DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 6/2/2026. Claims 1, 7, 11, 17 & 20 have been amended. Claims 6, 16 have been canceled. No other claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 7-15 & 17-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-15 & 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguichi (herein after 552, JP2014130552A) in view of WO2024039906A1 (hereinafter 906).
As per claim 1, 552 discloses:
1: A method comprising:
obtaining first real-time observational data corresponding to current conditions within an operational area of a vehicle (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; real time in-vehicle sensor, web information including weather information and web information collecting unit [33]);
generating one or more navigation routes for the vehicle in the operational area based on the first forecast, the vehicle navigating the operational area according to the one or more navigation routes (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; expected event routing vehicles to desired areas).
552 discloses the invention as detailed above.
552 further discloses an information analysis unit which utilizes machine learning to mine data and predict, based on location and weather information, the boarding position of a customer/user.
However, 552 does not appear to explicitly disclose generating, using an artificial intelligence (AI) forecasting model and based on the first real-time observational data, a first forecast of one or more weather conditions associated with the operational area of the vehicle such that the first forecast is tailored for and according to the operational area of the vehicle, wherein the first forecast comprises a first resolution, converting, via an AI downscaling model, the first resolution to a second resolution to produce a downscaled first forecast, wherein the first resolution is lower than the second resolution.
Nevertheless, 906—who is in the same field of endeavor—discloses generating, using an artificial intelligence (AI) forecasting model and based on the first real-time observational data, a first forecast of one or more weather conditions associated with the operational area of the vehicle such that the first forecast is tailored for and according to the operational area of the vehicle, wherein the first forecast comprises a first resolution, converting, via an AI downscaling model, the first resolution to a second resolution to produce a downscaled first forecast, wherein the first resolution is lower than the second resolution (see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81; ML model 102, situ observational data 110, local forecasts, data for global forecast to local forecasts and algorithm 123).
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention would have been motivated to combine 906’s system for determining forecasts and optimal routes with those of 552’s support system in order to form a more efficient system (i.e., by utilizing real time environmental data to determine optimal route for navigation from start to destination).
Motivation to combine 906 with 552 not only comes from knowledge well known in the art but also from 906 (see at last Abstract, Description).
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 2: further comprising: prior to obtaining the first real-time observational data corresponding to the current conditions within the operational area of the vehicle: training the AI forecasting model to forecast weather conditions using an historical weather conditions dataset (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; detection signals, statistical analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and AI to utilizing valuable information; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 3: further comprising: obtaining second real-time observational data corresponding to the current conditions within the one or more navigation routes; generating, using the AI forecasting model and based on the second real-time observational data, a second forecast of one or more weather conditions associated with the one or more navigation routes; and generating one or more updated navigation routes for the vehicle in the operational area based on the second forecast, the vehicle navigating the area according to the one or more updated navigation routes (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; real time in-vehicle sensor, web information including weather information and web information collecting unit [33]; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 4: further comprising: prior to obtaining the second real-time observational data: obtaining, via a user interface, a user input indicating a selection to obtain the second real-time observational data (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; terminal/tablet performing data communication, driver uploading and obtaining information, real-time sensors and forecasting demand and supplying based on predicted event/condition; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 5: wherein the user input indicates a timestep to feed the second real-time observational data to the AI forecasting model (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; terminal/tablet performing data communication, driver uploading and obtaining information, real-time sensors and forecasting demand and supplying based on predicted event/condition; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 7: wherein downscaling the first set of forecasts comprises: training the AI downscaling model using a first historical training dataset including weather conditions data with a first resolution and a second historical training dataset including weather conditions data with a second resolution, wherein the first resolution is lower in resolution than the second resolution; obtaining the first set of forecasts in the first resolution from the AI forecasting model; and converting, using the AI downscaling model, the first resolution of the first set of forecasts to the second resolution (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; detection signals, statistical analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and AI to utilizing valuable information and map with marked with areas of need and position information; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 8: wherein the weather conditions data with the first resolution includes data with a grid size equal to or exceeding 20 km2 (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; map with marked with areas of need and position information; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 9: wherein the weather conditions data with the second resolution includes data with a grid size equal to or less than 1 km2 (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; map with marked with areas of need and position information; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 10: wherein the weather conditions include one or more of: wave height, current velocity, wave direction, storms, wind direction, wind velocity, currents and tides, rain, lightning, precipitation, temperature, humidity, or cloud coverage (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; real-time weather conditions including temperature, humidity, pressure etc.; and see 906 at least fig. 1-14 and par. 75-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 11: A system comprising:
one or more processors configured to perform operations comprising (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; information analysis unit, information provisioning unit, terminal devices such tablets and smartphones):
obtaining first real-time observational data corresponding to current conditions within an operational area of a vehicle (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; real time in-vehicle sensor, web information including weather information and web information collecting unit [33]);
generating, using an artificial intelligence (AI) forecasting model and based on the first real-time observational data, a first forecast of one or more weather conditions associated with the operational area of the vehicle such that the first forecast is tailored for and according to the operational area of the vehicle (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; detection signals, statistical analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and AI to utilizing valuable information; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81), wherein the first forecast comprises a first resolution;
converting, via an AI downscaling model, the first resolution to the second resolution to produce a downscaled first forecast, wherein the first resolution is lower than the second resolution (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; detection signals, statistical analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and AI to utilizing valuable information; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81); and
generating one or more navigation routes for the vehicle in the operational area based on the first forecast, the vehicle navigating the operational area according to the one or more navigation routes (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; expected event routing vehicles to desired areas and provisioning unit; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81)).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 12: the operations further comprising: prior to obtaining the first real-time observational data corresponding to the current conditions within the operational area of the vehicle: training the AI forecasting model to forecast weather conditions using an historical weather conditions dataset (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81)).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 13: the operations further comprising: obtaining second real-time observational data corresponding to the current conditions within the one or more navigation routes; generating, using the AI forecasting model and based on the second real-time observational data, a second forecast of one or more weather conditions associated with the one or more navigation routes; and generating one or more updated navigation routes for the vehicle in the operational area based on the second forecast, the vehicle navigating the area according to the one or more updated navigation routes (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81)).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 14: the operations further comprising: prior to obtaining the second real-time observational data: obtaining, via a user interface, a user input indicating a selection to obtain the second real-time observational data (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 15: wherein the user input indicates a particular timestep to feed the second real-time observational data to the AI forecasting model (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 17: wherein downscaling the first set of forecasts comprises: training the AI downscaling model using a first historical training dataset including weather conditions data with a first resolution and a second historical training dataset including weather conditions data with a second resolution, wherein the first resolution is lower in resolution than the second resolution; obtaining the first set of forecasts in the first resolution from the AI forecasting model; and converting, using the AI downscaling model, the first resolution of the first set of forecasts to the second resolution (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 18: wherein the weather conditions data with the first resolution includes data with a grid size equal to or exceeding 20 km2 (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 19: wherein the weather conditions data with the second resolution includes data with a grid size equal to or less than 1 km2 (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both 552 an 906 disclose claim 20: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a system to perform operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining first real-time observational data corresponding to current conditions within an operational area of a vehicle (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; real time in-vehicle sensor, web information including weather information and web information collecting unit [33]);
generating, using an artificial intelligence (AI) forecasting model and based on the first real-time observational data, a first forecast of one or more weather conditions associated with the operational area of the vehicle such that the first forecast is tailored for and according to the operational area of the vehicle, wherein the first forecast comprises a first resolution (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; detection signals, statistical analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and AI to utilizing valuable information; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81); converting, via an AI downscaling model, the first resolution to a second resolution to produce a downscaled first forecast, wherein the first resolution is lower than the second resolution (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; detection signals, statistical analysis, pattern recognition, machine learning and AI to utilizing valuable information; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81); and
generating one or more navigation routes for the vehicle in the operational area based on the downscaled first forecast, the vehicle navigating the operational area according to the one or more navigation routes (see 552 at least fig. 1-5 and in particular Abstract and fig. 1-2 & 5; expected event routing vehicles to desired areas; and see 906 fig. 1-14 and par. 70-81).
Motivation to combine 552 with 906, in the instant claim, is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 5/15/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MACEEH . ANWARI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3663
/MACEEH ANWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663