DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5-10, and 12-14, claim 1 recites “the second end of the horizontal flange.” Although the claim recites a second end of the outer flange, the claim does not recite the claimed limitation. Therefore, the limitation lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 15, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 7,416,771 to Bailey in view of USPN 7,690,160 to Moller.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 5-8, 15, 17, and 18, Bailey teaches a modular interchangeable floor mat including a mat frame and a mat insert, wherein the mat frame includes a central portion having a plurality of integrally formed nibs spaced apart from each other (Bailey, Abstract, claim 1). Bailey teaches that the mat frame is desirably formed from a heat formable/curable, elastomer or rubber-like material such as a thermoplastic olefin elastomer (Id., column 4 lines 12-31, claim 12). Bailey teaches that olefins are preferred because of its low moisture retention and low specific gravity (Id., column 4 lines 7-15). Bailey teaches that the mat frame is formed from a mold (Id., column 4 line 66 to column 5 line 6). Bailey teaches that the mat insert may include a face layer comprising a woven and a textile fiber such as polypropylene (Id., column 2 lines 39-62). Bailey teaches that a peripheral edge of mat frame may include an integrally formed upwardly-extending wall, an inwardly-extending portion attached to wall and spaced-apart from central portion to define a peripherally-extending recess for receiving a peripheral edge of the mat insert (Id., column 3 lines 29-55, Fig. 8). Bailey teaches that the width of the recess may be sized to receive a peripheral edge of mat insert and hold the mat insert tightly in place relative to the mat frame (Id.). Bailey teaches that a peripheral edge may include a leg that extends laterally outward and downward from the peripheral edge of mat frame to form a downwardly open peripherally-extending channel (Id., column 3 lines 29-55, claims 9, 19, and 24). Note that as shown in at least Fig. 8, the leg is joined at the upper end of the wall and runs around the periphery, wherein the leg rests on the floor surface and the bottom surface of the central portion is substantially disposed in the floor plane. Additionally, Fig. 8 appears to show the upper surface of the inwardly extending portion running continuously into the top of the wall, wherein a cutout may be formed in the leg for providing a more aesthetically pleasing peripheral edge (Id., column 3 lines 29-55). Bailey teaches that the layers are attached together with an adhesive (Id., column 2 lines 39-62).
Bailey appears to teach the claimed structure, but does not appear to teach the claimed support ribs. However, Moller teaches a similar flooring system comprising ramps and a leading edge arranged adjacent to a support surface such as a floor (Moller, Abstract, column 4 lines 1-17). Moller teaches that the ramp includes an open webbed structure that supports the top surface, wherein the ramp is strong, lightweight, and inexpensive to manufacture (Id., column 1 line 56 to column 2 line 53, column 4 lines 41-46). Moller teaches that the ramp may comprise plastic or other material and is preferably injection molded (Id., column 4 lines 41-46). Note that as shown in at least Figures 1B and 3A-3C, the webbed structure appears to extend down to the floor and appears to be within the scope of the claimed flange support ribs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the floor mat system of Bailey, and including an open webbed support structure, as taught by Moller, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional floor mat having increased support to increase strength while being lightweight, and suitable for flooring applications.
Regarding claims 3 and 18, as set forth above and as shown in at least Fig. 8 of Bailey, the leg comprises a flat end that rests on the floor surface.
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 17, as shown at Fig. 8 of Bailey, the heights of the leg and overhang appear substantially the same, wherein the upper surface of the overhang appears substantially linear. Additionally, Moller suggests that a top surface includes a substantially horizontal portion (Moller, column 4 lines 1-17). Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the floor mat system of the prior art combination, wherein the upper surface is substantially linear, as taught by Moller, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional floor mat having the desired shape suitable for the intended application.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Moller, as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-8, 15, 17, and 18 above, and further in view of US Pub. No. 2008/0166521 to Kessler.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the prior art combination does not appear to teach that the woven carpet is ribbed or comprises parallel ribs. However, Kessler teaches a floor mat system having a plurality of floor mats and a frame assembly which prevents the floor mats from lifting and causing a tripping hazard to persons walking thereover (Kessler, Abstract). Kessler teaches that the frame assembly include outer frame members which are elongate, generally triangular shaped in cross-section, having an inner side surface with respective upper and lower flanges extending perpendicularly therefrom adapted to extend over a peripheral portion of the floor mats, and an angled upper surface which is tapered downwardly away from the upper flange (Id., column 3 line 21 to column 4 line 28, Figs. 2-5, claims 1-40). Kessler teaches that the outer frame members are placed on the floor, and have a floor mat abutting inner side surfaces between upper and lower flanges (Id., column 4 line 55 to column 5 line 11). Kessler teaches that the frame assembly and floor mats are attachable together (Id., column 2 lines 22-28). Kessler teaches ribs spaced apart from one another by a distance equal to their widths, having different heights creating a sculptured upper surface of the floor mat (Id., column 3 lines 39-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the floor mat system of the prior art combination, and including parallel ribs, as taught by Kessler, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional floor mat having the desirable texture and properties known in the art as being predictaby suitable for flooring applications.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Moller, as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-8, 15, 17, and 18, and further in view of USPN 6,332,293 to Kerr.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the prior art combination does not appear to teach the inclusion of silver ion additives. However, Kerr teaches a similar floor mat having antimicrobial characteristics, including a pile fiber upper surface and a rubber backing surface, wherein a metal based antimicrobial agent is disposed within both the fiber forming the upper surface and the rubber forming the backing surface, thereby providing antimicrobial character to the mat as a whole (Kerr, Abstract). Kerr teaches that the metal includes silver and metal oxides, and zinc oxide (Id., column 2 lines 47-65, Table II). It is reasonable for one of ordinary skill to expect that the silver recited would be silver ions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the floor mat system of the prior art combination, and including silver ions in the fiber layer and the elastomeric frame assembly, as taught by Kerr, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional floor mat having predictably beneficial antimicrobial properties.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Moller, as applied to claims 1, 3, 5-8, 15, 17, and 18, and further in view of GB 2,316,313 to Kelleher.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the prior art combination teaches that the layers are attached together with an adhesive (Bailey, column 2 lines 39-62). The prior art combination does not appear to teach the claimed adhesive. However, Kelleher teaches a dust control mat comprising a cured rubber backing layer bonded to a fabric layer (Kelleher, Abstract). Kelleher teaches that a suitable flexible washproof material e.g. plastics material or even cloth, can be secured with a washproof adhesive such as a cyanoacrylate glue, such that it is less liable to removal during use and laundering of the mat (Id., page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the floor mat system of the prior art combination, wherein the layers are bonded with a cyanoacrylate glue, as taught by Kelleher, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional floor mat having layers attached with an adhesive known in the art as being suitable for bonding layers of mats, which is washproof and less liable to removal during use and laundering.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are moot based on the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER Y CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786