DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In the instant case there does not appear to be any means for language in the claims and/or language to be considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 AIA
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borel US 20110302810 A1 (herein after Borel).
Regarding claim 1, Borel discloses an article of footwear comprising: a sole (200); an upper (300) attached to said sole (as seen in Figures 1 and 7); said upper including a foot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2) and a forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2) extending from said foot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2); and a vamp (321, as seen in annotated Figure 7) attached to the upper (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 7), said vamp extending from an end of said forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2), wherein said vamp stretches in at least one direction (paragraph 0037 as seen in annotated Figure 7) during contact of the sole with an underlying surface (paragraph 0007 and 0043 as seen in annotated Figure 7).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A tongue attached to the upper and positioned in the forefoot opening and at least partially into the foot opening.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (Foot opening)][AltContent: textbox (The vamp having a polygonal shape.)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (At least two sections that are separated from each other.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Vamp)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Central opening)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Forefoot opening)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vamp)]
Regarding claim 2, Borel discloses wherein said vamp (321) is made with a stretchable material (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 3, Borel discloses wherein said vamp (321) is a piece of material (paragraph 0037) attached a front end of the upper (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) and adjacent to said forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) formed in the upper (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 4, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) has a polygonal shape (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 5, Borel discloses wherein the upper (300) includes a tongue (204) attached to a portion of the upper (paragraph 0067, as seen in annotated Figure 2) and the vamp is separated from the tongue (as seen in annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) is made with a material that stretches in at least two directions (paragraph 0037) when the sole contacts the underlying surface (as seen in annotated Figure 7).
Regarding claim 7, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) includes at least two sections (310, 311, 312, 313) that are separated from each other (as seen in annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Borel discloses an article of footwear comprising: a sole (200); an upper (300) attached to said sole (200), said upper including a front end (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7), a rear end (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) and medial (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) and lateral sides (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) extending between the front end (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) and the rear end (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7), the upper including a central opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) having a foot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) and a forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7); a tongue (204) attached to the upper (300) and positioned in the forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) and at least partially into the foot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7); and a vamp (321) attached to the upper (200), said vamp extending from an end of said forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7), wherein said vamp is separated from the tongue (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2) and stretches in at least one direction (paragraph 0037) during contact of the sole with an underlying surface (paragraph 0007 and 0043 as seen in annotated Figure 7).
[AltContent: textbox (Central opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Tongue)][AltContent: textbox (Forefoot opening)][AltContent: textbox (Front end)][AltContent: textbox (Medial side)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rear end.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lateral side)]
,
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A tongue attached to the upper and positioned in the forefoot opening and at least partially into the foot opening.)]
Regarding claim 9, Borel discloses wherein said vamp (321) is made with a stretchable material (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 10, Borel discloses wherein said vamp (321) is a piece of material attached a front end of the upper (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2) and is adjacent to said forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7) formed in the upper (300, as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) has a polygonal shape (as seen in annotated Figures 1, 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) is made with a material (paragraph 0037) that stretches in at least two directions (paragraph 0037) when the sole contacts the underlying surface (paragraph 0007 and 0043, as seen in annotated Figure 7).
Regarding claim 13, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) includes at least two sections (as seen in annotated Figure 2) that are separated from each other (as seen in annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Borel discloses wherein the vamp (321) is made with a material that stretches in four directions (paragraph 0037) when the sole contacts the underlying surface (paragraph 0007 and 0043, as seen in annotated Figure 7).
Regarding claim 15, Borel discloses further comprising two vamps (as seen in annotated Figure 2) that are separated from each other (as seen in annotated Figure 2), said two vamps extending from an end of said forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figure 2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (An end of said forefoot opening.)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Two vamps)]
Regarding claim 16, Borel discloses further comprising two vamps (as seen in annotated Figure 2) that are separated from each other (as seen in annotated Figure 2), said two vamps extending from an end of said forefoot opening (as seen in annotated Figure 2).
Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not convincing. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards structural elements included in the amended claims and thus do not apply to the combinations of references used to teach the limitations of the amended claims in the current rejection and/or the manner in which prior art has been applied in the current rejection. In view of Applicant's amendments, the search has been updated, and a rejection on the amended claims is applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Catherine M. Ferreira/
Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732