DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/24 is in accordance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U.S. Patent No. 10,425,642; cited in the IDS filed 11/12/24) in view of Lim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0114701).
In regard to claim 1, Wu teaches a method for inter-encoding an image frame in a sequence of image frames (i.e., encoded media content 225 for image frames of the media content) (col. 7, lines 45-48), comprising:
obtaining a compression level for each pixel block of the image frame, wherein the compression level corresponds to a quantization level and is higher for pixel blocks in some regions of the image frame than for pixel blocks in other regions of the image frame (i.e., portions can be assigned a quantization parameter from 0 to 51 based on the difficulty of encoding the portions; in Fig. 6, this results in portion 610 having a quantization parameter of 34, and portion 620 having a quantization parameter of 4) (Fig. 6; col. 9, lines 7-12),
inter-encoding the image frame in a first encoding pass using the obtained compression level for each pixel block of the image frame (i.e., using HEVC/H.265, encoding; the average quantization parameter can be calculated in a first pass of the encoding process) (col. 1, lines 51-56; col. 9, lines 53-54),…,
inter-encoding the image frame in a second encoding pass using the lowered compression level for each identified pixel block and using the obtained compression level for each remaining pixel block (i.e., next, in the second pass of the encoding process, the quantization parameters to be applied can be determined; encoder 215 can adjust the quantization parameters to be applied to the portions in target image frame 605 based on the average quantization parameter) (col. 9, lines 55-56. 58-60).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein each pixel block is either inter-coded or intra-coded nor does it teach identifying pixel blocks in the image frame that were intra-coded in the first encoding pass and for which the obtained compression level exceeds a compression level threshold and does not teach lowering the compression level for each identified pixel block.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein each pixel block is either inter-coded or intra-coded (i.e., a coding unit 104 can be coded as an intra predicted block (depicted as shaded blocks) 106 or an inter prediction block (depicted as unshaded blocks) 108) (Fig. 1; para[0111]), teaches identifying pixel blocks in the image frame that were intra-coded in the first encoding pass (i.e., a prediction mode parameter 314 representing or indicating the determined prediction mode type is written into a header 312 of a coding unit 310 as shown in FIG. 3; by way of example only, a prediction mode parameter 314 having a value "0" may indicate that the prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode and a prediction mode parameter 314 having a value "1" may indicate that the prediction mode type is an inter-picture prediction mode) (para[0115]) and for which the obtained compression level exceeds a compression level threshold (i.e., the intra predicted coding units 106 require a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units 108; if the prediction mode type for the block of image samples is an intra prediction mode type, the determined QP for compressing the block of image samples is modified by subtracting from it the value of the offset QP 306; the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by one prediction mode type (e.g., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type; wherein the “threshold” is interpreted to be that the intra predicted coding units should have a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units, and that is why an offset (that is subtracted) must be applied) (para[0112], [0117], [0119]) and teaches lowering the compression level for each identified pixel block (i.e., for example, in the case where the predetermined prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode, the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by the intra prediction mode (i.e., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type such as the inter picture prediction model) (para[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim because Lim teaches achieving similar subjective quality (without increasing the data size of the overall image) between inter and intra predicted coding units by using lower quantization parameters for the intra predicted coding units than the inter predicted coding units (See, for example, para[0008] of Lim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu with those of Lim.
In regard to claim 2, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the compression level for each identified pixel block is lowered to a value which is equal to or below the compression level threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein the compression level for each identified pixel block is lowered to a value which is equal to or below the compression level threshold (i.e., the intra predicted coding units 106 require a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units 108; if the prediction mode type for the block of image samples is an intra prediction mode type, the determined QP for compressing the block of image samples is modified by subtracting from it the value of the offset QP 306; for example, in the case where the predetermined prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode, the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by the intra prediction mode (i.e., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type such as the inter picture prediction model) (para[0112], [0117], [0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim for the same reasons as those discussed above for claim 1.
In regard to claim 3, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein each pixel block in the image frame has a respective compression level threshold which is set in relation to a compression level used when a spatially corresponding pixel block having a same spatial position as the pixel block was last intra-coded in a previous image frame in the sequence.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein each pixel block in the image frame has a respective compression level threshold which is set in relation to a compression level used when a spatially corresponding pixel block having a same spatial position as the pixel block was last intra-coded in a previous image frame in the sequence (i.e., since the determined QP can be expressed as DELTAQP+QP of a previous CU, the above equation can equivalently be expressed as: modified QP=DELTAQP+QP of a previous CU-offset QP; it will be apparent to the person skilled in the art that the above equation can equivalently be expressed as: modified QP=determined QP+offset QP (or modified QP=DELTAQP+QP of previous CU+offset QP) if the offset QP is expressed as a negative value or number) (para[0117]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim for the same reasons as those discussed above for claim 1.
In regard to claim 6, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the method is carried out each time an image frame in the sequence of image frames is to be inter-encoded (i.e., Fig. 7 illustrates an example of adjusting quantization parameters; HEVC standard) (col. 8, lines 43-62).
In regard to claim 7, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the method is carried out for a selection of image frames in the sequence of image frames, the selection being fewer than every image frame in the sequence of image frames that is to be inter-coded.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein the method is carried out for a selection of image frames in the sequence of image frames, the selection being fewer than every image frame in the sequence of image frames that is to be inter-coded (i.e., for example, in special prediction modes such as "skip mode" and "direct mode", such a parameter/flag is not present in the coding unit 310 and thus it can be deduced that a transform unit 318 has not been coded. It is apparent to the person skilled in the art that "skip mode" and "direct mode" are a subset of the inter-picture prediction mode) (para[0144]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim for the same reasons as those discussed above for claim 1.
In regard to claim 11, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the compression level is higher for pixel blocks which are not within a region of interest of the image frame than for pixel blocks which are within a region of interest of the image frame (i.e., Fig. 6; portions 610, 615, and 620; portion 615 has a higher quantization parameter (e.g., less compression, higher quality) because it includes a significant amount of meaningful image content (e.g., “region of interest”) by portraying a large portion of the basketball from target image frame 605) (Fig. 6; col. 8, line 63-col. 9, line 26).
In regard to claim 12, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the first encoding pass and the second encoding pass are performed by the same encoding unit (i.e., for example, in two pass (or multi-pass) encoding, encoder 215 can analyze each CU and determine custom quantization matrices that can be applied to achieve the desirable attenuation in noise in a first pass) (Fig. 2; col. 7, line 65-col. 8, line 7).
In regard to claim 13, Wu teaches an encoder for inter-encoding an image frame in a sequence of image frames (i.e., encoded media content 225 for image frames of the media content) (col. 7, lines 45-48), comprising circuitry configured to carry out a method for inter-encoding an image frame in a sequence of image frames (i.e., Fig. 2), comprising:
obtaining a compression level for each pixel block of the image frame, wherein the compression level corresponds to a quantization level and is higher for pixel blocks in some regions of the image frame than for pixel blocks in other regions of the image frame (i.e., portions can be assigned a quantization parameter from 0 to 51 based on the difficulty of encoding the portions; in Fig. 6, this results in portion 610 having a quantization parameter of 34, and portion 620 having a quantization parameter of 4) (Fig. 6; col. 9, lines 7-12),
inter-encoding the image frame in a first encoding pass using the obtained compression level for each pixel block of the image frame (i.e., using HEVC/H.265, encoding; the average quantization parameter can be calculated in a first pass of the encoding process) (col. 1, lines 51-56; col. 9, lines 53-54),…,
inter-encoding the image frame in a second encoding pass using the lowered compression level for each identified pixel block and using the obtained compression level for each remaining pixel block (i.e., next, in the second pass of the encoding process, the quantization parameters to be applied can be determined; encoder 215 can adjust the quantization parameters to be applied to the portions in target image frame 605 based on the average quantization parameter) (col. 9, lines 55-56. 58-60).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein each pixel block is either inter-coded or intra-coded nor does it teach identifying pixel blocks in the image frame that were intra-coded in the first encoding pass and for which the obtained compression level exceeds a compression level threshold and does not teach lowering the compression level for each identified pixel block.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein each pixel block is either inter-coded or intra-coded (i.e., a coding unit 104 can be coded as an intra predicted block (depicted as shaded blocks) 106 or an inter prediction block (depicted as unshaded blocks) 108) (Fig. 1; para[0111]), teaches identifying pixel blocks in the image frame that were intra-coded in the first encoding pass (i.e., a prediction mode parameter 314 representing or indicating the determined prediction mode type is written into a header 312 of a coding unit 310 as shown in FIG. 3; by way of example only, a prediction mode parameter 314 having a value "0" may indicate that the prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode and a prediction mode parameter 314 having a value "1" may indicate that the prediction mode type is an inter-picture prediction mode) (para[0115]) and for which the obtained compression level exceeds a compression level threshold (i.e., the intra predicted coding units 106 require a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units 108; if the prediction mode type for the block of image samples is an intra prediction mode type, the determined QP for compressing the block of image samples is modified by subtracting from it the value of the offset QP 306; the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by one prediction mode type (e.g., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type; wherein the “threshold” is interpreted to be that the intra predicted coding units should have a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units, and that is why an offset (that is subtracted) must be applied) (para[0112], [0117], [0119]) and teaches lowering the compression level for each identified pixel block (i.e., for example, in the case where the predetermined prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode, the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by the intra prediction mode (i.e., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type such as the inter picture prediction model) (para[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim because Lim teaches achieving similar subjective quality (without increasing the data size of the overall image) between inter and intra predicted coding units by using lower quantization parameters for the intra predicted coding units than the inter predicted coding units (See, for example, para[0008] of Lim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu with those of Lim.
In regard to claim 14, Wu teaches a computer-readable storage medium comprising computer program code which, when executed by a computer (i.e., may be stored in any type of non-transitory computer-readable storage media or memory device(s), and may be executed according to a variety of computing models including, for example, a client/server model, a peer-to-peer model, on a stand-alone computing device, or according to a distributed computing model) (Fig. 2; col. 4, lines 34-48), causes the computer to carry out a method for inter-encoding an image frame in a sequence of image frames (i.e., encoded media content 225 for image frames of the media content) (col. 7, lines 45-48), comprising:
obtaining a compression level for each pixel block of the image frame, wherein the compression level corresponds to a quantization level and is higher for pixel blocks in some regions of the image frame than for pixel blocks in other regions of the image frame (i.e., portions can be assigned a quantization parameter from 0 to 51 based on the difficulty of encoding the portions; in Fig. 6, this results in portion 610 having a quantization parameter of 34, and portion 620 having a quantization parameter of 4) (Fig. 6; col. 9, lines 7-12),
inter-encoding the image frame in a first encoding pass using the obtained compression level for each pixel block of the image frame (i.e., using HEVC/H.265, encoding; the average quantization parameter can be calculated in a first pass of the encoding process) (col. 1, lines 51-56; col. 9, lines 53-54),…,
inter-encoding the image frame in a second encoding pass using the lowered compression level for each identified pixel block and using the obtained compression level for each remaining pixel block (i.e., next, in the second pass of the encoding process, the quantization parameters to be applied can be determined; encoder 215 can adjust the quantization parameters to be applied to the portions in target image frame 605 based on the average quantization parameter) (col. 9, lines 55-56. 58-60).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein each pixel block is either inter-coded or intra-coded nor does it teach identifying pixel blocks in the image frame that were intra-coded in the first encoding pass and for which the obtained compression level exceeds a compression level threshold and does not teach lowering the compression level for each identified pixel block.
In the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches wherein each pixel block is either inter-coded or intra-coded (i.e., a coding unit 104 can be coded as an intra predicted block (depicted as shaded blocks) 106 or an inter prediction block (depicted as unshaded blocks) 108) (Fig. 1; para[0111]), teaches identifying pixel blocks in the image frame that were intra-coded in the first encoding pass (i.e., a prediction mode parameter 314 representing or indicating the determined prediction mode type is written into a header 312 of a coding unit 310 as shown in FIG. 3; by way of example only, a prediction mode parameter 314 having a value "0" may indicate that the prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode and a prediction mode parameter 314 having a value "1" may indicate that the prediction mode type is an inter-picture prediction mode) (para[0115]) and for which the obtained compression level exceeds a compression level threshold (i.e., the intra predicted coding units 106 require a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units 108; if the prediction mode type for the block of image samples is an intra prediction mode type, the determined QP for compressing the block of image samples is modified by subtracting from it the value of the offset QP 306; the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by one prediction mode type (e.g., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type; wherein the “threshold” is interpreted to be that the intra predicted coding units should have a lower QP than the inter predicted coding units, and that is why an offset (that is subtracted) must be applied) (para[0112], [0117], [0119]) and teaches lowering the compression level for each identified pixel block (i.e., for example, in the case where the predetermined prediction mode type is an intra prediction mode, the offset QP 306 is determined based on a desired difference in the level of quantization between the coding units 310 coded by the intra prediction mode (i.e., intra prediction coding units) and the coding units 310 coded by another prediction mode type such as the inter picture prediction model) (para[0119]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim because Lim teaches achieving similar subjective quality (without increasing the data size of the overall image) between inter and intra predicted coding units by using lower quantization parameters for the intra predicted coding units than the inter predicted coding units (See, for example, para[0008] of Lim). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu with those of Lim.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (U.S. Patent No. 10,425,642; cited in the IDS filed 11/12/24) in view of Lim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0114701), further in view of Winston et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,778,991).
In regard to claim 9, Wu and Lim teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Wu and Lim do not explicitly teach wherein the inter-encoding in the first encoding pass operates on a lower resolution of the image frame, than the inter-encoding in the second encoding pass.
In the same field of endeavor, Winston teaches wherein the inter-encoding in the first encoding pass operates on a lower resolution of the image frame than the inter-encoding in the second encoding pass (i.e., the processor changes an encoding parameter from a first setting to a second setting; in one aspect, the processor 202 changes the quantization parameter from the lower resolution setting to the higher resolution setting that is higher than the first setting) (col. 15, lines 3-9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim with those of Winston because Winston teaches apparatus and methods for varying the levels of quantization during encoding so as to not require the high number of bits that a higher-end encoding configuration requires (See, for example, col. 1, lines 36-47of Winston). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Wu and Lim with those of Winston.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
KRISTIN DOBBS
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/KRISTIN DOBBS/Examiner, Art Unit 2488