DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 November 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “data acquisition unit”, “image correction unit”, “image synthesis unit”, “data correction unit” and “reconstruction unit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a data acquisition unit that acquires…” in claims 1 and 2 (There is no detailed disclosure for a “data acquisition unit” in the detailed disclosure [the term in only used in the summary and in the claims]. Rather, only an “image generation unit” is disclosed as performing the claimed functionality, which in paragraph [0021] is explained to be a CPU, GPU or the like, and for examination purposes this is how the claim limitation will be interpreted. Thus, since only a generic computer is disclosed, the limitation is a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, which requires an algorithm for the specific structure, which in this case is shown in Figures 3-4 and 6-7 of the spec.);
“an image correction unit that generates…” in claim 1 (There is no detailed disclosure for an “image correction unit” in the detailed disclosure [the term in only used in the summary and in the claims]. Rather, only an “image generation unit” is disclosed as performing the claimed functionality, which in paragraph [0021] is explained to be a CPU, GPU or the like, and for examination purposes this is how the claim limitation will be interpreted. Thus, since only a generic computer is disclosed, the limitation is a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, which requires an algorithm for the specific structure, which in this case is shown in Figures 3-4 and 6-7 of the spec.);
“an image synthesis unit that synthesizes…” in claim 1 (There is no detailed disclosure for an “image synthesis unit” in the detailed disclosure [the term in only used in the summary and in the claims]. Rather, only an “image generation unit” is disclosed as performing the claimed functionality, which in paragraph [0021] is explained to be a CPU, GPU or the like, and for examination purposes this is how the claim limitation will be interpreted. Thus, since only a generic computer is disclosed, the limitation is a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, which requires an algorithm for the specific structure, which in this case is shown in Figures 3-4 and 6-7 of the spec.);
“a data correction unit that generates…” in claim 2 (There is no detailed disclosure for a “data correction unit” in the detailed disclosure [the term in only used in the summary and in the claims]. Rather, only an “image generation unit” is disclosed as performing the claimed functionality, which in paragraph [0021] is explained to be a CPU, GPU or the like, and for examination purposes this is how the claim limitation will be interpreted. Thus, since only a generic computer is disclosed, the limitation is a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, which requires an algorithm for the specific structure, which in this case is shown in Figures 3-4 and 6-7 of the spec.); and
“a reconstruction unit that reconstructs…” in claim 2 (There is no detailed disclosure for a “reconstruction unit” in the detailed disclosure [the term in only used in the summary and in the claims]. Rather, only an “image generation unit” is disclosed as performing the claimed functionality, which in paragraph [0021] is explained to be a CPU, GPU or the like, and for examination purposes this is how the claim limitation will be interpreted. Thus, since only a generic computer is disclosed, the limitation is a computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, which requires an algorithm for the specific structure, which in this case is shown in Figures 3-4 and 6-7 of the spec.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nett et al. (US 2013/0170609) in view of Bippus et al. (WO 2022/096312 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nett et al. disclose an X-ray CT apparatus (Figure 7) comprising:
a data acquisition unit that acquires first projection data corresponding to a first projection angle range and second projection data corresponding to a second projection angle range that is a projection angle range wider than the first projection angle range (Figure 1-2, 102 to 104 and 106, where the half/partial scan data is first projection data corresponding to a first projection angle range, and the full scan data is second projection data corresponding to a second projection angle range that is a projection angle range wider than the first projection angle range [full scan angle is wider than a partial scan angle].);
an image correction unit that generates a first image of a first tomographic image reconstructed from the first projection data (Figures 1-2 shows that the first image at 104 is generated from the partial scan data.) and that generates a second corrected image by reducing low-frequency components of a second tomographic image reconstructed from the second projection data (Figures 1-2, a corrected second image is generated by using a high pass filter at 110 on image 108 reconstructed from the full scan [second tomographic image reconstructed from the second projection data], where a high pass filter reduces low-frequency components, see paragraph [0028].); and
an image synthesis unit that synthesizes the first image and the second corrected image (Figures 1-2, 118 the images at 104 and 116 [after 110] are synthesized.).
Nett et al. fail to teach that the image correction unit generates a first corrected image by reducing high-frequency components of a first tomographic image reconstructed from the first projection data.
Bippus et al. disclose an image correction unit that generates a first corrected image by reducing high-frequency components of a first tomographic image reconstructed from the first projection data and that generates a second corrected image by reducing low-frequency components of a second tomographic image reconstructed from the second projection data (Page 7, line 33 to page 8, line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the low pass filter teachings of Bippus et al. such that low pass and high pass filtering is performed on the half-scan and full-scan in Nett et al., respectively. The motivation to combine would have been in order to better reduce artifacts, thus improving the quality of the x-ray image (See Bippus et al., page 2, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 2, Nett et al. disclose an X-ray CT apparatus comprising:
a data acquisition unit that acquires first projection data corresponding to a first projection angle range and second projection data corresponding to a second projection angle range that is a projection angle range wider than the first projection angle range (Figure 1-2, 102 to 104 and 106, where the half/partial scan data is first projection data corresponding to a first projection angle range, and the full scan data is second projection data corresponding to a second projection angle range that is a projection angle range wider than the first projection angle range [full scan angle is wider than a partial scan angle].);
a data correction unit that generates first data of the first projection data (Figures 1-2 shows that the first data at 104 is generated from the partial scan data.) and that generates second corrected data by reducing low-frequency components of the second projection data (Figures 1-2, a corrected second data is generated by using a high pass filter at 110 on data 108, where a high pass filter reduces low-frequency components, see paragraph [0028].); and
a reconstruction unit that reconstructs a tomographic image from synthesized data obtained by synthesizing the first data and the second corrected data (Figures 1-2, 118 the data at 104 and 116 [after 110] are synthesized, thus reconstructing a tomographic image at 118.).
Nett et al. fail to teach that the data correction unit generates first corrected data by reducing high-frequency components of the first projection data.
Bippus et al. disclose an image correction unit that generates first corrected data by reducing high-frequency components of the first projection data and that generates second corrected data by reducing low-frequency components of the second projection data (Page 7, line 33 to page 8, line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the low pass filter teachings of Bippus et al. such that low pass and high pass filtering is performed on the half-scan and full-scan in Nett et al., respectively. The motivation to combine would have been in order to better reduce artifacts, thus improving the quality of the x-ray image (See Bippus et al., page 2, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 3, Nett et al. and Bippus et al. disclose the X-ray CT apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the data acquisition unit further acquires third projection data in which the first projection data is removed from the second projection data (Nett et al.: Figures 1-2, 108), and
the image correction unit generates the second corrected image by synthesizing a third tomographic image reconstructed from the third projection data and the first tomographic image (Nett et al.: Figures 1-2, 116).
Regarding claim 4, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang et al. (US 2016/0253818) disclose a method and apparatus for computed tomography wherein full-scan and half-scan data are used and individually filtered before being synthesized (Figure 12).
Zamyatin et al. (US 2006/0067457) disclose wherein ramp filtering, which removes low frequency, is used on a full scan (Figure 10B, 1003), whereas Hilbert-filtering is used on a half scan (Figure 10B, 1002), where paragraph [0035] states: “Hilbert-filtering, which is a low-frequency correction, helps reducing cone-beam artifacts.”
Zamyatin et al. (US 2016/0048983) discloses in paragraph [0039] that reducing cone-bean artifacts uses a low-pass filter, i.e. removing high frequency.
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
30 June 2026