DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0006] and [0037] are objected to as the paragraph states reporting occurs when the internal pressure is below a predetermined pressure and leakage does not occur if the pressure is at the threshold or more. Claim 1 in the last line states “at most a predetermined pressure”. It is unclear in view of paragraphs [0006] and [00367] if the reporting occurs if the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure. It is recommended to amend claim 1 to recite “internal pressure is lower than a predetermined threshold”.
Line 25 on page 3, “[0011]0001” should be amended to –[0011]--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1, “system comprising” should be amended to –system, comprising--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 11, “at least a predetermined value” should be amended to –greater than or equal to a predetermined value--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama (JP 2016157522 A) in view of Wang (US 20130202988 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Murayama discloses a hydrogen tank system (1, Figure 1, the fuel cell system is the hydrogen tank system), comprising:
a hydrogen tank (25, Figure 4);
a hydrogen consuming device (12, Figure 1, the fuel cell stack is the hydrogen consuming device); and
a hydrogen filling port (7, Figure 1),
wherein at least part of a pipe (9a and 9b, Figure 1, the hydrogen pipes are at least part of a pipe) from the hydrogen filling port (7, Figure 1) to the hydrogen tank (25, Figure 1) is same as at least part of a pipe from the hydrogen tank to the hydrogen consuming device (Figure 1, the pipe contains a section that is the same between the hydrogen filling port, hydrogen tank, and hydrogen consuming device), and
a control unit (Paragraph [0055]).
Murayama does not disclose:
after the hydrogen tank is filled with hydrogen and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, a control unit acquires an internal pressure at the same part of the pipes, and reports when the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure.
Wang teaches a hydrogen fuel cell system, comprising:
after the hydrogen tank is filled with hydrogen and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, a control unit acquires an internal pressure at the same part of the pipes, and reports when the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure (Paragraph [0077], [0078], and [0084-0085], the pressure sensor is connected to the control unit (5 and 6, Figures 13and 14) that is constantly operating and taking the internal pressure of the manifold (same part of pipes) and reports when the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure (the alarm sounds when the pressure is equal to the pressure limiting value) in which the fuel cell is in a standby state during and after the filling).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murayama to include after the hydrogen tank is filled with hydrogen and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, a control unit acquires an internal pressure at the same part of the pipes, and reports when the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure as taught by Wang with the motivation to determine if there are leaks in the system to prevent the gas potentially going into the passenger compartment.
Additionally, claim 1 includes the limitation “reports when the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure” in the last line of the claim. Under MPEP 2111.04, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system is to have the structure that performs the function if a condition precedent is met. Both Murayama and Wang teach the control unit that obtains a pressure where the structure (the control unit) can perform the function if the internal pressure is at most a predetermined pressure.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama (JP 2016157522 A) in view of Wang (US 20130202988 A1) in further view of Kizaki (US 20090064764 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
Murayama discloses a hydrogen tank system (1, Figure 1, the fuel cell system is the hydrogen tank system), comprising:
a hydrogen tank (25, Figure 4);
a hydrogen consuming device (12, Figure 1, the fuel cell stack is the hydrogen consuming device); and
a hydrogen filling port (7, Figure 1), wherein
at least part of a pipe (9a and 9b, Figure 1, the hydrogen pipes are at least part of a pipe) from the hydrogen filling port (7, Figure 1) to the hydrogen tank (25, Figure 1) is same as at least part of a pipe from the hydrogen tank to the hydrogen consuming device (Figure 1, the pipe contains a section that is the same between the hydrogen filling port, hydrogen tank, and hydrogen consuming device), and
a control unit (Paragraph [0055]).
Murayama does not disclose:
a control unit acquires a pressure P1 at the same part of the pipes after the hydrogen tank is filled with hydrogen, and a pressure P2 at the same part of the pipes after a predetermined time has elapsed since the hydrogen tank is filled with the hydrogen and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, and reports when a difference between the pressure P1 and the pressure P2 is at least a predetermined value.
Wang teaches a hydrogen fuel cell system, comprising:
a control unit (5 and 6, Figures 13 and 14) acquires a pressure P1 at the same part of the pipes (12, Figure 15) after the hydrogen tank (13, Figure 15) is filled with hydrogen, and a pressure P2 at the same part of the pipes after a predetermined time has elapsed since the hydrogen tank is filled with the hydrogen and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device (200, Figure 15), and reports (Paragraph [0076-0077], [0078], and [0084-0085], the pressure sensor is connected to the control unit (5 and 6, Figures 13and 14) that is constantly operating where it obtains the pressure after filling and a predetermined time thereafter as well as taking the internal pressure of the manifold (same part of pipes) and reports when the pressure is above or below a threshold in which the fuel cell is in a standby state during and after the filling).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murayama to include a control unit acquires a pressure P1 at the same part of the pipes after the hydrogen tank is filled with hydrogen, and a pressure P2 at the same part of the pipes after a predetermined time has elapsed since the hydrogen tank is filled with the hydrogen and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, and reports as taught by Wang with the motivation to determine if there are leaks in the system to prevent the gas potentially going into the passenger compartment.
Murayama and Wang do not expressly teach:
a pressure P2 at the same part of the pipes after a predetermined time has elapsed and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, and reports when a difference between the pressure P1 and the pressure P2 is at least a predetermined value.
Kizaki teaches an anomaly judgement device for a hydrogen tank system, comprising:
a control unit (3, Figure 3) acquires a pressure P2 at the same part of the pipe (15, Figure 3) after a predetermined time has elapsed and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device (100, Figure 3, the fuel cell is the hydrogen consuming device), and reports when a difference between the pressure P1 and the pressure P2 is at least a predetermined value (Paragraphs [0071], [0073], and [0090], the control unit acquires a second pressure for a predetermined time prior to hydrogen being supplied to the fuel cell and reports (the image issued is the reporting) when the difference between the pressures and flow rates is greater than a predetermined value).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murayama and Wang to include a control unit acquires a pressure P2 at the same part of the pipe after a predetermined time has elapsed and before the hydrogen is supplied to the hydrogen consuming device, and reports when a difference between the pressure P1 and the pressure P2 is at least a predetermined value as taught by Kizaki with the motivation to determine if an anomaly is occurring to prevent damage to the components within the system.
Additionally, claim 2 includes the limitation “reports when a difference between the pressure P1 and the pressure P2 is at least a predetermined value” in the last line of the claim. Under MPEP 2111.04, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system is to have the structure that performs the function if a condition precedent is met. Murayama, Kizaki, and Wang teach the control unit that obtains a pressure where the structure (the control unit) can perform the function of reporting if the difference between the pressure P1 and the pressure P2 is at least a predetermined value
Regarding Claim 4:
Murayama discloses:
the control unit (Paragraph [0055]).
Murayama does not disclose:
wherein the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to or at the same time as said reporting.
Wang teaches:
wherein the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank at the same time as said reporting (Paragraphs [0083] and [0085], the control unit closes the valves at the time when the reporting is completed).
Murayama and Wang do not expressly teach:
wherein the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to or at the same time as said reporting.
Kizaki teaches:
wherein the control unit (3, Figure 3) closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to said reporting (Paragraphs [0079] and [0090], the valve (G1) of the hydrogen tank (11) is closed prior to reporting (the image issued is the reporting)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murayama and Wang to include the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to said reporting as taught by Kizaki with the motivation to ensure there is not a gas leak in the system that would cause inconstant power provided from the fuel cell.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama in view of Wang in further view of Kizaki (US 20090064764 A1).
Regarding Claim 3:
Murayama discloses:
the control unit (Paragraph [0055]).
Murayama does not disclose:
wherein the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to or at the same time as said reporting.
Wang teaches:
wherein the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank at the same time as said reporting (Paragraphs [0083] and [0085], the control unit closes the valves at the time when the reporting is completed).
Murayama and Wang do not expressly teach:
wherein the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to or at the same time as said reporting.
Kizaki teaches an anomaly judgement device for a hydrogen tank system, comprising:
wherein the control unit (3, Figure 3) closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to said reporting (Paragraphs [0079] and [0090], the valve (G1) of the hydrogen tank (11) is closed prior to reporting (the image issued is the reporting)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murayama and Wang to include the control unit closes a valve of the hydrogen tank prior to said reporting as taught by Kizaki with the motivation to ensure there is not a gas leak in the system that would cause inconstant power provided from the fuel cell.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US 11306873 B2) teaches a universal hydrogen filling performance evaluation system comprising a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen filling port, and at least part of a pipe.
Kawase (US 20200232603 A1) teaches a high pressure container system and fuel cell vehicle comprising a hydrogen tank, a fuel cell, pressure sensors, measuring the pressure, and at least part of a pipe.
Kwon (US 11815228 B2) teaches a system and method for filling tanks comprising a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen filling port, a fuel cell, a pressure sensor, and at least part of a pipe.
Mori (US 8714183 B2) teaches a system for hydrogen charging comprising a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen filling port, a fuel cell, a pressure sensor, and at least part of a pipe.
Komiya (US 10141589 B2) teaches a fuel cell system comprising a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen filling port, a fuel cell, a pressure sensor, and at least part of a pipe.
Kaine (US 9017885 B2) teaches a fuel supply system comprising a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen filling port, a fuel cell, a pressure sensor, determining leaks, and at least part of a pipe.
Saito (US 9682701 B2) teaches a fuel cell system comprising a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen filling port, a fuel cell, a pressure sensor, and detecting leaks.
/STEPHANIE A SHRIEVES/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753