Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lie et al (US20180314941) hereinafter Lie .
The applied reference has a common Assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As to claim 1, Lie discloses a method comprising: transmitting, using a first fabric port of a first processing element, a wavelet to a second fabric port of a second processing element using a fabric coupled to the first fabric port and to the second fabric port, wherein the wavelet comprises information indicating a first subsequent fabric port of the first processing element (Fig. 5 illustrates a processing element of said system, comprising a router 510, a compute element 520, where the data is embodies in wavelets, and input port such as 522, and output port such as 521 (para. 0499). Fig. 7 illustrates the wavelet movement from the fabric port of Fig. 5 to the router to the sending of the wavelet, para. 0064) ; and transmitting, using the first subsequent fabric port, a subsequent wavelet to a second subsequent fabric port of a subsequent processing element using the fabric, the fabric coupled to the first subsequent fabric port and to the second subsequent fabric port (Fig. 8 , and para. 0515, where a plurality of wavelets is transmitted).
As to claim 11, Lie discloses a system comprising: a plurality of processing elements, each processing element comprising one or more respective fabric ports; and a fabric coupled to the one or more respective fabric ports of the plurality of processing elements, wherein a first processing element of the plurality of processing elements is configured to (Fig. 5 illustrates a processing element of said system, comprising a router 510, a compute element 520, where the data is embodies in wavelets, and input port such as 522, and output port such as 521 (para. 0499). Fig. 7 illustrates the wavelet movement from the fabric port of Fig. 5 to the router to the sending of the wavelet, para. 0064): transmit, using a first fabric port of the first processing element, a wavelet to a second fabric port of a second processing element of the plurality of processing elements using the fabric, (Fig. 5 PE 500 coupled to a plurality of other PEs through ports such as 511, and 515, where router 510 is a fabric) with wherein the wavelet comprises information indicating a first subsequent fabric port of the first processing element; and transmit, using the first subsequent fabric port, a subsequent wavelet to a second subsequent fabric port of a subsequent processing element of the plurality of processing elements using the fabric (Fig. 8 , and para. 0515, where a plurality of wavelets is transmitted).
As to claims 2, and 12, Lie discloses the method, further comprising processing the wavelet by a first compute element of the first processing element, wherein the information further indicates that the wavelet has been processed by the first processing element (Fig. 8, and para. 0519, where computing instructions are executed).
As to claims 3, and 13, Lie discloses the method, wherein the first fabric port and the first subsequent fabric port are different (Fig. 7, where a plurality of port choices are possible, para. 0508).
As to claims 4, and 14, Lie discloses the method, wherein the information further indicates switching from a first routing pattern to a second routing pattern associated with the first subsequent fabric port and the second subsequent fabric port, respectively (Fig. 7, and para. 0508).
As to claims 5, and 15, Lie discloses the method, wherein the information further indicates that the first routing pattern is associated with a first color value, and that the second routing pattern is associated with a second color value (Fig. 5, and para. 0082).
As to claims 6, and 16, Lie discloses the method, wherein the first processing element comprises a router, wherein the first fabric port is identified by an output switch of the router, and wherein transmitting, using the first subsequent fabric port, the subsequent wavelet to the second subsequent fabric port comprises configuring the output switch of the router to select the first subsequent fabric port (Fig. 5, with router 510 enabling connect ion to a plurality of PE with different ports, para. 0499).
As to claims 7, and 17, Lie discloses the method, wherein the wavelet comprises a first field and a second field, and wherein the first field is for storing a first opcode, the method further comprising modifying, based at least in part on the second field, the first field to determine a second opcode associated with the first subsequent fabric port (Fig. 25a, and para. 0519).
As to claims 8, and 18, Lie discloses the method, wherein modifying, based at least in part on the second field, the first field to determine the second opcode associated with the first subsequent fabric port comprises shifting one or more bits of the wavelet to the first field (Fig. 25c, and para. 0734).
As to claims 9, and 19, Lie discloses the method, wherein the subsequent wavelet is a first subsequent wavelet, wherein the information further indicates a third fabric port of the first processing element, the method further comprising selecting the third fabric port for receiving a second subsequent wavelet (Figs. 5 & 6 illustrating the routing of wavelets to a plurality of ports, paras. 0503 – 0508).
As to claims 10, and 20, Lie discloses the method, wherein the information further indicates one or more of an activation of a neural network, a partial sum of activations of a neural network, an error of a neural network, a gradient estimate of a neural network, or a weight of a neural network (Fig. 3, and para. 0488 where a training sequence checks for error).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20210248453, US12459456, and US20190324759, among others teach the interaction of processing elements using wavelet technology.
/C.A.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184