Detailed Action
Claims 1-19 have been submitted for examination.
Claim 20 has been newly added.
Claims 1-20 have been rejected.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of co pending Application No. 18/779.911 in view of Dolisy (8,601,113).
All teachings of the claims are identical, with the only difference being the instant application specifying that the data flow is data log and the merged record is a merged data record.
Dolisy explicitly teaches that the data flow is data log and the merged record is a merged data record (entire document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the data log and the merged data record with the data flow and merged record of Dolisy.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the combination because Dolisy discloses “ A flow record is defined as a small unit of measure of unidirectional network usage by a stream of IP packets that share common source and destination parameters during a time interval”. In other words it is a data log.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Kishikawa United States Patent Application 2022/ 0337494 hereinafter 494.
In regard to claims 1 10 11
discloses
(Currently amended) A method for generating and storing an aggregated data log comprising: accessing a plurality of data log records in a data log repository; detecting a plurality of data log records in the data log repository, wherein each data log record includes a plurality of data fields; detecting a first data log record of the plurality of data log records having a first data field value in common with a second data log record; detecting in the first data log record a second data field having a second value;
(Step 301 compares the field contents)
detecting in the second data log record the second data field having a third value;
Examiner states that once the flows in the context of S301 above are not identical it means that a difference is present.
generating a merged data record based on including: the first data field value, the second value and the third value; The first column of Figure 5 is the merged data version
generating an aggregated data log based on the merged data record, wherein the aggregated data log includes a plurality of merged data records; and storing the aggregated data log in an aggregated data log repository. Figure 10
Consideration for the mapping:
Examiner considers for the purpose of claim language mapping the log record as being collection point source IP address Destination IP address Source port Destination port Transport protocol Number of messages. All of Figure 5 is the data log repository. The data field is where 300a 300d is at, and the same is for 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.2. This mapping is for explication only and not limitation or any interpretation.
In regard to claims 2 12
494 discloses
(Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: matching a data record value of the first data log record to a corresponding data record value of another data log record to detect a common data field value.
Both collection point 300a and 300d have the same Source IP
In regard to claims 3 13
494 discloses
3. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a merged data record in response to detecting at least one common data record value between a plurality of data log records from the data log repository.
Both collection point 300a and 300d have been merged
In regard to claims 4 14
494 discloses
4. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating an aggregated data log that includes common data record values from the merged data records.
In regard to claims 5 15
494 discloses
5. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the first data field includes any one of: an account identifier, a host header, a date, an authorization string, and any combination thereof.
In regard to claims 6 16
494 discloses
6. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting a data log record that is based on any one of: a data record, an event, a message, a request, an action in a virtual private cloud environment, and any combination thereof. (Paragraph 94)
In regard to claims 7 17
494 discloses
7. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the aggregated data log based on a plurality of merged data records, wherein a first merged data record is generated from a first data log and a second merged data record is generated from a second data log. (Paragraph 159)
In regard to claims 8 18
494 discloses
8. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a first data field value is common in response to detecting at least a partial match between a value of the first data log record and a value of the second data log record. (Paragraph 171-172)
In regard to claims 9 19
494 discloses
9. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: filtering out a portion of records of the plurality of data records based on a value of a data field; and generating the aggregated data log based on the merged data record without the filtered portion of records.
Number of previous messages is filtered to 100 30 500
In regard to claim 20
494 discloses
The method of claim 1, wherein the second value is different from the third value, (Figure 9) and the data log repository includes data log records from a single data source (Figure 4; Ethernet Switch).
Response to Applicant Argument and remarks
Applicants’ argument and remarks have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In regard the main argument which states; “
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kishikawa hereinafter Ki never defined aggregation as loss of data in favor of decreased granularity.
Applicants explains Ki aggregation using the help.tableau.com is irrelevant because the Ki reference never referred to help.tableau.com to explain what is the Ki aggregation, instead it precisely goes after how the aggregation works in Figure 9.
Examiner will explain Figure 9 with an example following the Logic of the steps S301 S302 S303.
For the explication there is at least 2 collections point A and B
Collection point A Collection point B
1 1
2 2
3 4
4 4
According to the logic 1 and 1 are the same, and aggregate is 1.
According to the logic 2 and 2 are the same, and aggregate is 1 2.
According to the logic 3 and 4 are different, and aggregate is 1 2.
According to the logic 4 and 4 are the same, and aggregate is 1 2 4.
It is clear from this explication that 2 and 4 are different values, whereas the merged data is 1 2 4.
It is also clear following the logic of Figure 9 the second value and the third value have to be different for the aggregation to happen. Thus, the claim language and the limitations are met clearly, and the argument advanced is not correct. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/Amine Riad/
Primary Examiner