DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 13 defines the real part of the complex permittivity of the absorber as 3.25 or more. As no upper limit is imposed on said value it is impossible to determine the scope of the claim limitation as “or more” would encompass every value to infinity.
Claim 10 defines the imaginary part of the complex permittivity of the absorber as 0.016 or more. As no upper limit is imposed on said value it is impossible to determine the scope of the claim limitation as “or more” would encompass every value to infinity.
Additional claims 11, 12, 14-18 are rejected at least for their dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2019/0013128).
Claim 1: Chen discloses A transmission-type electromagnetic-wave absorber (para 0017, 0064), comprising: an electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer comprising a magnetic iron oxide that magnetically resonates at a frequency in or above a millimeter-wave band (para 0017-0026, 0036) and a binder comprising an organic material (para 0041-0043), wherein a volume content of the magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is 3.5% or more (para 0022), and a value of a real part of a complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 5.5 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 2: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 5.43 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 3: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 4.2 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 4: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 3.25 or more at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 5: Chen discloses the magnetic iron oxide comprises hexagonal ferrite (para 0017-0026, 0036)
Claim 7: Chen discloses the binder comprises any of thermosetting rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoplastic resin (para 0041-0043)
Claim 8: Chen discloses the volume content of the magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is 23% or less (para 0022)
Claim 9: Chen discloses the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is in the form of a sheet (fig 3-5, para 0026)
Claim 10: Chen discloses A transmission-type electromagnetic-wave absorber (para 0017, 0064), comprising: an electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer comprising a magnetic iron oxide that magnetically resonates at a frequency in or above a millimeter-wave band (para 0017-0026, 0036) and a binder comprising an organic material (para 0041-0043), wherein a value of an imaginary part of a complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 0.016 or more at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085), and a value of a real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 5.5 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 12: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 4.2 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 13: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 3.25 or more at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 14: Chen discloses the magnetic iron oxide comprises hexagonal ferrite (para 0017-0026, 0036)
Claim 16: Chen discloses the binder comprises any of thermosetting rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoplastic resin (para 0041-0043)
Claim 17: Chen discloses a volume content of the magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is 23% or less (para 0022)
Claim 18: Chen discloses the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is in the form of a sheet (fig 3-5, para 0026)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0013128) as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Ohkoshi (US 2012/0100064).
Claims 6 and 15: Chen discloses the hexagonal ferrite is strontium ferrite or barium ferrite (para 0018, 0072, 0073). Chen does not specifically disclose part of a Fe site of the hexagonal ferrite is substituted with a trivalent metal atom.
Ohkoshi discloses production of a magnetic thin film having insulating properties, the film comprising iron-oxide in an organic binder (para 0024, 0047, 0182, 0184) wherein the hexagonal ferrite is strontium ferrite or barium ferrite and a part of a Fe site of the hexagonal ferrite is substituted with a trivalent metal atom (para 0061)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Ohkoshi, in order to improve stability of the crystalline structure (Ohkoshi para 0061)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648