DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Examiner in prosecuting this application.
Examiner Comments
Claim 1, 7, 13 broadly recited “encoding method”, “encoder” with “current frame”, etc. In light of the application specification, the “encoding” and “encoder” with “frame” as broadly claimed would be interpreted as audio encoding or audio encoder with audio signal “frame”, (for audio quality, para 3, audio encoding in figs. 2, 4, 6, and audio decoding in figs. 3, 5, 7, etc.), other than encoding and decoding of image, video signals or frames. Therefore, in order to precisely and accurately claim the invented subject matters, it is recommended to use accurate claim language such as --audio signal--, --audio signal frame--, --audio signal encoding--, --audio signal encoder--, or similar.
Claim Objection
Claims 5-6, 11-12, 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites “the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame …” in lines 2-3 and lines 14-15 of claim 5, which should be -- the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the right channel signal in the current frame …—because, as claimed, “amplitude correlation difference parameters” is “between the left channel signal and the right channel signal” as recited in parent claim 4, while “amplitude correlation parameter” is “between the left/right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame” as recited in parent claim 4. Claim 6 is objected due to the dependency to claim 5.
Claims 11, 17 are objected for the at least similar reason described in claim 5 above because claims 11, 17 recited the similar deficient limitations as recited in claim 5. Claims 12, 18 are objected due to the dependency to claims 11, 17, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2, 4-6, 17-18, 20-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,727,943 B2 and in view of reference Norvell et al. (US 20100322429 A1). The conflicting claims 1-2, 4-6, 17-18, 20-22 teaches all the limitations of claims 1-18 of the instant application, except explicitly teaching limitations of “an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor” and “writing the encoded index into a bitstream” as recited in independent claims 1, 7, 13 of the instant application. However, Norvell above teaches the limitations of “an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor” and “writing the encoded index into a bitstream” above, see the prior art rejection of claims 1, 7, 13 as set forth below, for the benefits discussed in prior art rejection of claims 1, 7, 13 as set forth below. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to have applied the limitations of the “an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor” and the “writing the encoded index into a bitstream”, as taught by Norvell, to the channel combination ratio factor in the time-domain stereo parameter encoding method and apparatus, as taught by the conflicting claims 1-2, 4-6, 17-18, 20-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,727,943 B2, for the benefits discussed above. The following is the comparison between claims 1-18 of the instant application and the conflicting claims 1-2, 4-6, 17-18, 20-22 of the U.S. Patent No. 11,727,943 B2 for reference:
Claims in the current application
Conflicting claims 1-2, 4-6, 17-18, 20-22 in U.S. Patent No. 11,727,943 B2
1. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding method, comprising: determining a channel combination scheme for a current frame; determining a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; obtain an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor; and writing the encoded index into a bitstream.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal.
4. The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprising: obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the right channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the right channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; or when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
5. The method according to claim 4, wherein the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=a*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur=(1−A)*tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.pre+A*rms_L, wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdmn_lt_corr_LM_SMe.sup.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor.
7. A computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by at least one processor, cause an encoder to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame; determine a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; obtain an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor; and write the encoded index into a bitstream.
8. The computer program product according to claim 7, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal.
10. The computer program product according to claim 8, wherein the determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtain a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
9. The computer program product according to claim 8, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; or when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
11. The computer program product according to claim 10, wherein the calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
12. The computer program product according to claim 11, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur=(1−A)*tdm_;t_rms_L_SM.sub.pre+A*rms_L, wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LMSM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor.
13. An encoder, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and configured to store programming instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the encoder to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame; determine a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; obtain an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor; and write the encoded index into a bitstream.
14. The encoder according to claim 13, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal.
16. The encoder according to claim 14, wherein the determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtain a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
15. The encoder according to claim 14, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; or when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
17. The encoder according to claim 16, wherein the calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
18. The encoder according to claim 17, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur=(1−A)*tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.pre+A*rms_L, wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdmn_lt_corr_LM_SM.sup.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor.
1. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding method, comprising: determining a channel combination scheme for a current frame of an audio signal from a plurality of channel combination schemes, wherein the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise a correlated signal channel combination scheme and an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme; determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame, wherein the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame comprises at least one of a channel combination ratio factor or an inter-channel time difference; and in response to determining the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame, encoding the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame; wherein the determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame, wherein
mono_i(n) indicates the reference channel signal in the current frame, X′.sub.L(n) indicates the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame, and X′.sub.R(n) indicates the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame, the channel combination ratio factor for the current frame.
2. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding method according to claim 1, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; and when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
4. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding method according to claim 1, wherein the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
5. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding method according to claim 4, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, wherein tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, corr_LM tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, indicates the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor; and
tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.cur=β*tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.pre+(1−β)corr_RM, wherein dm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm lt corr RM SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the previous frame, corr_RM indicates the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and β indicates a right channel smoothing factor.
6. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding method according to claim 4, wherein
diff_lt_corr=tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM?tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM; wherein tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and diff_lt_corr indicates the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame.
17. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing computer executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the computer executable instructions instruct the at least one processor to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame of an audio signal from a plurality of channel combination schemes, wherein the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise a correlated signal channel combination scheme and an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme; determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame, wherein the time-domain stereo parameter comprises at least one of a channel combination ratio factor or an inter-channel time difference; and in response to determining the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame, encode the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame; wherein determining the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame, wherein
mono_i(n) indicates the reference channel signal in the current frame, x′.sub.L(n) indicates the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame, and x′.sub.R(n) indicates the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame, the channel combination ratio factor for the current frame.
18. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 17, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; and when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
20. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 17, wherein calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
21. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 20, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, wherein tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, corr_LM indicates the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor; and
tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.cur=β*tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.pre+(1−β)corr_RM, wherein tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm It corr RM SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the previous frame, corr_RM indicates the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and β indicates a right channel smoothing factor.
22. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 20, wherein
diff_lt_corr=tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM−tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM; wherein tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and diff_lt_corr indicates the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame.
17. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing computer executable instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the computer executable instructions instruct the at least one processor to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame of an audio signal from a plurality of channel combination schemes, wherein the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise a correlated signal channel combination scheme and an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme; determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame, wherein the time-domain stereo parameter comprises at least one of a channel combination ratio factor or an inter-channel time difference; and in response to determining the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame, encode the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame; wherein determining the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame, wherein
mono_i(n) indicates the reference channel signal in the current frame, x′.sub.L(n) indicates the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame, and x′.sub.R(n) indicates the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame, the channel combination ratio factor for the current frame.
18. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 17, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; and when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
20. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 17, wherein calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
21. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 20, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, wherein tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, corr_LM indicates the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor; and
tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.cur=β*tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.pre+(1−β)corr_RM, wherein tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm It corr RM SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the previous frame, corr_RM indicates the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and β indicates a right channel smoothing factor.
22. The time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus according to claim 20, wherein
diff_lt_corr=tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM−tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM; wherein tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_RM_SM indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, and diff_lt_corr indicates the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame.
Claim 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12175987 B2 in view of reference of Vaillancourt et al. (US 20180268826 A1) and Norvell et al. (US 20100322429 A1). Conflicting claims 1-3, 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12175987 B2 teaches all the limitations of claims 1-18 of the instant application, except explicitly teaching limitations of “an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor” and “writing the encoded index into a bitstream” as recited in independent claims 1, 7, 13 of the instant application and except explicitly teaching limitations of dependent claims 6, 12, 18, about limitation of
. However, Norvell above teaches the limitations of “an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor” and “writing the encoded index into a bitstream” as discussed in the prior art rejection of claims 1, 7, 13 as set forth below, for the benefits discussed in prior art rejection of claims 1, 7, 13 as set forth below and Vaillancourt above teaches the limitations of dependent claims 6, 12, 18 about
, as discussed in prior art rejection of claims 6, 12, 18 as set forth below, for benefits of improving user’s acoustic scenic experiences and sound quality in acoustic field (for the speech/audio receive to feel a real environment as the sender, para 8 and improving the sound quality and the intelligibility of stereo speech by maintaining the complex audio scenes at the receiver side, para 40) with balanced overall sound quality (in an environment having audio scene with interfering talking and background noise, para 7) and efficient encoding and decoding scheme (by improving the bit allocation between the mixed signals, para 82, and by delaying correction TDC, para 106). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to have applied the limitations the “the encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor” and the “writing the encoded index into a bitstream”, as taught by Norvell, and the limitations about
as taught by Vaillancourt, to “the channel combination ratio factor” in the time-domain stereo parameter encoding method and apparatus, and to the amplitude correlation difference parameter and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame in the time-domain stereo parameter encoding method and apparatus, as taught by conflicting claims 1-3, 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12175987 B2, respectively, for the benefits discussed above. The following is the comparison between claims 1-18 of the instant application and the conflicting claims 1-3, 8-10 of the U.S. Patent No. 12175987 B2 for reference:
Claims 1-18 in the current application
Conflicting claims 1-3, 8-10 in U.S. Patent No. 12,175,987 B2
1. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding method, comprising: determining a channel combination scheme for a current frame; determining a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; obtain an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor; and writing the encoded index into a bitstream.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal.
4. The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprising: obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the right channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the right channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; or when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
5. The method according to claim 4, wherein the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=a*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur=(1−A)*tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.pre+A*rms_L, wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdmn_lt_corr_LM_SMe.sup.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor.
7. A computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by at least one processor, cause an encoder to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame; determine a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; obtain an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor; and write the encoded index into a bitstream.
8. The computer program product according to claim 7, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal.
10. The computer program product according to claim 8, wherein the determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtain a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
9. The computer program product according to claim 8, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; or when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
11. The computer program product according to claim 10, wherein the calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
12. The computer program product according to claim 11, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur=(1−A)*tdm_;t_rms_L_SM.sub.pre+A*rms_L, wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LMSM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor.
13. An encoder, comprising: at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and configured to store programming instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the encoder to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame; determine a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; obtain an encoded index of the channel combination ratio factor; and write the encoded index into a bitstream.
14. The encoder according to claim 13, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal.
16. The encoder according to claim 14, wherein the determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtain a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
15. The encoder according to claim 14, wherein: when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; or when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
17. The encoder according to claim 16, wherein the calculate an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
18. The encoder according to claim 17, wherein
tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.cur=α*tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre+(1−α)corr_LM, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur=(1−A)*tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.pre+A*rms_L, wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_rms_L_SM.sub.cur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame, tdmn_lt_corr_LM_SM.sup.cur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame, tdm_lt_corr_LM_SM.sub.pre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame, and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor.
1. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding method, comprising: determining a channel combination scheme for a current frame of an audio signal, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, wherein different channel combination schemes have different time-domain downmix processing manners; wherein the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal; wherein the near in phase signal includes a stereo signal whose phase difference between left and right channel signals is relatively closer to 0 degree than to 180 degrees, and wherein the near out of phase signal includes a stereo signal whose phase difference between left and right channel signals is relatively closer to 180 degrees than to 0 degree; determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; and encoding the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame, wherein the time-domain stereo parameter comprises at least one of a channel combination ratio factor; wherein the determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies mono_i(n)=xL′(n)-xR′(n)2, wherein mono_i(n) represents the reference channel signal in the current frame, x.sub.L′(n) represents a left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame, and x.sub.R′(n) represents a right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame; obtaining an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies corr_LM=.Math.n=0N-1.Math.xL′(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math..Math.n=0N-1.Math.mono_i(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math., wherein corr_LM represents the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; obtaining an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies corr_RM=.Math.n=0N-1.Math.xR′(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math..Math.n=0N-1.Math.mono_i(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math., wherein corr_RM represents the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; obtaining an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the corr_LM and the corr_RM; and obtaining, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; and when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame comprises: calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
8. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus, comprising: at least one processor, and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame of an audio signal, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, wherein different channel combination schemes have different time-domain downmix processing manners; wherein the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal; wherein the near in phase signal includes a stereo signal whose phase difference between left and right channel signals is relatively closer to 0 degree than to 180 degrees, and wherein the near out of phase signal includes a stereo signal whose phase difference between left and right channel signals is relatively closer to 180 degrees than to 0 degree; determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; and encode the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame, wherein the time-domain stereo parameter comprises at least one of a channel combination ratio factor; wherein the determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtain a reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies mono_i(n)=xL′(n)-xR′(n)2, wherein mono_i(n) represents the reference channel signal in the current frame, x.sub.L′(n) represents a left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame, and x.sub.R′(n) represents a right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame; obtain an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies corr_LM=.Math.n=0N-1.Math.xL′(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math..Math.n=0N-1.Math.mono_i(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math., wherein corr_LM represents the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; obtain an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies corr_RM=.Math.n=0N-1.Math.xR′(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math..Math.n=0N-1.Math.mono_i(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math., wherein corr_RM represents the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; obtain an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the corr_LM and the corr_RM; and obtain, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
9. The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; and when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
10. The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
8. A time-domain stereo parameter encoding apparatus, comprising: at least one processor, and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a channel combination scheme for a current frame of an audio signal, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes, wherein different channel combination schemes have different time-domain downmix processing manners; wherein the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme and a correlated signal channel combination scheme, the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal, and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal; wherein the near in phase signal includes a stereo signal whose phase difference between left and right channel signals is relatively closer to 0 degree than to 180 degrees, and wherein the near out of phase signal includes a stereo signal whose phase difference between left and right channel signals is relatively closer to 180 degrees than to 0 degree; determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame; and encode the determined time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame, wherein the time-domain stereo parameter comprises at least one of a channel combination ratio factor; wherein the determine a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises: obtain a reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies mono_i(n)=xL′(n)-xR′(n)2, wherein mono_i(n) represents the reference channel signal in the current frame, x.sub.L′(n) represents a left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame, and x.sub.R′(n) represents a right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment in the current frame; obtain an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies corr_LM=.Math.n=0N-1.Math.xL′(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math..Math.n=0N-1.Math.mono_i(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math., wherein corr_LM represents the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; obtain an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame satisfies corr_RM=.Math.n=0N-1.Math.xR′(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math..Math.n=0N-1.Math.mono_i(n).Math.*.Math.mono_i(n).Math., wherein corr_RM represents the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame; obtain an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the corr_LM and the corr_RM; and obtain, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
9. The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame; and when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame.
10. The apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to: calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame; and calculate the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left and right channel signals in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaillancourt et al. (WO 2017049399 A1, also published as US 20180268826 A1 that has been used in the following paragraph citations below, hereinafter Vaillancourt) and in view of reference Norvell et al. (US 20100322429 A1, hereinafter Norvell).
Claim 1: Vaillancourt teaches a time-domain stereo parameter encoding method (title and abstract, ln 1-17, and stereo sound encoding method and system corresponding to the stereo sound decoding method in fig. 1, and for producing good stereo quality, para 1), comprising:
determining a channel combination scheme for a current frame (a channel mixing module, i.e., combination scheme, selected from a proposed channel mixer 251/351 and an out-of-phase channel mixer 1454, based on an out-of-phase or uncorrelation detection 1401 for the current frame t of left and right channel signals L, R, by using at least VAD of left and right channel previous frames and the long-term energies of the mixed signals of the previous frames in fig. 14, para 108-110, or one of mixing approaches upon different pre-adaptation factors αr, one value between 0.1 and 1.0, applied to correct the long-term correlations difference value 1356 through an operations 1306, 1305 for determining time-domain channel mixer 1358, e.g., one αr being corresponding to a unvoiced and active signal of the input left and right channel signals in fig. 13, para 91-96);
determining a channel combination ratio factor of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame (including β(t), determining contributions of the left and right channel signals to Y(i) and X(i), respectively, through formulas 9-10, para 82-87, and β(t) is calculated through formulas 5-8, based on determination of whether voiced/active or unvoiced/inactive channel signal through the element 1304 in fig. 13 or based on whether proposed channel mixer 251/351 or out-of-phase channel mixer 1454 through the out-of-phase signal detection of the previous long term frames in fig. 14, and through a linearized long-term correlation difference G’LR(t) for the current frame t, e.g., if uncorrelated or out-of-phase between L and R signals is detected, the factor β(t) is forced to 1, being equivalent to the linearized long term correlation difference G’LT(t) = 2, formula 7 in fig. 5, para 84);
obtain quantized index of the channel combination ratio factor (using a 5-bit index representing the quantized version of the factor β(t), para 99); and
writing the quantized index into a bitstream (through the MUX in fig. 15 and the β(t) is sent to the bitstream in fig. 13).
However, Vaillancourt does not explicitly teach that the quantized index is further encoded and the encoded index is written into the bitstream.
Norvell teaches an analogous field of endeavor by disclosing a time-domain stereo parameter encoding method (title and abstract, ln 1-14 and left side of fig. 2) and wherein encoding an index is disclosed (encoding the calculated delta-indices by using codeword in table 1 and through entropy code or unitary code, para 154-155) to be written into a bitstream (placed into bit stream through a predictor bit stream Q1 in fig. 6, para 162) for benefits of optimizing bitstream transmission (by reducing the parameter transmission bitrate through value related codeword selected, para 155).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied encoding the index and written the encoded index into bitstream, as taught by Norvell, to obtaining the quantized index and writing the quantized index into the bitstream in the time-domain stereo parameter encoding method, as taught by Vaillancourt, for the benefits discussed above.
Claim 7 has been analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 above, and the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches a computer program product comprising instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Vaillancourt, computer program, para 204, containing instructions, para 11) and that, when executed by at least one processor, cause an encoder (Vaillancourt, stereo signal encoder in fig. 2) to perform the method of claim 1 (Vaillancourt, the instructions stored in a memory coupled to the processor, and executed by the processor and causes the processor to implement the method of claim 1, para 11).
Claim 13 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 1, 7 above and the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches an encoder (Vaillancourt, audio encoder in figs. 2-3, and Norvell, including multi-channel audio encoder 100 in fig. 1) comprising at least one processor (at least one processor, para 11); and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor (Vaillancourt, memory storing non-transitory instructions, para 11) and configured to store programming instructions (the memory storing the instructions, para 11), that when executed by the at least one processor, causes the encoder to perform the method steps of claim 1 (when executed case the processor to implement the method of claim 1, para 11).
Claim 2: the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches, according to claim 1 above, wherein the channel combination scheme for the current frame is one of a plurality of channel combination schemes (Vaillancourt, signal mixing or combinations corresponding to a proposed channel mixer 251/351 and an out-of-phase channel mixer 1454, based on an out-of-phase or uncorrelation detection 1401 and discussed in claim 1 above), the plurality of channel combination schemes comprise an anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme (Vaillancourt, signal mixing or combinations corresponding to a proposed channel mixer 251/351 and corresponding to an out-of-phase channel mixer 1454, based on an out-of-phase or uncorrelation detection 1401 or comparing the mono signal energy to the input L, R signals, para 103, 107, e.g., not as correlated as a voice signal, Fsub is set to 1, and discussed in claim 1 above) and a correlated signal channel combination scheme (Vaillancourt, the mono signal energy compared to be at least more than L, R signal energy, para 103, e.g., correlated as voiced signal, para 112, or flag Fsub is 0), the correlated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near in phase signal (Vaillancourt, such correlated as voiced signal, para 112 and discussed above), and the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme is a channel combination scheme corresponding to a near out of phase signal (Vaillancourt, L and R signals are inverted in phase, para 103 and the discussed above).
Claim 3: the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches, according to claim 2 above, wherein
when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the correlated signal channel combination scheme, a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the correlated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame (Vaillancourt, G’LR(t), determined by long term correlation difference
for the current frame t, and the
is determined by formulas 5-6, e.g., in a condition that
< 1.5 in formula 7, para 84, defined in the formula 7, para 84); or
when the channel combination scheme for the current frame is the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme, the time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame is a time-domain stereo parameter corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame (Vaillancourt, G’LR(t), determined by long term correlation difference
for the current frame t, and the
is determined by formulas 5-6, e.g., in a condition that
≥ 1.5 in formula 7, para 84, and corresponding to β is forced to 1 in fig. 5).
Claim 4: the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches, according to claim 2 above, wherein the determining a time-domain stereo parameter of the current frame based on the channel combination scheme for the current frame comprises:
obtaining a reference channel signal in the current frame based on a left channel signal and a right channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, a monophonic signal version m(i) of the sound as a reference signal, para 76);
calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, via a L/R normalized correlation analyzer 453, computing a correlation GL(t) for the left channel signal against to the monophonic signal version m(i) by formula 4, para 76-77);
calculating an amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, via a L/R normalized correlation analyzer 453, computing a correlation GR(t) for the right channel signal against to the monophonic signal version m(i) by formula 4, para 76-77);
calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the right channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt,
, via formulas 5-6 by using calculated GL(t) and GR(t), para 77-79 and a convergence factor α in formula 5 is upon the long-term energies calculated by formulas 2-3, para 80-81); and
calculating, based on the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and right channel signal in the current frame, a channel combination ratio factor corresponding to the anticorrelated signal channel combination scheme for the current frame (Vaillancourt, the factor β is obtained through G’LR(t) via formula 8 as a temporary linearized long-term correlation difference from the
above by formula 7 and discussed in claims 1-2 above, para 82-86).
Claim 5: the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches, according to claim 4 above, wherein the calculating an amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and the reference (should be –right--, see claim objection above) channel signal in the current frame (G’LR(t) and discussed above) based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, the GL(t) and discussed in claim 4 above) and the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, the GR(t) and discussed in claim 4 above) comprises:
calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt,
in formula 5, and in formula 5,
, calculated through the left channel signal of previous frame and aligned to the current frame t in formula 5, para 78, and
including the monophonic signal version m(i) by formula 4 and discussed in claim 4 above);
calculating a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame based on the amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal that has undergone delay alignment and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt,
in formula 5, and in formula 5,
, calculated through the right channel signal of previous frame and aligned to the current frame t in formula 5, para 78, and
including the monophonic signal version m(i) by formula 4 and discussed in claim 4 above); and
calculating the amplitude correlation difference parameter between the left channel signal and reference (should be –right-- herein, see the claim objection above) channel signal in the current frame based on the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame and the long term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the right channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, the long-term LT correlation difference
by formula 6, para 78-80 and the β(t) is derived from formulas 7-8 via a temporary linearized long-term correlation difference G’LR(t) by formula 7 and discussed in claim 4 above).
Claim 6: the combination of Vaillancourt and Norvell further teaches, according to claim 5 above, wherein
(Vaillancourt,
in formula 5, para 78-79 and
in formula 2, para 72-73) wherein A indicates an update factor of long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, 0.4 in 0.4*rmsL of formula 2), tdm_lt_rms_L_SMcur indicates the long-term smoothed frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt,
in formula 2 above), rms_L indicates frame energy of the left channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt, rmsL in formula 2 above and calculated by formula 1), tdm_lt_corr_LM_SMcur indicates the long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between the left channel signal and the reference channel signal in the current frame (Vaillancourt,
in formula 5), tdm_lt_corr_LM_SMpre indicates a long-term smoothed amplitude correlation parameter between a left channel signal and a reference channel signal in a previous frame (Vaillancourt,
in formula 5), and α indicates a left channel smoothing factor (Vaillancourt, α in formula 5, para 78-79).
Claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 7, 2 above.
Claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 3 above.
Claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 8, 4 above.
Claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 10, 5 above.
Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 11, 6 above.
Claim 14 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 13, 2 above.
Claim 15 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 14, 3 above.
Claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 14, 4 above.
Claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 16, 5 above.
Claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected according to claims 17, 6 above.
Conclusion
/LESHUI ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695