DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 28-37 drawn to a pressure vessel in the reply filed on February 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 28-37 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed January 6, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. There was no copy provided for DE 102017205190.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does mention a “single strip,” as recited in claim 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites “the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner to an outer surface of the pressure vessel directly around the cylindrical center portion and the two domed portions” in lines 8-10. It is unclear what is meant by “and the two domed portions” here. Does this mean “the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner… to the two domed portions”? Or “the first filament and second filament are interwoven at… the two dome domed portions”? Applicant’s figures appear to all show the interwoven structure being arranged on the cylindrical center portion of the liner, and not the two domed portions (see Figs. 1-3D).
Claim 32 recites “the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a first angle” in lines 1-2 and “the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a second angle” in lines 3-4. It is unclear whether the “first angle” and “second angle” are the same as the “first angle” and “second angle” recited in claim 28 at lines 5 and 6, respectively, or different angles.
Claim 33 recites “the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner to an outer surface of the pressure vessel directly around the cylindrical center portion and the two domed portions” in lines 9-11. It is unclear what is meant by “and the two domed portions” here. Does this mean “the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner… to the two domed portions”? Or “the first filament and second filament are interwoven at… the two dome domed portions”? Applicant’s figures appear to all show the interwoven structure being arranged on the cylindrical center portion of the liner, and not the two domed portions (see Figs. 1-3D).
Claim 37 recites “the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a first angle” in lines 1-2 and “the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a second angle” in lines 3-4. It is unclear whether the “first angle” and “second angle” are the same as the “first angle” and “second angle” recited in claim 33 at lines 5 and 7, respectively, or different angles.
Claims 29-32 and 34-37 are also rejected through their dependence on a rejected parent claim (details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2020/0224823 to Hatta (hereinafter, “Hatta”).
Regarding claim 28, Hatta discloses a pressure vessel (tank 10, Fig. 1) comprising: a liner (liner 11, Fig. 1) having a cylindrical center portion (cylindrical body portion 14, Fig. 1) and two domed portions (dome portions 15, 16, Fig. 1) and extending along a longitudinal axis (central axis CX, Figs. 1-4); and a structural shell (fiber-reinforced resin layer 12, Fig. 1) being disposed directly around the liner (liner 11, Fig. 1; para. [0021]), and comprising: a first filament (fiber bundle F1, Fig. 3) wound about the liner (liner 11) at a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis (fiber bundle F1 is wound at a primarily hoop direction at an innermost portion, Fig. 3; para. [0038]); and a second filament (fiber bundle F2, Fig. 3) wound about the liner (liner 11) at a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis (fiber bundle F2 is wound at a primarily helical direction at an innermost portion, Fig. 3; para. [0038]); wherein the first filament (fiber bundle F1) and second filament (fiber bundle F2) are interwoven (see Figs. 3-4) from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion (cylindrical body portion 14) of the liner (liner 11) to an outer surface of the pressure vessel (outer surface of fiber-reinforced resin layer 12, see Fig. 1) directly around the cylindrical center portion (cylindrical body portion 14) and the two domed portions (dome portions 15, 16, see Figs. 1-3), and wherein neither the first angle (hoop direction) nor the second angle (helical direction) is parallel to the longitudinal axis (central axis CX, see Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 29, Hatta further discloses the first filament (fiber bundle F1) comprises a first material composition (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and the second filament (fiber bundle F2) comprises a second material composition (paras. [0024]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 30, Hatta further discloses the first material composition (composition of fiber bundle F1) comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and provides higher strength (fiber bundle F1 is thicker, and thus has higher strength, see para. [0025]; Note – Applicant’s specification supports construing “material composition” as including the fiber configuration, see e.g., paras. [0016], [0028]-[0029]) and the second material composition (composition of fiber bundle F2) comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and provides lower strength (fiber bundle F2 is narrower, and thus has lower strength).
To the extent it could be argued that Hatta does not expressly disclose the first and second material compositions provide different strengths, an alternative rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is provided below.
Regarding claim 31, Hatta further discloses the interwoven first filament (fiber bundle F1) and second filament (fiber bundle F2) comprises a three dimensional interwoven construct (see e.g., Figs. 1, 3-4).
Regarding claim 32, Hatta further discloses the first filament (fiber bundle F1) and the second filament (fiber bundle F2) cross over each other at a first angle (angle between F1 and F2 in Fig. 3) in a first portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct (see Fig. 3), and the first filament (fiber bundle F1) and the second filament (fiber bundle F2) cross over each other at a second angle (angle between F1 and F2 in Fig. 4) in a second portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 33, Hatta discloses a pressure vessel (tank 10, Fig. 1) comprising: a liner having a cylindrical center portion (cylindrical body portion 14, Fig. 1) and two domed portions (dome portions 15, 16, Fig. 1) and extending along a longitudinal axis (central axis CX, Figs. 1-4); and a structural shell (fiber-reinforced resin layer 12, Fig. 1) being disposed directly around the liner (liner 11, Fig. 1; para. [0021]), and comprising: a first filament (fiber bundle F1, Fig. 3) applied onto the liner (liner 11) as a single strip (see Figs. 2-4) at a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis (see e.g., Fig. 3); and a second filament (fiber bundle F2, Fig. 3) applied onto the liner (liner 11) as a single strip (see Figs. 2-4) at a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis (see e.g., Fig. 3); wherein the first filament (fiber bundle F1) and second filament (fiber bundle F2) are interwoven (see Figs. 3-4) from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion (cylindrical body portion 14) of the liner (liner 11) to an outer surface of the pressure vessel (outer surface of fiber-reinforced resin layer 12, see Fig. 1) directly around the cylindrical center portion (cylindrical body portion 14) and the two domed portions (dome portions 15, 16, see Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 34, Hatta further discloses the first filament (fiber bundle F1) comprises a first material composition (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and the second filament (fiber bundle F2) comprises a second material composition (paras. [0024]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 35, Hatta further discloses the first material composition (composition of fiber bundle F1) comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and provides higher strength (fiber bundle F1 is thicker, and thus has higher strength, see para. [0025]; Note – Applicant’s specification supports construing “material composition” as including the fiber configuration, see e.g., paras. [0016], [0028]-[0029]) and the second material composition (composition of fiber bundle F2) comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and provides lower strength (fiber bundle F2 is narrower, and thus has lower strength).
To the extent it could be argued that Hatta does not expressly disclose the first and second material compositions provide different strengths, an alternative rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is provided below.
Regarding claim 36, Hatta further discloses the interwoven first filament (fiber bundle F1) and second filament (fiber bundle F2) comprises a three dimensional interwoven construct (see e.g., Figs. 1, 3-4).
Regarding claim 37, Hatta further discloses the first filament (fiber bundle F1) and the second filament (fiber bundle F2) cross over each other at a first angle (angle between F1 and F2 in Fig. 3) in a first portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct (see Fig. 3), and the first filament (fiber bundle F1) and the second filament (fiber bundle F2) cross over each other at a second angle (angle between F1 and F2 in Fig. 4) in a second portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct (see Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30 and 35 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatta as applied to claims 29 and 34 above, and in further view of U.S. Pub. 2017/0045181 to Watanabe et al. (hereinafter, “Watanabe”).
Regarding claim 30, Hatta further discloses the first material composition comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and the second material composition comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]).
To the extent Hatta does not expressly disclose the first material composition provides higher strength and the second material composition provides lower strength, this arrangement would be obvious.
Watanabe teaches a pressure vessel comprising a liner with a cylindrical center portion and two domed portions and a structural shell disposed around the liner formed from filaments wound about the liner (Fig. 1). Watanabe teaches that the structural shell comprises a first filament having a first material composition comprising carbon (para. [0081]) and a second filament having a second material composition comprising carbon (para. [0081]). Watanabe teaches that the first material composition provides higher strength than the second material composition (para. [0081]). Watanabe teaches that having one of the material compositions provide lower strength may reduce material costs (para. [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the pressure vessel of Hatta to select the first material composition to have a higher strength than the second material composition as taught by Watanabe for the purpose of reducing material costs, as recognized by Watanabe (see para. [0075]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 35, Hatta further discloses the first material composition comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]) and the second material composition comprises carbon (paras. [0024]-[0025]).
To the extent Hatta does not expressly disclose the first material composition provides higher strength and the second material composition provides lower strength, this arrangement would be obvious.
Watanabe teaches a pressure vessel comprising a liner with a cylindrical center portion and two domed portions and a structural shell disposed around the liner formed from filaments wound about the liner (Fig. 1). Watanabe teaches that the structural shell comprises a first filament having a first material composition comprising carbon (para. [0081]) and a second filament having a second material composition comprising carbon (para. [0081]). Watanabe teaches that the first material composition provides higher strength than the second material composition (para. [0081]). Watanabe teaches that having one of the material compositions provide lower strength may reduce material costs (para. [0075]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the pressure vessel of Hatta to select the first material composition to have a higher strength than the second material composition as taught by Watanabe for the purpose of reducing material costs, as recognized by Watanabe (see para. [0075]), and because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
Double Patenting
Claims 28-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,046 (“the ‘046 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, and 5 of the ‘046 patent “anticipate” present claims 28-37, as shown below.
Present Claims
Claims of the ‘046 Patent
Claim 28: A pressure vessel comprising:
a liner having a cylindrical center portion and two domed portions and extending along a longitudinal axis; and
a structural shell being disposed directly around the liner, and comprising:
a first filament wound about the liner at a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis; and
a second filament wound about the liner at a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis;
wherein the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner to an outer surface of the pressure vessel directly around the cylindrical center portion and the two domed portions, and
wherein neither the first angle nor the second angle is parallel to the longitudinal axis.
Claim 1, col. 14, l. 29;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 30-31;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 32-33;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 34-35;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 36-37;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 38-46;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 34-37.
Claim 29: The pressure vessel of claim 28, wherein the first filament comprises a first material composition and the second filament comprises a second material composition.
Claim 2, col. 14, ll. 55-57.
Claim 30: The pressure vessel of claim 29, wherein the first material composition comprises carbon and provides higher strength and the second material composition comprises carbon and provides lower strength.
Claim 5, col. 14, ll. 62-65.
Claim 31: The pressure vessel of claim 28, wherein the interwoven first filament and second filament comprises a three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 38-40.
Claim 32: The pressure vessel of claim 31, wherein the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a first angle in a first portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct, and the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a second angle in a second portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 47-52.
Claim 33: A pressure vessel comprising:
a liner having a cylindrical center portion and two domed portions and extending along a longitudinal axis; and
a structural shell being disposed directly around the liner, and comprising:
a first filament applied onto the liner as a single strip at a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis; and
a second filament applied onto the liner as a single strip at a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis;
wherein the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner to an outer surface of the pressure vessel directly around the cylindrical center portion and the two domed portions.
Claim 1, col. 14, l. 29;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 30-31;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 32-33;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 34-35;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 36-37;
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 38-46.
Claim 34: The pressure vessel of claim 33, wherein the first filament comprises a first material composition and the second filament comprises a second material composition.
Claim 2, col. 14, ll. 55-57.
Claim 35: The pressure vessel of claim 34, wherein the first material composition comprises carbon and provides higher strength and the second material composition comprises carbon and provides lower strength.
Claim 5, col. 14, ll. 62-65.
Claim 36: The pressure vessel of claim 33, wherein the interwoven first filament and second filament comprises a three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 38-40.
Claim 37: The pressure vessel of claim 36, wherein the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a first angle in a first portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct, and the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a second angle in a second portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 1, col. 14, ll. 47-52.
Claims 28, 31-33, 36, and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,358,365 (“the ‘365 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of the ‘365 patent “anticipates” present claims 28, 31-33, 36, and 37, as shown below.
Present Claims
Claims of the ‘365 Patent
Claim 28: A pressure vessel comprising:
a liner having a cylindrical center portion and two domed portions and extending along a longitudinal axis; and
a structural shell being disposed directly around the liner, and comprising:
a first filament wound about the liner at a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis; and
a second filament wound about the liner at a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis;
wherein the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner to an outer surface of the pressure vessel directly around the cylindrical center portion and the two domed portions, and
wherein neither the first angle nor the second angle is parallel to the longitudinal axis.
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 36;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 37-38;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 39-40;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 41-42;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 43-44;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 45-55; Claim 9, col. 34, ll. 64-67;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 41-44.
Claim 31: The pressure vessel of claim 28, wherein the interwoven first filament and second filament comprises a three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 45-55.
Claim 32: The pressure vessel of claim 31, wherein the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a first angle in a first portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct, and the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a second angle in a second portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 45-55.
Claim 33: A pressure vessel comprising:
a liner having a cylindrical center portion and two domed portions and extending along a longitudinal axis; and
a structural shell being disposed directly around the liner, and comprising:
a first filament applied onto the liner as a single strip at a first angle relative to the longitudinal axis; and
a second filament applied onto the liner as a single strip at a second angle relative to the longitudinal axis;
wherein the first filament and second filament are interwoven from an outer surface of the cylindrical center portion of the liner to an outer surface of the pressure vessel directly around the cylindrical center portion and the two domed portions.
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 36;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 37-38;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 39-40;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 41-42;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 43-44;
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 45-55; Claim 9, col. 34, ll. 64-67.
Claim 36: The pressure vessel of claim 33, wherein the interwoven first filament and second filament comprises a three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 45-55.
Claim 37: The pressure vessel of claim 36, wherein the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a first angle in a first portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct, and the first filament and the second filament cross over each other at a second angle in a second portion of the three dimensional interwoven construct.
Claim 5, col. 34, ll. 45-55.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Pub. 2009/0314785 to Cronin et al. discloses a pressure vessel having a liner with a cylindrical portion and two dome portions, and a shell formed from interwoven filaments over the cylindrical portion and dome portions (see Figs. 1A-6).
U.S. Pub. 2005/0077643 to Matsuoka discloses a pressure vessel having a liner with a cylindrical portion and two dome portions, and a shell formed from first and second filaments arranged at different angles and interwoven over the cylindrical portion and dome portions (see Figs. 1-9).
/LAURA E. PARKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3733