DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 regarding prior art rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding 112 rejection, amendments to claim 10 filed 01/22/2026 overcome the 112 rejection, hence 112 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see claims and remarks, filed 01/22/2026, with respect to 1-15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The non statutory double patenting rejection of claims 1-15 has been withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izardel et al. (US 2015/0362137 A1) in view of Bergmann et al. (US 2018/0328543 A1), further in view of Jang et al. (US 2017/0130906 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Izardel teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) array light comprising [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0002, 0007) "solar modules… electrical storage means… and one or more bulbs that are illuminated by solar power", Izardel teaches an LED lighting device]; a cover component with a first face and a second face and containing a control circuitry and a battery electrically coupled to the control circuitry [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0007) "electrical power source mounted on the solar energy collecting portion… LED lightbulb mounted on the base", Izardel teaches a housing containing a battery and circuitry, the fixture having a solar energy collecting portion at an upper side and a base portion at a lower side, corresponding to a cover component with a first face and a second face]; a solar panel in contact with the first face of the cover component and electrically coupled to the control circuitry [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0007) "top solar photovoltaic panel… connected to the electrical power source", Izardel teaches a solar panel mounted on the top side and electrically coupled]; an LED filament light bulb in contact with the second face of the cover component and electrically coupled to the control circuitry [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0007) "LED lightbulb mounted on the base", Izardel teaches a light bulb mounted on the lower portion and electrically connected]; wherein the control circuitry routes electricity generated by the solar panel to the battery for storage when the solar panel is generating electricity;
[see (para 0002) "solar modules… connected to… electrical storage means", Izardel teaches charging the battery]; wherein the control circuitry routes electricity from the battery to the LED filament light bulb when the solar panel is not generating electricity [see (para 0002) "battery… provide[s] the power to illuminate the light bulbs", Izardel teaches powering the LED];
Izardel doesn’t expressly teach wherein the cover component is separated into a lid component corresponding to the first face and a socket component corresponding to the second face, and the lid component and the socket component are coupled together to make the cover component; wherein the LED filament light bulb comprises a first array of LEDs, and a second array of LEDs; wherein the socket component contains a socket into which the LED filament light bulb is inserted; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs are positioned parallel to each other.
In an analogous art Bergmann teaches wherein the cover component is separated into a lid component corresponding to the first face and a socket component corresponding to the second face, and the lid component and the socket component are coupled together to make the cover component;
[see (Fig. 5-7 of Izardel) "solar portion above lighting portion", and (Fig. 1, para 0003 of Bergmann) "a base connected to the enclosure", the combination suggests partitioning the housing into lid and socket components as a predictable structural arrangement]; wherein the LED filament light bulb comprises a first array of LEDs and a second array of LEDs [see (para 0006) "first LED filament… second LED filament…", Bergmann teaches multiple LED filaments, which corresponds to a first and a second array of LEDs]; wherein the socket component contains a socket into which the LED filament light bulb is inserted; [see (Fig. 1, Fig. 15, para 0003) "a base connected to the enclosure… electrical path from the base", Bergmann teaches a base configured to support and electrically connect a bulb, which corresponds to a socket structure into which the bulb is mounted]; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs are positioned parallel to each other[see (Fig. 1, Fig. 15) "multiple filaments arranged within enclosure", Bergmann teaches arrays positioned parallel to each other]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the socketed LED filament bulb structure and multi-filament configuration of Bergmann in the invention of Izardel to provide a modular, replaceable LED bulb arrangement with improved light distribution, thereby improving maintainability and lighting performance with predictable results.
Combination of Izardel and Bergmann does not expressly teach coated in a first fluorescent material … and coated in a second fluorescent material; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs comprise a plurality of low-voltage LEDs arranged in a linear pattern to emulate a filament; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs … extend substantially beyond the cover component in a direction away from the second face of the cover component.
In an analogous art Jang teaches coated in a first fluorescent material … and coated in a second fluorescent material; [see (Abstract) "light conversion coating encloses the linear array", Jang teaches LED arrays coated with fluorescent material]; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs comprise a plurality of low-voltage LEDs arranged in a linear pattern to emulate a filament; [see (Abstract) "linear array of LED chips operably interconnected", Jang teaches linear LED filament structure]; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs …. extend substantially beyond the cover component in a direction away from the second face of the cover component, [see (Fig. 1-3) "elongated filament extending from base region", Jang teaches arrays extending outward from base, and in combination with Bergmann teaches the full limitation, Bergmann teaches the arrays positioned parallel to each other (Fig. 1, Fig. 15), and Jang teaches the arrays extending substantially beyond a base region (Fig. 1-3), and the combination therefore teaches the claimed arrangement of parallel arrays extending beyond the cover component].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the linear coated LED filament structure of Jang in the combination of Izardel and Bergmann to provide a defined LED filament construction using linear arrays and fluorescent coating, thereby improving light distribution and efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Izardel teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) array light comprising [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0002, 0007) "solar modules… electrical storage means… and one or more bulbs that are illuminated by solar power", Izardel teaches an LED lighting device]; a cover component with a first face and a second face and containing a control circuitry and a battery electrically coupled to the control circuitry [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0007) "electrical power source mounted on the solar energy collecting portion… LED lightbulb mounted on the base", Izardel teaches a housing containing a battery and circuitry, the fixture having a solar energy collecting portion at an upper side and a base portion at a lower side corresponding to first and second faces] a solar panel in contact with the first face of the cover component and electrically coupled to the control circuitry [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0007) "top solar photovoltaic panel… connected to the electrical power source", Izardel teaches a solar panel mounted on the top side and electrically coupled] an LED filament light bulb in contact with the second face of the cover component and electrically coupled to the control circuitry [see (Fig. 5-7, para 0007) "LED lightbulb mounted on the base", Izardel teaches a light bulb mounted on the lower portion and electrically connected]; wherein the control circuitry routes electricity generated by the solar panel to the battery for storage when the solar panel is generating electricity [see (para 0002) "solar modules… connected to… electrical storage means", Izardel teaches charging the battery] and wherein the control circuitry routes electricity from the battery to the LED filament light bulb when the solar panel is not generating electricity [see (para 0002) "battery… provide[s] the power to illuminate the light bulbs", Izardel teaches powering the LED]
Izardel does not expressly teach wherein the LED filament light bulb comprises: a first array of LEDs coated in a first fluorescent material; and a second array of LEDs coated in a second fluorescent material; wherein the first fluorescent material emits light with a first color temperature of approximately 2700K when stimulated by the array of LEDs; wherein the second fluorescent material emits light with a second color temperature of approximately 4500K when stimulated by the array of LEDs; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs are positioned parallel to each other; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs are positioned parallel to each other and extend substantially beyond the cover component in a direction away from the second face of the cover component; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs comprise a plurality of low-voltage LEDs arranged in a linear pattern to emulate a filament.
In an analogous art Berhmann teaches wherein the LED filament light bulb comprises a first array of LEDs … and a second array of LEDs; [see (para 0006) "first LED filament… second LED filament…", Bergmann teaches multiple LED filaments, which corresponds to a first and a second array of LEDs]; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs are positioned parallel to each other; [see (Fig. 1, Fig. 15) "multiple filaments arranged within enclosure", Bergmann teaches arrays positioned parallel];
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the multi-filament LED bulb structure of Bergmann in the invention of Izardel to provide multiple light-emitting filament elements within a solar-powered lighting device, thereby improving light distribution and lighting characteristics with predictable results.
Combination of Izardel and Bergmann does not expressly teach coated in a first fluorescent material … and coated in a second fluorescent material; wherein the first fluorescent material emits light with a first color temperature of approximately 2700K when stimulated by the array of LEDs; wherein the second fluorescent material emits light with a second color temperature of approximately 4500K when stimulated by the array of LEDs; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs extend substantially beyond the cover component in a direction away from the second face of the cover component; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs comprise a plurality of low-voltage LEDs arranged in a linear pattern to emulate a filament.
In an analogous art Jang teaches coated in a first fluorescent material … and coated in a second fluorescent material; [see (Abstract) "light conversion coating encloses the linear array", Jang teaches LED arrays coated with fluorescent material]; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs comprise a plurality of low-voltage LEDs arranged in a linear pattern to emulate a filament; [see (Abstract) "linear array of LED chips operably interconnected", Jang teaches linear LED filament structure]; wherein the first and second arrays of LEDs extend substantially beyond the cover component in a direction away from the second face of the cover component [see (Fig. 1-3) "elongated filament extending from base region", Jang teaches arrays extending outward from a base, and in combination with Bergmann teaches the full limitation, wherein Bergmann teaches the arrays positioned parallel (Fig. 1, Fig. 15), and Jang teaches the arrays extending substantially beyond a base region (Fig. 1-3)]; wherein the first fluorescent material emits light with a first color temperature of approximately 2700K … and wherein the second fluorescent material emits light with a second color temperature of approximately 4500K; [see (Abstract) "light conversion coating… configured to produce desired color characteristics", Jang teaches phosphor coatings for producing desired color output, and it would have been obvious to select first and second fluorescent materials configured to emit different color temperatures such as approximately 2700K and 4500K using known phosphor compositions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the linear coated LED filament structure and phosphor-based light conversion of Jang in the combination of Izardel and Bergmann to provide LED filaments having defined color temperature characteristics, thereby improving light quality and enabling controlled color output with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Jang further teaches wherein the plurality of low-voltage LEDs in the first and second arrays of LEDs are wired in series [see (Abstract) "linear array of LED chips operably interconnected", Jang teaches LED chips connected in a linear sequence, which corresponds to LEDs wired in series to form a filament].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to configure the LEDs in a series arrangement, thereby achieving predictable voltage distribution and efficient operation.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Jang further teaches wherein a fluorescent material emits light with a selected color temperature when stimulated by an array of LEDs [see (Abstract) "light conversion coating encloses the linear array", Jang teaches phosphor coatings producing desired color output, and it would have been obvious to select a phosphor corresponding to approximately 2700K].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use a fluorescent material configured to emit approximately 2700K light, thereby providing warm white illumination with predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Jang further teaches wherein a fluorescent material emits light with a selected color temperature when stimulated by an array of LEDs [see (Abstract) "light conversion coating encloses the linear array", Jang teaches phosphor coatings producing desired color output, and it would have been obvious to select a phosphor corresponding to approximately 4500K].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to use a fluorescent material configured to emit approximately 4500K light, thereby providing neutral white illumination with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Izardel further teaches wherein the control circuitry routes electricity within the lighting system [see (para 0002) "solar modules… connected to… electrical storage means", Izardel teaches control of electrical flow]; and Bergmann further teaches wherein the LED filament light bulb comprises a first array of LEDs and a second array of LEDs [see (para 0006) "first LED filament… second LED filament…", Bergmann teaches multiple LED filaments];
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to configure the control circuitry to route electricity to either the first or the second array of LEDs to selectively control illumination characteristics, including selection between different light outputs such as warm and neutral white, as commonly implemented in multi-filament LED lighting systems.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Izardel further teaches wherein the control circuitry prevents electricity from flowing from the battery to the LED filament light bulb when the solar panel is exposed to light [see (para 0002) "solar modules… connected to… electrical storage means", Izardel teaches charging the battery when solar energy is present and using the battery to power the LED when solar energy is not present, which corresponds to control circuitry that prevents battery discharge to the LED filament light bulb when the solar panel is exposed to light].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Jang further teaches wherein the plurality of low-voltage LEDs comprises a plurality of LEDs arranged in a filament structure [see (Abstract) "linear array of LED chips operably interconnected", Jang teaches an LED filament comprising multiple LEDs].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to configure the plurality of low-voltage LEDs to comprise at least 16 LEDs to achieve desired brightness levels, as the number of LEDs in a filament is a routine design choice.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Izardel further teaches wherein the LED array light is water resistant [see (Fig. 5-7) "outdoor solar lighting fixture", Izardel teaches an outdoor lighting device, which corresponds to a structure configured to withstand environmental exposure including moisture].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Izardel further teaches wherein the cover component is coupled to a base component [see (Fig. 5-7) "base portion supporting the lighting structure", Izardel teaches a base coupled to the lighting assembly]; wherein the base component comprises a transparent casing [see (para 0007) "transparent or translucent housing", Izardel teaches a transparent housing];
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the base component further comprises an attachment device to enable mounting of the lighting device, as commonly used in solar lighting systems.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above; combination doesn’t expressly teach that the transparent casing is cylindrical.
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the transparent casing is cylindrical as cylindrical solar lighting housings are well known and provide uniform light distribution.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that the attachment device is a spike
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the attachment device is a spike as spikes are commonly used for mounting outdoor solar lights into the ground.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that the attachment device further comprises a flange.
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the attachment device further comprises a flange to improve stability and retention when inserted into the ground.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that the voltage of each LED in the arrays of LEDs is between 1.4V and 3.2V
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the voltage of each LED in the arrays of LEDs is between 1.4V and 3.2V; as this corresponds to standard forward voltage ranges of low-voltage LEDs.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that the LEDs in the arrays of LEDs are arranged into sub-arrays of LEDs wired in series, and the sub-arrays of LEDs are wired together in parallel.
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the LEDs in the arrays of LEDs are arranged into sub-arrays of LEDs wired in series, and the sub-arrays of LEDs are wired together in parallel; as series-parallel LED configurations are standard circuit topologies used to achieve desired voltage and current characteristics.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that each sub-array comprises 4 LEDs operating at 3V per LED such that the circuit of sub-arrays wired in parallel is operating at 12V.
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that each sub-array comprises 4 LEDs operating at 3V per LED such that the circuit of sub-arrays wired in parallel is operating at 12V; as this is a straightforward application of known electrical design principles for LED circuits.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Jang further teaches wherein the plurality of low-voltage LEDs in the first and second arrays of LEDs are wired in series [see (Abstract) "linear array of LED chips operably interconnected", Jang teaches LED chips connected in a linear sequence, which corresponds to LEDs wired in series to form a filament].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to configure the LEDs in a series arrangement, thereby achieving predictable voltage distribution and efficient operation.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, Izardel further teaches wherein the control circuitry routes electricity within the lighting system [see (para 0002) "solar modules… connected to… electrical storage means", Izardel teaches control of electrical flow]; Bergmann further teaches wherein the LED filament light bulb comprises a first array of LEDs and a second array of LEDs [see (para 0006) "first LED filament… second LED filament…", Bergmann teaches multiple LED filaments].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed to to configure the control circuitry to route electricity to either the first or the second array of LEDs to selectively control illumination characteristics, including selection between different light outputs such as warm and neutral white, as commonly implemented in multi-filament LED lighting systems.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that the voltage of each LED in the arrays of LEDs is between 1.4V and 3.2V.
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that the voltage of each LED in the arrays of LEDs is between 1.4V and 3.2V; as this corresponds to standard forward voltage ranges of low-voltage LEDs.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Izardel, Bergmann, and Jang teaches the invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach that that the LEDs in the arrays of LEDs are arranged into sub-arrays of LEDs wired in series, and the sub-arrays of LEDs are wired together in parallel.
However, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of invention was claimed that that the LEDs in the arrays of LEDs are arranged into sub-arrays of LEDs wired in series, and the sub-arrays of LEDs are wired together in parallel; as series-parallel LED configurations are standard circuit topologies used to achieve desired voltage and current characteristics.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849