DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/12/2024 has been considered and placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath or Declaration is being considered by examiner and complies with PTO requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 12-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sahara US 2009/0316812.
Consider claim 1, Sahara discloses A communication device (see FIG. 1), wherein the communications device is a first communications device (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0030], OFDM communication device 10), and the communications device comprises:
a transmitter (see FIG. 1, combination of RF/IF/BB unit 11, GI addition unit 30, GI length instruction acquisition unit 28, IFFT unit 29, encoding/modulation unit 27, physical layer frame generation unit 26, and transmission data acquisition unit 25), configured to send a first signal to a second communications device (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0030] and [0059], wherein the RF/IF/BB unit 11 wireless transmits the signal to the communication partner i.e. a second communication device),
wherein the first signal comprises a symbol sequence corresponding to an original bit sequence (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0033-0034], the data section includes original bit sequence) and a symbol sequence corresponding to a first bit sequence (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0033-0034], wherein the guard interval (GI) includes first bit sequence), and the symbol sequence corresponding to the first bit sequence is located in front of the symbol sequence corresponding to the original bit sequence (see FIG. 3, wherein the guard interval is located in front of the data section).
Consider claim 14, Sahara discloses A communication device (see FIG. 1), wherein the communications device is a second communications device (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0030], OFDM communication device 10), and the communications device comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 1, combination of RF/IF/BB unit 11, GI removal unit 12, FFT unit 13, correlation calculation unit 14, demodulation/decoding unit 16, and received data acquisition unit 17), configured to receive a first signal sent by a first communications device (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0030], wherein the FR/IF/BB unit 11 receive a radio signal transmitted from the communication partner i.e. a first communication device), wherein the first signal comprises a symbol sequence corresponding to an original bit sequence (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0033-0034], the data section includes original bit sequence) and a symbol sequence corresponding to a first bit sequence (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0033-0034], wherein the guard interval (GI) includes first bit sequence), and the symbol sequence corresponding to the first bit sequence is located in front of the symbol sequence corresponding to the original bit sequence (see FIG. 3, wherein the guard interval is located in front of the data section).
Claim 20 is rejected on the same ground as for claim 14 because of similar scope.
Consider claims 2 and 15, Sahara discloses wherein the first signal is a signal generated by modulating a second bit sequence (see FIG. 1, and ¶ [0055], wherein encoding/modulation unit 27 generate output signal by modulating the output signal of physical layer frame generation unit 26), and the second bit sequence is determined based on the first bit sequence and the original bit sequence (see FIG. 1 and 3, ¶ [0053-0054], wherein the physical layer frame generation unit add a physical layer header i.e. first bit sequence, to the bit sequence i.e. the original bit sequence).
Consider claims 9 and 18, Sahara discloses wherein the first bit sequence is further used to perform one or more of the following operations: performing synchronization processing (see ¶ [0034]).
Consider claim 10, Sahara discloses wherein the first bit sequence is a preamble (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0053-0054]).
Consider claim 12, Sahara discloses wherein the first bit sequence is determined based on one of the following information: indication information from the second communications device (see FIG. 1, ¶ [0037] and [0051-0052], wherein the guard interval i.e. first bit sequence, is determined based on the indication information received from the partner communication device).
Consider claim 13, the limitations of claim 13 are not given patentable weight because “preset rule” recited in claim 12 was not given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara US 2009/0316812 in view of Si et al. US 2018/0123849.
Consider claim 3, Sahara discloses wherein the second bit sequence is a bit sequence generated by performing data encoding on a third bit sequence (see FIG. 1 and ¶ [0055], wherein the modulated bit sequence i.e. second bit sequence, is generated by performing data encoding on the transmission data output from physical layer frame generation unit 26), and the third bit sequence is determined based on the first bit sequence and the original bit sequence (see FIG. 1 and 3, wherein the output of the encoding/modulation unit 27 i.e. third bit sequence, is determined based on the physical layer header i.e. first bit sequence, and the data section i.e. original bit sequence); wherein the third bit sequence comprises the original bit sequence and the first bit sequence, and the first bit sequence is located in front of the original bit sequence (see FIG. 3).
However Sahara does not explicitly disclose baseband data encoding. Si teaches baseband data encoding (see FIG. 2 and ¶ [0064], wherein the TX processing circuitry 215 encodes, the outgoing baseband data to generate processed baseband). Si further discloses providing a synchronization signal design in an advanced wireless communication system (see ¶ [0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Sahara, and to include baseband data encoding, as taught by Si for the purpose of providing a synchronization signal design in an advanced wireless communication system.
Consider claim 4, Sahara discloses wherein the second bit sequence comprises a sixth bit sequence and a seventh bit sequence (see FIG. 3), the sixth bit sequence is a bit sequence obtained by performing baseband data encoding on the original bit sequence (see FIG. 1 and 3, ¶ [0055]), the seventh bit sequence is a bit sequence added in front of the sixth bit sequence, and the seventh bit sequence is determined based on the first bit sequence (see FIG. 3).
Consider claims 11 and 19, Si discloses wherein the first signal is generated through on-off keying (OOK) modulation (see ¶ [0217]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara US 2009/0316812 in view of Si et al. US 2018/0123849 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hua et al. US 2024/0340210.
Consider claim 5, Sahara in view of Si discloses every claimed limitation in claim 4.
Sahara further discloses wherein the seventh bit sequence is the first bit sequence (see FIG. 3).
However Sahara in view of Si does not explicitly disclose wherein a baseband data encoding scheme corresponding to the first bit sequence is different from a baseband data encoding scheme corresponding to the original bit sequence. Hua teaches wherein a baseband data encoding scheme corresponding to the first bit sequence is different from a baseband data encoding scheme corresponding to the original bit sequence (see FIG. 2 and ¶ [0051], wherein the header of the OFDM signal is using π/2 BPSK modulation and coding scheme and the data information is using 16-QAM modulation and coding scheme). Hua further discloses achieving a modulation scheme with which relatively high spectral efficiency, a relatively low peak-to-average power ratio, and phase noise compensation (see ¶ [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Sahara in view of Si, and to include wherein a baseband data encoding scheme corresponding to the first bit sequence is different from a baseband data encoding scheme corresponding to the original bit sequence, as taught by Hua for the purpose of achieving a modulation scheme with which relatively high spectral efficiency, a relatively low peak-to-average power ratio, and phase noise compensation.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara US 2009/0316812 as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Hua et al. US 2024/0340210.
Consider claim 6, Sahara discloses every claimed limitation in claim 1.
Sahara further discloses wherein the symbol sequence corresponding to the original bit sequence is a first symbol sequence, the symbol sequence corresponding to the first bit sequence is a second symbol sequence (see FIG. 3 and ¶ [0033-0034]).
However Sahara does not explicitly disclose the first symbol sequence and the second symbol sequence are generated based on different modulation processes. Hua teaches the first symbol sequence and the second symbol sequence are generated based on different modulation processes (see FIG. 2 and ¶ [0051], wherein the header of the OFDM signal is using π/2 BPSK modulation and coding scheme and the data information is using 16-QAM modulation and coding scheme). Hua further discloses achieving a modulation scheme with which relatively high spectral efficiency, a relatively low peak-to-average power ratio, and phase noise compensation (see ¶ [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Sahara, and to include the first symbol sequence and the second symbol sequence are generated based on different modulation processes, as taught by Hua for the purpose of achieving a modulation scheme with which relatively high spectral efficiency, a relatively low peak-to-average power ratio, and phase noise compensation.
Consider claim 7, Hua discloses wherein a modulation scheme corresponding to the first symbol sequence is different from a modulation scheme corresponding to the second symbol sequence (see ¶ [0051]); wherein the first symbol sequence comprises a first symbol (see FIG. 2), the second symbol sequence comprises a second symbol (see FIG. 2), and a time length of the first symbol is different from a time length of the second symbol (see FIG. 2).
Claim 16 is rejected on the same ground as for claim 6 because of similar scope.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahara US 2009/0316812 as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Huang et al. US 2024/0259240.
Consider claim 8, Sahara discloses every claimed limitation in claim 1.
However Sahara does not explicitly disclose wherein the first signal is a signal used for backscatter communication. Huang teaches wherein the first signal is a signal used for backscatter communication (see ¶ [0039]). Huang further discloses modulation information bits method (see ¶ [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Sahara, and to include wherein the first signal is a signal used for backscatter communication, as taught by Huang for the purpose of modulation information bits method.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same ground as for claim 8 because of similar scope.
Conclusion
/JANICE N TIEU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633