DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 11-12-24. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over 2012/0091811 to Heidenreich et al. (“Heidenreich”) in view of US 2022/0216728 to Ashman et al. (“Ashman”).
Regarding claim 1, Heidenreich disclose a microgrid system, comprising: (Heidenreich: “The present invention relates to uninterruptible power supplies for use in communications systems and, more specifically, to uninterruptible power supplies having sporadically used energy production and/or storage systems.” Paragraph 0003) a power router, including a central transformer connected to power sources and loads via a plurality of windings; (Heidenreich: see the transformer 30 and windings 42, 44, 46 connected to the utility 22, a load 24, and a battery 34 as illustrated in figure 1; see the transformer 330 as illustrated in figure 5; “The transformer 30 comprises a core 40, a first winding 42, a second winding 44, and a third winding 46.” paragraph 0021) a grid bypass connected to the power router via a first port; (Heidenreich: see the utility 22 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 42 as illustrated in figure 1; see the utility 322 connected to the transformer 330 via the winding 342 as illustrated in figure 5; “The example UPS system 20 is adapted to obtain power from and supply power to a utility 22 and also to provide power to a primary load 24. As depicted in FIG. 1, a meter 26 may be connected between the utility 22 and the first example UPS system 20.” Paragraph 0017) a plurality of loads connected to the power router via a plurality of load ports; (Heidenreich: see the load 24 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 44 as illustrated in figure 1; see the load 324 connected to the transformer 330 via the windings 344 as illustrated in figure 5) one or more batteries connected to the power router via one or more battery ports; (Heidenreich: see the battery 34 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 46 as illustrated in figure 1; see the battery 334 connected to the transformer 330 via the windings 346 as illustrated in figure 5) one or more power generators connected to the power router via one or more generator ports; (Heidenreich: see the energy sources 350, 354 connected to the transformer 330 via the windings 346 as illustrated in figure 5) and a controller operable to control an amount of power supplied to or sourced from each port; (Heidenreich: see the controller 36 as illustrated in figure 1; see the controller 336 as illustrated in figure 5; “In the second example UPS system 320, the controller 336 determines whether the UPS system operates in the first, second, or third modes.” Paragraph 0045);
But, Heidenreich does not explicitly disclose the system receives a designation of one or more ports as a critical port; wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports in real time; wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports in real time; and wherein the controller automatically reduces or cuts power to one or more of the plurality of load ports based on the amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports, the amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports, and the designation of the critical port.
However, Ashman disclose the system receives a designation of one or more ports as a critical port; (Ashman: “In some embodiments, a first step includes control circuitry 4311 causing user-defined circuits (e.g., one or more of branch circuits 4330) to be automatically disconnected in different stages to reduce power consumption) wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports in real time; (Ashman: see the circuit breakers 504 with meters 505 for measuring power and energy in real time from each branch including the solar system 514 and battery system 519 as illustrated in figures 7, 9 and as described in paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0116; “a sensor system configured to measure one or more electrical parameters corresponding to the plurality of branch circuits” paragraph 0006) wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports in real time; (Ashman: see the circuit breakers 504 with meters 505 for measuring power and energy in real time from each branch including the loads 506 as illustrated in figures 7, 9 and as described in paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0116; “The system may be configured to monitor and control various electrical loads 506.” Paragraph 0112; “In some embodiments, current sensor 200 is configured to sense one or more voltages, as well as current, and may be configured to calculate, for example, power measurements associated with branch circuits or other loads.” Paragraph 0109; “For example, the temporal information may include an on-off time schedule for each breaker (e.g., which may be based on the measured load in that branch circuit), duration information (e.g., how long a branch circuit will be left on), any other suitable temporal information, an estimated time remaining (e.g., during operation on battery power, or until a pre-scheduled disconnect), or any combination thereof.” Paragraph 0153) and wherein the controller automatically reduces or cuts power to one or more of the plurality of load ports based on the amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports, the amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports, and the designation of the critical port (Ashman: “In some embodiments, a first step includes control circuitry 4311 causing user-defined circuits (e.g., one or more of branch circuits 4330) to be automatically disconnected in different stages to reduce power consumption. In some embodiments, a first set of loads (e.g., less critical loads, or highly draining loads) are disconnected as soon as the system goes off-grid (e.g., AC bus 4320 is disconnected from a power grid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding plurality of branch circuits as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to measure one or more electrical parameters using voltage sensor coupled to buses electrical loads.
Regarding claim 2, Heidenreich disclose the system determines insufficient power is available from the one or more battery ports and/or the one or more generator ports, the controller is operable to automatically utilize the grid bypass ; (Heidenreich: see the utility 22 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 42 as illustrated in figure 1; see the utility 322 connected to the transformer 330 via the winding 342 as illustrated in figure 5; “The example UPS system 20 is adapted to obtain power from and supply power to a utility 22 and also to provide power to a primary load 24. As depicted in FIG. 1, a meter 26 may be connected between the utility 22 and the first example UPS system 20.” Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 3, Heidenreich disclose the system includes a direct current (DC) bypass connected to at least one of the one or more battery ports (fig. 5, 334 connected to 352), and wherein the controller automatically initiates the DC bypass upon detection of a fault in the one or more generator ports; (Heidenreich: see the utility 22 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 42 as illustrated in figure 1; see the utility 322 connected to the transformer 330 via the winding 342 as illustrated in figure 5; “The example UPS system 20 is adapted to obtain power from and supply power to a utility 22 and also to provide power to a primary load 24. As depicted in FIG. 1, a meter 26 may be connected between the utility 22 and the first example UPS system 20.” Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 4, Heidenreich disclose the one or more power generators include one or more solar cells (para; 0044, lines 3-6, alternative energy source 350 is an array of solar panels, and the charge controller 352 generates a charge signal appropriate for charging the battery array 334 based on the electrical output of the solar panels).
Regarding claim 5, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose the plurality of loads includes at least one electric vehicle charging station.
However, Ashman disclose the plurality of loads includes at least one electric vehicle charging station (para; 0214, a battery system, an electric vehicle charging station, a solar panel system, a DC-DC converter, an AC-DC converter, and AC-AC converter, a transformer, any other suitable device coupled to an AC bus or DC bus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding vehicle charging station as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to charge vehicles by using solar panel system in different location.
Regarding claim 6, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose the system is operable to receive a designation of at least one of the plurality of loads as non-critical for a specified maximum amount of time, and wherein the controller does not cut power to the at least one of the plurality of loads for more than the specified maximum amount of time.
However, Ashman disclose the system is operable to receive a designation of at least one of the plurality of loads as non-critical for a specified maximum amount of time, and wherein the controller does not cut power to the at least one of the plurality of loads for more than the specified maximum amount of time (para; 0153, processes 2500, the one or more operating parameters may include temporal information. The system may control each respective controllable breaker further based on the temporal information. For example, the temporal information may include an on-off time schedule for each breaker (e.g., which may be based on the measured load in that branch circuit), duration information (e.g., how long a branch circuit will be left on), any other suitable temporal information, an estimated time remaining (e.g., during operation on battery power, or until a pre-scheduled disconnect), or any combination thereof.” Paragraph 0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding on-off time schedule for each breaker as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to control measured currents from branch circuit to manage electrical loads.
Regarding claim 7, Heidenreich disclose the system is operable to perform transient impedance evaluation for each port (Heidenreich: see the controller 36 as illustrated in figure 1; see the controller 336 as illustrated in figure 5; “In the second example UPS system 320, the controller 336 determines whether the UPS system operates in the first, second, or third modes.” Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 8, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose each port is galvanically isolated.
However, Ashman disclose each port is galvanically isolated (Ashman: “For example, system 100 may prevent fault-propagation using galvanic isolation.” Paragraph 0107; “FIG. 3 shows illustrative set of subsystems 300, which may include a power conversion device (e.g. power conversion device 120 of FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding galvanic isolation as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to enable fault protection in the electrical main panel.
Regarding claim 9, Heidenreich disclose connecting a power router, including a central transformer, to one or more batteries, one or more power generators, and a plurality of loads via a plurality of windings; (Heidenreich: see the transformer 30 and windings 42, 44, 46 connected to the utility 22, a load 24, and a battery 34 as illustrated in figure 1; see the transformer 330 as illustrated in figure 5; “The transformer 30 comprises a core 40, a first winding 42, a second winding 44, and a third winding 46.” paragraph 0021) a controller controlling an amount of power supplied to or sourced from each port; (Heidenreich: see the controller 36 as illustrated in figure 1; see the controller 336 as illustrated in figure 5; “In the second example UPS system 320, the controller 336 determines whether the UPS system operates in the first, second, or third modes.” Paragraph 0045) ; But, Heidenreich does not disclose receiving a designation of one or more of the plurality of windings as a critical port; detecting an amount of power available from each of the one or more batteries and the one or more power generators in real time; detecting an amount of power demand from each of the plurality of loads in real time; and the controller automatically reducing or cutting power to one or more of the plurality of loads based on the amount of power available from each of the one or more batteries and the one or more power generators, the amount of power demand from each of the plurality of loads, and the designation of the critical port.
However, Ashman disclose receiving a designation of one or more of the plurality of windings as a critical port; (Ashman: “In some embodiments, a first step includes control circuitry 4311 causing user-defined circuits (e.g., one or more of branch circuits 4330) to be automatically disconnected in different stages to reduce power consumption) detecting an amount of power available from each of the one or more batteries and the one or more power generators in real time; (Ashman: see the circuit breakers 504 with meters 505 for measuring power and energy in real time from each branch including the solar system 514 and battery system 519 as illustrated in figures 7, 9 and as described in paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0116; “a sensor system configured to measure one or more electrical parameters corresponding to the plurality of branch circuits” paragraph 0006) detecting an amount of power demand from each of the plurality of loads in real time; (Ashman: see the circuit breakers 504 with meters 505 for measuring power and energy in real time from each branch including the loads 506 as illustrated in figures 7, 9 and as described in paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0116; “The system may be configured to monitor and control various electrical loads 506.” Paragraph 0112; “In some embodiments, current sensor 200 is configured to sense one or more voltages, as well as current, and may be configured to calculate, for example, power measurements associated with branch circuits or other loads.” Paragraph 0109; “For example, the temporal information may include an on-off time schedule for each breaker (e.g., which may be based on the measured load in that branch circuit), duration information (e.g., how long a branch circuit will be left on), any other suitable temporal information, an estimated time remaining (e.g., during operation on battery power, or until a pre-scheduled disconnect), or any combination thereof.” Paragraph 0153) and the controller automatically reducing or cutting power to one or more of the plurality of loads based on the amount of power available from each of the one or more batteries and the one or more power generators, the amount of power demand from each of the plurality of loads, and the designation of the critical port (Ashman: “In some embodiments, a first step includes control circuitry 4311 causing user-defined circuits (e.g., one or more of branch circuits 4330) to be automatically disconnected in different stages to reduce power consumption. In some embodiments, a first set of loads (e.g., less critical loads, or highly draining loads) are disconnected as soon as the system goes off-grid (e.g., AC bus 4320 is disconnected from a power grid). Accordingly, the other stages are then connected or disconnected as soon as pre-defined battery state of charge levels are reached (e.g., by a battery system of devices 4380 coupled to AC bus 4320 via an AC-DC converter of devices 4380).” Paragraph 0217; “For example, a user may specify which loads should be shed in which order or priority during an event. In some embodiments, identifying the indicator includes identifying the event, and determining the one or more limits is based at least in part on the event. For example, the system may detect an interruption in the AC grid, and accordingly enter a limiting mode.” Paragraph 0010; “In some embodiments, the system executes logic that generates and/or uses forecasts of branch circuit loads, appliance loads, measurements of branch circuit loads (e.g., based on signals from a sensor board), or a combination thereof to dynamically disconnect or reconnect branch circuits to the distributed energy resource, send electrical signals to appliances on branch circuits enabling or disabling them in order to optimize energy consumption, maintain the islanded electrical system power consumption at a low enough level to be supplied by the distributed energy resource, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the system includes an energy reservoir device such as, for example, one or more capacitors or batteries, capable of maintaining logic power and switching device actuation power in the period after the utility grid point of connection circuit switching device has disconnected the electrical system from the utility grid, and before the distributed energy resource begins to supply power to the islanded electrical system, in order to facilitate actuation of point of connection and branch circuit switching devices to effect the aforementioned functions.” Paragraph 0170; “In some embodiments, control system 4310 (control circuitry 4311 thereof) automatically sheds load(s) to prevent overload, ensure continuity of power overnight or through cloudy days, or both. In some embodiments, the operating criteria may include partition of loads indicating which can be shed or in what order loads are shed (e.g., “nice to haves” are shed before “must haves”).” Paragraph 0220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding plurality of branch circuits as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to measure one or more electrical parameters using voltage sensor coupled to buses electrical loads.
Regarding claim 10, Heidenreich disclose the controller automatically utilizing the grid bypass when the system determines insufficient power is available from one or more battery ports and/or one or more generator ports ; (Heidenreich: see the utility 22 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 42 as illustrated in figure 1; see the utility 322 connected to the transformer 330 via the winding 342 as illustrated in figure 5; “The example UPS system 20 is adapted to obtain power from and supply power to a utility 22 and also to provide power to a primary load 24. As depicted in FIG. 1, a meter 26 may be connected between the utility 22 and the first example UPS system 20.” Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 11, Heidenreich disclose the controller automatically initiating a direct current (DC) bypass to at least one of one or more battery ports (fig. 5, 334 connected to 352) upon detection of a fault in one or more generator ports ; (Heidenreich: see the utility 22 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 42 as illustrated in figure 1; see the utility 322 connected to the transformer 330 via the winding 342 as illustrated in figure 5; “The example UPS system 20 is adapted to obtain power from and supply power to a utility 22 and also to provide power to a primary load 24. As depicted in FIG. 1, a meter 26 may be connected between the utility 22 and the first example UPS system 20.” Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 12, Heidenreich disclose the one or more power generators include one or more solar cells (para; 0044, lines 3-6, alternative energy source 350 is an array of solar panels, and the charge controller 352 generates a charge signal appropriate for charging the battery array 334 based on the electrical output of the solar panels).
Regarding claim 13, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose the plurality of loads includes at least one electric vehicle charging station.
However, Ashman disclose the plurality of loads includes at least one electric vehicle charging station (Ashman: para; 0214, a battery system, an electric vehicle charging station, a solar panel system, a DC-DC converter, an AC-DC converter, and AC-AC converter, a transformer, any other suitable device coupled to an AC bus or DC bus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding vehicle charging station as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to charge vehicles by using solar panel system in different location.
Regarding claim 14, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
Heidenreich does not disclose receiving a designation of at least one of the plurality of loads as non-critical for a specified maximum amount of time, and the controller being prevented from cutting power to the at least one of the plurality of loads for more than the specified maximum amount of time.
However, Ashman disclose receiving a designation of at least one of the plurality of loads as non-critical for a specified maximum amount of time, and the controller being prevented from cutting power to the at least one of the plurality of loads for more than the specified maximum amount of time (Ashman: “In an illustrative example of processes 2500, the one or more operating parameters may include temporal information. The system may control each respective controllable breaker further based on the temporal information. For example, the temporal information may include an on-off time schedule for each breaker (e.g., which may be based on the measured load in that branch circuit), duration information (e.g., how long a branch circuit will be left on), any other suitable temporal information, an estimated time remaining (e.g., during operation on battery power, or until a pre-scheduled disconnect), or any combination thereof.” Paragraph 0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding on-off time schedule for each breaker as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to control measured currents from branch circuit to manage electrical loads.
Regarding claim 15, Heidenreich disclose performing transient impedance evaluations for each of the plurality of windings (Heidenreich: see the controller 36 as illustrated in figure 1; see the controller 336 as illustrated in figure 5; “In the second example UPS system 320, the controller 336 determines whether the UPS system operates in the first, second, or third modes.” Paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 16, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose each of the plurality of windings is galvanically.
However, Ashman disclose each of the plurality of windings is galvanically isolated (Ashman: “For example, system 100 may prevent fault-propagation using galvanic isolation.” Paragraph 0107; “FIG. 3 shows illustrative set of subsystems 300, which may include a power conversion device (e.g. power conversion device 120 of FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding galvanic isolation as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to enable fault protection in the electrical main panel.
Regarding claim 17, Heidenreich disclose a power router, including a central transformer connected to power sources and loads via a plurality of windings; (Heidenreich: see the transformer 30 and windings 42, 44, 46 connected to the utility 22, a load 24, and a battery 34 as illustrated in figure 1; see the transformer 330 as illustrated in figure 5; “The transformer 30 comprises a core 40, a first winding 42, a second winding 44, and a third winding 46.” paragraph 0021) a plurality of loads connected to the power router via a plurality of load ports; (Heidenreich: see the load 24 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 44 as illustrated in figure 1; see the load 324 connected to the transformer 330 via the windings 344 as illustrated in figure 5) one or more batteries connected to the power router via one or more battery ports; (Heidenreich: see the battery 34 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 46 as illustrated in figure 1; see the battery 334 connected to the transformer 330 via the windings 346 as illustrated in figure 5) one or more power generators connected to the power router via one or more generator ports; (Heidenreich: see the energy sources 350, 354 connected to the transformer 330 via the windings 346 as illustrated in figure 5) and a controller ; (Heidenreich: see the controller 36 as illustrated in figure 1; see the controller 336 as illustrated in figure 5; “In the second example UPS system 320, the controller 336 determines whether the UPS system operates in the first, second, or third modes.” Paragraph 0045) operable to control an amount of power supplied to or sourced from each port; (Heidenreich: see the controller 36 as illustrated in figure 1; see the controller 336 as illustrated in figure 5; “In the second example UPS system 320, the controller 336 determines whether the UPS system operates in the first, second, or third modes.” Paragraph 0045) and wherein the system includes a direct current (DC) bypass connected to at least one of the one or more battery ports (fig. 5, 334 connected to 352), and wherein the system automatically initiates the DC bypass upon detection of a fault of the one or more generator ports ; (Heidenreich: see the utility 22 connected to the transformer 30 via the winding 42 as illustrated in figure 1; see the utility 322 connected to the transformer 330 via the winding 342 as illustrated in figure 5; “The example UPS system 20 is adapted to obtain power from and supply power to a utility 22 and also to provide power to a primary load 24. As depicted in FIG. 1, a meter 26 may be connected between the utility 22 and the first example UPS system 20.” Paragraph 0017).
But, Heidenreich does not disclose the system receives a designation of one or more ports as a critical port; wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports in real time; wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports in real time; wherein the controller automatically reduces or cuts power to one or more of the plurality of load ports based on the amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports, the amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports, and the designation of the critical port;
However, Ashman disclose the system receives a designation of one or more ports as a critical port; (Ashman: “In some embodiments, a first step includes control circuitry 4311 causing user-defined circuits (e.g., one or more of branch circuits 4330) to be automatically disconnected in different stages to reduce power consumption) wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports in real time; (Ashman: see the circuit breakers 504 with meters 505 for measuring power and energy in real time from each branch including the solar system 514 and battery system 519 as illustrated in figures 7, 9 and as described in paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0116; “a sensor system configured to measure one or more electrical parameters corresponding to the plurality of branch circuits” paragraph 0006) wherein the system is operable to detect an amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports in real time; (Ashman: see the circuit breakers 504 with meters 505 for measuring power and energy in real time from each branch including the loads 506 as illustrated in figures 7, 9 and as described in paragraphs 0112, 0114, 0116; “The system may be configured to monitor and control various electrical loads 506.” Paragraph 0112; “In some embodiments, current sensor 200 is configured to sense one or more voltages, as well as current, and may be configured to calculate, for example, power measurements associated with branch circuits or other loads.” Paragraph 0109; “For example, the temporal information may include an on-off time schedule for each breaker (e.g., which may be based on the measured load in that branch circuit), duration information (e.g., how long a branch circuit will be left on), any other suitable temporal information, an estimated time remaining (e.g., during operation on battery power, or until a pre-scheduled disconnect), or any combination thereof.” Paragraph 0153) wherein the controller automatically reduces or cuts power to one or more of the plurality of load ports based on the amount of power available from each of the one or more battery ports and the one or more generator ports, the amount of power demand from each of the plurality of load ports, and the designation of the critical port (Ashman: “In some embodiments, a first step includes control circuitry 4311 causing user-defined circuits (e.g., one or more of branch circuits 4330) to be automatically disconnected in different stages to reduce power consumption. In some embodiments, a first set of loads (e.g., less critical loads, or highly draining loads) are disconnected as soon as the system goes off-grid (e.g., AC bus 4320 is disconnected from a power grid);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding plurality of branch circuits as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to measure one or more electrical parameters using voltage sensor coupled to buses electrical loads.
Regarding claim 18, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose the system is operable to receive a designation of at least one of the plurality of loads as non-critical for a specified maximum amount of time, and wherein the controller does not cut power to the at least one of the plurality of loads for more than the specified maximum amount of time.
However, Ashman disclose the system is operable to receive a designation of at least one of the plurality of loads as non-critical for a specified maximum amount of time, and wherein the controller does not cut power to the at least one of the plurality of loads for more than the specified maximum amount of time (Ashman: “In an illustrative example of processes 2500, the one or more operating parameters may include temporal information. The system may control each respective controllable breaker further based on the temporal information. For example, the temporal information may include an on-off time schedule for each breaker (e.g., which may be based on the measured load in that branch circuit), duration information (e.g., how long a branch circuit will be left on), any other suitable temporal information, an estimated time remaining (e.g., during operation on battery power, or until a pre-scheduled disconnect), or any combination thereof.” Paragraph 0153).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding on-off time schedule for each breaker as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to control measured currents from branch circuit to manage electrical loads.
Regarding claim 19, Heidenreich disclose all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Heidenreich does not disclose the plurality of loads includes at least one electric vehicle charging station.
However, Ashman disclose the plurality of loads includes at least one electric vehicle charging station (Ashman: para; 0214, a battery system, an electric vehicle charging station, a solar panel system, a DC-DC converter, an AC-DC converter, and AC-AC converter, a transformer, any other suitable device coupled to an AC bus or DC bus).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Heidenreich by adding vehicle charging station as part of its configuration as taught by Ashman, in order to charge vehicles by using solar panel system in different location.
Regarding claim 20, Heidenreich disclose the one or more power generators include one or more solar cells (para; 0044, lines 3-6, alternative energy source 350 is an array of solar panels, and the charge controller 352 generates a charge signal appropriate for charging the battery array 334 based on the electrical output of the solar panels).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yim US 2004/0017110 Al- The present invention provides an uninterruptible switching power supply device and a method for uninterruptible switching from AC input power to DC power, in which a high voltage circuit connected with the primary winding of the main transformer and a lower voltage circuit connected with a tap from the secondary are controlled by a PWM to operate synchronically. When the AC input is normal, the AC input power is transformed the main transformer to power a load. When the voltage of the AC input is lower than the predetermined value, the battery begins to discharge for compensating the power of the AC input. When the AC input is interrupted, the discharge of battery is transformed by the transformer in a self-coupling mode to power the load. The voltage transformation efficiency is improved with the device and method of the invention.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836