DETAILED ACTION
The instant action is in response to application 12 November 2024.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Hwang does not explicitly teach a monolithic die. Examiner respectfully disagrees. There are two reasons for this. First, with respect to the obviousness rejections, generally speaking making things integral or separate does not involve inventive skill (See MPEP 2144 V B & C). More importantly though, applicant did not claim a process or a sequence of steps. Applicant claimed an apparatus. Note that process steps in apparatus claims are generally not permitted (MPEP 2173.05(p)) and vice versa. This means that as long as there is a singular die at a single point in time, Hwang still anticipates the limitation of a single die, which Hwang clearly shows in Fig. 8A/8B, with 8A being the top down view and 8B being the sectional view. Lastly, the courts have repeatedly told examiners not to read limitations from the specification into the claims (MPEP 2111.01). With all of the items on item 302, it could broadly be interpreted as 302 comprises all of the subcomponents, which is an art-based interpretation (See US 20130256905). and it is also unclear why item 300 could not broadly be regarded as the monolithic die as well. While examiner acknowledges here are differences between the reference and applicants’ invention, the language in the MPEP appears to forbid withdrawing the art-based rejections ejections at this time. It is also noted applicant was silent with respect to the double patenting rejection. As such, the rejections are sustained.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
For method claims, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated. (The claims have been condensed.)
Claims 1-6, 20-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20190006954) in view of Sato (US 20100059875)
As to claim 1, Hwang discloses (see image below) an integrated circuit assembling comprising: monolithic die comprising: a first planar transistor occupying a first quadrant of the monolithic die; the first planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; a second planar transistor occupying a second quadrant of the monolithic die, the second planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; a third planar transistor occupying a third quadrant of the monolithic die, the third planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; a fourth planar transistor occupying a fourth quadrant of the monolithic die, the fourth planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source;
Though he teaches much of the claimed invention, he does not explicitly teach the first a first metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the first and second quadrants, the first metallic pad, the second metallic pad, metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the second and third quadrants, the second metallic pad and a fourth metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the third and fourth quadrants, the fourth metallic pad.
Sato teaches , the first metallic pad configured to electrically couple the drain of the first planar transistor to the drain of the second planar transistor (¶9 “a low-side switch formed, a drain back surface electrode is formed on the back surface of the semiconductor chip, and therefore, it is preferable to connect by soldering the semiconductor chip onto the die pad and electrically connect via a metal plate the die pad and a source electrode bonding pad of the semiconductor chip having a power MOS.cndot.FET for a high-side switch formed.”)
As to the limitations, ; a first metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the first and second quadrants, the first metallic pad configured to electrically couple the drain of the first planar transistor to the drain of the second planar transistor; a second metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the second and third quadrants, the second metallic pad configured to electrically couple the source of the second planar transistor to the drain of the third planar transistor; a third metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the third and fourth quadrants, the third metallic pad configured to electrically couple the source of the third planar transistor to the source of the fourth planar transistor; and a fourth metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying portions of the third and fourth quadrants, the fourth metallic pad configured to electrically couple the drain of the fourth planar transistor to the source of the first planar transistor, this is taught by the combination. By using the metallic connections described in Sato to the device of Hwang, the various metal connecting pieces would connect the sources and drains of the perspective transistors. This has the expected advantage of reduced conduction losses (Sato, ¶9), which is an expected advantage. Since there is an expected advantage, the combination is obvious.
As to claim 2, Hawng in view of Sato teaches further comprising: a fifth metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying a portion of the first quadrant, the fifth metallic pad coupled to the gate of the first planar transistor; a sixth metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying a portion of the second quadrant, the sixth metallic pad coupled to the gate of the second planar transistor; a seventh metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying a portion of the third quadrant, the seventh metallic pad coupled to the gate of the third planar transistor; and an eighth metallic pad mechanically attached to the monolithic die and occupying a portions of the fourth quadrant, the eighth metallic pad coupled to the gate of the fourth planar transistor (this is also taught by the combination, with a similar expected advantage as described above).
As to claims 3-5, Hwang in view of Sato closes much of the invention, but they do not explicitly depict the type of switches used. Examiner also asserts that changing switching devices from one type of well-known switch to another (BJT, FET, IGBT, etc.) is also well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. See US Patent 5,568,368 Col. 2, lines 35-45. Also see US Patent Application Publication 2009/0059623A1 ¶0030, US Patent 6,271,605 B1 Col. 5, lines 40-46.
As to claim 6, Hwang in view of Sato discloses configured to rectify an alternating current input signal to form a rectified direct current output signal (Hwang, Fig. 2).
As to claim 20, this is similar to claim 1 and shall not be repeated.
As to claims 21, wherein the monolithic die comprises first, second, third and fourth planar transistors and wherein the plurality of controller integrated circuits comprises exactly four controller integrated circuits, one for each of the first, second, third and fourth planar transistors (see image above).
As to claim 22, Hwang in view of Sato wherein the integrated circuit assembly functions as a bridge rectifier including two bridge rectifier input terminals, two bridge rectifier output terminals, and four supply terminals, one for each of the four integrated circuit controllers (the drivers must have a power supply).
Hwang in view of Sato does not explicitly teach comprises exactly eight terminals. However, this is obvious. There can only be more, fewer, or eight terminals. More supply terminals allows for redundancy but fewer terminals reduces fabrication cost. The advantages of each are known, and it has been held that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claim 23, Hwang in view of Sato teaches further comprising four capacitors wherein each of the four supply terminals is coupled to corresponding one of the four capacitors (see image above).
As to claim 24, Hwang in view of Sato teaches comprises three controller integrated circuits, including a first controller integrated circuit for controlling the gate of the first planar transistor, a second controller integrated circuit for controlling the gate of the second planar transistor.
They do not explicitly teach exactly three controller integrated circuits and a third controller integrated circuit for controlling the gate of the third planar transistor and the gate of the fourth planar transistor. However, this is simply making plural parts integral. It has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
As to claim 25, Hwang in view of Sato wherein including two bridge rectifier input terminals, two bridge rectifier output terminals, and three supply terminals, one for each of the three integrated circuit controllers. (the drivers must have a power supply).
Hwang does not explicitly teach comprises exactly seven terminals. However, this is obvious. There can only be more, fewer, or eight terminals. More supply terminals allows for redundancy but fewer terminals reduces fabrication cost. The advantages of each are known, and it has been held that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claim 26, Hwang in view of Sato teaches further comprising three capacitors wherein each of the three supply terminals is coupled to corresponding one of the three capacitors (see image above).
As to claim 27, Hwang in view of Sato teaches and wherein each controller integrated circuit comprises a gate driver circuitry configured to generate drive signals for controlling the gate terminals of the first, second, third and fourth planar transistors
Hwang in view of Sato does not teach wherein each controller integrated circuit comprises a power supply for providing operating power to the corresponding controller integrated circuit, the power supply generating a supply voltage of approximately 12 to 15 volts DC wherein the gate drive signals are each limited to approximately 5.5 volts DC. However, this is optimization of the device. It has been held that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claims 28-30 see claims 3-6 above.
As to claim 31-32, see claim 1 above.
As to claim 33, see claim 2 above.
Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 20190006954).
Hwang discloses an integrated circuit assembly comprising: a monolithic die comprising: a first planar transistor occupying a first quadrant of the monolithic die, the first planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; a second planar transistor occupying a second quadrant of the monolithic die; the second planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; a third planar transistor occupying a third quadrant of the monolithic die, the third planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; and a fourth planar transistor occupying a fourth quadrant of the monolithic die, the fourth planar transistor having a gate, a drain and a source; and a plurality of controller integrated circuits (U1-U4) mechanically attached to the monolithic die, the plurality of controller integrated circuits configured to generate drive signals for controlling the gate terminals of the first, second, third and fourth planar transistors (see image above for other item matching).
As to claim 8, Hwang discloses wherein the plurality of controller integrated circuits comprises exactly four controller integrated circuits, one for each of the first, second, third and fourth planar transistors.
Claims 9-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20190006954)
As to claim 9, Hwang discloses wherein the integrated circuit assembly functions as a bridge rectifier including two bridge rectifier input terminals, two bridge rectifier output terminals, and four supply terminals, one for each of the four integrated circuit controllers (the drivers must have a power supply).
Hwang does not explicitly teach comprises exactly eight terminals. However, this is obvious. There can only be more, fewer, or eight terminals. More supply terminals allows for redundancy but fewer terminals reduces fabrication cost. The advantages of each are known, and it has been held that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claim 10, Hwang discloses comprising four capacitors wherein each of the four supply terminals is coupled to corresponding one of the four capacitors and wherein the capacitors (C1-C4). He does not explicitly disclose wherein the capacitors are external to the integrated circuit assembly. However, ths obvious to try. Internal capacitors are less prone to wear and tear, but external capacitors are easy to replace. Since the advantage of each is known, it is obvious and therefore not patentable. It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)
As to claim 11, Hwang discloses further comprising four capacitors wherein each of the four supply terminals is coupled to corresponding one of the four capacitors (C1-C4). He does not explicitly teach and wherein the capacitors are internal to the integrated circuit assembly. However, ths obvious to try. Internal capacitors are less prone to wear and tear, but external capacitors are easy to replace. Since the advantage of each is known, it is obvious and therefore not patentable. It has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.__, __, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 12, Hwang discloses comprises three controller integrated circuits, including a first controller integrated circuit for controlling the gate of the first planar transistor, a second controller integrated circuit for controlling the gate of the second planar transistor,
He does not explicitly teach exactly three controller integrated circuits and a third controller integrated circuit for controlling the gate of the third planar transistor and the gate of the fourth planar transistor. However, this is simply making plural parts integral. It has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
As to claim 13, Hwang discloses wherein the integrated circuit assembly functions as a bridge rectifier, including two bridge rectifier input terminals, two bridge rectifier output terminals, and three supply terminals, one for each of the three integrated circuit controllers. (the drivers must have a power supply).
Hwang does not explicitly teach comprises exactly seven terminals. However, this is obvious. There can only be more, fewer, or eight terminals. More supply terminals allows for redundancy but fewer terminals reduces fabrication cost. The advantages of each are known, and it has been held that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claim 16, Hwang does not explicitly disclose wherein each controller integrated circuit comprises a power supply for providing operating power to the corresponding controller integrated circuit, the power supply generating a supply voltage of approximately 12 to 15 volts DC and wherein each controller integrated circuit comprises a gate driver circuitry configured to generate drive signals for controlling the gate terminals of the first, second, third and fourth planar transistors wherein the gate drive signals are each limited to approximately 5.5 volts DC. However, this is optimization of the device. It has been held that it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As to claims 17-19, Hwang discloses much of the invention, but they do not explicitly depict the type of switches used. Examiner also asserts that changing switching devices from one type of well-known switch to another (BJT, FET, IGBT, etc.) is also well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. See US Patent 5,568,368 Col. 2, lines 35-45. Also see US Patent Application Publication 2009/0059623A1 ¶0030, US Patent 6,271,605 B1 Col. 5, lines 40-46.
Double Patenting
The reasons and legal justification of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is stated in a prior action.
Claims 1-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12184199. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented invention has more limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and a disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 14, the prior art fails to disclose: “further comprising three capacitors wherein each of the three supply terminals is coupled to corresponding one of the three capacitors and wherein the capacitors are external to the integrated circuit assembly.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
As to claim 15, the prior art fails to disclose " further comprising three capacitors wherein each of the three supply terminals is coupled to corresponding one of the three capacitors and wherein the capacitors are internal to the integrated circuit assembly.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Please note: while objected or allowed claims have been indicated, only the presented claims have been examined for compliance with form and 35 USC 112 consideration. As a reminder, claims that are dependent upon objected claims still require examination for form and 35 USC 112 issues even if they overcome 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections. Similarly, amendments incorporating allowable subject matter into independent claims requires reconsideration for dependent claim form and any possible 35 USC 112 issues that arise through amendments even if the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections are overcome. As such, applicant is advised that while examiner can enter previously allowed claims or previously objected claims rewritten into independent form after final rejection, any other claims may not be entered.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular column, paragraph, and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER M NOVAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2839