DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
STATUS OF CLAIMS
2. Claims 1-20 as originally filed on 11/12/2024 are pending, and have been examined on the merits.
DRAWINGS
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following claimed components must be shown or the features canceled from the claims:
a. the “wire” of dependent claim 17 which requires “a base portion comprising a distal end, wherein the base portion extends in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; an upper portion extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; and a connecting portion joining the upper portion to the distal end of the base portion such that the base portion, the upper portion, and the connecting portion form a confinement space, and wherein the electrode is oriented toward the confinement space,” in addition to the following limitations of independent claim 14 (from which claim 17 depends) required of the wire: “[the] wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode” and “a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.” NOTE: claim 17 appears to be combining the embodiment(s) of FIGS. 4A-4B or FIG. 5 with that of FIGS. 2A-2C. Such a configuration is not depicted, nor is it clear how such a configuration would work (see the rejection under § 112(a) below).
b. the “wire” of independent claim 18 which requires “a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode” as well as “wherein the wire comprises: a base portion comprising a distal end, wherein the base portion extends in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; an upper portion extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; and a connecting portion joining the upper portion to the distal end of the base portion such that the base portion, the upper portion, and the connecting portion form a confinement space, and wherein the electrode is oriented toward the confinement space.” NOTE: claim 18 appears to be combining the embodiment(s) of FIGS. 2A-2C with that of FIGS. 4A-4B or FIG. 5. Such a configuration is not depicted, nor is it clear how such a configuration would work (see the rejection under § 112(a) below).
4. No new matter should be entered.
DUPLICATE CLAIMS - WARNING
6. CLAIMS 2 & 14
7. Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
8. In the instant case, claim 14 is considered a substantial duplicate of claim 2 in that independent claim 14 recites substantial duplicate limitations as dependent claim 2 (which requires/includes the limitations of the base claim - independent claim 1), which have been identified using LETTERS A-G in the “ID” column of the chart presented below (for convenience).
ID
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2
includes the limitations of base claim 1
ID
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 14
1. A medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
14. A medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
A
a transcatheter comprising at least one lumen, a proximal end, and a distal end;
A
a transcatheter comprising at least one lumen, a proximal end, and a distal end;
B
a distal tip adjacent the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the distal tip comprises a body having an external surface and a distal opening; and
B
a distal tip adjacent the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the distal tip comprises a body having an external surface and a distal opening;
C
an incision device operably coupled to the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the incision device comprises:
C
an incision device operably coupled to the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the incision device comprises:
D
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode, wherein the wire comprises:
D
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode; and
G
a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to configure the wire in:
E
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
E
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
F
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
F
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
G
2. The medical device of claim 1, further comprising a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to structure the wire in either the first configuration or the second configuration.
As the foregoing table illustrates, dependent claim 2 and independent claim 14 each include/require limitations A, B, C, D, E, F, & G.
9. CLAIMS 3 & 15
10. Applicant is advised that should claim 3 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
11. In the instant case, claim 15 is considered a substantial duplicate of claim 3 in that dependent claim 15 (which requires/includes the limitations of the base claim - independent claim 14) recites substantial duplicate limitations as dependent claim 3 (which requires/includes the limitations of the base claim (independent claim 1) and intervening claim 2), which have been identified using LETTERS A-H in the “ID” column of the chart presented below (for convenience).
ID
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3
includes the limitations of base claim 1 & intervening claim 2
ID
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15
includes the limitations of base claim 14
1. A medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
14. A medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
A
a transcatheter comprising at least one lumen, a proximal end, and a distal end;
A
a transcatheter comprising at least one lumen, a proximal end, and a distal end;
B
a distal tip adjacent the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the distal tip comprises a body having an external surface and a distal opening; and
B
a distal tip adjacent the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the distal tip comprises a body having an external surface and a distal opening;
C
an incision device operably coupled to the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the incision device comprises:
C
an incision device operably coupled to the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the incision device comprises:
D
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode, wherein the wire comprises:
D
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode; and
G
a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to configure the wire in:
E
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
E
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
F
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
F
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
G
2. The medical device of claim 1, further comprising a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to structure the wire in either the first configuration or the second configuration.
H
3. The medical device of claim 2, wherein the biasing member is structured to retract at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to move the wire from the second configuration to the first configuration between a range of angles including an angle that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the transcatheter.
H
15. The medical device of claim 14, wherein the biasing member is structured to retract at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to move the wire from the second configuration to the first configuration between a range of angles including an angle that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the transcatheter.
As the foregoing table illustrates, dependent claim 3 and dependent claim 15 each include/require limitations A, B, C, D, E, F, G, & H.
12. CLAIMS 17 & 20
13. Applicant is advised that should claim 17 be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
14. In the instant case, claim 20 is considered a substantial duplicate of claim 17 in that dependent claim 20 (which requires/includes the limitations of the base claim (independent claim 18) and intervening claim 19) recites substantial duplicate limitations as dependent claim 17 (which requires/includes the limitations of the base claim - independent claim 14), which have been identified using LETTERS A-G & J-M in the “ID” column of the chart presented below (for convenience).
ID
DEPENDENT CLAIM 17
includes the limitations of base claim 14
ID
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20
includes the limitations of base claim 18 & intervening claim 19
14. A medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
18. A medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
A
a transcatheter comprising at least one lumen, a proximal end, and a distal end;
A
a transcatheter comprising at least one lumen, a proximal end, and a distal end;
B
a distal tip adjacent the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the distal tip comprises a body having an external surface and a distal opening;
B
a distal tip adjacent the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the distal tip comprises a body having an external surface and a distal opening; and
C
an incision device operably coupled to the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the incision device comprises:
C
an incision device operably coupled to the distal end of the transcatheter, wherein the incision device comprises:
D
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode; and
D
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode, wherein the wire comprises:
G
a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to configure the wire in:
J
a base portion comprising a distal end, wherein the base portion extends in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis;
E
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
K
an upper portion extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
F
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
L
a connecting portion joining the upper portion to the distal end of the base portion such that the base portion, the upper portion, and the connecting portion form a confinement space, and
17. The medical device of claim 14, wherein the wire comprises:
M
wherein the electrode is oriented toward the confinement space.
J
a base portion comprising a distal end, wherein the base portion extends in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis;
19. The medical device of claim 18, wherein the wire is configurable in:
K
an upper portion extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
E
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
L
a connecting portion joining the upper portion to the distal end of the base portion such that the base portion, the upper portion, and the connecting portion form a confinement space, and
F
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
M
wherein the electrode is oriented toward the confinement space.
G
20. The medical device of claim 19, further comprising a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to structure the wire in either the first configuration or the second configuration.
As the foregoing table illustrates, dependent claim 17 and dependent claim 20 each include/require limitations A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and J, K, L, & M.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 112(a)
16. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. Claims 17-20 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention without undue experimentation.
A. CLAIM 17
Dependent claim 17 includes the following limitations concerning the claimed “wire:”
17. The medical device of claim 14, wherein the wire comprises:
a base portion comprising a distal end, wherein the base portion extends in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis;
an upper portion extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
a connecting portion joining the upper portion to the distal end of the base portion such that the base portion, the upper portion, and the connecting portion form a confinement space, and
wherein the electrode is oriented toward the confinement space.
However, independent claim 14 (from which claim 17 depends) also requires the following limitations concerning the claimed “wire:”
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode; and
a biasing member...to configure the wire in:
a first configuration in which a portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip; and
a second configuration in which (i) the portion of the wire extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter and (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
Independent claim 14 is directed to the embodiment depicted in FIGS. 2A-2C wherein wire (127) comprises a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip (115), a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode (128) [FIG. 2C is provided below]:
Dependent claim 17, by contrast, with its requirement of the claimed “base portion,” “upper portion,” “connecting portion,” and defined “confinement space” appears to relate to the separate embodiments of FIGS. 4A-4B, and FIG. 5.
First, concerning the embodiment of FIGS. 4A-4B, Applicant describes a device comprising a base portion (401) extending in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis, an upper portion (405) extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis, and a connecting portion (403) joining the upper portion (405) to the distal end of the base portion (401) such that the base portion (401), the upper portion (405), and the connecting portion (403) form a confinement space (407) [see Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2025/0064512) at, e.g., ¶’s [0258]-[0268], & FIG. 4A (provided below)].
Confinement space (407) receives a portion of parietal pericardium (55) and fibrous pericardium (56) such that first and second electrodes (413, 415) may measure an impedance of the tissue within confinement space (407) and/or apply RF energy thereto.
The description corresponding to FIGS. 4A-4B does not appear to describe device (400) as comprising a “wire.” Regardless, even if the claimed base portion (401), upper portion (405), and connecting portion (403) were formed from a wire, it is not clear, nor has any explanation been provided, as to how the required confinement space (407) can be formed when independent claim 14 requires that the first end of the wire (opposite the second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip) be fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip (115) [as shown in FIGS. 2A-2C].
The embodiment of FIG. 5 (reproduced below) describes a device (500) comprising an outer sheath (513) including a first wire (509) and a second wire (511). The device (500) comprises a base portion (501) extending in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis, an upper portion (505) extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis, and a connecting portion (503) joining the upper portion (505) to the distal end of the base portion (501) such that the base portion (501), the upper portion (505), and the connecting portion (503) form a confinement space (507) [see Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2025/0064512) at, e.g., ¶’s [0269]-[0277], & FIG. 5 (provided below)].
An exposed section of second wire (511) forms an electrode (515) oriented toward confinement space (507) for applying energy to a portion of parietal pericardium (55) and fibrous pericardium (56) received within confinement space (507).
It is not clear, nor has any explanation been provided, as to how the required confinement space (507) can be formed when independent claim 14 requires that the first end of the wire (opposite the second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip) be fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip (115) [as shown in FIGS. 2A-2C].
For these reasons, as well as consideration of the Wands factors (set forth in detail below), the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the invention of dependent claim 17 without undue experimentation.
The Federal Circuit identified many factors (the “Wands factors”) to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue.” These factors include, but are not limited to: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). A discussion of relevant Wands factors is provided below.
1. The Scope or Breadth of the Claims (MPEP § 2164.08(b))
All questions of enablement are evaluated against the claimed subject matter. With respect to the breadth of a claim, the relevant concern is whether the scope of enablement provided to one skilled in the art by the disclosure is commensurate with the scope of protection sought by the claims. AK Steel Corp. v. Sollac, 344 F.3d 1234, 1244, 68 USPQ2d 1280, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2003); In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1236, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971). See also Plant Genetic Sys., N.V. v. DeKalb Genetics Corp., 315 F.3d 1335, 1339, 65 USPQ2d 1452, 1455 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (alleged “pioneer status” of invention irrelevant to enablement determination).
In the instant application, the scope of enablement provided to one skilled in the art by the disclosure is largely commensurate with the scope of protection sought by claim 17.
For example, the description of the embodiment of FIGS. 4A-4B in the Specification [U.S. 2025/0064512 at, e.g., ¶’s [0258]-[0268]] largely mirrors the breadth of the language of claim 17 without providing additional clarifying details as to how such a device would work with the embodiment of FIGS. 2A-2C.
In a similar fashion, the description of the embodiment of FIG. 5 in the Specification [U.S. 2025/0064512 at, e.g., ¶’s [0269]-[0277]] likewise generally mirrors the breadth of the language of claim 17 without providing additional clarifying details as to how such a device would work with the embodiment of FIGS. 2A-2C.
Indeed, the embodiments of FIGS. 2A-2C and FIGS. 4A-4B & FIG. 5 are each described as separate embodiments without any explanation as to how such embodiments would (or could) work together.
2. The Nature of the Invention & the State of the Art (MPEP § 2164.05(a))
Whether the specification would have been enabling as of the filing date involves consideration of the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, and the level of skill in the art. MPEP § 2164.05(a). The state of the art existing at the filing date of the application is used to determine whether a particular disclosure is enabling as of the filing date. Chiron Corp. v. Genentech Inc., 363 F.3d 1247, 1254, 70 USPQ2d 1321, 1325-26 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
There is currently no evidence of record establishing that it was known, in the state of the art existing at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure/implement a base portion, upper portion, and connecting portion of a wire in the claimed manner so as to form a confinement space (e.g., for receiving a portion of parietal pericardium and fibrous pericardium therein) all while a first end of the wire (opposite a second end extending through a distal opening of a body of a distal tip) remains fixed to an external surface of the body of the distal tip. Accordingly, it does not appear that the state of the art could be relied-upon to find the disclosure enabling.
3. The Level of One of Ordinary Skill in the Art (MPEP § 2164.05(b))
The relative skill of those in the art refers to the skill level of those in the art in the technological field to which the claimed invention pertains. Where different arts are involved in the invention, the specification is enabling if it enables persons skilled in each art to carry out the aspect of the invention applicable to their specialty. In re Naquin, 398 F.2d 863, 866, 158 USPQ 317, 319 (CCPA 1968). There is no evidence of record that different arts are involved in the invention.
4. The Level of Predictability in the Art and the Amount of Direction Provided by the Inventor in the Specification (MPEP § 2164.03)
The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability in the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
As noted above, the knowledge in the state of the art did not appear to include configuring a device for creating incisions within tissue in the manner required by claim 17. Because so little is known in the prior art about the nature of the apparatus of claim 17, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling, at least with regard to how the embodiments of FIGS. 2A-2C and FIGS. 4A-4B or FIG. 5 would (or could) work together. The Specification, as noted above however, generally only mirrors the breadth of the language of claim 17 without providing additional clarifying details.
5. The Existence of Working Examples (MPEP § 2164.02)
The specification need not contain a [working] example if the invention is otherwise disclosed in such manner that one skilled in the art will be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation. In re Borkowski, 422 F.2d 904, 908, 164 USPQ 642, 645 (CCPA 1970). With regard to the invention of claim 17, no working example (an example based on work actually performed) was described in the Specification that would enable one skilled in the art to be able to practice it without an undue amount of experimentation.
6. The Quantity of Experimentation Needed to Make or Use the Invention Based on the Content of the Disclosure (MPEP § 2164.06)
The quantity of experimentation needed to be performed by one skilled in the art is only one factor involved in determining whether “undue experimentation” is required to make and use the invention.
In the instant case, it is not clear how any experimentation could result in an effective device (as currently claimed in claim 17) based on the content of the disclosure, for the reasons addressed in detail above.
Based on the foregoing consideration of the Wands factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the invention of claim 17 without undue experimentation.
B. INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18 (& Dependent Claims 19-20)
Independent claim 18 includes similar limitations as those addressed above in the discussion of claim 17 (and its base claim 14):
a wire comprising a first end fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip, a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip, and an electrode, wherein the wire comprises:
a base portion comprising a distal end, wherein the base portion extends in a distal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis;
an upper portion extending in a proximal direction substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis; and
a connecting portion joining the upper portion to the distal end of the base portion such that the base portion, the upper portion, and the connecting portion form a confinement space, and wherein the electrode is oriented toward the confinement space.
As such, like dependent claim 17, independent claim 18 appears to combine the separate embodiments of FIGS. 2A-2C and FIGS. 4A-4B & FIG. 5 without any explanation as to how such embodiments would (or could) work together, for all of the reasons previously set forth above in the discussion of claim 17. Therefore, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the invention of claim 18 without undue experimentation.
17. Claims 19 & 20 are rejected as ultimately depending from a claim (claim 18) rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
18. Due to the lack of enablement of claims 17 & 18, no prior art has been applied to claims 17-20 at this time.
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 112(b)
20. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
21. Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the shell is nitinol and the core is conductive material, such as silver” in lines 5-6. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
CLAIM REJECTIONS - 35 USC § 103
24. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, & 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Buehlmann et al. (“Buehlmann”) in view of U.S. 2005/0119652 to Vetter et al. ("Vetter").
25. Regarding claim 1, Buehlmann teaches a medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
a transcatheter [catheter assembly (12) - ¶[0058]; FIG. 1] comprising at least one lumen [the interior of introducer sheath (42) of catheter assembly (12) through which actuator tube (43) passes - ¶[0060]; FIGS. 1, 3], a proximal end [the proximal end of catheter assembly (12) that interfaces with the housing (22) of handle (14) - ¶’s [0058], [0060]; FIG. 1], and a distal end [distal end (48) of sheath (42) adjacent distal portion (46) - ¶[0060]; FIG. 1];
a distal tip [distal portion (46) - ¶[0060]; FIGS. 1, 18, 19] adjacent the distal end [(48)] of the transcatheter [(12)], wherein the distal tip [(46)] comprises a body [body of distal portion (46)] having an external surface [external surface of the body of distal portion (46) including, e.g., base surface (150) - ¶[0071]; FIG. 27A] and a distal opening [broadly, the opening formed by channel (146) from which wire (56) emerges from the distal portion (46); NOTE: anything distal of a proximal-most point of distal portion (46) can be considered “distal”]; and
an incision device [separator wire portion (56) - ¶’s [0060], [0066], [0071]] operably coupled to the distal end [(48)] of the transcatheter [(12)], wherein the incision device [(56)] comprises:
a wire [wire (56) - ¶’s [0060]; FIGS. 18, 19, 25, 27, 27A] comprising a first end [distal end (122)] fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip [see ¶[0066] (“In the FIG. 19 embodiment, the distal end 122 of separator wire portion 56 is rigidly or otherwise non-pivotally secured to distal portion 46 of shaft 44”); NOTE also that the embodiment of FIGS. 21-23, 25, 27, & 27A wherein distal end (122) terminates at a ball-type element (124) (see FIG. 22) to form a pivot joint in channel (148) (see ¶[0066]; FIGS. 25, 27, 27A) also reads on this claim limitation - as channel (148) is formed by/in an external surface of the body of distal portion (46)], a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip [into channel (146) - FIGS. 25, 27, 27A], and an electrode [wire (56) also serves as an electrode - see, e.g., ¶[0060] (“To aid movement of separator wire through the tissue, wire 56 is supplied with RF energy from RF source 24”); see also ¶[0068]], wherein the wire comprises:
a first configuration [retracted state] in which a portion of the wire [(56)] extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip [clearly shown in FIG. 27 - see also ¶[0071] (“Separator wire portion 56 lies against base surface 150 when in a retracted state”)]; and
a second configuration [expanded state - e.g., FIGS. 18, 19, 25, 27A, 28] in which (i) the portion of the wire [(56)] extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter [as broadly as currently claimed, the “protrusion” comprises the apex of wire (56) in its expanded state]...
ELECTRODE POSITIONED PROXIMAL TO THE PROTRUSION
As noted above, Buehlmann teaches that wire (56) is supplied with RF energy from an RF source (24) to aid in the movement of wire (56) through tissue [¶[0060]].
Buehlmann does not, however, teach:
[the] second configuration in which... (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
Vetter, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a tissue cutting device having an elongate cutting element that is advanced adjacent to tissue to be removed [¶[0008]]. More particularly, Vetter teaches a cutting device having a cutting element capable of assuming positions between collapsed and bowed positions [e.g., ¶[0060]]. Vetter further teaches that the cutting element may comprise an RF energized thin wire [e.g., claim 2].
Vetter teaches an embodiment [FIGS. 34-36] wherein the cutting element (205) of the tissue cutting device (204) includes a movable insulating sheath or sleeve (260) that covers the distal portion of the cutting element (205) (leaving the proximal portion exposed) in order to prevent inadvertent cutting of tissue when creating a tissue channel [see ¶[0095]; & FIG. 35 (reproduced below)].
FIG. 35 OF VETTER
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Buehlmann to include a movable insulating sheath or sleeve over the wire, as taught by Vetter, to provide the benefit/advantage of enabling greater control over (or precision/accuracy with the respect to) the portion of tissue that is being cut by exposing the wire (to form the electrode) in desired positions.
As modified, the device of Buehlmann/Vetter is capable of providing the exposed portion of the wire (serving as the electrode) proximal to the apex of the wire [for example, as seen in FIG. 35 of Vetter above].
26. Regarding claim 4, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches wherein the electrode is structured to receive current and/or radio frequency energy to ablate, burn, vaporize, and/or separate tissue [e.g., ¶[0060] (“To aid movement of separator wire through the tissue, wire 56 is supplied with RF energy from RF source 24”)].
27. Regarding claim 5, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches wherein the incision device is structured such that, after an incision is formed within the tissue, when the wire is in the second configuration [expanded], and when the incision device is positioned beneath the tissue, the protrusion extends through the incision within the tissue [NOTE: It is the Examiner’s position that the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter satisfies these claim limitations because it comprises the same structure as the claimed device (i.e., the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the structural limitations of the claimed device for the reasons set forth above), and would therefore be expected to perform in the same manner as the claimed device. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. MPEP § 2112.01].
28. Regarding claim 6, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann (as modified) further teaches wherein, when the wire [(56)] is in the second configuration [expanded], the electrode [the exposed proximal portion of wire (56)] is positioned on the wire adjacent [broadly, in proximity to] a base of the protrusion [the exposed proximal portion of wire (56) forming the electrode would include (and therefore be positioned in proximity to) a base of the apex of the wire - see, e.g., FIG. 35 of Vetter for context].
29. Regarding claim 8, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches wherein the at least one lumen [the interior of introducer sheath (42) of catheter assembly (12)] is structured to receive a guidewire extending through the incision device [the at least one lumen of Buehlmann is capable of receiving a guidewire therethrough which can extend through the distal portion (46), as distal portion (46) is hollow and contains an opening at the tip - see ¶[0069] (“Distal portion 46 is hollow and contains an electrically conductive, metallic tube 132 defining an opening 134 at the tip 136 of distal portion 46”); FIG. 22; NOTE: the claim does not positively recite a “guidewire”].
30. Regarding claim 10, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Vetter further teaches a sheath [broadly, guide member (202A) - ¶’s [0079], [0083]-[0085]; FIG. 19], wherein the sheath [(202A)] has a distal end [distal end of sheath (202A) including window (226) - FIG. 19] being slidably locatable on the transcatheter and traversable along the transcatheter [guide member (202A) and the cutting device (204) are slidable relative to one another - FIG. 19] to align at least one opening in the sheath [window (226)] with the at least one opening of the transcatheter, thereby allowing a cutting surface to laterally project the through both the sheath and the transcatheter [see , e.g., ¶[0079] (“The window 226 guides the user by limiting and/or defining the cutting motion to help guide the cutting procedure”); ¶[0083] (“The window 226 may have an opening a bit larger than the anticipated requirement so that the window 226 guides, but not necessarily overly limits, the angular and longitudinal position of the cutting device 204”)].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter to include a sheath [guide member] having a distal end being slidably locatable on the transcatheter and traversable along the transcatheter to align at least one opening in the sheath with the at least one opening of the transcatheter, thereby allowing a cutting surface to laterally project the through both the sheath and the transcatheter, since the use of a sheath [guide member] would provide the benefits/advantages of helping to properly position and maintain the cutting device in the same longitudinal position [Vetter, ¶’s [0079] & [0080]], as well as helping define and/or guide aspects of the cutting motion such as the depth of insertion and/or one or more angular positions indicating the angular extent of the targeted tissue [Vetter, ¶[0083]], all as explicitly taught by Vetter.
31. Regarding claim 11, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches one or more stabilizing members [hook wires (100)] located adjacent the at least one opening of the transcatheter [e.g., ¶[0070] (“FIGS. 25 and 26 illustrate the hook wires 100, which act as tissue holding elements, extending through openings 142 formed within distal portion 46 of shaft 44. Hook wires 100 are preferably sized, positioned and shaped to engage separated tissue section 80 at about its center of mass. While two hook wires 100 are shown in this embodiment, a greater or lesser number may also be used. Also, hook wires 100 having different sizes and shapes may be used. Hook wires 100 may also be located at different axial positions and may be energizable to aid movement through tissue”)].
32. Regarding claim 12, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches wherein the one or more stabilizing members [hook wires (100)] reversibly project [project in a rearward (or reversible/backward direction) clearly shown in, e.g., FIGS. 11-13, & 26].
The combination of Buehlmann and Vetter does not explicitly teach:
wherein the one or more stabilizing members reversibly projects laterally about 120 degrees radially apart about the transcatheter.
However, given that Buehlmann does expressly teach that a greater or lesser number of hook wires (than 2) may be used, and that the hook wires (100) may also be located at different axial positions [see ¶[0070]], it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter such that number and positioning of the stabilizing members [hook wires (100)] be provided in whatever configuration was desired, including, e.g., 3 hook wires being radially, evenly-spaced 120° apart, since such a modification merely constitutes a duplication & rearrangement of parts, which are examples directed to various common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art, and hence are considered routine expedients. MPEP § 2144.04.
33. Regarding claim 13, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
The combination of Buehlmann and Vetter was modified above (in the rejection of claim 10) to include the sheath [guide member] of Vetter.
As modified, Buehlmann further teaches one or more stabilizing members located adjacent the at least one opening of the transcatheter [hook wires (100) - e.g., ¶[0070] (“FIGS. 25 and 26 illustrate the hook wires 100, which act as tissue holding elements, extending through openings 142 formed within distal portion 46 of shaft 44. Hook wires 100 are preferably sized, positioned and shaped to engage separated tissue section 80 at about its center of mass. While two hook wires 100 are shown in this embodiment, a greater or lesser number may also be used. Also, hook wires 100 having different sizes and shapes may be used. Hook wires 100 may also be located at different axial positions and may be energizable to aid movement through tissue”)], wherein the distal end of the sheath is traversable along the transcatheter [the sheath (guide member) and catheter assembly (12) are slidable relative to one another] to uncover the at least one opening of the transcatheter allowing the one or more stabilizing members to laterally project through the one or more openings of the transcatheter [the windows of the devices are aligned thereby allowing the hook wire(s) to project outwardly].
34. Claims 2, 3, 9, & 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter, and further in view of U.S. 2002/0095100 to Lee et al. ("Lee").
35. Regarding claim 2, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches a... member [actuator (36)] operably coupled to the second end of the wire [(56)], wherein the... member [actuator (36)] is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire [(56)] through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip [(46)] to structure the wire [(56)] in either the first configuration [retracted] or the second configuration [expanded] [see ¶’s [0060]-[0061]].
The combination of Buehlmann and Vetter does not teach that the member is a “biasing member,” which Applicant has expressly defined in the Specification [see Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2025/0064512) at ¶[0236] (“As used herein the phrase “biasing member” is inclusive of a device configurable in a stored energy state and a released energy state, for example, a spring”)].
As such, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter fails to teach:
a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to structure the wire in either the first configuration or the second configuration.
Lee, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device (100) comprising a generally tubular member (110) having a distal tip (115) with a cutter window (120) through which a cutting tool (125) is exposed [¶’s [0081], [0082]; FIG. 1B]. Cutting tool (125) movers between a retracted state [FIG. 1A] and an expanded state [FIG. 1B].
Lee teaches the use of a spring-based member [biasing member] in the proximal end (215) of tubular member (110) that is operably coupled to the proximal portion (225) of cutting tool (215) in order to advance and retract the cutting tool [see, e.g., ¶[0082] (“The internal guide 130 constrains the movement of the cutting tool 125 and allows the cutting tool 125 to freely slide therein, parallel to the longitudinal axis of the tubular member 110. With particular reference now to FIG. 2C, the proximal portion 225 of the cutting tool 125 emerges from the internal lumen 130 near the proximal end 215 of the tubular member 110. The proximal end of the cutting tool 125 may, for example, include a push or turn knob 226. The push or turn knob 226 allows the operator of the excisional biopsy device 100 to selectively push the cutting tool 125 in the distal direction (away from the physician and toward the distal tip 115) or retract the cutting tool 125 in the proximal direction (toward the physician and away from the distal tip 115). To assist in controlling the movement of the cutting tool 125, the cutting tool is preferably biased in the proximal direction, as symbolized by the arrow 227 in FIG. 2C. This biasing may be effectuated by means of a spring 228 attached at or near the proximal end 215 of the tubular member 110 and to the proximal portion 225 of the cutting tool 125. In this manner, the default configuration of the cutting tool 125 is the retracted position, wherein the cutting tool 125 lies substantially flat within the cutter window 120 of the tubular member 110”); FIG. 2C].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter to utilize a known, art-recognized wire actuation configuration, including one that utilizes a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to structure the wire in either the first configuration or the second configuration, as taught by Lee, since such a particular known wire actuation configuration was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as demonstrated by Lee, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known actuation configuration to the known device of Buehlmann/Vetter, and the results [advancement and retraction of the wire] would have been entirely predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
36. Regarding claim 3, the combination of Buehlmann, Vetter, & Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann (as modified) further teaches wherein the biasing member is structured to retract at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to move the wire from the second configuration to the first configuration between a range of angles including an angle that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the transcatheter [as broadly as currently claimed, Buehlmann teaches an expanded configuration wherein a portion of the wire (the distal portion of the wire) is positioned at an angle that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the catheter assembly (12) - see, e.g., distal end (122) of wire (56) in FIG. 18 & FIG. 27A. As the wire (56) is withdrawn back to its retracted state [shown in, e.g., FIG. 27], it will move through a range of angles until it is fully retracted].
37. Regarding claim 9, the combination of Buehlmann, Vetter, & Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann teaches that the wire may be rotated [e.g., ¶[0061]]. Buehlmann was modified in the rejection of claim 2 above to include the biasing member actuation configuration of Lee. Lee further teaches wherein the biasing member exerts a rotary force or torque to a cutting surface of the incision device [as broadly as claimed, the biasing member exerts a rotary force to the cutting tool as it expands the cutting tool, which rotates with the device - e.g., ¶[0086]].
38. Regarding claim 14, Buehlmann teaches a medical device for creating incisions within tissue, the device comprising:
a transcatheter [catheter assembly (12) - ¶[0058]; FIG. 1] comprising at least one lumen [the interior of introducer sheath (42) of catheter assembly (12) through which actuator tube (43) passes - ¶[0060]; FIGS. 1, 3], a proximal end [the proximal end of catheter assembly (12) that interfaces with the housing (22) of handle (14) - ¶’s [0058], [0060]; FIG. 1], and a distal end [distal end (48) of sheath (42) adjacent distal portion (46) - ¶[0060]; FIG. 1];
a distal tip [distal portion (46) - ¶[0060]; FIGS. 1, 18, 19] adjacent the distal end [(48)] of the transcatheter [(12)], wherein the distal tip [(46)] comprises a body [body of distal portion (46)] having an external surface [external surface of the body of distal portion (46) including, e.g., base surface (150) - ¶[0071]; FIG. 27A] and a distal opening [broadly, the opening formed by channel (146) from which wire (56) emerges from the distal portion (46); NOTE: anything distal of a proximal-most point of distal portion (46) can be considered “distal”];
an incision device [separator wire portion (56) - ¶’s [0060], [0066], [0071]] operably coupled to the distal end [(48)] of the transcatheter [(12)], wherein the incision device [(56)] comprises:
a wire [wire (56) - ¶’s [0060]; FIGS. 18, 19, 25, 27, 27A] comprising a first end [distal end (122)] fixed to the external surface of the body of the distal tip [see ¶[0066] (“In the FIG. 19 embodiment, the distal end 122 of separator wire portion 56 is rigidly or otherwise non-pivotally secured to distal portion 46 of shaft 44”); NOTE also that the embodiment of FIGS. 21-23, 25, 27, & 27A wherein distal end (122) terminates at a ball-type element (124) (see FIG. 22) to form a pivot joint in channel (148) (see ¶[0066]; FIGS. 25, 27, 27A) also reads on this claim limitation - as channel (148) is formed by/in an external surface of the body of distal portion (46)], a second end extending through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip [into channel (146) - FIGS. 25, 27, 27A], and an electrode [wire (56) also serves as an electrode - see, e.g., ¶[0060] (“To aid movement of separator wire through the tissue, wire 56 is supplied with RF energy from RF source 24”); see also ¶[0068]],
a... member [actuator (36)] operably coupled to the second end of the wire [(56)], wherein the... member [actuator (36)] is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire [(56)] through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip [(46)] to configure the wire [(56)] in:
a first configuration [retracted state] in which a portion of the wire [(56)] extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip contacts the external surface of the body of the distal tip [clearly shown in FIG. 27 - see also ¶[0071] (“Separator wire portion 56 lies against base surface 150 when in a retracted state”)]; and
a second configuration [expanded state - e.g., FIGS. 18, 19, 25, 27A, 28] in which (i) the portion of the wire [(56)] extending from the first end of the wire to the distal opening of the body of the distal tip forms a shape comprising a protrusion extending relative to a longitudinal axis of the transcatheter [as broadly as currently claimed, the “protrusion” comprises the apex of wire (56) in its expanded state]...
A. ELECTRODE POSITIONED PROXIMAL TO THE PROTRUSION
As noted above, Buehlmann teaches that wire (56) is supplied with RF energy from an RF source (24) to aid in the movement of wire (56) through tissue [¶[0060]].
Buehlmann does not, however, teach:
[the] second configuration in which... (ii) the electrode is positioned proximal to the protrusion.
Vetter, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a tissue cutting device having an elongate cutting element that is advanced adjacent to tissue to be removed [¶[0008]]. More particularly, Vetter teaches a cutting device having a cutting element capable of assuming positions between collapsed and bowed positions [e.g., ¶[0060]]. Vetter further teaches that the cutting element may comprise an RF energized thin wire [e.g., claim 2].
Vetter teaches an embodiment [FIGS. 34-36] wherein the cutting element (205) of the tissue cutting device (204) includes a movable insulating sheath or sleeve (260) that covers the distal portion of the cutting element (205) (leaving the proximal portion exposed) in order to prevent inadvertent cutting of tissue when creating a tissue channel [see ¶[0095]; & FIG. 35 (reproduced below)].
FIG. 35 OF VETTER
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Buehlmann to include a movable insulating sheath or sleeve over the wire, as taught by Vetter, to provide the benefit/advantage of enabling greater control over (or precision/accuracy with the respect to) the portion of tissue that is being cut by exposing the wire (to form the electrode) in desired positions.
As modified, the device of Buehlmann/Vetter is capable of providing the exposed portion of the wire (serving as the electrode) proximal to the apex of the wire [for example, as seen in FIG. 35 of Vetter above].
B. BIASING MEMBER
Finally, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter does not teach that the member is a “biasing member,” which Applicant has expressly defined in the Specification [see Applicant’s published Specification (U.S. 2025/0064512) at ¶[0236] (“As used herein the phrase “biasing member” is inclusive of a device configurable in a stored energy state and a released energy state, for example, a spring”)].
As such, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter fails to teach:
a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to configure the wire in [the first and second configurations].
Lee, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a device (100) comprising a generally tubular member (110) having a distal tip (115) with a cutter window (120) through which a cutting tool (125) is exposed [¶’s [0081], [0082]; FIG. 1B]. Cutting tool (125) movers between a retracted state [FIG. 1A] and an expanded state [FIG. 1B].
Lee teaches the use of a spring-based member [biasing member] in the proximal end (215) of tubular member (110) that is operably coupled to the proximal portion (225) of cutting tool (215) in order to advance and retract the cutting tool [see, e.g., ¶[0082] (“The internal guide 130 constrains the movement of the cutting tool 125 and allows the cutting tool 125 to freely slide therein, parallel to the longitudinal axis of the tubular member 110. With particular reference now to FIG. 2C, the proximal portion 225 of the cutting tool 125 emerges from the internal lumen 130 near the proximal end 215 of the tubular member 110. The proximal end of the cutting tool 125 may, for example, include a push or turn knob 226. The push or turn knob 226 allows the operator of the excisional biopsy device 100 to selectively push the cutting tool 125 in the distal direction (away from the physician and toward the distal tip 115) or retract the cutting tool 125 in the proximal direction (toward the physician and away from the distal tip 115). To assist in controlling the movement of the cutting tool 125, the cutting tool is preferably biased in the proximal direction, as symbolized by the arrow 227 in FIG. 2C. This biasing may be effectuated by means of a spring 228 attached at or near the proximal end 215 of the tubular member 110 and to the proximal portion 225 of the cutting tool 125. In this manner, the default configuration of the cutting tool 125 is the retracted position, wherein the cutting tool 125 lies substantially flat within the cutter window 120 of the tubular member 110”); FIG. 2C].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter to utilize a known, art-recognized wire actuation configuration, including one that utilizes a biasing member operably coupled to the second end of the wire, wherein the biasing member is structured to advance at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to structure the wire in either the first configuration or the second configuration, as taught by Lee, since such a particular known wire actuation configuration was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, as demonstrated by Lee, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known actuation configuration to the known device of Buehlmann/Vetter, and the results [advancement and retraction of the wire] would have been entirely predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
39. Regarding claim 15, the combination of Buehlmann, Vetter, & Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann (as modified) further teaches wherein the biasing member is structured to retract at least a portion of the wire through the distal opening of the body of the distal tip to move the wire from the second configuration to the first configuration between a range of angles including an angle that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the transcatheter [as broadly as currently claimed, Buehlmann teaches an expanded configuration wherein a portion of the wire (the distal portion of the wire) is positioned at an angle that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the catheter assembly (12) - see, e.g., distal end (122) of wire (56) in FIG. 18 & FIG. 27A. As the wire (56) is withdrawn back to its retracted state [shown in, e.g., FIG. 27], it will move through a range of angles until it is fully retracted].
40. Regarding claim 16, the combination of Buehlmann, Vetter, & Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 14 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
Buehlmann further teaches wherein the electrode is structured to receive current and/or radio frequency energy to ablate, burn, vaporize, and/or separate tissue [e.g., ¶[0060] (“To aid movement of separator wire through the tissue, wire 56 is supplied with RF energy from RF source 24”)].
41. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. 6,540,695 to Burbank et al. ("Burbank").
42. Regarding claim 7, the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth in detail (above) in the Office Action.
While Buehlmann teaches that the wire (56) is “predisposed to move radially outward” [e.g., ¶[0071]], the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter does not explicitly teach that the wire is one of the following claimed alternatives of claim 7:
wherein the wire is one of a:
wire comprising a drawn filled tube;
wire comprising a core within a shell, and wherein the shell is less conductive than the core;
wire comprising a core within a shell, and wherein the shell is nitinol and the core is conductive material, such as silver;
wire comprising a core within a shell, and wherein the electrode is formed by removing a portion of the shell;
wire comprising a frame, and wherein the electrode and a wire are attached to the frame;
wire comprising a frame having a rectangular cross-section; or
wire comprising a nitinol frame.
Burbank, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed to systems, devices and methods for accessing target tissue within a patient [col. 2, ll. 49-50].
With reference to FIG. 1, Burbank teaches an electrosurgical device or wand (110) comprising a distal tip (12) situated at the distal portion (16) of a shaft (14) [col. 7, ll. 40-42; FIG. 1]. Burbank teaches that the device includes a side-cutting electrode (28) --effective for cutting tissue and for isolating tissue in a patient-- that lies along shaft (14) when retracted and assumes an arcuate configuration when deployed (as, e.g., illustrated in FIG. 1) [col. 7, line 66 - col. 8, line 11; see also col. 12, ll. 8-25].
Burbank further teaches that the side-cutting electrode (28) may comprise, e.g., a nitinol wire [see col. 12, ll. 26-31 (“A side-cutting electrode 28 can be formed of conductive wire or ribbon, and may be made of any suitable material effective to conduct RF power to tissues. It will be understood that any biocompatible material, including steel, tungsten, nitinol, and other conductive biocompatible materials are suitable to form a side-cutting electrode 28”)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the combination of Buehlmann and Vetter such that the wire comprises a nitinol frame, since such a modification amounts merely to the simple substitution of one known wire electrode [predisposed for outward expansion] for another, yielding predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
CONCLUSION
The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM MST.
Examiner Interviews are available via a variety of formats. See MPEP § 713.01. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, Joanne M. Rodden, can be reached at telephone number 303-297-4276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BRADFORD C. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794