DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 were originally presented having a filing date of November 12, 2024 and claiming priority to German Application DE102023131465.3 that was filed on November 13, 2023. However, no German Priority documents have been received.
A Preliminary Amendment was filed on November 12, 2024.
Claims 1-4 were amended via Preliminary Amendment.
Claims 5-19 were newly added via Preliminary Amendment.
Claims 1-19 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements that were filed on November 12, 2024 and February 25, 2025 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs have been considered by the Examiner. Initialed copies of the 1449 Forms are enclosed herewith.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Evaluation unit” in claim 1. The originally filed specification, in [0020], states the its structural association, “the electronic control unit 7 has an evaluation unit 8, which uses the signals from the sensors 14 to determine whether there is a leak or whether the cabin 5 and/or the semi-trailer 3 or trailer is leak-proof, i.e. has no leak.”
“Behavior Module” in claims 1, 13, and 14. The originally filed specification, in [0022], states the its structural association, “the electronic control unit 7 has a behavior module 12 that can plan and control the driving behavior of the autonomous vehicle 1 by activating actuators 13 of the vehicle 1 for longitudinal and lateral control, for example accelerator, brakes and steering.”
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim states, “wherein the vehicle is designed as a passenger car.” It is not clear why the design is relevant for the claim limitation. The Examiner is interpreting this limitation as “wherein the vehicle is a passenger car.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 recite the limitation "of the body" in line 2 of each of those claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tascione, et al. (Publication US 2018/0050704 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Tascione”.)
As per claim 13, Tascione discloses a method of controlling a vehicle, the method comprising:
acquiring data from at least one sensor, wherein the sensor is arranged within a respective sensor chamber [see at least Tascione [0044] "The resolution engine 240 can process the AV system report 262 to determine whether a particular fault condition can be resolved, mitigated, or ignored, or whether the fault condition is critical to the safe operation of the SDV. … In some examples, such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate). If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. "];
sending the data via a signal to an electronic control unit, the electronic control unit comprising an evaluation unit [see at least Tascione [0044] "The resolution engine 240 can process the AV system report 262 to determine whether a particular fault condition can be resolved, mitigated, or ignored, or whether the fault condition is critical to the safe operation of the SDV.];
determining, using the evaluation unit, whether the data indicates a leak [see at least Tascione [0044] "...such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate)… ."]; and
performing a parking maneuver using a behavior module of the electronic control unit when the evaluation unit determines a leak [see at least Tascione [0044] "...if the tire has little or no pressure, then the resolution engine 240 can generate an emergency control instruction 242 commanding the AV control system 292 to pull the vehicle over or drive directly to a proximate service station."]
As per claim 14, Tascione discloses … wherein behavior module is configured to activate actuators of the vehicle which control longitudinal and lateral vehicle movement [see at least Tascione [0044] "...if the tire has little or no pressure, then the resolution engine 240 can generate an emergency control instruction 242 commanding the AV control system 292 to pull the vehicle over or drive directly to a proximate service station."]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Maitre (Publication US 2023/0206703 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Maitre”.)
As per claim 1, Tascione discloses a vehicle, comprising at least one sensor arranged inside the vehicle for each of the at least one sensor arranged inside the vehicle each of the at least one sensor configured to detect a vehicle leak, and an electronic control unit configured to evaluate signals from the at least one sensor [see at least Tascione [0044] "The resolution engine 240 can process the AV system report 262 to determine whether a particular fault condition can be resolved, mitigated, or ignored, or whether the fault condition is critical to the safe operation of the SDV. … In some examples, such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate). If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. "],
wherein the electronic control unit has an evaluation unit, which is configured to use the signals to determine whether or not there is a leak [see at least Tascione [0038] "...Still further, the diagnostic data 109 from the operational components 155 of the vehicle 100, or the ECU(s) 180, can indicate any fault conditions with the vehicle's power unit and chassis control systems—..., to relatively major hydraulic fluid leaks, tire failures, or broken components. Thus, the diagnostic data 109 can be received by the diagnostic system 160 from any number of AV systems."];
wherein the vehicle is configured to be an autonomous vehicle [see at least Tascione [0009] "An on-board diagnostic system for an autonomous vehicle (AV) is provided herein that can independently monitor and manage all of the AV systems. Such AV systems can include each of the sensor systems,…"],
wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in a respective sensor chamber in order to detect leaks on the vehicle, … [see at least Tascione [0044] "...In some examples, such as a detected leak in a tire, the safety or troubleshoot procedure can comprise monitoring the tire pressure to determine whether immediate operation of the SDV is safe (e.g., by determining a pressure loss rate). If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. The AV control system 292 can travel to a destination to make a drop off or fulfill some current obligation before driving the SDV to a servicing station to repair the tire."],
wherein the electronic control unit also has a behavior module, which is configured to plan and control a driving behavior of the vehicle by controlling longitudinal and lateral control actuators of the vehicle [see at least Tascione [0044] "...If so, the resolution engine 240 can generate a control instruction 242 for the AV control system 292 indicating the tire leak and a low urgency level for repairing the tire. The AV control system 292 can travel to a destination to make a drop off or fulfill some current obligation before driving the SDV to a servicing station to repair the tire."], and
wherein the evaluation unit is configured to control the behavior module to perform a parking maneuver at a safe location upon detection of a leak with imminent danger [see at least Tascione [0044] "...if the tire has little or no pressure, then the resolution engine 240 can generate an emergency control instruction 242 commanding the AV control system 292 to pull the vehicle over or drive directly to a proximate service station."]
Tascione fails to disclose … the electronic control unit comprises a communication unit which is configured to communicate with a backend via a wireless interface in order to report a detected leak … . However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Matire (the electronic control unit comprises a communication unit which is configured to communicate with a backend via a wireless interface in order to report a detected leak) Fig. 2; [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level. The signal 201 indicate to the control unit 110 that the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 has detected a gas leakage. Upon receiving the signal 201 from any of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the control unit 110 is arranged to generate an alarm signal and identify the location of the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 that has detected the gas leakage."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … the electronic control unit comprises a communication unit which is configured to communicate with a backend via a wireless interface in order to report a detected leak … as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 4, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the evaluation unit is configured to provide the information "no leak detected" in the backend when a leak is detected without immediate danger or when no leak is detected. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the evaluation unit is configured to provide the information "no leak detected" in the backend when a leak is detected without immediate danger or when no leak is detected as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 9, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front portion of the body. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre [0008] "… “Gas leakage detected in the front of the vehicle … .”]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front portion of the body as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 11, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear portion of the body. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre Fig. 2; [0032] "...After the control unit 110 and the gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 has been turned on and the control unit 110 has established communication with each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the maintenance or repair technician may begin positioning a number of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 onto or at the power modules 103 of the vehicle 10. The number of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 and their individual locations onto or at the power modules 103 of the vehicle 10 may preferably be selected to enable possible gas leakage detection from any of the power modules 103 of the vehicle 10. ... “back of the vehicle” for gas leakage sensor 124 in FIG. 2."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear portion of the body as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 18, Tascione fails to disclose … the method further comprising communicating, via a communication unit, the status of the leak to a backend which is available to a user of the vehicle. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre Fig. 2; [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level. The signal 201 indicate to the control unit 110 that the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 has detected a gas leakage. Upon receiving the signal 201 from any of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the control unit 110 is arranged to generate an alarm signal and identify the location of the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 that has detected the gas leakage."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … the method further comprising communicating, via a communication unit, the status of the leak to a backend which is available to a user of the vehicle as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
As per claim 19, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the communication unit communicates with the backend wirelessly. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre Fig. 2; [0033] "Each of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124 may be arranged to transmit a signal 201 to the control unit 110 upon detecting a gas leakage, e.g. detecting a concentration of gas that is above a determined threshold level. The signal 201 indicate to the control unit 110 that the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 has detected a gas leakage. Upon receiving the signal 201 from any of the one or more gas leakage sensors 121, 122, 123, 124, the control unit 110 is arranged to generate an alarm signal and identify the location of the gas leakage sensor 121, 122, 123, 124 that has detected the gas leakage."; [0009] "the control unit may be arranged to establish a wireless connection with the one or more gas leakage sensors."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the communication unit communicates with the backend wirelessly as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
Claims 2-3, 5, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Maitre and Knowles (Publication US 2024/0017592 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Knowles”.)
As per claim 2, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the vehicle is designed as a commercial vehicle, and {… has …} a cabin of a tractor. However, Maitre teaches this limitation [see at least Maitre [0029] "...the vehicle itself may be equipped with built-in hydrogen or gas sensors. … It should also be added that most built-in gas leakage sensors are intended to alert driver of the vehicle when located inside the vehicle."
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the vehicle is designed as a commercial vehicle, and {… has …} a cabin of a tractor as disclosed in Maitre with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved detection and warning of vehicle gas leakages. [See at least Maitre [0007].]
The combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is arranged inside a cabin of a tractor. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor is arranged inside a cabin of a tractor as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 3, Tascione discloses … wherein the vehicle is designed as a passenger car [see at least Tascione [0002] "Autonomous vehicle (AV) technology significantly increases computing power and complexity of vehicle control systems, providing a suite of multiple sensor systems as well as an on-board sensor data processing system for autonomous operation of the vehicle."]
As per claim 5, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of particles inside the vehicle. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of particles inside the vehicle as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 7, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of air pollution inside of the vehicle. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of air pollution inside of the vehicle as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 8, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is comprised of a sensor to detect particles inside the vehicle, and/or a sensor to detect moisture inside the vehicle, and/or a sensor to detect air pollution inside the vehicle. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor is comprised of a sensor to detect particles inside the vehicle, and/or a sensor to detect moisture inside the vehicle, and/or a sensor to detect air pollution inside the vehicle as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Maitre and Min (Publication US 2020/0292404 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Min”.)
As per claim 6, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of moisture inside the vehicle. However, Min teaches this limitation [see at least Min [0007] "The present invention is conceived to solve the problems, and provides an apparatus and a method of detecting liquid leakage within a battery pack by using ...a moisture detecting sensor... ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor detects a leak comprised of moisture inside the vehicle as disclosed in Min with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of operating a moisture detecting sensor to be on only for a region requiring the detection of the generation of the liquid leakage, thereby preventing unnecessary energy consumption. [See at least Min [0014].]
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Maitre and Ogura, et al. (Publication US 2017/0248946 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Ogura”.)
As per claim 10, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front upper corner of the body. However, Ogura teaches this limitation [see at least Ogura front upper 42F: [0048] "In the autonomously moving work vehicle 1, a camera 42F photting a front side and a camera 42R photting the work machine at a rear side ... are mounted and connected to the control device 30. In this embodiment, the cameras 42F and 42R are arranged respectively in an upper front part and an upper rear part of a roof of the cabin 11."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a front upper corner of the body as disclosed in Ogura with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved operability of the AV sensors. [See at least Ogura [0090].]
As per claim 12, the combination of Tascione and Maitre fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear upper corner of the body. However, Ogura teaches this limitation [see at least Ogura rear upper 42R: [0048] "In the autonomously moving work vehicle 1, a camera 42F photting a front side and a camera 42R photting the work machine at a rear side ... are mounted and connected to the control device 30. In this embodiment, the cameras 42F and 42R are arranged respectively in an upper front part and an upper rear part of a roof of the cabin 11."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in the combination of Tascione and Maitre to use … wherein the at least one sensor chamber is arranged at a rear upper corner of the body as disclosed in Ogura with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved operability of the AV sensors. [See at least Ogura [0090].]
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Knowles.
As per claim 15, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect particles. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect particles as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
As per claim 17, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect air pollution. However, Knowles teaches this limitation [see at least Knowles [0129] "… when the invention is used in an autonomous vehicle, it is desirable that such sensors be located proximate an air intake port or air exhaust port of the autonomous control system used to control the vehicle."; [0118] "Additional sensors (not shown) may be incorporated into the above system to detect the presence of contaminants within the cabin 1. For instance, additional sensors may be incorporated into the system to detect the presence and amount of dust, nanoparticles, diesel particulates, SO.sub.2 and methane in the cabin 1."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect air pollution as disclosed in Knowles with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of the safety of occupants within a vehicle. [See at least Knowles [0008].]
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tascione, in view of Min.
As per claim 16, Tascione fails to disclose … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect moisture. However, Min teaches this limitation [see at least Min [0007] "The present invention is conceived to solve the problems, and provides an apparatus and a method of detecting liquid leakage within a battery pack by using ...a moisture detecting sensor... ."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle as disclosed in Tascione to use … wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect moisture as disclosed in Min with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of operating a moisture detecting sensor to be on only for a region requiring the detection of the generation of the liquid leakage, thereby preventing unnecessary energy consumption. [See at least Min [0014].]
Conclusion
/P.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668