886, hereinafter Hyde), in view of Dalke et al. (US 6,071,258, hereinafter Dalke), in view of Fallen et al. (US 2003/0163078, hereinafter Fallen), and further in view of Aguglia (US 2008/0169935).
Regarding claim 1, Hyde teaches a heart lung machine (HLM) (medical apparatus system 10, fig. 1A; [0064]: FIGS. 1A through 5 illustrate a console 8 of a medical apparatus system 10, and more specifically illustrate by example an apparatus system 10 configured as a medical bypass machine such as a heart-lung machine (i.e., a cardiopulmonary bypass machine)), comprising:
a trolley (console 8 as shown in fig. 1 is a trolley with wheels) comprising a base (base 12, fig. 1A) and a mast assembly (plurality of masts 52, fig. 1A and [0067]: the fixed masts 52 are arranged as two front masts 54 and two rear masts 56) coupled to the base and extending upwards (extending vertically with respect to the base) from the base ([0065]: The medical apparatus system 10 comprises a console 8 is which is illustrated in FIG. 1A as having a base 12 (or base portion/chassis) and a frame 14 (or frame portion) that is connected to the base 12 and generally is mounted to be on top of the base 12; [0012]: the frame has one or more masts connected to and extending vertically with respect to the base; [0066]: The console 8 is shown in the figures to have a plurality of masts 52 that extend vertically from a frame support surface 50 to a shelf 62. The masts 52 are generally fixed with respect to the frame and support surface 50);
a plurality of pumps coupled to the mast (mast mounted pumps 170, fig. 1A; [0066]: The masts 52 are generally fixed with respect to the frame and support surface 50, and are useful for having directly or indirectly attached to them various peripheral attachments such as mast-mounted pumps 170; [0080]: FIG. 19 shows an auxiliary display 232 mounted to the shelf front rail 74 and the mast mounted pump 170 attached to one of the vertical masts (e.g., fixed mast 52));
a plurality of actuator control units (ACUs) (controls 22, fig. 1A, fig. 3), each of the plurality of ACUs operably connected to one of the plurality of pumps (fig. 1A shows a plurality of controls 22 are connected to a plurality of pump modules 16; fig. 3 shows plurality of controls 22 to control pumps 170 attached to the masts; [0065]: Each of the two types of pump modules 16 have one or more roller pump heads 18 that comprise a raceway for receiving the tubing of one or more cardiopulmonary circuits. The console pump modules 16 further comprise an integral display 20 and one or more controls 22 for controlling their respective pump speeds and resulting flow rates of fluid conveyed through the tubing connected to the pumps. The console pump modules 16 further comprise an integral display 20 and one or more controls 22 for controlling their respective pump speeds and resulting flow rates of fluid conveyed through the tubing connected to the pumps);
a control assembly (plurality of auxiliary displays 232, fig. 1A, fig. 3 and fig. 19) comprising a control display (fig. 1A shows a plurality of auxiliary displays 232, each comprising a display screen and one or more knobs that act as input device) and a plurality of input control devices (fig. 1A shows a plurality of auxiliary displays 232, each comprising a display screen and one or more knobs that act as input device), operably connected to one of the plurality of pumps ([0080]: an auxiliary display 232 used to monitor and control a mast mounted pump 170. FIG. 19 shows an auxiliary display 232 mounted to the shelf front rail 74 and the mast mounted pump 170 attached to one of the vertical masts (e.g., fixed mast 52). Other variations of auxiliary display 232 mounting may of course be possible, such as the embodiment shown in FIG. 1A; as shown in fig. 1A, input devices such as knobs of the auxiliary display 232 controls the plurality of mast mounted pumps 170);
wherein the control display is coupled to the mast (fig. 1A shows a plurality of auxiliary displays 232 coupled to mast 56); and
a peripheral display (primary display module 6, fig. 1A; [0066]: The console pumps may be controlled directly by an operator or through a primary module display 6 (see FIG. 1) to the extent the display 6 includes control functionality as for example may be implemented via a touch-screen interface) coupled to the mast at a location spaced apart from the control display (fig. 1A shows the primary display module 6 is attached to the mast assembly at a different location than the auxiliary display 232);
However, Hyde does not explicitly teach a venous reservoir coupled to the mast; an oxygenator coupled to the mast; wherein the control display is configured to display set of parameter data associated with operation of HLM, the set of parameter data including a representation of a parameter value and an associated indication; wherein the control display is coupled to the mast proximate the venous reservoir and the oxygenator; and the peripheral display configured to display a plurality of HLM parameter values.
Dalke teaches a venous reservoir (reservoir 38, fig. 1) coupled to the mast (mast 22, fig. 1 or mast 108, fig. 6; col. 7 lines 65-60: An assembly of the oxygenator, heat exchanger and reservoir ("oxygenator assembly") 20 is mounted on a mast 22 with a swing arm 24; col. 8 lines 8-11: Venous line clamp 58, which can also be disposed on mast 22, is used to regulate venous flow to the reservoir 38 of the oxygenator assembly 20; col. 12 lines 5-8: The masts 108 can be used to mount the oxygenator, the venous clamp, a light fixture, the crystalloid solution (none shown), etc., and the mounting crossbar 110 can be used to mount writing surfaces (not shown), etc.); an oxygenator (oxygenator 44, fig. 1) coupled to the mast (mast 22, fig. 1 or mast 108, fig. 6; col. 8 lines 36-41: The cardiopulmonary pump loop 64 comprises a line connected to a second reservoir port 40 which is threaded through a peristaltic pump head 14 of a pump assembly 12 (mast 22; col. 7 lines 65-60: An assembly of the oxygenator, heat exchanger and reservoir ("oxygenator assembly") 20 is mounted on a mast 22 with a swing arm 24; FIG. 1), and which connects with a first oxygenator port 42 to transport blood from the reservoir 38 to the oxygenator 44; col. 12 lines 5-8: The masts 108 can be used to mount the oxygenator, the venous clamp, a light fixture, the crystalloid solution (none shown), etc., and the mounting crossbar 110 can be used to mount writing surfaces (not shown), etc.); wherein the control display (display monitor 30, fig. 1 or display monitor 106, fig. 6) is configured to display set of parameter data associated with operation of HLM (displaying blood parameters, including without limitation blood gases, arterial and venous oxygen saturation, hematocrit, anticoagulation time, pH, hemoglobin, electrolytes (potassium, sodium, calcium, etc.), temperature, pressure, reservoir blood level and cardioplegia line and arterial line air bubbles; col. 5 lines 15-36: A parameter monitoring assembly is an assembly that monitors and may display patient or blood parameters, including without limitation blood gases, arterial and venous oxygen saturation, hematocrit, anticoagulation time, pH, hemoglobin, electrolytes (potassium, sodium, calcium, etc.), temperature, pressure, reservoir blood level and cardioplegia line and arterial line air bubbles. The monitoring assembly may also monitor and regulate the composition of feed gases (O.sub.2, CO.sub.2 and N.sub.2) conveyed to the oxygenator, or may regulate a venous clamp for controlling flow from the patient to the reservoir or oxygenator. The controller can collect and monitor input from the parameter monitoring assembly, from other temperature or pressure sensors, or bubble or reservoir level detectors or the like, transmit that information to the display monitor for display, and may process the information to regulate pump assemblies. As used herein, a parameter monitoring assembly can measure, monitor and display parameters; in contrast, the controller receives information from monitoring assemblies or other sensors or detectors, processes such information, and transmits the information for display; col. 9 lines 57-64: The parameter monitoring assembly is a unit that measures a blood or patient parameter such as blood hematocrit, anticoagulation time, hemoglobin, pH, temperature, pressure, reservoir blood level, arterial or cardioplegia line air bubbles, electrolytes (potassium, sodium, calcium, etc.), venous or arterial oxygen saturation or blood gases. The parameter monitoring assembly may also comprise a venous clamp used to regulate flow to the oxygenator assembly, and may also monitor relative proportions of O.sub.2, CO.sub.2, and N.sub.2 conveyed to the oxygenator; col. 12 lines 3-5: The display monitor 106 can be used for display of parameters or other information, and for input by the perfusionist); and wherein the control display (display monitor 30, fig. 1 or display monitor 106, fig. 6) is coupled to the mast proximate the venous reservoir and the oxygenator (col. 9 lines 37-41: the display monitor could be mounted on mast 22, 26, 80, 82, or crossbar 32; col. 8 lines 2-5: A display monitor 30 is mounted on mast 26, and is electronically connected to the central control unit 18 by wiring outside mast 26; col. 11 line 63 - col. 12 line 8: An alternative embodiment which retains the advantages of the canted front surface of the stack as discussed herein relative to FIG. 3, but is not limited to a centralized oxygenator design is illustrated in FIG. 6. This apparatus features two single-head pump assemblies 98 and two double-head assemblies 100. The controller functions are distributed throughout the console 102 and in the controller box 104. The display monitor 106 can be used for display of parameters or other information, and for input by the perfusionist. The masts 108 can be used to mount the oxygenator, the venous clamp, a light fixture, the crystalloid solution (none shown), etc., and the mounting crossbar 110 can be used to mount writing surfaces (not shown), etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Dalke’s knowledge of using a venous reservoir and an oxygenator as taught and modify the device of Hyde because such a perfusion control system has improved operator access to its oxygenator, pump modules, fluid tubing and other components, and the improved perfusion control system has particular applicability in open-heart surgery (col. 1 lines 6-10).
Fallen teaches the peripheral display (monitor 140 and 142, fig. 1 and fig. 7) configured to display a plurality of HLM parameter values (T.E.E. and DLP negative pressure transducer information corresponds to a plurality of HLM parameter values; [0055]: T.E.E. and DLP negative pressure transducer information are displayed on monitors 140 and 142). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Fallen’s knowledge of displaying a plurality of data on the peripheral display as taught and modify the device of Hyde and Dalke because such a system displays all the relevant information to the user on various displays and thereby enhances user experience.
Aguglia teaches the set of parameter data including a representation of a parameter value (fig. 1 shows alphanumeric display 26 for displaying numerical indications of values measured by the measuring device 15; [0022]: values measured by a measuring device 15; [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; [0025]: The display 20 further comprises an alphanumeric display 26, for example an alphanumeric display having three digits comprised each of 7 segments and a dot. Such an alphanumeric display 26 is configured, for example, for displaying numerical indications of values measured by the measuring device 15) and an associated indication (a plurality of icons 22 and a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; [0024]: the display 20, according to a preferred embodiment, comprises a plurality of icons 22, for example 4 icons, representing each a different sensor 15 connectable to the indicator 12; a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; [0028]: the temperature indication, by selecting among the icons 22, the icon representing a thermometer; [0029]: the indication of the unit of measure, by selecting among the units of measure 29.degree. C. (centigrade degrees) or .degree. F. (Fahrenheit)).
The combination of Hyde, Dalke and Fallen contains a “base” system comprising an HLM comprising various components and configured to display parameter data on a display device which the claimed invention can be seen as an “improvement” in that the parameter data includes a parameter value and an associated indication that is displayed on a display.
Aguglia contains known technique of displaying a parameter data including a parameter value and an associated indication on a display (fig. 1, fig. 2, [0020]-[0033]) that is applicable to the “base” system.
Aguglia’s known technique of displaying a parameter data including a parameter value and an associated indication on a display (fig. 1, fig. 2, [0020]-[0033]) would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as applicable to the “base” system of the combination of Hyde, Dalke and Fallen and the results would have been predictable and resulted in displaying parameter data including a parameter value and an associated indication which results in an improved process. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the associated indication (Aguglia - a plurality of icons 22 and a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; Aguglia - [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; Aguglia - [0024]: the display 20, according to a preferred embodiment, comprises a plurality of icons 22, for example 4 icons, representing each a different sensor 15 connectable to the indicator 12; a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; Aguglia - [0028]: the temperature indication, by selecting among the icons 22, the icon representing a thermometer; Aguglia - [0029]: the indication of the unit of measure, by selecting among the units of measure 29.degree. C. (centigrade degrees) or .degree. F. (Fahrenheit)) and the representation of the parameter value (Aguglia - fig. 1 shows alphanumeric display 26 for displaying numerical indications of values measured by the measuring device 15; Aguglia - [0022]: values measured by a measuring device 15; Aguglia - [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; Aguglia - [0025]: The display 20 further comprises an alphanumeric display 26, for example an alphanumeric display having three digits comprised each of 7 segments and a dot. Such an alphanumeric display 26 is configured, for example, for displaying numerical indications of values measured by the measuring device 15) are displayed in non-overlapping manner. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to display at least a portion of the associated indication overlapping at least a portion of the representation of the parameter value rather than displaying them in a non-overlapping manner as taught. Whether at least a portion of the associated indication is displayed overlapping at least a portion of the representation of the parameter value or displayed in non-overlapping manner is solely a matter of aesthetic design choice, and would not be sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the associated indication comprises an indication of measurement units (plurality of indicators of units of measure 29, fig. 2 - Aguglia; Aguglia - [0024]: the display 20, according to a preferred embodiment, comprises a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; Aguglia - [0029]: the indication of the unit of measure, by selecting among the units of measure 29.degree. C. (centigrade degrees) or .degree. F. (Fahrenheit)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the associated indication comprises a symbol (a plurality of icons 22; Aguglia - [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units;).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the representation of the parameter value has a greater line thickness than the associated indication (fig. 2 of Aguglia shows the alphanumeric display 26 (parameter value) has greater line thickness than alphanumeric display 29 (associated indication); Aguglia - [0022]: values measured by a measuring device 15; Aguglia - [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; Aguglia - [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; Aguglia - [0024]: the display 20, according to a preferred embodiment, comprises a plurality of icons 22, for example 4 icons, representing each a different sensor 15 connectable to the indicator 12; a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; Aguglia - [0025]: The display 20 further comprises an alphanumeric display 26, for example an alphanumeric display having three digits comprised each of 7 segments and a dot. Such an alphanumeric display 26 is configured, for example, for displaying numerical indications of values measured by the measuring device 15; Aguglia - [0028]: the temperature indication, by selecting among the icons 22, the icon representing a thermometer; Aguglia - [0029]: the indication of the unit of measure, by selecting among the units of measure 29.degree. C. (centigrade degrees) or .degree. F. (Fahrenheit)).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the peripheral display (auxiliary display 232, fig. 1 and fig. 19) is coupled to the mast at a location higher than the control display (display 6, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the peripheral display (Hyde - auxiliary display 232, fig. 1 and fig. 19) is larger than the control display (Hyde - display 6, fig. 1). However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the peripheral display be larger than the control display. Whether the peripheral display is larger than the control display or smaller than the control display is solely a matter of aesthetic design choice, and would not be sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Claims 4 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde, in view of Dalke, in view of Fallen, in view of Aguglia, and further in view of Ranucci (US 2015/0272487).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the associated indication comprises an indication of a parameter (Aguglia - [0023]: The display 20 (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2) comprises a plurality of display entities (entities), 22, 25, 26, 28, 29 respectively, that are selectively actuatable and that are arranged for displaying, for example, graphical symbols and/or measured values and/or measurement units; Aguglia - [0024]: the display 20, according to a preferred embodiment, comprises a plurality of icons 22, for example 4 icons, representing each a different sensor 15 connectable to the indicator 12; a plurality of indicators of units of measure 29; Aguglia - [0028]: the temperature indication, by selecting among the icons 22, the icon representing a thermometer).
The combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia does not explicitly teach the associated indication comprises an indication of a parameter name.
Ranucci teaches the associated indication comprises an indication of a parameter name (displaying parameter name such as temperature underneath element 55 displaying the temperature value, Time (min) underneath element 56 displaying the time value, etc. as shown in fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ranucci’s knowledge of displaying a representation of a parameter value and associated parameter indication such as parameter name or parameter and modify the system of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia because such a system enables a user to easily understand the displayed information and also alerts a user of a potentially dangerous situation when the parameter value crosses a threshold level by triggering an alarm ([0125]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia does not explicitly teach the HLM of claim 1, wherein the peripheral display is configured to display real-time waveform traces.
Ranucci teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the peripheral display is configured to display real-time waveform traces (graphical pattern as displayed in fig. 7 and fig. 8; [0122]: As shown in FIG. 7, the DO2i value is visualized in real time in a window 53 of the display 11 and as a graphical pattern 52 (as a function of time). The display 11 is provided with a chronometer window 56 showing the time passed from the beginning of the CPB). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Ranucci’s knowledge of displaying data as waveforms and modify the system of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia because such a system enables a user to easily understand the displayed information and also alerts a user of a potentially dangerous situation when the parameter value crosses a threshold level by triggering an alarm ([0125]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen, Aguglia and Ranucci teaches the HLM of claim 14, wherein the control display is configured to display numerical representations of a current value (Ranucci - DO2i value displayed in window 53, fig. 8) from the real-time waveform traces (Ranucci - [0122]: As shown in FIG. 7, the DO2i value is visualized in real time in a window 53 of the display 11 and as a graphical pattern 52 (as a function of time). The display 11 is provided with a chronometer window 56 showing the time passed from the beginning of the CPB).
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde, in view of Dalke, in view of Fallen, in view of Aguglia, and further in view of Knoppert et al. (US 2018/0136823, hereinafter Knoppert).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the representation of the parameter value is displayed using larger font and the associated indication is displayed using smaller font (Aguglia – fig. 2 shows the parameter values are displayed in a larger font than the associated measurement unit).
However, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia does not explicitly teach data displayed with larger font is visible at a greater distance away from the control display device than data displayed with smaller font.
Knoppert teaches data displayed with larger font is visible at a greater distance away from the control display device than data displayed with smaller font ([0058]: The visibility of the information may be controlled by the font size, contrast, color and/or hue of the text displayed, or by the angle at which the users may view the display. For example, a smaller font size is harder to read from a distance than a larger font size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Knoppert’s knowledge of data with larger fonts is readable from a greater distance and apply it into the system of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia because such a system ensures that important data is displayed in larger font to be easily readable from a distance.
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde, in view of Dalke, in view of Fallen, in view of Aguglia, and further in view of Vukosavljevic et al. (US 2017/0255614, hereinafter Vukosavljevic).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia does not explicitly teach the HLM of claim 1, wherein the representation of the parameter value is brighter than the associated indication.
Vukosavljevic teaches different fonts can be displayed using different transparency levels ([0030]: The text of the first language 106 and/or the second language 110 can have graphical emphasis applied such as is related to font size and type, degrees of transparency (e.g., 50%), coloration, etc., that differentiate to the viewer the languages and which is on top (or underlying the other). This also includes graphical emphasis such as highlighting, italicization, and so on; claim 3: the overlay algorithm enable application of graphical emphasis to visually differentiate the text of the second language from the text of the first language; in order to differentiate the text of first language from the text of second language, the first text and the second text can be displayed using fonts of different transparency levels as shown in fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Vukosavljevic’s knowledge of using different transparency levels for displaying different information types and modify the system of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia to display the parameter values and parameter icons or parameter measurement units in fonts with different transparency levels because such a system enables a user to easily distinguish between different content or data.
Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use different brightness levels for the font of parameter value and for the font of the associated indication rather than using different transparency levels to emphasis differentiation between the font of parameter value and the font of the associated indication. Whether using transparency levels or brightness levels to differentiate between the font of parameter value and the font of associated indication is solely a matter of aesthetic design choice, and would not be sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia does not explicitly teach the HLM of claim 1, wherein the representation of the parameter value has a first font and the associated indication has a second font, the second font being different than the first font.
Vukosavljevic teaches the representation of the parameter value has a first font and the associated indication has a second font, the second font being different than the first font ([0030]: The text of the first language 106 and/or the second language 110 can have graphical emphasis applied such as is related to font size and type, degrees of transparency (e.g., 50%), coloration, etc., that differentiate to the viewer the languages and which is on top (or underlying the other). This also includes graphical emphasis such as highlighting, italicization, and so on; claim 3: the overlay algorithm enable application of graphical emphasis to visually differentiate the text of the second language from the text of the first language; in order to differentiate the text of first language from the text of second language, the first text and the second text can be displayed using fonts of different type and size). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Vukosavljevic’s knowledge of using different fonts for displaying different information types and modify the device of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia to display the parameter values and parameter icons or parameter measurement units in different fonts because such a system enables a user to easily distinguish between different content or data.
Claims 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyde, in view of Dalke, in view of Fallen, in view of Aguglia, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2016/016394, hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia does not explicitly teach the HLM of claim 1, wherein the set of parameter data displayed on the control display is a subset of the HLM parameter values displayed on the peripheral display.
Kang teaches the HLM of claim 1, wherein the set of parameter data displayed on the control display (first display corresponds to control display) is a subset of the HLM parameter values (control items) displayed on the peripheral display (second display corresponds to peripheral display; [0009]: a first display configured to display an ultrasound image; a control panel including a second display that is different from the first display and configured to display a plurality of control items related to the ultrasound image; and a controller configured to select at least one control item from among the plurality of control items based on a location of an input tool located on the second display, and to control the first display to display the selected at least one control item and an indicator representing the location of the input tool together with the ultrasound image). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Kang’s knowledge of displaying a subset of data on the first display as taught and modify the device of Hyde, Dalke, Fallen and Aguglia because such a system enhances user experience by allowing the user to focus on only the concerned parameter data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Silber et al. (US 2018/0142446) describes a controller stores a color assignment for each valve of the plurality of valves that assigns each valve a different color, the controller being configured to cause the light source of each input device to produce colored light in a color that matches the color of the valve to which the input device is assigned.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, none of the cited prior art references of record, teach, either individually or combination, “at least some of the plurality of pumps are controlled by both their connected ACU and one of the plurality of input control devices on the control assembly”.
Regarding claim 16, none of the cited prior art references of record, teach, either individually or combination, “the input control devices act in parallel to the ACUs for controlling in the associated pump”.
Regarding claims 17-19, none of the cited prior art references of record, teach, either individually or combination, “the base of the trolley includes an enclosure housing a plurality of additional actuator control units (ACUs)”.
Regarding claim 20, none of the cited prior art references of record, teach, either individually or combination, “each input control device includes a color matching a color assigned to a corresponding one of the ACUs”.
/JWALANT AMIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612