DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al (USPN 20180365975) in view of Hung et al (USPN 20090232230).
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses
a chip, wherein the chip comprises at least one processor coupled to one or more memories, the one or more memories storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: (FPGA/ASIC comprising processor executing instructions stored in memory to perform [0334, 0332, 0323, 0072]
obtaining a first multi-carrier signal (receiving a wireless signal, collecting CFR/CSI per subcarrier [0008, 0107, 0108, 0323]
performing compensation on the first multi-carrier signal, based on a channel state information phase difference of the multi-carrier signal, to obtain a second multi-carrier signal (linear phase calibration forms G(Δ) [k] =h[k]* x h[k+ Δ], with signature vector G(Δ) obtained directly from channel state information vector h, obtains β and βres [0283-0291]
Xu does not expressly disclose wherein a channel state information phase difference of the second multi-carrier signal is zero
Hung discloses wherein a channel state information phase difference of the second multi-carrier signal is zero (delay phase comes from subcarrier-pair phase differences and applied as a rotation arriving at zero [0028-0035, 0021, 0022]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein a channel state information phase difference of the second multi-carrier signal is zero” as taught by Hung into Xu’s system with the motivation to offer an optimal delay phase and higher order mechanism that works in large delay spread (Hung, paragraph [0039, 0049, 0050])
Claim 1 is rejected based on similar ground(s) provided in rejection of claim 9
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing programming instructions for execution by at least one processor, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause a computer to perform operations comprising: (memory comprising instructions that are executed by processor to perform [0332, 0334]
obtaining a first multi-carrier signal (receiving a wireless signal, collecting CFR/CSI per subcarrier [0008, 0107, 0108, 0323]
performing compensation on the first multi-carrier signal, based on a channel state information phase difference of the multi-carrier signal, to obtain a second multi-carrier signal (linear phase calibration forms G(Δ) [k] =h[k]* x h[k+ Δ], with signature vector G(Δ) obtained directly from channel state information vector h, obtains β and βres [0283-0291]
CSI can also be referred to as CFR [0089]
Xu does not expressly disclose wherein a channel state information phase difference of the second multi-carrier signal is zero
Hung discloses wherein a channel state information phase difference of the second multi-carrier signal is zero (delay phase comes from subcarrier-pair phase differences and applied as a rotation arriving at zero [0028-0035, 0021, 0022]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein a channel state information phase difference of the second multi-carrier signal is zero” as taught by Hung into Xu’s system with the motivation to offer an optimal delay phase and higher order mechanism that works in large delay spread (Hung, paragraph [0039, 0049, 0050])
Regarding claims 2, 10, 18, Xu discloses “compensation on channel state information of the first multi- carrier signal, based on the channel state information phase difference of the first multi-carrier signal, to obtain the second multi-carrier signal” CSI phase offset compensation [0261-0263, 0276-0287]
Xu does not expressly disclose “performing true time delay compensation”
Hung discloses rotation is explicitly a time-domain shift [0012, 0051, 0023-0026]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “performing true time delay compensation” as taught by Hung into Xu’s system with the motivation to offer an optimal delay phase and higher order mechanism that works in large delay spread (Hung, paragraph [0039, 0049, 0050])
Regarding claims 3, 11, 19, Xu discloses “performing phase compensation on the first multi-carrier signal, based on the channel state information phase difference of the first multi-carrier signal, to obtain the second multi-carrier signal” initial phase offset cleaning [0288-0293]
Regarding claims 4, 12, 20, Xu does not expressly disclose “performing polynomial fit on the first multi-carrier signal, based on the channel state information phase difference of the first multi-carrier signal, to obtain the second multi-carrier signal”
Hung discloses phase rotation and Nth-order polynomial processing of CSI [0022, 0036-0038]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “performing polynomial fit on the first multi-carrier signal, based on the channel state information phase difference of the first multi-carrier signal, to obtain the second multi-carrier signal” as taught by Hung into Xu’s system with the motivation to offer an optimal delay phase and higher order mechanism that works in large delay spread (Hung, paragraph [0039, 0049, 0050])
Regarding claims 5, 13, Xu discloses CSI can also be referred to as CFR [0089]
Xu does not expressly disclose “performing polynomial fit on channel state information of the first multi-carrier signal, based on the channel state information phase difference of the first multi-carrier signal, to obtain the second multi-carrier signal”
Hung discloses polynomial applied to channel estimates H(f) at pilots [0018, 0036-0038]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “performing polynomial fit on channel state information of the first multi-carrier signal, based on the channel state information phase difference of the first multi-carrier signal, to obtain the second multi-carrier signal” as taught by Hung into Xu’s system with the motivation to offer an optimal delay phase and higher order mechanism that works in large delay spread (Hung, paragraph [0039, 0049, 0050])
Claims 6, 7, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu view of Hung as applied to claims 1, 9, and in further view of Lee (USPN 20220224380).
Regarding claims 6, 14, combined system of Xu and Hung does not expressly disclose “performing imaging based on a plurality of second multi-carrier signals to obtain an imaged image”
Lee discloses OFDM-based imaging radar with range-doppler processing with spatial processing to form an image [0229, 0152-0162, 0271], FIGs. 25-30
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “performing imaging based on a plurality of second multi-carrier signals to obtain an imaged image” as taught by Lee into combined system of Xu and Hung system with the motivation to generate a map image using MIMO signals [0004, 0008]
Regarding claims 7, 15, Xu discloses “averaging the plurality of second multi-carrier signals to obtain an average of the plurality of second multi-carrier signals;” averaging received probe waveforms/channel responses, calibrated CSIs are consistent and aligned [0078, 0083, 0236, 0239]
Xu does not expressly disclose “and performing imaging based on the average to obtain the image”
Lee discloses OFDM-based imaging radar with range-doppler processing with spatial processing to form an image [0229, 0152-0162, 0271], FIGs. 25-30
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “and performing imaging based on the average to obtain the image” as taught by Lee into combined system of Xu and Hung system with the motivation to generate a map image using MIMO signals [0004, 0008]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Svensson et al (USPN 20060239178) FIG. 13
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469