DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 depends upon claim 2. However, claim 2 has been cancelled. Examiner assumes Applicant intends for claim 4 to depend upon claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2017/0271866).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses a method of driving a display device, comprising: applying a reference voltage lower than a high power to a subpixel of a display panel through a reference line connected to the subpixel of the display panel before the high power is applied to the subpixel of the display panel for driving the display panel (fig. 1, ¶ 58-61; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, ELVSS is provided during short detection period Tsd before ELVDD is applied);
sensing the reference voltage applied to the subpixel of the display panel through the reference line before the high power is applied to the subpixel of the display panel to provide a reference voltage sensing value (fig. 1, ¶ 58-61; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd; when ELVDD is below Vref [“magnitude of the voltage ELVDD … increases over the magnitude of the reference voltage Vref”] then third control signal CON3 is enabled);
and diagnosing a state of the display panel on the basis of the reference voltage sensing value (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ 58-61; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd; third control signal CON3 enabled to shut down power converter 10),
wherein the reference voltage is sensed through a power line connected to the subpixel of the display panel (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ 58-61; see also figs. 12-14, ¶ 120-40; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim (US 2020/0074938).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display device comprising: a display panel for displaying images (figs. 12-13, display panel 300, ¶ 120-140);
a voltage circuit configured to apply a reference voltage to a subpixel of the display panel before a high power is applied to the subpixel for driving the display panel, the reference voltage lower than the high power (fig. 1, ¶ 58-61, power converter 10; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, ELVSS is provided during short detection period Tsd before ELVDD is applied);
a sensor configured to sense the reference voltage applied to the subpixel of the display panel before the high power is applied to the subpixel of the display panel to provide a reference voltage sensing value (fig. 1, ¶ 58-61, short detection unit 200; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd; when ELVDD is below Vref [“magnitude of the voltage ELVDD … increases over the magnitude of the reference voltage Vref”] then third control signal CON3 is enabled);
and a controller configured to diagnose a state of the display panel on the basis of the reference voltage sensing value (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ 58-61, voltage conversion unit 100 with control unit 130; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd; third control signal CON3 enabled to shut down power converter 10),
wherein the voltage circuit is configured to apply the reference voltage through a reference line connected to the subpixel of the display panel (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ 58-61; see also figs. 12-14, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVSS provided at first output electrode 110),
and wherein the sensor is configured to sense the reference voltage through a power line connected to the subpixel of the display panel (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ 58-61; see also figs. 12-14, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd).
Park fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor is configured to sense the reference voltage when transistors included in the subpixel of the display panel are in a non-driving state.
Kim teaches wherein the sensor is configured to sense the reference voltage when transistors included in the subpixel of the display panel are in a non-driving state (fig. 3, figs. 6-9, see ¶ 71-85, see also ¶ 52, e.g., 6T2C pixel configuration disclosed; see also figs. 18-19).
Park and Kim are both directed to short detection for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Park with the device of Kim since such a modification provides various combinations of transistors and capacitors when implementing a compensation circuit (Kim, ¶ 52) and may control a device having a high probability of a fire (Kim, ¶ 90).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein the sensor is included in a power supply for generating the high power (fig. 1, ¶ 58-61, short detection unit 200; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further teaches wherein the sensor is included in a data driver connected to the subpixel of the display panel (fig. 9, ¶ 85-90, short detecting unit 190 with sensor in data driver 140b; see also ¶ 97-106).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine the display panel to be in an abnormal state when the reference voltage sensing value is detected as a level below a reference value (figs. 1 and 3, ¶ 58-61, voltage conversion unit 100 with control unit 130; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd; when ELVDD is below Vref [“magnitude of the voltage ELVDD … increases over the magnitude of the reference voltage Vref”] then third control signal CON3 is enabled; third control signal CON3 enabled to shut down power converter 10).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US 2023/0215307).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Kim fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensor is configured to sense the reference voltage through a power line when the reference voltage applied through the reference line is transmitted through the power line of the display panel according to operation of a driving transistor included in the subpixel of the display panel.
Hwang teaches wherein the sensor is configured to sense the reference voltage through a power line when the reference voltage applied through the reference line is transmitted through the power line of the display panel according to operation of a driving transistor included in the subpixel of the display panel (figs. 9-11, ¶ 65-84, whether or not short occurs in OLED or driving transistor is measured through a first driving voltage line EVDD or a second driving voltage line EVSS).
Park in view of Kim and Hwang are both directed to short detection for OLED displays. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Park in view of Kim with the device of Hwang since such a modification can sense whether or not elements included in the subpixel have failed (Hwang, ¶ 65).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1 and 9, Applicant argues “the power converter of Park is not a sensor and does not sense, through a power line connected to a subpixel, a reference voltage applied to the subpixel through a reference line” (Remarks, p. 4).
Examiner disagrees. As previously discussed (see Final Rejection mailed 10/21/25, ‘Response to Arguments’ p. 7), Examiner considers the ELVSS voltage as the reference voltage as claimed (see Park, fig. 1, ¶ 58-61, short detection unit 200; see also figs. 12-13, ¶ 120-140; see also figs. 20-21, ¶ 173-181, voltage ELVDD decreases according to the decrease of ELVSS due to short during short detection period Tsd; when ELVDD is below Vref [“magnitude of the voltage ELVDD … increases over the magnitude of the reference voltage Vref”] then third control signal CON3 is enabled).
The rejection of the claims is maintained.
Conclusion
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626