DETAILED ACTION
1.This action is response to application filed on 06/04/2025. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Claim rejections-35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10-11, 17, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon et al. (US 20160353177) in view of Hua et al. (US 9554093) and further in view of Krassner et al. (US 20220180376)
Regarding claim 2:
A method for providing a user a personalized video feed from videos available on the Internet, the method comprising:
receiving, using a first server, a first service feed, wherein the first service feed comprises a first plurality of feed items; the first service feed comprises a first feed item (receiving video stream. It is essential to understand that the video stream includes video sequences: Gordon, [0055]);
receiving, using the first server, a second service feed, wherein the second service feed comprises a second plurality of feed items, the second service feed comprises a second feed item: (receiving the on-screen display stream VOSD produced by OSD unit. It is essential to understand that the on-screen display stream includes sequences: Gordon, [0055]);
combining, using the first server, the first service feed and the second service feed to form a selective video feed, the selective video feed comprising the first feed item and the second feed item: (a compositor merges the graphical overlay signal VOSD and the uncompressed video stream VD to produce a modified video stream (selective video feed): Gordon, [0046]).
However, Gordon does not explicitly teach each of the first plurality of feed items includes a separately resolvable link to a content object available from the Internet; and each of the second plurality of feed items includes a separately resolvable link to a content object available from the Internet.
In similar art, Hua teaches one or more candidate ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website (see, Hua column 8, lines 42-50);
receiving an advertisement, along with parameters or instructions, from an advertising service: (advertiser adds text directly into a video ad-clip (e.g., using an XML editor, a video editor, etc.) to provide respective portions of metadata, such text is represented as one or more XML tags in a header or other portion associated with the source video content. Such text may provide content description, indicate semantic attributes of a video segment (i.e., a shot, a scene, or a chapter), provide a cue as to the particular genre or other attribute of a video ad-clip for insertion at a particular insertion point: Hua, column 5, lines 30-44; column 9, lines 27-40);
incorporating the advertisement in the selective video feed after the first feed item and before the second feed item: (inserting advertisements into source video content playback streams: Hua abstract; column 2, lines 5-26).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
However, Gordon-Hua does not explicitly teach requesting an ad from a second server; receiving an advertisement, in response to requesting the ad from the second server.
In similar art, Krassner et al. (US 20220180376) teaches advertisement is provided by advertiser in response to receiving a request for advertisement (Krassner abstract);
controlling presentation of the advertisement, including controlling an ability of the user to skip or fast forward the advertisement, wherein controlling the presentation of the advertisement is based on the parameters or instructions received from the advertising service: (the .swf file acts as a template file implements all of the necessary actions to retrieve a variety of data, including text messaging, digital media files including picture and rich media files including video, instructions on when to play or to be skipped, to track all custom parameters and to load a go-to page when it is an appropriate (for instance at the end of the ad or when it is skipped by user, or if an ad is clicked by a viewer: Krassner [0116]);
reporting a started, partially completed, or completed view of the advertisement to the advertisement service: (user interactions with the advertisements are stored in a template file: Krassner [0116]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Krassner’s ideas into Gordon-Hua’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system (see Krassner, [0003]).
Regarding claim 10:
In addition to the rejection claim 2, Gordon-Hua-Krassner further teaches incorporating the advertisement in the selective video feed comprises inserting a URL or intermediate URL referencing the advertisement: (Hua teaches one or more candidate ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website: Hua column 8, lines 42-50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon-Krassner’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 11:
A system for providing a user a personalized video feed from videos available on the Internet, the system comprising:
a first service feed that comprises a first plurality of feed items, the first service feed comprises a first feed item: (receiving video stream. It is essential to understand that the video stream includes video sequences: Gordon, [0055]);
a second service feed that comprises a second plurality of feed items, the second service feed comprises a second feed item: (receiving the on-screen display stream VOSD produced by OSD unit. It is essential to understand that the on-screen display stream includes sequences: Gordon, [0055]);
an aggregation system that is configured to: receive, using a first server, the first service feed; receive, using the first server, the second service feed; combine, using the first server, the first service feed and the second service feed to form a selective video feed, the selective video feed comprising the first feed item and the second feed item: (a compositor merges the graphical overlay signal VOSD and the uncompressed video stream VD to produce a modified video stream (selective video feed): Gordon, [0046]).
However, Gordon does not explicitly teach each of the first plurality of feed items includes a separately resolvable link to a content object available from the Internet; and each of the second plurality of feed items includes a separately resolvable link to a content object available from the Internet.
In similar art, Hua teaches one or more candidate ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website (see, Hua column 8, lines 42-50);
incorporate the advertisement in the selective video feed after the first feed item and before the second feed item: (inserting advertisements into source video content playback streams: Hua abstract; column 2, lines 5-26);
receiving an advertisement, along with parameters or instructions, from an advertising service: (advertiser adds text directly into a video ad-clip (e.g., using an XML editor, a video editor, etc.) to provide respective portions of metadata, such text is represented as one or more XML tags in a header or other portion associated with the source video content. Such text may provide content description, indicate semantic attributes of a video segment (i.e., a shot, a scene, or a chapter), provide a cue as to the particular genre or other attribute of a video ad-clip for insertion at a particular insertion point: Hua, column 5, lines 30-44; column 9, lines 27-40).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
However, Gordon-Hua does not explicitly teach request an ad from a second server; receive an advertisement in response to requesting the ad from the second server;
In similar art, Krassner et al. (US 20220180376) teaches advertisement is provided by advertiser in response to receiving a request for advertisement (Krassner abstract);
control presentation of the advertisement, including controlling an ability of the user to skip or fast forward the advertisement, wherein controlling the presentation of the advertisement is based on the parameters or instructions received from the advertising service: (the .swf file acts as a template file implements all of the necessary actions to retrieve a variety of data, including text messaging, digital media files including picture and rich media files including video, instructions on when to play or to be skipped, to track all custom parameters and to load a go-to page when it is an appropriate (for instance at the end of the ad or when it is skipped by user, or if an ad is clicked by a viewer: Krassner [0116]);
report a started, partially completed, or completed view of the advertisement to the advertisement service: (user interactions with the advertisements are stored in a template file: Krassner [0116]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Krassner’s ideas into Gordon-Hua’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system (see Krassner, [0003]).
Regarding claim 17:
A memory device having instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform steps, for providing a user a personalized video feed from videos available on the Internet, comprising:
receiving, using a first server, a first service feed, wherein the first service feed comprises a first plurality of feed items; the first service feed comprises a first feed item (receiving video stream. It is essential to understand that the video stream includes video sequences: Gordon, [0055]);
receiving, using the first server, a second service feed, wherein the second service feed comprises a second plurality of feed items, the second service feed comprises a second feed item: (receiving the on-screen display stream VOSD produced by OSD unit. It is essential to understand that the on-screen display stream includes sequences: Gordon, [0055]);
combining, using the first server, the first service feed and the second service feed to form a selective video feed, the selective video feed comprising the first feed item and the second feed item: (a compositor merges the graphical overlay signal VOSD and the uncompressed video stream VD to produce a modified video stream (selective video feed): Gordon, [0046]).
However, Gordon does not explicitly teach each of the first plurality of feed items includes a separately resolvable link to a content object available from the Internet; and each of the second plurality of feed items includes a separately resolvable link to a content object available from the Internet.
In similar art, Hua teaches one or more candidate ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website (see, Hua column 8, lines 42-50);
receiving an advertisement, along with parameters or instructions, from an advertising service: (advertiser adds text directly into a video ad-clip (e.g., using an XML editor, a video editor, etc.) to provide respective portions of metadata, such text is represented as one or more XML tags in a header or other portion associated with the source video content. Such text may provide content description, indicate semantic attributes of a video segment (i.e., a shot, a scene, or a chapter), provide a cue as to the particular genre or other attribute of a video ad-clip for insertion at a particular insertion point: Hua, column 5, lines 30-44; column 9, lines 27-40);
incorporating the advertisement in the selective video feed after the first feed item and before the second feed item: (inserting advertisements into source video content playback streams: Hua abstract; column 2, lines 5-26).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
However, Gordon-Hua does not explicitly teach requesting an ad from a second server; receiving an advertisement, in response to requesting the ad from the second server.
In similar art, Krassner et al. (US 20220180376) teaches advertisement is provided by advertiser in response to receiving a request for advertisement (Krassner abstract);
controlling presentation of the advertisement, including controlling an ability of the user to skip or fast forward the advertisement, wherein controlling the presentation of the advertisement is based on the parameters received from the advertising service: (the .swf file acts as a template file implements all of the necessary actions to retrieve a variety of data, including text messaging, digital media files including picture and rich media files including video, instructions on when to play or to be skipped, to track all custom parameters and to load a go-to page when it is an appropriate (for instance at the end of the ad or when it is skipped by user, or if an ad is clicked by a viewer: Krassner [0116]);
reporting a started, partially completed, or completed view of the advertisement to the advertisement service: (user interactions with the advertisements are stored in a template file: Krassner [0116]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Krassner’s ideas into Gordon-Hua’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system (see Krassner, [0003]).
Regarding claim 21:
In addition to the rejection claim 17, Gordon-Hua-Krassner further teaches incorporating the advertisement in the selective video feed comprises inserting a URL or intermediate URL referencing the advertisement: (Hua teaches one or more candidate ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website: Hua column 8, lines 42-50)
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon-Krassner’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
Claims 7-9, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon-Hua-Krassner in view of Presler (US 20250016297)
Regarding claim 7:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach encoding or transcoding a video feed item in the selective video feed into a file format for a device of the user.
In similar art, Presler teaches the processor can be used to compress the imagery with an encoder, which can generate multiple streams one for the purpose of recording at highest quality and optionally additional streams at lower data rates for remote transmission. Presler also teaches utilizing metadata encoded in the recorded stream or generated thru user input during playback the relative position, color transformation and format of the dual streams, representing the left and right eye content, can be adjusted to change the stereographic effect and depth perception on these displays (see Presler, [0009]; [0040]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 8:
In addition to the rejection claim 7, Gordon-Hua-Krassner- Presler further teaches encoding includes a bitrate: (perform hardware-accelerated video encoding supporting variable bitrates: claim 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 9:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach retrieving the parameters from a file or table.
In similar art, Presler teaches capture or recorded image and data can be retrieved from storage (see, Presler, [0115]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 16:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach encode or transcode a video feed item in the selective video feed into a file format for a device of the user.
In similar art, Presler teaches the processor can be used to compress the imagery with an encoder, which can generate multiple streams one for the purpose of recording at highest quality and optionally additional streams at lower data rates for remote transmission. Presler also teaches utilizing metadata encoded in the recorded stream or generated thru user input during playback the relative position, color transformation and format of the dual streams, representing the left and right eye content, can be adjusted to change the stereographic effect and depth perception on these displays (see Presler, [0009]; [0040]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 18:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 17, but does not explicitly teach encode or transcode a video feed item in the selective video feed into a file format for a device of the user.
In similar art, Presler teaches the processor can be used to compress the imagery with an encoder, which can generate multiple streams one for the purpose of recording at highest quality and optionally additional streams at lower data rates for remote transmission. Presler also teaches utilizing metadata encoded in the recorded stream or generated thru user input during playback the relative position, color transformation and format of the dual streams, representing the left and right eye content, can be adjusted to change the stereographic effect and depth perception on these displays (see Presler, [0009]; [0040]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 19:
In addition to the rejection claim 18, Gordon-Hua-Krassner-Presler further teaches encoding includes a bitrate: (perform hardware-accelerated video encoding supporting variable bitrates: Presler claim 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 20:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 17, but does not explicitly teach retrieve the parameters from a file or table.
In similar art, Presler teaches capture or recorded image and data can be retrieved from storage (see, Presler, [0115]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Presler’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Claims 4-5, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon-Hua-Krassner in view of Toth et al. (US 20050053068)
Regarding claim 4:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach providing a notification in a user interface of a user device an availability of one or more applications or services.
In similar art, Toth teaches a user may be notified of the presence of a certain multicast transmission, either by an active search for available services in a certain area, e.g. via a web page, or by getting information about the service via e.g. SMS or a push service, see (Toth, [0048]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Toth’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Toth’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 5:
In addition to the rejection claim 4, Gordon-Hua-Krassner-Toth further teaches linking an application is from a specific feed item in the selective video feed: (ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website: Hua column 8, lines 42-50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon-Krassner-Toth’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
Regarding claim 13:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach providing a notification in a user interface of a user device an availability of one or more applications or services.
In similar art, Toth teaches a user may be notified of the presence of a certain multicast transmission, either by an active search for available services in a certain area, e.g. via a web page, or by getting information about the service via e.g. SMS or a push service, see (Toth, [0048]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Toth’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Toth’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 14:
In addition to the rejection claim 11, Gordon-Hua-Krassner-Toth further teaches linking an application is from a specific feed item in the selective video feed: (ad-clips include embedded URL links for a viewer to select/click-through to a corresponding website: Hua column 8, lines 42-50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Hua’s ideas of automatically inserting advertisements into Gordon-Krassner-Toth’s system in order to provide an efficient advertisement and promotion system such as reducing time consuming to implement the advertisements (see Hua, column 1, lines 20-27).
Claims 3, 6, 12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon-Hua-Krassner in view of Levergood et al. (US 9,917,827)
Regarding claim 3:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach reporting further includes issuing appropriately formatted URL requests, pixel requests, data messages, or commands to one or more measurement servers, analytics servers, or reporting servers.
In similar art, Levergood teaches a URL may be directed to a controlled page name “report”, such as “http://content.com/report” (column 5, lines 47-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 6:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 2, but does not explicitly teach linking an identification of the user to a provider of another application or Internet service.
In similar art, Levergood teaches user identifier used as page access authorization (column 6, lines 62-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 12:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach reporting further includes issuing appropriately formatted URL requests, pixel requests, data messages, or commands to one or more measurement servers, analytics servers, or reporting servers.
In similar art, Levergood teaches a URL may be directed to a controlled page name “report”, such as “http://content.com/report” (column 5, lines 47-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Regarding claim 15:
Gordon-Hua-Krassner discloses the invention substantially as disclosed in claim 11, but does not explicitly teach linking an identification of the user to a provider of another application or Internet service.
In similar art, Levergood teaches user identifier used as page access authorization (column 6, lines 62-67).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system in order to save resources and development time by implying Levergood’s ideas into Gordon-Hua-Krassner’s system.
Conclusions
/LAN DAI T TRUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444