DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 09/04/2026 drawn to the rejection of claims 4 and 10-18 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2026 drawn to the prior art rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Page 7 of 8 of Applicant’s Remarks filed 09/04/2026, Applicant supplies two primary arguments to distinguish the cited prior art (Chen 2019/0013128) over the presently claimed invention:
“That is, the present claim amendment clarifies that the magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic wave absorbing layer of the electromagnetic wave absorber of the present invention as being "particulate".
On the other hand, the magnetic dielectric material described in Chen '128 is "hexaferrite fiber". Hexaferrite fiber is "fibrous" (see Fig. 1 to Fig. 6, and paragraphs [0011]-[0016] describing "microfibers"), even described as having a preferred aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 10 or greater than or equal to 50 (paragraph [0019]). Such descriptions are different from the "particulate" magnetic iron oxide (including hexagonal ferrite in claim 5) contained in the electromagnetic wave absorber of the present invention. Therefore, the present invention is patentably distinct from Chen '128.”
And
“Chen '128 does not describe a transmission-type electromagnetic wave absorber.”
Regarding argument 1) “the present claim amendment clarifies that the magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic wave absorbing layer of the electromagnetic wave absorber of the present invention as being "particulate" …” the magnetic dielectric material described in Chen '128 is "hexaferrite fiber".
Examiner acknowledges that Chen recites and discloses a hexaferrite fiber. However, the limitation which Applicant is relying upon to distinguish the present invention from Chen is not sufficient to overcome the rejection. Applicant recites the iron oxide being “particulate”, however the specification is silent as to the nature of “particulate” in its shape or configuration and Applicant provides no further argumentation as to what differentiates particulate from fibrous. Neither does a review of accepted definitions of “particulate” seem to differentiate between Chen’s fibers and Applicant’s particles.
Chen’s fibers are composed of plural crystalline grains seemingly aggregated into fibers having a length and diameter. Barring a definition of “particulate” in Applicant’s disclosure, or an Applicant supplied reference that teaches an accepted term of art definition for “particulate”, that differentiates Chen’s fiber from Applicant’s “particulate”, the Examiner is applying a reasonable interpretation of particulate to mean “comprising a plurality of minute separate fragments”.
As such the rejection is maintained.
In the event that a new grounds of rejection is required on this matter owing to a hypothetical establishment of distinction between Chen and the instant application, Examiner draws attention to additionally cited reference Ohkoshi (US 2012/0100064) (para 0052 amongst others disclosing magnetic particles of iron oxide).
Regarding argument 2) “Chen does not describe a transmission-type electromagnetic wave absorber.”
Applicant’s specification defines “transmission-type electromagnetic absorber”:
Paragraph 0007 “Among the electromagnetic-wave absorbers that absorb electromagnetic waves of a high frequency in or above the millimeter-wave band, an electromagnetic-wave absorber that includes an electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer containing an electromagnetic-wave absorbing material that magnetically resonates with incident electromagnetic waves to absorb the electromagnetic waves may be a transmission-type and function as, e.g., an electromagnetic-wave filter that exclusively absorbs electromagnetic waves of a predetermined frequency. The transmission-type electromagnetic-wave absorber is advantageous in that flexibility and elasticity can be easily imparted to the entire absorber because the absorber does not include an electromagnetic-wave shielding layer that reflects electromagnetic waves unlike a reflection-type electromagnetic-wave absorber, i.e., a λ/4 type electromagnetic-wave absorber, which absorbs electromagnetic waves by incident waves and reflected waves cancelling each other in a dielectric layer.”
Paragraph 0025 “unlike a reflection-type electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet, it is unnecessary to provide a reflective layer on a surface of the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer 1 opposite to a surface from which electromagnetic waves are incident, and the sheet can be used as a transmission-type electromagnetic-wave absorbing sheet that absorbs electromagnetic waves passing through the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer”
Based on Applicant’s own definitions, a transmission type electromagnetic absorber must absorb incident electromagnetic waves without the use of a reflective layer that facilitates interference cancellation of the waves.
Examiner acknowledges that Chen does disclose embodiments in which a conductive layer is deposited on the absorbing layer (fig 5 and 6 element 20, para 0059-0067). Chen does not disclose the conductive layer being used for reflection of the incident wave to facilitate interference cancellation. Chen discloses the conductive layer being a portion of a circuit of the antenna (para 0062). However, Chen discloses multiple embodiments in which a conductive layer is not present at all, for example at least Embodiments 1-17 and any further Embodiments derived therefrom such as Embodiments 19-28 (para 0069-0096) do not require the conductive layer. Therefore, based on Applicant’s definition, Chen discloses a “transmission type” electromagnetic wave absorber.
As such the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2019/0013128).
Claim 1: Chen discloses A transmission-type electromagnetic-wave absorber (para 0017, 0064), comprising: an electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer comprising a particulate magnetic iron oxide that magnetically resonates at a frequency in or above a millimeter-wave band (para 0017-0026, 0036) and a binder comprising an organic material (para 0041-0043), wherein a volume content of the particulate magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is 3.5% or more (para 0022), and a value of a real part of a complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 5.5 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 2: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 5.43 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 3: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 4.2 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 4: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 3.25 or more at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 5: Chen discloses the particulate magnetic iron oxide comprises hexagonal ferrite (para 0017-0026, 0036)
Claim 7: Chen discloses the binder comprises any of thermosetting rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoplastic resin (para 0041-0043)
Claim 8: Chen discloses the volume content of the particulate magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is 23% or less (para 0022)
Claim 9: Chen discloses the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is in the form of a sheet (fig 3-5, para 0026)
Claim 10: Chen discloses A transmission-type electromagnetic-wave absorber (para 0017, 0064), comprising: an electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer comprising a particulate magnetic iron oxide that magnetically resonates at a frequency in or above a millimeter-wave band (para 0017-0026, 0036) and a binder comprising an organic material (para 0041-0043), wherein a value of an imaginary part of a complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 0.016 or more and 0.022 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085), and a value of a real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 5.5 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 12: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 4.2 or less at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 13: Chen discloses the real part of the complex relative permittivity of the electromagnetic-wave absorber is 3.25 or more at 1 GHz (para 0037-0040, 0085)
Claim 14: Chen discloses the particulate magnetic iron oxide comprises hexagonal ferrite (para 0017-0026, 0036)
Claim 16: Chen discloses the binder comprises any of thermosetting rubber, thermoplastic elastomer, or thermoplastic resin (para 0041-0043)
Claim 17: Chen discloses a volume content of the particulate magnetic iron oxide contained in the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is 23% or less (para 0022)
Claim 18: Chen discloses the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer is in the form of a sheet (fig 3-5, para 0026)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2019/0013128) as applied to claims 5 and 14 above, and further in view of Ohkoshi (US 2012/0100064).
Claims 6 and 15: Chen discloses the hexagonal ferrite is strontium ferrite or barium ferrite (para 0018, 0072, 0073). Chen does not specifically disclose part of a Fe site of the hexagonal ferrite is substituted with a trivalent metal atom.
Ohkoshi discloses production of a magnetic thin film having insulating properties, the film comprising iron-oxide in an organic binder (para 0024, 0047, 0182, 0184) wherein the hexagonal ferrite is strontium ferrite or barium ferrite and a part of a Fe site of the hexagonal ferrite is substituted with a trivalent metal atom (para 0061)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Ohkoshi, in order to improve stability of the crystalline structure (Ohkoshi para 0061)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648