DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,138,069. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of ‘069 map directly to claims 1-20 of the current application with additional limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohbot (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0315169) in view of Alexander et al. (U.S. 2016/0078780) and Shelton et al. “Orientation and perspective dependence in route and survey learning”
Regarding claim 1 and 20, Bohbot discloses:
An apparatus for generating an assessment of one or more cognitive skills in an individual (abstract, ¶7 and ¶72-75 disclose wherein the system assesses, evaluates, or tracks progress of user’s memory upon completing programs or tasks), said apparatus comprising:
a user interface (user interface 150) comprising a display and at least one input device (abstract, ¶7 disclose a display and controller);
a memory to store processor-executable instructions (¶161 discloses wherein the system is implemented in a computer device with a CPU 4402, storage unit 4404, video display 4408 and RAM 4406 for running, storing and operating the system); and
one or more processing units communicatively coupled to the user interface and the memory (¶161 discloses wherein the system is implemented in a computer device with a CPU 4402, storage unit 4404, video display 4408 and RAM 4406 for running, storing and operating the system including displaying the graphical user interface), wherein upon execution of the processor-executable instructions by the one or more processing units, the one or more processing units are configured to:
render a first task comprising a first navigation task at the user interface, wherein the first navigation task comprises presenting an elevated view of a virtual landscape that includes an internal course and requiring the individual to control a guidable element via the at least one input device from an initial point on the internal course to a target point on the internal course (abstract, ¶7-8, and ¶77-0078 disclose wherein the system provides a series of training modules in which the user navigates through a virtual 3D environment and ¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 discloses wherein the system utilized multiple virtual navigation tasks in which one of the task utilizes object placement and environment to employ spatial strategies of navigation (allocentric navigation) including a Spatial Discrimination Learning Task; see ¶64 detailing “spatial memory strategy” (allocentric) vs “response strategy” (egocentric));
generate a first set of data based on measurements of a first set of one or more parameters associated with the first task (¶91, 95-96, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system took measurements from the spatial strategy employing task);
render a second task comprising a second navigation task at the user interface, wherein the second navigation task comprises presenting a localized view of the virtual landscape that includes the internal course and requiring the individual to control the guidable element via the at least one input device from the initial point on the internal course to the target point on the internal course without benefit of an aerial view of the entire course or a specified portion of the course (abstract, ¶7-8, and 77-78 disclose wherein the system provides a series of training modules in which the user navigates through a virtual 3D environment, the view point or camera being the guidable element controlled by the navigational controller 160 and the dead ends on the maze being the obstacles to avoid and ¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 discloses wherein the system utilized multiple virtual navigation tasks in which at least one of the task requires the user to use a response strategy (egocentric navigation); see ¶64 detailing “spatial memory strategy” (allocentric) vs “response strategy” (egocentric);
generate a second set of data based on measurements of a second set of one or more parameters associated with the second task (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system took measurements from each of the task);
Bohbot discloses comparing the data (¶91, 95-96, and 129 disclose wherein the system analyzed data from each of the task); and
generate an indication of cognitive ability in the individual based on the comparison of the first det of data and the second set of data (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system utilized a variety of tasks and analyzed the individual user’s performance to at least determine whether the user was a spatial learner versus a response learner and ¶82 discloses wherein the system can determine or indicate the level of brain activity in particular regions of the brain while the user is performing tasks and ¶132-143 additionally disclose wherein the system can determine or indicate improvements in spatial memory attributes after a series of tasks based on difference in task scores).
Yet Bohbot does not disclose:
compare the first set of data and the second set of data to a plurality of performance data for a plurality of individuals in a known disease population
However, in the same field of endeavor of neurological assessments, Alexander teaches compare the first set of data and the second set of data to a plurality of performance data for a plurality of individuals in a known disease population
wherein the plurality of performance data comprises performance data for the first task and the second task for the plurality of individuals in the known disease population and generate an indication of cognitive ability in the individual based on the comparison of the first det of data and the second set of data to the plurality of performance data for the plurality of the individuals in the known population (¶38 discloses the subject’s performance can be compared with data from known disease populations).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Bohbot to include the comparison to disease populations to establish standardized scores (¶38).
Yet Bohbot does not disclose:
wherein the first task comprises a first navigation task comprising presenting an elevated view of a virtual landscape that includes an internal course and obstacles
However, in the same field of neurological assessment systems, Shelton discloses:
Providing an aerial view of a virtual environment that the user must navigate through (pages. 158-160, where the subject is provided an aerial view of a navigation task, the guidable element and obstacles already taught by Bohbot).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Bohbot to incorporate the elevated view, as taught by Shelton, in order to understand how different encoding experiences shape our spatial representations (page 168).
Regarding claim 2, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and further disclose:
wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to generate a scoring output indicative of one or more of: (i) a likelihood of onset of a neurodegenerative condition of the individual based at least in part on the analysis of first set of data and the second set of data (¶97 discloses wherein the scores from the analysis of the task performance can be indicative of a greater risk of Mild Cognitive impairment, Alzheimer’s and/or dementia), or (ii) a stage of progression of the neurodegenerative condition, based at least in part on the analysis of the first set of data and the second set of data.
Regarding claim 3, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and further disclose:
wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to generate a scoring output indicative of a relative health or strength of the caudate nucleus region of the brain of the individual relative to the entorhinal cortex and hippocampal regions of the brain of the individual, based at least in part on the analysis of the first and second sets of data (¶91, 93-97, and 150 disclose wherein the analysis of the user over the multiple tasks associated with spatial and response learning includes analyzing the regions of activity in the entorhinal cortex, hippocampus and caudate nucleus including regression between the grey matter density in the hippocampus and caudate nucleus and the error made by the participants in the tasks).
Regarding claim 4, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and further disclose:
wherein the first task or the second task comprises one or more of a way-finding task, a path-plotting task, a seek task, a search and recovery task (¶91 discloses wherein the subjects had to retrieve four objects from a virtual platform environment), or a direction- giving task.
Regarding claim 5, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and further disclose:
wherein the first set or the second set of one or more parameters comprises at least one of a measure of a navigation speed relative to the environment, an orientation relative to the environment, a velocity relative to the environment, a choice of navigation strategy (¶91 discloses wherein the system uses the task to determine whether the user uses a spatial or response strategy to navigate the task or environment), a measure of a wait or delay period or a period of inaction during navigation, a time interval to complete a course (¶129 discloses wherein the system analyzes the time it takes to complete the task), or a degree of optimization of a navigation path through a course.
Regarding claim 6, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and further disclose:
wherein the first set of one or more parameters comprise at least one of a measure of the individual's judgment about relative spatial positions between two points as determined based on distances relative to other objects in the environment, a measure of the individual's ability to plot a novel course through a portion of the environment that was previously known to the individual (¶91 discloses wherein the subject first had to retrieve four objects from an environment or platform and then in a second task had to retrieve the object from the environment or platform and wherein this time the objects were placed in paths of the environment that were previously blocked and thus had to plot a new or novel course through portions of an environment that was previously known in order to seek and retrieve the objects), or a measure of the individual's ability to spatially transform three or more memorized positions in the environment arranged to cover two or more dimensions.
Regarding claim 7, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and further disclose:
wherein the second set of one or more parameters comprise at least one of a direction of the individual's movement relative to the environment (¶119 discloses wherein the subject reaches his/her target based on the use and direction relative to landmarks), a speed of the individual's movement relative to the environment, a measure of the individual's memory of landmarks (¶118 discloses wherein the tasks requires and is measured based on the subject’s ability to memorize objects or locations (landmarks)), a measure of the individual's memory of turn-by-turn directions, or a frequency or number of times of referral to an aerial or elevated view of a view.
Regarding claim 8, Bohbot discloses:
an apparatus for enhancing one or more cognitive skills in an individual (abstract and ¶6-7 disclose wherein the system improves the memory of an individual), said apparatus comprising:
a user interface (user interface 150) comprising a display and at least one input device (abstract, ¶7 disclose a display and controller);
a memory to store processor-executable instructions (¶161 discloses wherein the system is implemented in a computer device with a CPU 4402, storage unit 4404, video display 4408 and RAM 4406 for running, storing and operating the system); and
one or more processing units communicatively coupled to the user interface and the memory (¶161 discloses wherein the system is implemented in a computer device with a CPU 4402, storage unit 4404, video display 4408 and RAM 4406 for running, storing and operating the system including displaying the graphical user interface), wherein upon execution of the processor-executable instructions by the one or more processing units, the one or more processing units are configured to:
render at least two tasks that require an individual to navigate in a virtual environment based on one or more views of at least a portion of the virtual environment rendered at the user interface, in which the one or more views are automatically updated at the user interface as the individual navigates the virtual environment (abstract, ¶7-8, and 77-78 disclose wherein the system provides a series of training modules in which the user navigates through a virtual 3D environment and ¶73-77 and 82-85 disclose wherein the training modules are selected and/or adapted for each individual based on the response or results from the user during the training modules);
receive navigation commands from the individual via the at least one input device in response to the at least two tasks (¶77);
control navigation in the virtual environment based on the received navigation commands (¶77-78);
render a first task comprising a first navigation task at the user interface, wherein the first navigation task comprises presenting an elevated view of a virtual landscape that includes an internal course and requiring the individual to control a guidable element via the at least one input device from an initial point on the internal course to a target point on the internal course (abstract, ¶7-8, and ¶77-0078 disclose wherein the system provides a series of training modules in which the user navigates through a virtual 3D environment and ¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 discloses wherein the system utilized multiple virtual navigation tasks in which one of the task utilizes object placement and environment to employ spatial strategies of navigation (allocentric navigation) including a Spatial Discrimination Learning Task; see ¶64 detailing “spatial memory strategy” (allocentric) vs “response strategy” (egocentric));
generate a first set of data based on measurements of a first set of one or more parameters associated with the first task (¶91, 95-96, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system took measurements from the spatial strategy employing task);
render a second task comprising a second navigation task at the user interface, wherein the second navigation task comprises presenting a localized view of the virtual landscape that includes the internal course and requiring the individual to control the guidable element via the at least one input device from the initial point on the internal course to the target point on the internal course without benefit of an aerial view of the entire course or a specified portion of the course (abstract, ¶7-8, and 77-78 disclose wherein the system provides a series of training modules in which the user navigates through a virtual 3D environment, the view point or camera being the guidable element controlled by the navigational controller 160 and the dead ends on the maze being the obstacles to avoid and ¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 discloses wherein the system utilized multiple virtual navigation tasks in which at least one of the task requires the user to use a response strategy (egocentric navigation); see ¶64 detailing “spatial memory strategy” (allocentric) vs “response strategy” (egocentric);
generate a second set of data based on measurements of a second set of one or more parameters associated with the second task (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system took measurements from each of the task);
Bohbot discloses comparing the data (¶91, 95-96, and 129 disclose wherein the system analyzed data from each of the task); and
generate an indication of cognitive ability in the individual based on the comparison of the first det of data and the second set of data (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system utilized a variety of tasks and analyzed the individual user’s performance to at least determine whether the user was a spatial learner versus a response learner and ¶82 discloses wherein the system can determine or indicate the level of brain activity in particular regions of the brain while the user is performing tasks and ¶132-143 additionally disclose wherein the system can determine or indicate improvements in spatial memory attributes after a series of tasks based on difference in task scores).
Yet Bohbot does not disclose:
compare the first set of data and the second set of data to a plurality of performance data for a plurality of individuals in a known disease population
However, in the same field of endeavor of neurological assessments, Alexander teaches compare the first set of data and the second set of data to a plurality of performance data for a plurality of individuals in a known disease population
wherein the plurality of performance data comprises performance data for the first task and the second task for the plurality of individuals in the known disease population and generate an indication of cognitive ability in the individual based on the comparison of the first det of data and the second set of data to the plurality of performance data for the plurality of the individuals in the known population (¶38 discloses the subject’s performance can be compared with data from known disease populations).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Bohbot to include the comparison to disease populations to establish standardized scores (¶38).
Yet Bohbot does not disclose:
wherein the first task comprises a first navigation task comprising presenting an elevated view of a virtual landscape that includes an internal course and obstacles
However, in the same field of neurological assessment systems, Shelton discloses:
Providing an aerial view of a virtual environment that the user must navigate through (pages. 158-160, where the subject is provided an aerial view of a navigation task).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Bohbot to incorporate the elevated view, as taught by Shelton, in order to understand how different encoding experiences shape our spatial representations (page 168).
Regarding claim 9, Bohbot discloses the one or more processing units are further configured to render a subsequent iteration of the at least two tasks based at least in part on the analysis of at least one of the first set of data and the second set of data (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 disclose wherein the system utilized a variety of tasks or training modules and analyzes the individual user’s performance over the variety of tasks and modules and ¶73-77 and 82-85 disclose wherein subsequent training modules are selected and/or adapted for each individual based on the response or results from the user during previous training modules).
Regarding claim 10, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to generate a scoring output indicative of one or more of: (i) a likelihood of onset of a neurodegenerative condition of the individual based at least in part on the analysis of first set of data and the second set of data (¶97 discloses wherein the scores from the analysis of the task performance can be indicative of a greater risk of Mild Cognitive impairment, Alzheimer’s and/or dementia), or (ii) a stage of progression of the neurodegenerative condition, based at least in part on the analysis of first set of data and the second set of data.
Regarding claim 11, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein the one or more processing units are further configured to generate a scoring output indicative of a relative health or strength of the caudate nucleus region of the brain of the individual relative to the entorhinal cortex and hippocampal regions of the brain of the individual, based at least in part on the analysis of the first and second sets of data (¶91, 93-97, and 150 disclose wherein the analysis of the user over the multiple tasks associated with spatial and response learning includes analyzing the regions of activity in the entorhinal cortex, hippocampus and caudate nucleus including regression between the grey matter density in the hippocampus and caudate nucleus and the error made by the participants in the tasks).
Regarding claim 12, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein analyzing the first set of data comprises analyzing the first set of data to provide a measure of the individual's performance at allocentric navigation (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 discloses wherein the system utilizes multiple virtual navigation tasks in which one of the task utilizes object retrieval in an environment to analyze the user’s spatial strategies of navigation (allocentric navigation) including a Spatial Discrimination Learning Task; see ¶64 detailing “spatial memory strategy” (allocentric) vs “response strategy” (egocentric)).
Regarding claim 13, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein analyzing the second set of data comprises analyzing the second set of data to provide a measure of the individual's performance at egocentric navigation (¶91, 95-96, 129, and 131-135 discloses wherein the system utilizes multiple virtual navigation tasks in which one of the task utilizes object retrieval in an environment to analyze the user’s spatial strategies of navigation (allocentric navigation) including a Spatial Discrimination Learning Task; see ¶64 detailing “spatial memory strategy” (allocentric) vs “response strategy” (egocentric)).
Regarding claim 14, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein the first task or the second task comprises one or more of a way-finding task, a path-plotting task, a seek task, a search and recovery task (¶91 discloses wherein the subjects had to retrieve four objects from a virtual platform environment), or a direction- giving task.
Regarding claim 15, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose wherein the first set or the second set of one or more parameters comprises at least one of a measure of a navigation speed relative to the environment, an orientation relative to the environment, a velocity relative to the environment, a choice of navigation strategy (¶91 discloses wherein the system uses the task to determine whether the user uses a spatial or response strategy to navigate the task or environment), a measure of a wait or delay period or a period of inaction during navigation, a time interval to complete a course (¶129 discloses wherein the system analyzes the time it takes to complete the task), or a degree of optimization of a navigation path through a course.
Regarding claim 16, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein the first set of one or more parameters comprise at least one of a measure of the individual's judgment about relative spatial positions between two points as determined based on distances relative to other objects in the environment, a measure of the individual's ability to plot a novel course through a portion of the environment that was previously known to the individual (¶91 discloses wherein the subject first had to retrieve four objects from an environment or platform and then in a second task had to retrieve the object from the environment or platform and wherein this time the objects were placed in paths of the environment that were previously blocked and thus had to plot a new or novel course through portions of an environment that was previously known in order to seek and retrieve the objects), or a measure of the individual's ability to spatially transform three or more memorized positions in the environment arranged to cover two or more dimensions.
Regarding claim 17, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein the second set of one or more parameters comprise at least one of a direction of the individual's movement relative to the environment (¶119 discloses wherein the subject reaches his/her target based on the use and direction relative to landmarks), a speed of the individual's movement relative to the environment, a measure of the individual's memory of landmarks (¶118 discloses wherein the tasks requires and is measured based on the subject’s ability to memorize objects or locations (landmarks)), a measure of the individual's memory of turn-by-turn directions, or a frequency or number of times of referral to an aerial or elevated view of a view.
Regarding claim 19, Bohbot and Shelton disclose the apparatus of claim 8, and further disclose: wherein the apparatus comprises one or more sensor components, and wherein the processing unit is configured to control the one or more sensor components to measure data indicative of the first set of one or more parameters and indicative of the second set of one or more parameters (¶81-82 discloses wherein the system uses sensors to provide feedback indicative of brain activity of the user).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohbot, Alexander and Shelton in view of Raber et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0280276) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 18, Bohbot in view of Alexander and Shelton discloses the apparatus of claim 15, and further discloses:
based at least in part on the analysis, generates an output to the user interface indicative of a change in the individual's cognitive ability (¶85 discloses wherein the control module customizes the outputted training modules based on measurement results indicating improvement in memory).
Yet Bohbot does not disclose:
wherein: prior to rendering the tasks at the user interface, the processing unit is configured to receive data indicative of one or more of an amount, concentration, or dose titration of a pharmaceutical agent, drug, or biologic being or to be administered to an individual.
However, in the same field of analyzing cognitive ability through analysis using virtual reality, Raber discloses:
wherein: prior to rendering the tasks at the user interface, the processing unit is configured to receive data indicative of one or more of an amount, concentration, or dose titration of a pharmaceutical agent, drug, or biologic being or to be administered to an individual (¶80-81 disclose wherein the cognitive status assessment determines the therapeutic intervention including the therapeutic dose of the drug therapy and ¶66 discloses wherein the test are repeatedly performed and analyzed so as to assess changes in cognitive status such that the system would receive therapeutic dose information prior to administration of a test or task).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combination to incorporate wherein: prior to rendering the tasks at the user interface, the processing unit is configured to receive data indicative of one or more of an amount, concentration, or dose titration of a pharmaceutical agent, drug, or biologic being or to be administered to an individual, as taught by Raber, in order to assess cognitive changes related to the administration of drugs so as to determine drug dose efficacy.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A CATINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791