DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. In particular, the recitation that the movable ring is arranged radially outside the stationary ring does not appear enabled. Paragraph [00035] of the specification as-filed simply states that, in an example, the stationary ring 120 can be arranged radially within the movable ring 130, but provides no further explanation, and both figures illustrating these components show stationary ring 120 arranged radially outside movable ring 130. No further explanation is provided in the specification as to how the claimed configuration is achieved.
Appropriate clarification and correction are required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the movable ring is arranged radially outside the stationary ring” of Claim 3 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4–9, 11, 12, and 14–16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2010-247308 A to Ushiyama et al. (cited in Applicant’s June 26, 2025, IDS, which included a translation, citations are to the translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Ushiyama discloses (e.g., Figs. 4 and 5 and their corresponding descriptions in paragraphs [0065]–[0091]) a holding device H2/H3 to hold an optical element 1 for the testing thereof, the holding device comprising: a hollow base body 2; a stationary ring 4 arranged on or fastened to the base body, the stationary ring has, at one axial end, a contact face 4a for bearing against the optical element; and a movable ring 6 mounted axially displaceably on the base body relative to the stationary ring and the base body (paragraph [0073], slideable in the axial direction), the movable ring having, at one axial end, a contact face 7 for bearing against the optical element, wherein the stationary ring and the movable ring are arranged coaxially with respect to one another (Figs. 4 and 5), and wherein a gap is arranged at least between the stationary ring and the movable ring, in which gap a vacuum for holding the optical element is generated (e.g., vacuum intake 2a/vacuum suction hole 6a; paragraphs [0080]–[0081]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ushiyama discloses wherein the movable ring is arranged radially inside the stationary ring (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Ushiyama discloses wherein the base body has a rotationally symmetrical or non-rotationally symmetrical geometry (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Ushiyama discloses wherein a through-opening (e.g., through guide hole 10a/through hole 32b) is formed in the movable or stationary ring axially through the entire movable or stationary ring (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Ushiyama discloses wherein the contact faces of the rings are formed as cutting edges, and/or wherein the contact faces are formed to bear against the optical element along concentric, rotationally symmetrical or non-rotationally symmetrical geometries (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Ushiyama discloses a pretensioning apparatus for pretensioning the movable ring away from the base body (e.g., elastic body 8 such as a coil spring in a compressed state), or wherein the pretensioning apparatus has an elastic or compressed air device (paragraph [0075]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ushiyama discloses wherein the base body has a guide portion 32a which is formed to guide a movement of the movable ring relative to the base body and the stationary ring (paragraphs [0072] and [0078]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ushiyama discloses wherein a fit or a clearance fit is configured as a slide guide between the guide portion of the base body and a guided portion of the movable ring (Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0072] and [0078]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ushiyama discloses wherein the base body 2 has at least one stop portion 2b which is formed to restrict a movement of the movable ring relative to the base body and the stationary ring (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Ushiyama discloses wherein a shoulder 6b is formed on the movable ring, which shoulder is formed to restrict a movement of the movable ring relative to the base body and the stationary ring (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Ushiyama discloses wherein the movable ring is embodied in multiple parts (e.g., combining suction cylinder 6 and suction pad 7), wherein the contact face 7 is arranged on a first part of the movable ring (Fig. 4), wherein a portion guided through the base body is arranged on a second part of the movable ring (Fig. 4), and wherein the first part and the second part of the movable ring are connected to one another (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Ushiyama discloses a method for holding an optical element 1 for the testing thereof, the method comprising: arranging the holding device as claimed in claim 1 with the contact faces bearing against the optical element; and generating the vacuum in the gap in order to hold the optical element (e.g., paragraphs [0079]–[0081]).
Regarding Claim 16, Ushiyama discloses wherein, in the step of arrangement, the contact face of the movable ring is pretensioned by a pretensioning apparatus bearing against the optical element (e.g., paragraph [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ushiyama.
Regarding Claim 3, Ushiyama would have rendered obvious wherein the movable ring is arranged radially outside the stationary ring (where Ushiyama shows the reverse, but rearranging the components would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results where the respective components would still perform their same functions, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features, MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 10, Ushiyama discloses a guide 32a attached to the base body, the guide formed to guide a movement of the movable ring relative to the base body and the stationary ring (paragraphs [0072] and [0078]).
Ushiyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the guide have a membrane guide.
However, forming the guide as a membrane guide would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results and performing the same function, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features (MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 13, Ushiyama would have rendered obvious wherein the movable ring is formed in one part (where Ushiyama teaches two components 6/7, but forming those components integrally would have been obvious as a matter of design choice, yielding predictable results and performing the same function, absent evidence of criticality or otherwise unobvious results from the claim features, MPEP § 2144.04).
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871