DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burghoorn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/01966492; hereinafter referred to as Burghoorn.)
With respect to claim 1, Burghoorn discloses and illustrates a sensor device (1), comprising: a sensitive element including a first conductive layer (3) and a sensitive layer (4), wherein the first conductive layer includes at least two conductive units (2), the at least two conductive units are arranged in a distributed manner (see at least Figures 1A, 1B, and 2A), at least a portion of the sensitive layer is disposed between and in contact with the at least two conductive units (see at least Figures 1B and 2A), and a resistance value of the sensitive element changes in response to bending of the sensor device (see at least paragraph [0003]); and a substrate configured to carry the sensitive element (5), wherein microstructures are disposed on the sensitive layer, the microstructures including micropores or slits (see at least paragraph [0005]).
With respect to claim 2, the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer is disposed above the substrate (see at least Figures 1A, 1B, and 2A), and the sensitive layer is at least partially disposed above the first conductive layer (see at least Figures 1A, 1B, and 2A).
With respect to claim 3, the sensor device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first conductive layer is in a range of 1 µm-50 µm (see at least paragraph [0047]; if the height of the pocket containing these layers is between 5 to 50 microns, then the layers within that space, when they do not touch, would have to be smaller than that in order to fit inside that dimension).
With respect to claim 4, the sensor device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the sensitive layer is in a range of 1 µm-50 µm (see at least paragraph [0047]; if the height of the pocket containing these layers is between 5 to 50 microns, then the layers within that space, when they do not touch, would have to be smaller than that in order to fit inside that dimension).
With respect to claim 5, the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the sensitive layer includes a resistance paste, the resistance paste being formed by mixing conductive particles with a resin matrix (see at least paragraph [0057]).
With respect to claim 6, the sensor device of claim 1, wherein a diameter of each of the micropores is less than 30 µm, and a width of each of the slits is less than 10 µm (see at least paragraph [0047]; if the height of the pocket containing these micropores is between 5 to 50 microns, with a width of 1-2 cm, then the pores or slits within that space, would have to be smaller than that in order to fit inside that dimension. Further, Optimization would allow for the sizes as claimed.).
With respect to claim 7, the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the sensitive layer includes at least two sensitive units (see at least Figure 6A), the at least two conductive units including three or more conductive units (see at least Figure 6C), the at least two sensitive units and the three or more conductive units being spaced apart from each other and arranged in contact with each other (see at least Figures 1B, 2A, and 2B).
With respect to claim 8, the sensor device of claim 7, wherein the three or more conductive units have the same shape and area, and a spacing between any two adjacent conductive units of the three or more conductive units is equal (see at least Figures 1A, 1B, and 2A and see at least paragraph [0061])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-18 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burghoorn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pasch et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2006/0050028; hereinafter referred to as Pasch).
With respect to claim 9, Burghoorn discloses the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes a base layer and that are arranged from top to bottom (see at least Figures 1A, 1B, and 2A), a through hole being disposed on the base layer and configured to conduct the first conductive layer (see at least [paragraph [0031] that discloses connection through intermediate structures). Burghoorn fails to disclose a second conductive layer. Pasch teaches a first conductive layer (112 an 118, and a second conductive layer (114 and 116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the first and second conductive layers disclosed in Pasch with the device of Burghoorn so that there is a better aligned the sensor to ensure a better connection between the layers when they need to touch.
With respect to claim 10, Burghoorn in view of Pasch teaches the sensor device of claim 9, wherein a thickness of the base layer is in a range of 10 µm-500 µm. (see at least paragraph [0047] of Burghoorn; if the height of the pocket containing these layers is between 5 to 50 microns, then the layers within that space, when they do not touch, would have to be smaller than that in order to fit inside that dimension).
With respect to claim 11, Burghoorn fails to disclose the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the substrate includes an insulating layer, a second conductive layer, and a base layer that are arranged in sequence from top to bottom, a through hole being disposed on the insulating layer and configured to conduct the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer. However, Pasch teaches an insulating layer (see at least paragraph [0057] of Pasch), a second conductive layer (114 and 116 in Pasch), and holes in the device (see at least paragraph [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Pasch with the device of Burghoorn in order to provide for a better sensitivity of the sensor.
With respect to claim 12, the sensor device of claim 11, wherein a thickness of the insulating layer is in a range of 1 µm-100 µm is disclosed in Burghoorn (see at least paragraph [0047]; if the height of the pocket containing thee layers is between 5 to 50 microns, then the layers within that space, when they do not touch, would have to be smaller than that in order to fit inside that dimension).
With respect to claim 13, Burghoorn fails to disclose the sensor device of claim 1, further comprising: a protective layer configured to cover an outer surface of the sensor device to protect the sensor device. However, Pasch teaches a top membrane 506 that would cover the outer surface of the sensor device to protect it. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the membrane taught in Pasch with the device taught in Burghoorn in order to protect the device and thus make it a stronger sensor less likely to fail from stress during use.
With respect to claim 14, the sensor device of claim 13, wherein a thickness of the protective layer is less than 100 µm is disclosed in Burghoorn (see at least paragraph [0047]; if the height of the pocket containing thee layers is between 5 to 50 microns, then the layers within that space, when they do not touch, would have to be smaller than that in order to fit inside that dimension).
With respect to claim 15, Burghoorn fails to disclose the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the microstructures are arranged in an array on an upper surface and a lower surface of the sensitive layer. However, Pasch teaches slots that go through the device, thus causing features on the top and bottom surface (see at least the slots in figure 9 of Pasch). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the slot features taught in Pasch with the device of Burghoorn in order to allow a better performing sensor as it would allow the gas better paths of escape.
With respect to claim 16, Burghoorn fails to disclose the sensor device of claim 1, wherein the microstructures are arranged in an array that penetrate the sensitive layer from top to bottom. However, Pasch teaches slots that go through the device, thus causing features on the top and bottom surface (see at least the slots in figure 9 of Pasch). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the slot features taught in Pasch with the device of Burghoorn in order to allow a better performing sensor as it would allow the gas better paths of escape.
With respect to claim 17, Burghoorn fails to disclose he sensor device of claim 11, wherein the insulating layer further includes a second through hole, the second conductive layer further extends to a plane where the first conductive layer is located through the second through hole. However, Pasch teaches an insulating layer, that layer is lacquered onto another layer, which that other layer has via holes (see at least paragraph [0053] of Pasch. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Pasch with the device of Burghoorn in order to allow a better performing sensor as it would allow the gas better paths of escape.
With respect to claim 18, Burghoorn fails to disclose the sensor device of claim 1, wherein second microstructures are provided at a position of the substrate corresponding to the sensitive layer, and the second microstructures include micropores or slits. However, Pasch teaches first and second microstructures in at least Figure 9. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the features of Pasch with the device of Burghoorn in order to allow a better performing sensor as it would allow the gas better paths of escape.
Conclusion
RODNEY T. FRANK
Examiner
Art Unit 2855
September 28, 2026
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855