DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 07/15/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 - “a release mechanism mounted to one of the first…restrictor arms”. This objection is set forth because the drawings only show the release mechanism 160 mounted to the second restrictor arm. Furthermore, par. 104 explicitly discloses that this configuration is not shown.
Claim 18 - “a release mechanism of one of the first and second connectors” and “an open lateral side of a locking aperture of a corresponding one of the first and second connectors”. This objection is similar to the objection in claim 1 above. Note that claim 19 also recites limitations where the release mechanism is part of the first arm restrictor. Claim 19 is also objected as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 8813424) (hereinafter “Nguyen”) in view of Derham (US 8726572).
Claim 1
(Nguyen discloses) A window opening control device (embodiment shown in figures 7-10), comprising:
a first restrictor arm (186) having a proximal end (end at 200; figure 8) pivotably securable to one of a window frame and a window sash (sash shown in figures 9-10) and including a first connector (198);
a second restrictor arm (190) having a proximal end (end at 214) pivotably securable to the other one of the window frame (frame shown in figures 9-10) and the window sash and including a second connector (slot of 208; figure 7) couplable with the first connector (figures 8 and 10), the first and the second restrictor arms being configurable in a compacted configuration (configuration of the restrictor arms when the sash is closed), and an extended configuration (figure 10) in which the first and second restrictor arms extend from their respective distal ends (end at 198 of the first restrictor arm and end at 208 of the second restrictor arm) toward their respective proximal ends in different directions (figure 10), with only distal sections of the first and second restrictor arms, including the first and second connectors, superposed (figure 10), and with the first and second connectors coupled together to limit a pivotal travel of the window sash with respect to the window frame (lines 16-24 of col. 6); and
a release mechanism (206) mounted to one of the first and second restrictor arms (figures 7-10) and actionable to disengage the first and the second connectors (lines 46-51 of col. 13), the first and the second connectors being automatically coupled together in the compacted configuration (lines 11-13 of the abstract discussing the coupler re-engages without user action when the sash is closed; lines 64-67 of col. 2 to lines 1-4 of col. 3).
The embodiment of Nguyen in figures 7-10 is silent regarding further details of the compacted configuration, more specifically:
the compacted configuration in which the first and second restrictor arms are positioned alongside one another with their respective proximal ends positioned adjacent one another and their respective distal ends positioned adjacent one another, with a length of one of the first and second restrictor arms extending along and at least partially overlying a length of the other one of the first and second restrictor arms.
(However, Derham teaches) A window opening control device (Derham figures 1-5), comprising:
a first restrictor arm (12) having a proximal end (Annotated figure 1 below);
a second restrictor arm (14) having a proximal end (Annotated figure 1 below);
the first and the second restrictor arms being configurable in a compacted configuration (aligned configuration of the arms when the window parts are closed as described in Excerpt 1 from col. 4 below) in which the first and second restrictor arms are positioned alongside one another with their respective proximal ends positioned adjacent one another and their respective distal ends positioned adjacent one another (Excerpt 1 from col. 4 below), with a length of one of the first and second restrictor arms extending along and at least partially overlying a length of the other one of the first and second restrictor arms (Excerpt 1 from col. 4 below; Annotated figure 1 below shows a partially opened window; in this partially opened window, the two arms are shown to be aligning with each other),
a first (30) and the second connectors (38) being automatically coupled together in the compacted configuration (Excerpt 1 and Excerpt 2 from col. 8 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the window first restrictor arm and second restrictor arm of the Nguyen such that their respective proximal and distal ends are adjacent with one another, and one of the lengths of the first or second restrictor arms is overlying with a length of the other first or second restrictor arms in the compacted configuration as taught by Derham for the predictable and expected results of allowing both arms to seamlessly fold and overlapping with each other in the closed position of the window sash thereby improving aesthetics and the closed sealing provided by the closed window assembly.
Annotated figure 1
Excerpt 1
Excerpt 2
Claim 2
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 1, wherein the first connector is a male connector (see male connector 198), and the second connector is a female connector (slot of 208; figure 7) couplable with the male connector to provide a pivotable connector connection in between (figure 10).
Claim 3
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 1, wherein the first restrictor arm comprises a first mounting bracket (188) securable to the one of the window frame and the window sash (figure 9), and a first elongated arm (196) pivotally mounted to the first mounting bracket (lines 48-49 of col. 8), the first elongated arm having the first connector provided thereon (figures 7-8).
Claim 4
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 3, wherein the first restrictor arm comprises a resilient member (194) configured to pivotally bias the first elongated arm towards the one of the window frame and the window sash wherein the first elongated arm superposes the one of the window frame and the window sash (lines 49-52 of col. 8).
Claim 5
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 3, wherein the first restrictor arm comprises an abutment (Annotated figure 8 below) shaped to space-apart the first elongated arm from the one of the window frame and the window sash when the first elongated arm superposes the one of the window frame and the window sash (figures 9-10).
Annotated figure 8
Claim 6
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 3, wherein the second restrictor arm comprises a second mounting bracket (192) securable to the other one of the window frame and the window sash, a second elongated arm (202) pivotally mounted to the second mounting bracket and having the second connector provided thereon (figure 7), and the release mechanism mounted to the second elongated arm (figures 7-8).
Claim 7
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 6, wherein the second arm restrictor comprises a resilient member (204) configured to pivotally bias the second elongated arm into a coupling angle wherein the second connector of the second arm restrictor is in a coupling alignment with the first connector of the first arm restrictor when the first and second arm restrictors are uncoupled (intended use; lines 1-3 of col. 9).
Claim 8
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first and second mounting brackets is a corner bracket (figures 9-10) securable to a corner portion of the respective one of the window frame and the window sash to align the first and second restrictor arms when in the compacted configuration (figures 9-10).
Claim 9
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 6, wherein the release mechanism comprises a sliding member (Excerpt 3 from col. 13 below discusses the release mechanism is a slider member) movable between a release configuration and a locked configuration (Excerpt 3 from col. 13 below), and a biasing member (216) biasing the sliding member towards the locked configuration (lines 41-42 of col. 13).
Excerpt 3
Claim 10
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 6, wherein the second connector is a locking aperture (figure 7) extending through the second elongated arm and being at least partially delimited by a sliding member (Excerpt 3 from col. 13 above) when the sliding member is in the locked configuration (figure 10).
Claim 11
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 10, wherein the sliding member comprises a projection (222) extending along a periphery of the locking aperture when the sliding member is in the locked configuration to at least partially delimit the locking aperture (figure 10).
Claim 12
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 10, wherein the first connector is a locking member (figure 7) sized to be received within the locking aperture when the first and second connectors are coupled together (figure 10).
Claim 13
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 12, wherein the first connector further comprises a head portion (Annotated figure 7 below) provided at a distal end of the locking member and spaced-apart from the first elongated arm to define a head gap (Annotated figure 8 above) sized to receive second elongated arm.
Annotated figure 7
Claim 14
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window opening control device of claim 12, wherein the locking aperture defines a concave channel (220; figure 10) at a distal end thereof sized to receive the first connector therein when the first and second arm restrictors are tensioned in the extended configuration (figure 10).
Claim 15
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The window control device of claim 6, wherein the second elongated arm comprises a pointed distal tip (tip of 208) sized for insertion between a gap formed between the first connector and the one of the window frame and the window sash when the first elongated arm is in a rest position (figure 10).
Claim 16
(Nguyen discloses) A window assembly (figures 7-10) comprising:
a window frame (frame shown in figures 9-10);
a window sash (sash shown in figures 9-10) pivotably mounted to the window frame; and
the window opening control device of claim 1 (see rejection in claim 1 above).
Claim 17
(Nguyen discloses) A method of restricting a window opening (figures 7-10), the method comprising:
securing a first arm restrictor (190) to a window frame (frame shown in figures 9-10), the first arm restrictor comprising a first connector (slot of 208) and being pivotally mounted to the window frame (via 214);
securing a second arm restrictor (186) to a window sash (sash in figures 9-10), the second arm restrictor comprising a second connector (198) and being pivotally mounted to the window sash (via 200);
pivotally biasing the first arm restrictor toward the window frame to superpose the window frame (via 204; lines 1-3 of col. 9; figures 9-10);
pivotally biasing the second arm restrictor to position the second connector of the second arm restrictor in a coupling alignment with the first connector of the first arm restrictor (via 194; lines 49-52 of col. 8; figures 9-10); and
pivoting the window sash toward a closed configuration to position the first and second
arm restrictors in a compacted configuration (configuration of the restrictor arms when the sash is closed) to thereby automatically couple the first connector of the first arm restrictor with the second connector of the second arm restrictor and the first and second restrictor arms are superposed (lines 11-13 of the abstract discussing the coupler re-engages without user action when the sash is closed; lines 64-67 of col. 2 to lines 1-4 of col. 3).
The embodiment of Nguyen in figures 7-10 is silent regarding further details of the compacted configuration, more specifically:
the compacted configuration in which the first and second arm restrictors are positioned alongside one another with their respective proximal ends positioned adjacent one another and their respective distal ends positioned adjacent one another, with a length of one of the first and second arm restrictors extending along and at least partially overlying a length of the other one of the first and second arm restrictors.
(However, Derham teaches) A window opening control device (Derham figures 1-5), comprising:
a first arm restrictor (12) having a proximal end (Annotated figure 1 above);
a second arm restrictor (14) having a proximal end (Annotated figure 1 above);
positioning the first and the second arm restrictors in a compacted configuration (aligned configuration of the arms when the window parts are closed as described in Excerpt 1 from col. 4 above) in which the first and second arm restrictors are positioned alongside one another with their respective proximal ends positioned adjacent one another and their respective distal ends positioned adjacent one another (Excerpt 1 from col. 4 above), with a length of one of the first and second arm restrictors extending along and at least partially overlying a length of the other one of the first and second arm restrictors (Excerpt 1 from col. 4 above; Annotated figure 1 above shows a partially opened window; in figure 1, the two arms are moving towards aligning with each other),
a first (30) and the second connectors (38) being automatically coupled together in the compacted configuration (Excerpt 1 and Excerpt 2 from col. 8 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the window first arm restrictor and second arm restrictor of the Nguyen such that their respective proximal and distal ends are adjacent with one another, and one of the lengths of the first or second arm restrictors is overlying with a length of the other first or second arm restrictors in the compacted configuration as taught by Derham for the predictable and expected results of allowing both arms to seamlessly fold and overlapping with each other in the closed position of the window sash thereby improving aesthetics and the closed sealing provided by the closed window assembly.
Claim 18
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The method of claim 17, wherein coupling the first and second connectors comprises transitioning a release mechanism (206) of one of the first and second connectors from a locked configuration to a release configuration to expose an open lateral side of a locking aperture of a corresponding one of the first and second connectors (Excerpt 3 above).
Claim 19
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The method of claim 18, wherein transitioning the release mechanism from the locked configuration to the release configuration comprises sliding a sliding member (Excerpt 3 above discusses 206 as a sliding member) along a longitudinal axis of the corresponding one of the first and second arm restrictors (Excerpt 3 above; Annotated figure 7 above).
Claim 20
(Nguyen, as modified above, discloses) The method of claim 17, further comprising pivoting the window sash outwardly until the displacement of the window sash is constrained by the coupling of the first and second arm restrictors (abstract; figure 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments directed to the drawing objections have been considered and some of the objections were withdrawn. Note that objections regarding the release mechanism was not addressed, therefore they were maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding “The Applicant respectfully submits that Nguyen does not teach the compacted configuration now recited in claim 1, nor does Nguyen teach the first and second connectors being automatically coupled together in that compacted configuration” and applicant’s arguments directed to further details of the compacted configuration, Nguyen does not show a closed configuration of the sash but clearly discloses that the first and second connectors are configured to automatically engage with each other when the sash is closed.
Regardless, examiner finds this argument unpersuasive as this feature is well-known in the casement window technology, as noted in the combination rejection above, such that one of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply an overlying compacted configuration for the restrictor arms such that both arms are tucked in when the sash is closed.
Regarding “Claim 17 further recites pivotally biasing the first arm restrictor toward the window frame to superpose the window frame. The Applicant respectfully submits that Nguyen does not disclose or suggest this step. The Office Action appears to rely on Nguyen's frame arm 190 and position biasing member 204 for this limitation”, note that the claim broadly requires the first arm restrictor to superpose the window frame - i.e., it does not require that the entire first arm restrictor to be aligned with the window frame. Figure 9 shows the position of the first restrictor arm at least partially superposed with the window frame thus this limitation is met by Nguyen. If applicant wants the entire first arm restrictor to superpose with the window frame such that its entire length is aligned or parallel with the window frame, applicant should properly claim such limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634