DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2021/0006956).
Regarding claim 1, Chen (US 2021/0006956) teaches a method for a mobile device, comprising: periodically transmitting Pedestrian Safety Messages (PSMs) to a vehicle, the PSMs including information used by the vehicle to determine whether to display an alert to a driver of the vehicle (i.e., the applicant finds that in V2P communication, as shown in FIG. 1, when a vehicle and a pedestrian approach each other, the vehicle (a vehicle-mounted device corresponding to the vehicle) and the pedestrian (a user equipment corresponding to the pedestrian) each may broadcast a V2P message in real time or periodically. The V2P message may include information such as a location, a speed, an acceleration, and a movement track of the vehicle/pedestrian ([0041], [0045]-[0046]). It is common for a notification message to be display on smartphone); and in response to detecting that the mobile device is inside the vehicle, stopping transmitting of the PSMs (i.e., determining whether to allow enabling of a V2P function of the user equipment. The control platform may be further configured to receive request information sent by a device (which may be any one or any combination of the network device, the user equipment, and the vehicle-mounted device), and determine whether the request information satisfies a preset ride condition, to subsequently control the device to or not to transmit a V2X message ([0043]-[0046])… when detecting that a user corresponding to the user equipment is in a vehicle, the first request information is used to request the user equipment to disable the V2P function ([0051], [0055], [0057])).
Regarding claim 2, Chen further teaches stopping transmitting of the PSMs includes maintaining the PSMs in a stopped state and not transmitting the PSMs while the mobile device is detected inside the vehicle (i.e., target device sends request information to a control platform, where the request information is used to request the user equipment to disable or enable a V2P function, to forbid or allow the user equipment to receive or send a V2P message ([0049]… when detecting that a user corresponding to the user equipment is in a vehicle, the first request information is used to request the user equipment to disable the V2P function [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches all the limitations above except wherein the PSMs are transmitted in accordance with at least one of: SAE Surface Vehicle Standard J2735; SAE Surface Vehicle Standard J3161; IEEE standard 1609.2; IEEE standard 1609.3; and a supporting standard of a region of the mobile device.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communication. Song et al. (US 2024/0284150) teaches a wireless communication system that connects cars to people on foot or bicycles. More specifically, Song teaches a softV2X protocol stack operable in a smartphone, the SoftV2X is a V2X communication wherein SoftV2X uses the message defined in SAE J2735 (BSM, PSM, RSA, etc.). SAE J2735 defines signal specifications, such as messages, data frames, element formats, structures and the like for V2V/V2I communication, and the main messages are shown in Table 2. The V2X service related information can include a Basic Safety Message (BSM) and a Personal Safety Message (PSM). In accordance with the SAE J2735 DSRC message set specification, the V2X service related information delivered from the cloud server is a Personal Safety Message (PSM) for pedestrian or a Basic Safety Message (BSM) for vehicles. In addition, other messages defined in the SAE J2735 DSRC message set standard can be delivered as needed ([0084]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique Song within the system of Chen in order to allow vehicles and pedestrians to share their location and speed in real-time. If a collision is likely, the system warns the driver or the pedestrian to take quick action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 allowed.
Claims 3-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Song et al. (US 2024/0284150) teaches A car or vehicle transmits BSM and a pedestrian transmits PSM, and these messages basically contain information (e.g., ID, location, speed, acceleration, direction, etc.) necessary for danger detection.
Chen (US 2021/0006956) teaches determining relationship between the person/user and vehicle to indicate whether the person is in the vehicle ([0044]); target device sends request information to a control platform, where the request information is used to request the user equipment to disable or enable a V2P function, to forbid or allow the user equipment to receive or send a V2P message ([0049]… when detecting that a user corresponding to the user equipment is in a vehicle, the first request information is used to request the user equipment to disable the V2P function [0051]; determining whether the user is in the vehicle… intelligently determining the relationship between the user and the vehicle based on movement information of the vehicle and the user… The movement information includes but is not limited to location information, speed information, acceleration information, and the like [0053]).
The Applicant teaches, inter alia, detecting that the mobile device is inside the vehicle further comprises: determining a first speed and a first direction of the mobile device over a first duration; determining a second speed and a second direction of the vehicle over a second duration; in response to a first difference between the first direction and the second direction being less than a threshold direction difference, and at least one of: a second difference between the first speed of the mobile device and the second speed of the vehicle being less than a threshold speed difference; and the first speed being greater than a threshold speed; determining that the mobile device is inside the vehicle. These limitations, in conjunction with all limitations of the independent claims, have not been disclosed, taught, or made obvious over the prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643