DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on April 27, 2026.
Claims 1, 3, and 9-13 are currently amended. The Examiner notes that in the Response dated April 27, 2026, Claims 9-13 were, in fact, amended but were identified as being “Previously Presented.”
Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the outstanding Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f):
The outstanding 35 USC 112(f) claim interpretation analyses for the terms “evaluation unit” and “behavior module” are maintained.
Regarding the outstanding Claim Objections:
The outstanding claim objection of claim 3 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments deleting “designed as”.
Regarding the outstanding 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) Rejections:
The outstanding 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 9-12 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments deleting “body” in each of the claims, replacing it with the term “vehicle”, and thus, correcting the antecedent basis issue in each of the claims.
Regarding the outstanding 35 U.S.C. § 102 and §103 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new ground of rejection is made in view of Acosta, et al. (US Patent 11,348,440 B1).
The outstanding 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are withdrawn, in view of Applicant’s amendments. However, new grounds of rejection have been made in view of Applicant’s amendments as laid out in detail below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Evaluation unit” in claim 1. The originally filed specification, in [0020], states the its structural association, “the electronic control unit 7 has an evaluation unit 8, which uses the signals from the sensors 14 to determine whether there is a leak or whether the cabin 5 and/or the semi-trailer 3 or trailer is leak-proof, i.e. has no leak.”
“Behavior Module” in claims 1, 13, and 14. The originally filed specification, in [0022], states the its structural association, “the electronic control unit 7 has a behavior module 12 that can plan and control the driving behavior of the autonomous vehicle 1 by activating actuators 13 of the vehicle 1 for longitudinal and lateral control, for example accelerator, brakes and steering.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, et al. (Publication US 2018/0050704 A1) in view of Maitre (Publication US 2023/0206703 A1) and Acosta, et al. (US Patent 11,348,440 B1) (hereinafter referred to as “Tascione”, “Maitre”, and “Acosta”.)
As per claim 1, Tascione discloses a vehicle, comprising at least one sensor arranged inside the vehicle, the at least one sensor being configured to detect a vehicle leak, and an electronic control unit configured to evaluate signals from the at least one sensor [see at least Tascione [0044] "The resolution engine 240 can process the AV system report 262 to determine whether a particular fault condition can be resolved, mitigated, or ignored, or whether the fault condition is critical to the safe operation of the SDV. … In some examples, such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate). If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. "],
wherein the electronic control unit has an evaluation unit, which is configured to use the signals to determine whether or not there is a leak [see at least Tascione [0038] "...Still further, the diagnostic data 109 from the operational components 155 of the vehicle 100, or the ECU(s) 180, can indicate any fault conditions with the vehicle's power unit and chassis control systems—..., to relatively major hydraulic fluid leaks, tire failures, or broken components. Thus, the diagnostic data 109 can be received by the diagnostic system 160 from any number of AV systems."];
wherein the vehicle is configured to be an autonomous vehicle [see at least Tascione [0009] "An on-board diagnostic system for an autonomous vehicle (AV) is provided herein that can independently monitor and manage all of the AV systems. Such AV systems can include each of the sensor systems,…"],
wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in a respective sensor chamber in order to detect a substance leaking … [see at least Tascione [0044] "...In some examples, such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate). If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. The AV control system 292 can travel to a destination to make a drop off or fulfill some current obligation before driving the SDV to a servicing station to repair the tire."],
wherein the electronic control unit also has a behavior module, which is configured to plan and control a driving behavior of the vehicle by controlling longitudinal and lateral control actuators of the vehicle [see at least Tascione [0044] "...If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. The AV control system 292 can travel to a destination to make a drop off or fulfill some current obligation before driving the SDV to a servicing station to repair the tire."], and
wherein the evaluation unit is configured to control the behavior module to perform a parking maneuver at a safe location upon detection of a leak with imminent danger [see at least Tascione [0044] "...if the tire has little or no pressure, then the resolution engine 240 can generate an emergency control instruction 242 commanding the AV control system 292 to pull the vehicle over or drive directly to a proximate service station."]
Tascione fails to disclose … the electronic control unit comprises a communication unit which is configured to communicate with a backend via a wireless interface in order to report a detected leak … . However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Matire Fig. 2; [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level. The signal 201 indicate to the control unit 110 that the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 has detected a gas leakage. Upon receiving the signal 201 from any of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the control unit 110 is arranged to generate an alarm signal and identify the location of the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 that has detected the gas leakage."
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … the electronic control unit comprises a communication unit which is configured to communicate with a backend via a wireless interface in order to report a detected leak … as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
The combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose …wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in a respective sensor chamber in order to detect a substance leaking into an interior of the vehicle, … . However, Acosta teaches this limitation [see at least Acosta (wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in a respective sensor chamber in order to detect a substance leaking into an interior of the vehicle) col. 2, lines 34-38 "Present embodiments are generally directed toward a water detection device (e.g., a water detection assembly) that may be utilized to monitor the presence of accumulated water (e.g., leaks, floods, and so forth) in certain locations within a vehicle, such as under seats of the vehicle,,,,"; (sensor chamber) col. 2, lines 46-51 "The housing of the water detection device may include physical features (e.g., fluid passageways) that may direct water toward the water-activated battery, such as capillaries and/or channels that enable water to flow along a target path into the housing and toward the battery."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use …wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in a respective sensor chamber in order to detect a substance leaking into an interior of the vehicle, … as disclosed in Acosta with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved safety features of the vehicle. [See at least Acosta col. 3, lines 43-46]
As per claim 4, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the evaluation unit is configured to provide the information "no leak detected" in the backend when a leak is detected without immediate danger or when no leak is detected. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the evaluation unit is configured to provide the information "no leak detected" in the backend when a leak is detected without immediate danger or when no leak is detected as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 6, the combination of Tascione and Maitre, fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of moisture inside the vehicle. However, Acosta teaches this limitation [see at least Acosta col. 2, lines 34-38 "Present embodiments are generally directed toward a water detection device (e.g., a water detection assembly) that may be utilized to monitor the presence of accumulated water (e.g., leaks, floods, and so forth) in certain locations within a vehicle, such as under seats of the vehicle, … ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre, to use … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of moisture inside the vehicle as disclosed in Acosta with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved safety features of the vehicle. [See at least Acosta col. 3, lines 43-46.]
As per claim 9, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front portion of the vehicle. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre [0008] "… “Gas leakage detected in the front of the vehicle … .”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front portion of the vehicle as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 11, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear portion of the vehicle. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre Fig. 2; [0032] "...After the control unit 110 and the gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 has been turned on and the control unit 110 has established communication with each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the maintenance or repair technician may begin positioning a number of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 onto or at the power modules 103 of the vehicle 10. The number of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 and their individual locations onto or at the power modules 103 of the vehicle 10 may preferably be selected to enable possible gas leakage detection from any of the power modules 103 of the vehicle 10. ... “back of the vehicle” for gas leakage sensor 124 in FIG. 2."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear portion of the vehicle as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
Claims 2-3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Maitre, Acosta, and Knowles (Publication US 2024/0017592 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Knowles”.)
As per claim 2, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the vehicle is designed as a commercial vehicle, and {… has …} a cabin of a tractor. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre [0029] "...the vehicle itself may be equipped with built-in hydrogen or gas sensors. … It should also be added that most built-in gas leakage sensors are intended to alert driver of the vehicle when located inside the vehicle."
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the vehicle is designed as a commercial vehicle, and {… has …} a cabin of a tractor as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
The combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is arranged inside a cabin of a tractor. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor is arranged inside a cabin of a tractor as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 3, Tascione discloses … wherein the vehicle is a passenger car [see at least Tascione [0002] "Autonomous vehicle (AV) technology significantly increases computing power and complexity of vehicle control systems, providing a suite of multiple sensor systems as well as an on-board sensor data processing system for autonomous operation of the vehicle."]
As per claim 5, the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of particles inside the vehicle. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta to use … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of particles inside the vehicle as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 7, the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of air pollution inside of the vehicle. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta to use … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of air pollution inside of the vehicle as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 8, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is comprised of … a sensor to detect moisture inside the vehicle … . However, Acosta teaches this limitation [see at least Acosta col. 2, lines 34-38 "Present embodiments are generally directed toward a water detection device (e.g., a water detection assembly) that may be utilized to monitor the presence of accumulated water (e.g., leaks, floods, and so forth) in certain locations within a vehicle, such as under seats of the vehicle… ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor is comprised of … a sensor to detect moisture inside the vehicle … as disclosed in Acosta with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved safety features of the vehicle. [See at least Acosta col. 3, lines 43-46]
The combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is comprised of a sensor to detect particles inside the vehicle, …, and/or a sensor to detect air pollution inside the vehicle. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor is comprised of a sensor to detect particles inside the vehicle, and/or a sensor to detect moisture inside the vehicle, and/or a sensor to detect air pollution inside the vehicle as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Maitre, Acosta, and Ogura, et al. (Publication US 2017/0248946 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Ogura”.)
As per claim 10, the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front upper corner of the vehicle. However, Ogura teaches this limitation [see at least Ogura front upper 42F: [0048] "In the autonomously moving work vehicle 1, a camera 42F photting a front side and a camera 42R photting the work machine at a rear side ... are mounted and connected to the control device 30. In this embodiment, the cameras 42F and 42R are arranged respectively in an upper front part and an upper rear part of a roof of the cabin 11."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front upper corner of the vehicle as disclosed in Ogura with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved operability of the AV sensors. [See at least Ogura [0090].]
As per claim 12, the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear upper corner of the vehicle. However, Ogura teaches this limitation [see at least Ogura rear upper 42R: [0048] "In the autonomously moving work vehicle 1, a camera 42F photting a front side and a camera 42R photting the work machine at a rear side ... are mounted and connected to the control device 30. In this embodiment, the cameras 42F and 42R are arranged respectively in an upper front part and an upper rear part of a roof of the cabin 11."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione, Maitre, and Acosta to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear upper corner of the vehicle as disclosed in Ogura with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved operability of the AV sensors. [See at least Ogura [0090].]
Claims 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Acosta.
As per claim 13, Tascione discloses a method of controlling a vehicle, the method comprising:
acquiring data from at least one sensor, wherein the sensor is arranged within a respective sensor chamber [see at least Tascione [0044] "The resolution engine 240 can process the AV system report 262 to determine whether a particular fault condition can be resolved, mitigated, or ignored, or whether the fault condition is critical to the safe operation of the SDV. … In some examples, such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate). If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. "];
sending the data via a signal to an electronic control unit, the electronic control unit comprising an evaluation unit [see at least Tascione [0044] "The resolution engine 240 can process the AV system report 262 to determine whether a particular fault condition can be resolved, mitigated, or ignored, or whether the fault condition is critical to the safe operation of the SDV.];
determining, using the evaluation unit, whether the data indicates a substance leaking … [see at least Tascione [0044] "...such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate)… ."]; and
performing a parking maneuver using a behavior module of the electronic control unit when the evaluation unit determines a leak [see at least Tascione [0044] "...if the tire has little or no pressure, then the resolution engine 240 can generate an emergency control instruction 242 commanding the AV control system 292 to pull the vehicle over or drive directly to a proximate service station."]
Tascione fails to disclose … determining, … whether the data indicates a substance leaking into an interior of the vehicle … . However, Acosta teaches this limitation [see at least Acosta col. 2, lines 34-38 "Present embodiments are generally directed toward a water detection device (e.g., a water detection assembly) that may be utilized to monitor the presence of accumulated water (e.g., leaks, floods, and so forth) in certain locations within a vehicle, such as under seats of the vehicle, … ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Tascione to use … determining, … whether the data indicates a substance leaking into an interior of the vehicle … as disclosed in Acosta with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved safety features of the vehicle. [See at least Acosta col. 3, lines 43-46]
As per claim 14, Tascione discloses … wherein behavior module is configured to activate actuators of the vehicle which control longitudinal and lateral vehicle movement [see at least Tascione [0044] "...if the tire has little or no pressure, then the resolution engine 240 can generate an emergency control instruction 242 commanding the AV control system 292 to pull the vehicle over or drive directly to a proximate service station."]
As per claim 16, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect moisture. However, Acosta teaches this limitation [see at least Acosta col. 2, lines 34-38 "Present embodiments are generally directed toward a water detection device (e.g., a water detection assembly) that may be utilized to monitor the presence of accumulated water (e.g., leaks, floods, and so forth) in certain locations within a vehicle, such as under seats of the vehicle, … ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect moisture as disclosed in Acosta with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved safety features of the vehicle. [See at least Acosta col. 3, lines 43-46.]
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Acosta and Knowles.
As per claim 15, the combination of Tascione and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect particles. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect particles as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 17, the combination of Tascione and Acosta fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect air pollution. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Acosta to use … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect air pollution as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Acosta and Maitre.
As per claim 18, Tascione fails to disclose … the method further comprising communicating, via a communication unit, the status of the leak to a backend which is available to a user of the vehicle. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre Fig. 2; [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level. The signal 201 indicate to the control unit 110 that the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 has detected a gas leakage. Upon receiving the signal 201 from any of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the control unit 110 is arranged to generate an alarm signal and identify the location of the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 that has detected the gas leakage."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Tascione to use … the method further comprising communicating, via a communication unit, the status of the leak to a backend which is available to a user of the vehicle as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 19, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the communication unit communicates with the backend wirelessly. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre Fig. 2; [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level. The signal 201 indicate to the control unit 110 that the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 has detected a gas leakage. Upon receiving the signal 201 from any of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the control unit 110 is arranged to generate an alarm signal and identify the location of the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 that has detected the gas leakage."; [0009] "the control unit may be arranged to establish a wireless connection with the one or more gas leakage sensors."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the communication unit communicates with the backend wirelessly as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668