DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al., KR 20240146132 A, as outlined using the supplied translation, in view of Liebmann et al., USPN 2014/0181216, in further view of Tatourian et al., USPN 2016/0182716.
With regard to claims 1, 8, and 15, Min discloses a method including receiving, an email to be processed and delivered to a user of an email service (paragraph beginning “In one embodiment, a message received” page 5, pages 5-6), wherein the email is associated with an indication of a phone number (paragraph beginning “The electronic device (1000) can extract” page 6), determining, based at least in part on first metadata extracted from the email, an intent associated with the email (paragraph beginning “In step S330” page 6), receiving, second metadata associated with the phone number (Page 6), determining, based at least in part on the second metadata, a reputation associated with the phone number (paragraph beginning “The electronic device (1000) can compare” page 6), determining, based at least in part on the intent and the reputation, whether there is an association between the email and a callback phishing attempt (Pages 5-7), and processing, the email based at least in part on the association between the email and the callback phishing attempt (paragraph beginning “In step S340” page 6). Min does not disclose that the method is performed by a secure email gateway on an email to be processed and delivered to a user account of an email service. Liebmann discloses a method of identifying a phishing email based on the content reputation of the mail (0015-0021) similar to that of Min, and further discloses the method is performed by a secure gateway that decided whether to forward the mail to the user account of an email service based on the email reputation (0015-0021). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to perform the method of Min using the gateway, on an email to be processed and delivered to a user account of an email service, of Liebmann for the motivation of better protecting a user system from receiving malicious messages. Min in view of Liebmann does not disclose determining, based at least in part on the second metadata, a reputation associated with the phone number from one or more reputation sources, wherein the one or more reputation sources indicates at least one of a call history or user feedback associated with the phone number. Min does disclose determining, based at least in part on the second metadata, a reputation associated with the phone number based on a blocking list which is seemingly locally updated (Pages 5-7), but does not disclose a reputation source that indicates at least one of a call history or user feedback associated with the phone number. Tatourian discloses a method of protecting a system and users from malicious communication (0027), similar to that of Min in view of Liebmann, and further discloses determining, based at least in part on metadata, a reputation associated with a phone number from one or more reputation sources (0029), wherein the one or more reputation sources indicates at least one of a call history or user feedback associated with the phone number (0029-0030, 0015). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to utilize a central reputation, as taught by Tatourian, in the method of Min in view of Liebmann, for the motivation of improving the identification of malicious phone numbers.
With regard to claims 2, 9, and 16, Min in view of Liebmann in further view of Tatourian discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Min further discloses processing the email based at least in part on the association with the email and the callback phishing attempt includes refraining from transmitting the email to the user account (paragraph beginning “In step S340” page 6).
With regard to claims 3, 10, and 17, Min in view of Liebmann in further view of Tatourian discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Min further discloses the email is a first email and the phone number is a first phone number, the method further including receiving, a second email to be processed and delivered to the user account (pages 5-8), performing the same analysis on the second email as was performed on the first, as outlined above, and transmitting, the second email to the user account based at least in part on an absence of the association between the second email and the callback phishing attempt (page 6).
With regard to claims 4, 11, and 18, Min in view of Liebmann in further view of Tatourian discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Min further discloses the reputation includes at least one of a reputation score or a threat type categorization (page 6, page 10, page 2) as does Tatourian (0015, 0029, 0043).
With regard to claims 5, 12, and 19, Min in view of Liebmann in further view of Tatourian discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Min further discloses determining, based at least in part on the first metadata extracted from the email, the intent associated with the email includes one or more of: analyzing a subject of the email, analyzing contents of the email, analyzing a sender address associated with the email, analyzing an Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with the email, or analyzing a domain associated with the email (pages 5-7) as does Liebmann (0016).
With regard to claims 6, 13, and 20, Min in view of Liebmann in further view of Tatourian discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Min further discloses determining, based at least in part on the first metadata extracted from the email, a context associated with the email (pages 9-11), and determining, based at least in part of the context, a weight to be applied to the reputation (pages 9-12), wherein determining whether there is the association between the email and the callback phishing attempt is based at least in part on the weighted reputation (pages 9-12).
With regard to claims 7 and 14, Min in view of Liebmann in further view of Tatourian discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Min further discloses the second metadata includes an aggregation of second metadata from one or more reputation sources (page 6), as does Liebmann (0016, 0017) and Tatourian (0043, 0078).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 25 August 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further search and consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made, as outlined above.
References Cited
Hwang, KR 20040013181 A, discloses a method of parsing an email to identify a phone number to be blocked (claims of supplied translation).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434