DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Effective Filing Date
The driver intent model of claims 3 and 13 is not supported by the provisional application 63/605,166. Accordingly, claims 3 and 13 have been assigned an effective filing date of 11/12/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP § 2161.01, subsection I. states in computer-implemented functional claims the specification must disclose the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed function in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. The algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description must be made.
Claims 3 and 13 recite the limitation “obtaining the at least one of the reference yaw rate and the reference yaw acceleration using … a driver intent model” in lines 1-3. Applicant has not disclosed an algorithm for obtaining the reference yaw rate or reference yaw acceleration using a driver intent model in sufficient detail to evidence possession of such a model at the time of filing.
Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 at step 2A prong 2 because the controlling step in each independent claim integrates the recited mental processes into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 11-12, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TAKIMOTO (US 7,383,111).
Regarding claim 1, TAKIMOTO discloses a method for controlling handwheel torque in a steering system of a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (output of 37, Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 31-36);
obtaining a yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate (col. 5 lines 46-52);
obtaining a handwheel torque modifier (Ir, Fig. 2, col. 6 lines 47-48) based on the yaw rate error (Ir1, Gy, and Gd are based on the error, Fig. 2);
adjusting a reference torque (output of 33, Fig. 2) using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 2); and
controlling the handwheel torque using the reference torque as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, TAKIMOTO discloses the method of claim 1.
TAKIMOTO further discloses obtaining the reference yaw rate (output of 37, Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 31-36) based on a roadwheel angle (Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 31-36).
Regarding claim 4, TAKIMOTO discloses the method of claim 1.
TAKIMOTO further discloses obtaining the yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate and an actual yaw rate (col. 5 lines 46-52, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, TAKIMOTO discloses the method of claim 1.
TAKIMOTO further discloses wherein adjusting the reference torque using the handwheel torque modifier (Ir, Fig. 2) includes applying the handwheel torque modifier to an output of an effort function (base motor current as corrected by 32 and 33, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, TAKIMOTO discloses a system for controlling handwheel torque in a steering system of a vehicle, the system comprising:
a processor configured to execute instructions stored in memory (implied/inherent in “ECU”, i.a. col. 3 lines 63-64), wherein executing the instructions causes the processor to
obtain a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (output of 37, Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 31-36),
obtain a yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate (col. 5 lines 46-52),
obtain a handwheel torque modifier (Ir, Fig. 2, col. 6 lines 47-48) based on the yaw rate error (Ir1, Gy, and Gd are based on the error, Fig. 2),
adjust a reference torque (output of 33, Fig. 2) using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 2), and
control the handwheel torque using the reference torque as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, TAKIMOTO discloses the system of claim 11.
TAKIMOTO further discloses wherein the processor is configured to obtain the reference yaw rate (output of 37, Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 31-36) based on a roadwheel angle (Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 31-36).
Regarding claim 14, TAKIMOTO discloses the system of claim 11.
TAKIMOTO further discloses wherein the processor is configured to obtain the yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate and an actual yaw rate (col. 5 lines 46-52, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, TAKIMOTO discloses the system of claim 11.
TAKIMOTO further discloses adjusting the reference torque using the handwheel torque modifier (Ir, Fig. 2) includes applying the handwheel torque modifier to an output of an effort function (base motor current as corrected by 32 and 33, Fig. 2).
Claims 1, 5-7, 11, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IM (US 12,330,727).
Regarding claim 1, IM discloses a method for controlling handwheel torque in a steering system of a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining at least one of a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (col. 6 lines 60-62);
obtaining at least one of a yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate (col. 7 lines 1-6);
obtaining a handwheel torque modifier (index, Fig. 2) based on the yaw rate error (Fig. 2);
adjusting a reference torque using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 5, col. 8 lines 26-32); and
controlling the handwheel torque using the reference torque as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (implied, i.a. col. 8 lines 33-39).
Regarding claim 5, IM discloses the method of claim 1.
IM further discloses wherein the yaw rate error indicates at least one of an understeer condition and an oversteer condition of the vehicle (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, IM discloses the method of claim 5.
IM further discloses wherein when the yaw rate error indicates the understeer condition (S25, Fig. 2), the handwheel torque modifier is configured to decrease the reference torque (for gains > 1 and f ∈ (1,2] in Eqn. 3 the value of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
is less than 1, i.e., the target torque is decreased when multiplied by
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
); Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 26-32, Fig. A below; n.b. gain is any adjustable value).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Oversteer)][AltContent: textbox (Understeer)]
Figure A Annotations of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
in IM Eqn. 3 where gain has been set at 1.5 as plotted in Wolfram Alpha.
Regarding claim 7, IM discloses the method of claim 5.
IM further discloses when the yaw rate error indicates the oversteer condition (S24, Fig. 2), the handwheel torque modifier is configured to increase the reference torque (for gains > 1 and f ∈ [0,1) in Eqn. 3 the value of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
is more than 1, i.e., the target torque is increased when multiplied by
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
); Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 26-32, Fig. A above; n.b. gain is any adjustable value).
Regarding claim 11, IM discloses a system for controlling handwheel torque in a steering system of a vehicle, the system comprising:
a processor configured to execute instructions stored in memory (implied/inherent in “controller”, i.a. col. 8 line 50), wherein executing the instructions causes the processor to
obtain a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (col. 6 lines 60-62),
obtain a yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate (col. 7 lines 1-6),
obtain a handwheel torque modifier (index, Fig. 2) based on the yaw rate error (Fig. 2),
adjust a reference torque using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 5, col. 8 lines 26-32), and
control the handwheel torque using the reference torque as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (implied, i.a. col. 8 lines 33-39).
Regarding claim 15, IM discloses the system of claim 11.
IM further discloses wherein the yaw rate error indicates at least one of an understeer condition and an oversteer condition of the vehicle (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, IM discloses the system of claim 15.
IM further discloses when the yaw rate error indicates the understeer condition (S25, Fig. 2), the handwheel torque modifier is configured to decrease the reference torque (for gains > 1 and f ∈ (1,2] in Eqn. 3 the value of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
is less than 1, i.e., the target torque is decreased when multiplied by
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
); Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 26-32, Fig. A above; n.b. gain is any adjustable value).
Regarding claim 17, IM discloses the system of claim 15.
IM further discloses when the yaw rate error indicate the oversteer condition (S24, Fig. 2), the handwheel torque modifier is configured to increase the reference torque (for gains > 1 and f ∈ [0,1) in Eqn. 3 the value of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
is more than 1, i.e., the target torque is increased when multiplied by
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
); Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 26-32, Fig. A above; n.b. gain is any adjustable value).
Regarding claim 20, IM discloses a system for controlling a handwheel torque of a steering system of a vehicle, the system comprising:
a roadwheel actuator controller (part of the “controller”, i.a. col. 8 line 50; c.f. Applicant’s 0034 lines 9-11) configured to
(i) obtain a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (col. 6 lines 60-62) and
(ii) obtain a yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate (col. 7 lines 1-6) ; and
a handwheel actuator controller (part of the “controller”, i.a. col. 8 line 50; c.f. Applicant’s 0034 lines 9-11) configured to
(i) obtain a handwheel torque modifier (index, Fig. 2) based on the yaw rate error (Fig. 2),
(ii) adjust a reference torque using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 5, col. 8 lines 26-32), and
(iii) control the handwheel torque using the reference torque as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (implied, i.a. col. 8 lines 33-39),
wherein the handwheel actuator controller is configured to use the handwheel torque modifier to
(i) decrease the reference torque (for gains > 1 and f ∈ (1,2] in Eqn. 3 the value of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
is less than 1, i.e., the target torque is decreased when multiplied by
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
); Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 26-32, Fig. A above; n.b. gain is any adjustable value) in response to a determination that the yaw rate error indicates that the vehicle is in an understeer condition (S25, Fig. 2) and
(ii) increase the reference torque (for gains > 1 and f ∈ [0,1) in Eqn. 3 the value of
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
is more than 1, i.e., the target torque is increased when multiplied by
1
-
f
×
g
a
i
n
+
f
); Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 26-32, Fig. A above; n.b. gain is any adjustable value) in response to a determination that the yaw rate error indicates that the vehicle is in an oversteer condition (S24, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKIMOTO (US 7,383,111) in view of HASEGAWA (JP 2023-031176).
Regarding claim 3, TAKIMOTO discloses the method of claim 1.
TAKIMOTO discloses obtaining the reference yaw rate using a look-up table (col. 5 lines 31-36) rather than a vehicle model as claimed.
HASEGAWA teaches obtaining a reference yaw rate (estimated yaw rate, pg. 3 line 12; n.b. the estimated yaw rate is compared to the actual yaw rate at S502, pg. 3 lines 26-27 in the same manner Applicant forms a yaw rate error) using a vehicle model (Equation 1, an equation may be considered a model of vehicle dynamics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vehicle model taught by HASEGAWA for the look-up table of TAKIMOTO for obtaining the reference yaw rate in order to eliminate the need to store a look-up table in memory that covers the full dynamic range of the vehicle operating envelope.
Regarding claim 13, TAKIMOTO discloses the system of claim 11.
TAKIMOTO discloses wherein the processor is configured to obtain the reference yaw rate using a look-up table (col. 5 lines 31-36) rather than a vehicle model as claimed.
HASEGAWA teaches obtaining a reference yaw rate (estimated yaw rate, pg. 3 line 12; n.b. the estimated yaw rate is compared to the actual yaw rate at S502, pg. 3 lines 26-27 in the same manner Applicant forms a yaw rate error) using a vehicle model (Equation 1, an equation may be considered a model of vehicle dynamics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the vehicle model taught by HASEGAWA for the look-up table of TAKIMOTO for obtaining the reference yaw rate in order to eliminate the need to store a look-up table in memory that covers the full dynamic range of the vehicle operating envelope.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SUGITANI (US 6,823,245) discloses a method for controlling handwheel torque (n.b. col. 21 lines 36-39) in a steering system of a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining at least one of a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (standard yaw rate, Fig. 1);
obtaining at least one of a yaw rate error (yaw rate deviation Δγ, Fig. 1) based on the reference yaw rate (Fig. 1);
obtaining a handwheel torque modifier (Kγ) based on the at least one of the yaw rate error (Kγ=f(Δγ), col. 19 line 59);
adjusting a reference torque (“reaction force of virtual torsion bar control” may be considered a reference torque which is then corrected based on coefficients K2-K5 and Kγ, i.a. Figs. 8-11, col. 14 lines 5-6, 21-22, and 41-45) using the handwheel torque modifier (col. 19 57-59); and
controlling the handwheel torque using the reference torque (i.a. col. 14 lines 53-61) as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (Fig. 14).
YAMAMOTO (US 5,774,819) discloses a method for controlling handwheel torque in a steering system of a vehicle, the method comprising:
obtaining a reference yaw rate of the vehicle (step 24);
obtaining a yaw rate error based on the reference yaw rate (step 26);
obtaining a handwheel torque modifier based on the yaw rate error (TA through T2, steps 32-33, Fig. 5, col. 5 lines 29-32);
adjusting a reference torque (output of EPS control unit 22 in Fig. 2, col. 5 lines 11-12) using the handwheel torque modifier (TA is added to the output of EPS control unit 22, col. 5 lines 10-12); and
controlling the handwheel torque using the reference torque as adjusted using the handwheel torque modifier (implied).
/MARK L. GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747