Status of the Claims
This is a Non-Final first action on the merits for the application filed on 11/12/2024. Claims 1-10 are pending addressed below.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to JP 2023-215275. Per MPEP 2304.01c, a certified translation of every foreign benefit application or Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) application not filed in English is required. See 35 U.S.C. 119(b)(3) and 372(b)(3) and 37 CFR 1.55(g)(3)(i) and 41.154(b). If no certified translation is in the official record for the application, the examiner must require the applicant to file a certified translation. The applicant should provide the required translation if applicant wants the application to be accorded benefit of the non-English language application. Any showing of priority that relies on a non-English language application is prima facie insufficient if no certified translation of the application is on file. See 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 9, and 10 recite the acronym “AI”. Acronym must be defined in plain terminology within the claim before the acronym can be used. The acronym "ADS" is defined as “Artificial Intelligence” at the bottom of p. 6 and top of p. 7. Therefore the acronym “AI” will be interpreted as such.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes that per the last paragraph of p. 4 of the Specification, “an information processing device” will be interpreted as “one or more servers”. Examiner also notes that 112(f) is not invoked on “a specification receiving unit”, “a generating unit”, and “a providing unit” of claim 1 because the second paragraph of p. 61 of the Specification states that “unit” can be read as “device” or “circuit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recite, “generating that includes inputting, as input information to a generative AI, information containing information about the landing page which is received as specification by the specification receiving unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the underlined limitation. For purpose of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “generating that includes inputting, as input information to a generative AI, information containing information about the landing page which is received as specification by a specification receiving unit.” Examiner suggests amending as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Under step 1, claim 1 is directed to a device, claim 9 is directed to a method, and claim 10 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium. Thus, claims 1, 9, and 10 are directed to statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The independent claims recite, “specification-receiving that includes receiving specification of a landing page of a set of advertisement content; generating that includes inputting, as input information to a generative AI, information containing information about the landing page which is received as specification by the specification receiving unit, and causing the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content; and providing the set of advertisement content generated at the generating.” These limitations, except for the italicized portions, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, recite certain methods of organizing human activity. The claimed invention receives information about a landing page, inputs information about the landing page, causes to generate a set of advertisement content, and provides the set of advertisement content, which are advertising activities and behaviors. The Examiner notes that although the claim limitations are summarized, the analysis regarding subject matter eligibility considers the entirety of the claim and all of the claim elements individually, as a whole, and in ordered combination.
Step 2A, Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of a generative AI, an information processing device, a specification receiving unit, a generating unit, a providing unit, a computer, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. These additional elements are generic computing elements performing generic computer functions such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer. Accordingly, these additional elements when considered individually or as a whole do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The independent claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application the additional elements of a generative AI, an information processing device, a specification receiving unit, a generating unit, a providing unit, a computer, and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium are generic computing elements as supported by the specification. These additional elements are generic computing elements performing generic computer functions such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer. Therefore, the independent claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-8, when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to the same abstract idea of independent claim 1 without significantly more.
Therefore, claims 1-10 are not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US2024/0241920).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches
1. An information processing device comprising ([0047] "A system for providing content 500 may include a generative content serving system 510, a content generating system 520, a data preparation system 530, and a connecting system 540."):
a specification receiving unit that receives specification of a landing page of a set of advertisement content (Fig. 5 #530 "data preparation system" [specification receiving unit]. [0072] "In Step 1020, the system for providing content 500 may analyze information of the landing page. If the landing page request is received from the user, the system for providing content 500 may perform work for inferring taste information of the user based on data existing on the corresponding landing page.");
a generating unit that inputs, as input information to a generative AI, information
containing information about the landing page which is received as specification by the specification receiving unit, and causes the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content (Fig. 5 #520 "content generating system" [generating unit]. [0076] "In Step 1060, the system for providing content 500 may package data for transmitting the related information, and in Step 1070, the system for providing content 500 may generate URL for transmitting information. After this, in Step 1080, the system for providing content 500 may transmit data or URL. Like this, the system for providing content 500 may package the related information for the product item and directly transmit it, or provide it in the form of URL to the GAI according to the data transmitting method." See also [0041], [0045], and [0073].); and
a providing unit that provides the set of advertisement content generated by the generating unit (Fig. 5 #540 "connecting system 540" [providing unit}. [0085] "In Step 1140, the computer device 200 may provide the generated target content. As one example embodiment, the computer device 200 may update content located at bottom of the first page in real-time as the target content according to user's scrolling for the first page including the original content. As another example embodiment, the computer device 200 may provide the target content through the second page that the user visits through the first page.").
Regarding claim 9 and 10, Hwang teaches
9. An information processing method implemented in a computer, comprising (Abstract):
10. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored an information processing program that causes a computer to execute ([0015] "According to an example embodiment, there is provided a computer program stored in a computer-readable recording medium to execute the method on a computer device in conjunction with the computer device."):
specification-receiving that includes receiving specification of a landing page of a set of advertisement content ([0072] "In Step 1020, the system for providing content 500 may analyze information of the landing page. If the landing page request is received from the user, the system for providing content 500 may perform work for inferring taste information of the user based on data existing on the corresponding landing page.");
generating that includes inputting, as input information to a generative AI, information containing information about the landing page which is received as specification by the specification receiving unit, and causing the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content ([0076] "In Step 1060, the system for providing content 500 may package data for transmitting the related information, and in Step 1070, the system for providing content 500 may generate URL for transmitting information. After this, in Step 1080, the system for providing content 500 may transmit data or URL. Like this, the system for providing content 500 may package the related information for the product item and directly transmit it, or provide it in the form of URL to the GAI according to the data transmitting method." See also [0041], [0045], and [0073].); and
providing the set of advertisement content generated at the generating ([0085] "In Step 1140, the computer device 200 may provide the generated target content. As one example embodiment, the computer device 200 may update content located at bottom of the first page in real-time as the target content according to user's scrolling for the first page including the original content. As another example embodiment, the computer device 200 may provide the target content through the second page that the user visits through the first page.").
Regarding claim 2, Hwang teaches
2. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the generating unit inputs, as input information to the generative AI, information further containing information that indicates an attribute of user to whom the set of advertisement content is to be provided, and causes the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content corresponding to the attribute ([0044] "FIG. 4 is a drawing illustrating an example of landing page and customized content according to an example embodiment. The system for providing content may track user behavior based on content of the content previously provided through landing page for introduced user, and collect and analyze preference [attribute]. In addition, the system for providing content may reflect the collected information in the form of correcting or generating content through generative AI when using user's next content. At this time, user's action information in the page may be utilized as content generating weights of generative AI. Here, the user's action information may be obtained through entering a search word, selecting a link, user's scroll range, and the like.").
Regarding claim 3, Hwang teaches
3. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the generating unit inputs, as input information to the generative AI, information further containing information about a media plane in which the set of advertisement content is to be posted, and causes the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content according to the media plane ([0041] "A channel in which such content is provided may include a channel [media plane] for web content publishing, a channel for advertisement network or advertisement publisher, a channel for E-commerce advertisement, and the like. The channel for web content publishing may include, for example, blogs, social networks, news pages, social advertisements, and the like. Also, the channel for E-commerce advertisement may include product detail pages and the like.").
Regarding claim 4, Hwang teaches
4. The information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the generating unit causes the generative AI to generate a plurality of sets of advertisement content, and
the providing unit provides the plurality of sets of advertisement content generated by the generating unit ([0046] "The system for providing content may control various contents [plurality of sets of advertisement content] to be provided to a user by using the generative AI on web content.").
Regarding claim 5, Hwang teaches
5. The information processing device according to claim 4, further comprising: a determining unit that determines advertising effectiveness of the plurality of sets of advertisement content provided by the providing unit; and a selecting unit that, based on determination result obtained by the determining unit, selects a set of advertisement content to be provided from among the plurality of sets of advertisement content generated by the generating unit, wherein the providing unit provides the set of advertisement content selected by the selecting unit ([0086] "According to an example embodiment, the computer device 200 may store identification information of the original content, or identification information of a page including the original content in association with the target content. According to an example embodiment, the computer device 200 may further associate and store response information [effectiveness] of the user for the target content. In this case, the computer device 200 may generate the target content by further using weights according to response information of users for target contents previously provided." See also [0049], [[60], [0069], and [0087].).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang teaches
6. The information processing device according to claim 5, wherein the determining unit determines advertising effectiveness of the set of advertisement content corresponding to each attribute of user to whom the set of advertisement content is to be provided, and based on attribute of user to whom the set of advertisement content is to be provided and based on determination result obtained by the determining unit, the selecting unit selects the set of advertisement content to be provided ([0068] "In Step 970, the system for providing content 500 may generate a unique identifier of the customized content, and store related information. The system for providing content 500 may generate a unique identifier for newly processed customized content based on user input, and store and manage related information. Because there is a difficulty in reconstruction due to the nature of artificial intelligence, the generated customized content may be managed through the unique identifier, and then the corresponding customized content according user's subsequent response or response result [effectiveness] for taste may be reused or the corresponding content may be utilized as training data of the GAI." [0045] "The system for providing content may increase user access and staying time through providing user-customized content by continuously accumulating user taste information[attribute] through continuous analysis for user response [effectiveness] and dynamically generating content customized for user taste information collected up to a corresponding time when loading to new page. In other words, the system for providing content may utilize generative AI through connecting with CMS (Content Management System) and the like of a content provider for constructing words and sentences, etc. that are highly preferred by user.") Also, the system for providing content may generate an image, BGM (Back Ground Music), and the like by using generative AI, or generate related advertisement (e.g. banner advertisement)See also [0086] and [0045] "user response] [effectiveness]"customized for user taste information [attribute of a user]".).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang teaches
7. The information processing device according to claim 4, further comprising a base receiving unit that receives base advertisement content representing a set of advertisement content which serves as basis, wherein the generating unit inputs, as the input information to the generative AI, information containing information about the landing page and containing the base advertisement content, and causes the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content which is similar to the base advertisement content (Fig. 11, [0081] "In Step 1110, the computer device 200 may collect content information of original content base advertisement content], and behavior information of a user for the original content, in relation to the original content already provided to the user. A page including the original content may include a function for collecting behavior information of the user for the page in real-time and asynchronously. In this case, the behavior information of the user for the original content may correspond to the behavior information of the user for the page [landing page] including the original content." See also [0082]-[0086].).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang teaches
8. The information processing device according to claim 1, further comprising a request receiving unit that receives an advertisement delivery request, wherein
when the advertisement delivery request is received by the request receiving unit, the generating unit inputs, as input information to a generative AI, information containing information about the landing page received as specification by the specification receiving unit, and causes the generative AI to generate a set of advertisement content ([0056] "When a user enters user landing content 810, the system for providing content 500 may collect user characteristics and interest information on a page for the user landing content 810. At this time, a JS module 811 inserted to the user landing content 810 may track and collect user's preference information in real-time and asynchronously, and may record the collected information in cookies or transmit it as parameter information on hyperlink through HTTP request of a target page that the user requests. When a user moves within the same business operator, reference information for information related to the user landing content 810 may be utilized together with the preference information." See also [0057]-[0060].).
Relevant Prior Art
Shen (US9251520) discusses receiving landing page information and generating advertisements with the landing page information.
Chan (US10534851) discusses dynamically generating landing pages.
Gunnar (GB2536645) discusses dynamically generating landing pages created for advertising campaigns..
Conclusion
/MARIE P BRADY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622 3