DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 12,316,203 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an axial gap motor comprising:
a rotor (130) that rotates about a rotational axis;
a stator (112) that faces the rotor (130 in a direction of the rotational axis;
a first back yoke (120) provided on either the rotor or the stator (112);
a plurality of teeth (114) protruding from the first back yoke (112) toward one side in the direction of the rotational axis;
a plurality of coils (118) mounted on the plurality of teeth (114); and
a connector (110) arranged on a remaining side in the direction of the rotational axis relative to the first back yoke (120) and serving to connect a plurality of lead wires drawn out from the plurality of coils (118, fig 2).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches a second back yoke (134) provided on a remaining one of the rotor (130) and the stator (112); and a plurality of magnets (136) arranged on the second back yoke (134) along a circumferential direction around the rotational axis, wherein the plurality of magnets (136) include: a plurality of first magnets arranged at an equal angular interval in the circumferential direction; and a plurality of second magnets each arranged between the plurality of first magnets and arranged at a position shifted by a predetermined first angle from a center angle of two adjacent first magnets in the circumferential direction (fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches robot with an axial gap motor arranged at a joint, wherein the axial gap motor comprising:
a rotor (130) that rotates about a rotational axis;
a stator (112) that faces the rotor (130 in a direction of the rotational axis;
a first back yoke (120) provided on either the rotor or the stator (112);
a plurality of teeth (114) protruding from the first back yoke (112) toward one side in the direction of the rotational axis;
a plurality of coils (118) mounted on the plurality of teeth (114); and
a connector (110) arranged on a remaining side in the direction of the rotational axis relative to the first back yoke (120) and serving to connect a plurality of lead wires drawn out from the plurality of coils (118, fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kato et al. (JP 4797429 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the first back yoke has a recess on the remaining side in the direction of the rotation axis, and wherein the connector is accommodated in the recess.
Kato teaches an axial gap motor having a stator wherein the first back yoke (3) has a recess on the remaining side in the direction of the rotation axis, and wherein a connector (11) is accommodated in the recess (fig 2) to prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s axial gap motor with the first back yoke has a recess on the remaining side in the direction of the rotation axis, and wherein the connector is accommodated in the recess as taught by Kato. Doing so would prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the first back yoke has an opening on an inner side of the teeth in a radial direction centered on the rotational axis, and wherein the plurality of lead wires are connected to the connector through the opening.
Kato teaches an axial gap motor having a stator wherein the first back yoke (3) has an opening on an inner side of the teeth in a radial direction centered on the rotational axis, and wherein the plurality of lead wires (12) are connected to the connector (11) through the opening (fig 2) to prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s axial gap motor with the first back yoke has an opening on an inner side of the teeth in a radial direction centered on the rotational axis, and wherein the plurality of lead wires are connected to the connector through the opening as taught by Kato. Doing so would prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Kato teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3, except for the added limitation of an insulator made of an insulating material and arranged between the lead wires and an inner peripheral surface of the opening.
Kato further teaches an axial gap motor having a stator wherein an insulator (resin) made of an insulating material and arranged between the lead wires (12) and an inner peripheral surface of the opening (fig 2) to prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Kato’s axial gap motor with an insulator made of an insulating material and arranged between the lead wires and an inner peripheral surface of the opening as further taught by Kato. Doing so would prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Claim(s) 5--8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kato, further in view of Kojima et al. (JP 2006067650 A).
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Kato teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 4, except for the added limitation of a bobbin made of the insulating material, having the coils wound around an outer peripheral surface thereof, and mounted to the teeth, and wherein the insulator is a protrusion protruding from the bobbin toward an inside of the opening.
Kojima teaches an axial gap motor having a bobbin (6) made of the insulating material (resin), having the coils (not shown) wound around an outer peripheral surface thereof, and mounted to the teeth (21), and wherein the insulator (6) is a protrusion protruding from the bobbin toward an inside of the opening (fig 3) to achieve wiring workability so that reduce manufacturing cost (see advantageous effects).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Kato’s axial gap motor with a bobbin made of the insulating material, having the coils wound around an outer peripheral surface thereof, and mounted to the teeth, and wherein the insulator is a protrusion protruding from the bobbin toward an inside of the opening as taught by Kojima. Doing so would achieve wiring workability so that reduce manufacturing cost (see advantageous effects).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Kato and Kojima teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, except for the added limitation of the lead wires are drawn out from the coils along a direction in which the protrusion protrudes.
Kato further teaches an axial gap motor having the lead wires (12) are drawn out from the coils (2) along a direction in which the protrusion protrudes (fig 3) to prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Kato and Kojima’s axial gap motor with the lead wires are drawn out from the coils along a direction in which the protrusion protrudes as further taught by Kato. Doing so would prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Kato and Kojima teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, except for the added limitation of the inner peripheral surface of the opening is formed with a groove into which the protrusion is fitted.
Kato further teaches an axial gap motor having the inner peripheral surface of the opening (15) is formed with a groove (14) into which the protrusion is fitted (fig 4) to prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Kato and Kojima’s axial gap motor with the inner peripheral surface of the opening is formed with a groove into which the protrusion is fitted as further taught by Kato. Doing so would prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Kato and Kojima teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, except for the added limitation of the connector is a connection board on which a connection pattern for connecting the plurality of lead wires is formed, wherein the protrusion has an end surface at a tip thereof on the remaining side in the direction of the rotational axis, and wherein the connection board is arranged to come into contact with or face the end surface.
Kato further teaches an axial gap motor having the connector (11) is a connection board on which a connection pattern for connecting the plurality of lead wires (12) is formed (fig 2), wherein the protrusion has an end surface at a tip thereof on the remaining side in the direction of the rotational axis, and wherein the connection board is arranged to come into contact with or face the end surface (fig 3-4) to prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Thua, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu in view of Kato and Kojima’s axial gap motor with the connector is a connection board on which a connection pattern for connecting the plurality of lead wires is formed, wherein the protrusion has an end surface at a tip thereof on the remaining side in the direction of the rotational axis, and wherein the connection board is arranged to come into contact with or face the end surface as further taught by Kato. Doing so would prevent leaking resin so that the connector is more reliability (see tech-solution).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Dengler et al. (CN 115800648 A).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10, Liu further teaches a control device (108) that controls an operation of the rotor (fig 2). However, Liu does not teach a robot system for the robot in claim 10.
Dengler teaches an axial magnetic flux motor having a robot system (fig 4) comprising the robot arm (30) to rotate the robot arm.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu’s robot system with a robot as taught by Dengler. Doing so would provide a rotor to rotate a robot arm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung (US 2013/0049512 A1) teaches an axial flux synchronous generator for wind turbine generators is provided including a shaft coupled to receive power with a power generating apparatus for the wind turbine; a rotor coupled rotatably to the shaft and having upper and lower disk-like faces affixed with a plurality of skewed permanent magnets having north-south (N-S) pole pairs and distantly arranged; an upper stator and a lower stator both having a plurality of slots formed similar to the skewed permanent magnets for taking windings of a coil, the upper stator being displaced relative to the lower stator by an electric angle in the range of 25.about.30.degree.; an upper housing and a lower housing for housing the rotor, the upper stator and the lower stator together; and a hub housing for fastening the upper housing and the lower housing to maintain constant gaps between the rotor and the upper stator and the lower stator.
Rathke et al. (US 20250109749 A1) teaches an automotive electronic flow pump includes a rotating pump wheel, a pump housing, an axial-flux motor, a static separation wall, and a motor electronics. The pump wheel has an axial fluid inlet at a wheel upstream front side and a radial fluid outlet. The pump housing defines a pumping chamber and an electronics chamber. The axial-flux motor directly drives the pump wheel and is arranged within the pumping chamber. The axial-flux motor includes a motor stator having at least one stator coil, and a motor rotor arranged at a front side of the pump wheel which co-rotates with the pump wheel. The static separation wall is arranged at a backside of the pump wheel. The static separation wall fluidically separates the pumping chamber from the electronics chamber. The motor electronics is arranged in the electronics chamber and is directly electrically connected to the at least one stator coil.
/LEDA T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834