DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on March 10, 2025. Claims 1-2, 10-11 and 19-20 are amended; claims 7, 16, and 18 are canceled; claims 21-23 are newly added; and claims 1-6, 8-15, 17 and 19-23 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (U.S. 2019/0268348).
With regard to claim 1, Miller teaches a computer implemented method including:
generating, by a client system, a document request identifying a document and communicating the document request to a server system ([0026] The system and techniques described in the present disclosure may be, among other things, used and/or employed in systems for advertising, any meetings involving two or more people, conferences and events, broadcast television, information for tourist attractions, Product or service information, teaching, and information delivery);
receiving, by the client system, document data ([0029] Content creation), wherein the document data includes page data in respect of one or more document pages of the document ([abstract] The system interfaces with a database storing presentation content and a workspace; [0029] Content creation and updating module 204 enables a presenter to upload or create content of the media presentation, and to create a workspace associated with the media presentation. Content creation and updating module 204 also enables a user to add and edit annotations, comments, questions, etc. at the workspace);
displaying, by the client system on a display, a first page of the document and a first user interface control ([0018] the presentation content delivery can modify the one or more access policies to enable the audience to access a first portion of the presentation content while the first user is accessing a second portion of the presentation content; [0020] creating a copy of the workspace; providing the copy of the workspace for accessing by the audience device; selecting a first portion of the presentation content stored at the copy of the workspace for displaying at the audience device; [0023] enables a presenter to create a workspace associated with the media presentation. The workspace enables interaction between the presenter and the audience, before, during and/or after the presentation);
detecting, by the client system, a first user input activating the first user interface control ([abstract] The workspace stores the presentation content and additional content and storing one or more access policies and being associated with a first user; [0014] The URL can also be associated with another workspace designated by the first user);
in response to the first user input, generating, by the client system, a media data request ([abstract] A method for providing an interactive media presentation; [0022] FIG. 1 is a diagram showing at a high level system 100 for providing an interactive media presentation between a presenter device 102 to participant devices 104) and communicating the media data request to the server system ([0020] a method for providing an interactive media presentation, the method being implemented by a system interfacing with a database storing presentation content and a workspace, the workspace storing the presentation content and additional content and storing one or more access policies); and
receiving, by the client system, media data including audio and/or video data recorded during a recording of a presentation associated with the document ([0022] Content may also be created at the hosting system 106. The contents of the media presentation can include any media data, such as video, audio, text, pictures, polls, and other interactive content; [0024] In some embodiments, hosting system 106 also provides analytical data for assessing a quality of engagement between the presenter and the audience during the presentation. Hosting system 106 can extract data related to the media presentation, such as data collected during a live presentation (e.g., gestures and audio of the presenter); [0029] the workspace can store presentation content 302, additional content 304 (e.g., recorded video and audio data of the presentation from the side of the presenter and/or the side of the audience); [0034] Additional content 304 can include data about any content or event that is related to presentation content 302. For example, additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation), wherein the media data and the document data are usable by the client system to play the presentation ([0033] Presentation content module 220 also enables a user to embed content from external sources into the electronic file. The external sources includes but not limited video sharing websites (e.g., Youtube™ and Vimeo™), photo sharing websites, financial data, weather or any websites that provide contents. Presentation content module 220 also enables a user to create the electronic file. The presentation thus created can include slides, polls, and interactive slides that allow the audiences to the presentation to provide information during the presentation; [0056] communication module 240 also enables the audiences to transmit and broadcast audio data and video during a live presentation, to raise a question or add a comment; [0065] content creation option 506 enables a user to embed video from Youtube™. Content creation option 508 enables a user to create a poll (or other means for engaging with the audience) to create an interactive presentation).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches further including:
determining, by the client system, that the document is associated with the presentation ([0022] Content may also be created at the hosting system 106. The contents of the media presentation can include any media data, such as video, audio, text, pictures, polls, and other interactive content; [0024] In some embodiments, hosting system 106 also provides analytical data for assessing a quality of engagement between the presenter and the audience during the presentation. Hosting system 106 can extract data related to the media presentation, such as data collected during a live presentation (e.g., gestures and audio of the presenter); [0029] the workspace can store presentation content 302, additional content 304 (e.g., recorded video and audio data of the presentation from the side of the presenter and/or the side of the audience); [0034] Additional content 304 can include data about any content or event that is related to presentation content 302. For example, additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation); and
displaying the first user interface control in response to determining that the document is associated with the presentation ([0022] Presenter device 102 can transmit control data configured to control the flow of the media presentation, through network 110, to hosting system 106; [0024] provides analytical data for assessing a quality of engagement between the presenter and the audience during the presentation. Hosting system 106 can extract data related to the media presentation, such as data collected during a live presentation (e.g., gestures and audio of the presenter), comments about the presentation (from internal sources such as the associated workspace and external sources such as the Internet), etc.; [0029] Content creation and updating module 204 enables a presenter to upload or create content of the media presentation, and to create a workspace associated with the media presentation. Content creation and updating module 204 also enables a user to add and edit annotations, comments, questions, etc. at the workspace).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches further including:
receiving, by the client system, recorded interaction data defining one or more interactive events that occurred during the recording of the presentation associated with the document ([0029] the workspace can store presentation content 302, additional content 304 (e.g., recorded video and audio data of the presentation from the side of the presenter and/or the side of the audience); [0034] additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation… Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0042] the notes tool can also be configured to link the notes and annotations to a portion of the presentation content or the additional content (e.g., recorded video and audio)); and
determining, by the client system, that the document is associated with the presentation based on the receipt of the recorded interaction data ([0034] additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation. Additional content 304 can also include tags, annotations, questions, and comments which reflect the interaction between the presenter and the audiences (or a third party) related to the presentation. Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0042] the notes tool can also be configured to link the notes and annotations to a portion of the presentation content or the additional content (e.g., recorded video and audio), such that the user can navigate from a particular note or annotation to the associated portion of the presentation content or the additional content).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches further including:
receiving, by the client system, recorded interaction data defining one or more interactive events that occurred during the recording of the presentation associated with the document ([0029] the workspace can store presentation content 302, additional content 304 (e.g., recorded video and audio data of the presentation from the side of the presenter and/or the side of the audience); [0034] additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation… Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0042] the notes tool can also be configured to link the notes and annotations to a portion of the presentation content or the additional content (e.g., recorded video and audio)); and
playing, by the client system, the presentation using the document data, the media data, and the recorded interaction data ([0034] additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation. Additional content 304 can also include tags, annotations, questions, and comments which reflect the interaction between the presenter and the audiences (or a third party) related to the presentation. Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0042] the notes tool can also be configured to link the notes and annotations to a portion of the presentation content or the additional content (e.g., recorded video and audio), such that the user can navigate from a particular note or annotation to the associated portion of the presentation content or the additional content).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches wherein playing, by the client system, the presentation includes using the recorded interaction data to synchronise display of the one or more document pages with playback of the media data ([0034] additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation. Additional content 304 can also include tags, annotations, questions, and comments which reflect the interaction between the presenter and the audiences (or a third party) related to the presentation. Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0042] the notes tool can also be configured to link the notes and annotations to a portion of the presentation content or the additional content (e.g., recorded video and audio), such that the user can navigate from a particular note or annotation to the associated portion of the presentation content or the additional content).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches wherein:
for each interactive event the recorded interaction data defines event data and an event timestamp ([0034] Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0036] Workspace 300 also includes access history 306, which stores information about, for example, an identity of the user who accesses a particular copy of the workspace, a timestamp indicating when the user accesses that copy, etc.); and
synchronising the display of the one or more pages with the playback of the media data ([0034] additional content 304 can include audio and video content recorded before, during and/or after the delivery of the presentation. Additional content 304 can also include tags, annotations, questions, and comments which reflect the interaction between the presenter and the audiences (or a third party) related to the presentation. Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0042] the notes tool can also be configured to link the notes and annotations to a portion of the presentation content or the additional content (e.g., recorded video and audio), such that the user can navigate from a particular note or annotation to the associated portion of the presentation content or the additional content) is performed based on the interaction timestamps associated with one or more page navigation-type interactive events ([0034] Additional content 304 can also record an event (and the associated timestamp) of updating the presentation content; [0036] Workspace 300 also includes access history 306, which stores information about, for example, an identity of the user who accesses a particular copy of the workspace, a timestamp indicating when the user accesses that copy, etc.).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches wherein prior to detecting the first user input the method further includes:
displaying, by the client system on the display, a page transition control ([abstract] The system interfaces with a database storing presentation content and a workspace; [0029] Content creation and updating module 204 enables a presenter to upload or create content of the media presentation, and to create a workspace associated with the media presentation. Content creation and updating module 204 also enables a user to add and edit annotations, comments, questions, etc. at the workspace);
detecting, by the client system, a second user input activating the page transition control ([0018] the presentation content delivery can modify the one or more access policies to enable the audience to access a first portion of the presentation content while the first user is accessing a second portion of the presentation content; [0020] creating a copy of the workspace; providing the copy of the workspace for accessing by the audience device; selecting a first portion of the presentation content stored at the copy of the workspace for displaying at the audience device; [0023] enables a presenter to create a workspace associated with the media presentation. The workspace enables interaction between the presenter and the audience, before, during and/or after the presentation); and
in response to detecting the second user input, displaying a second page of the document on the display instead of the first page of the document ([0020] selecting a second portion of the presentation content for displaying based on the feedback information; [0077] Based on a result of the analysis by presentation analytics module 206, or the audience's response to the poll, presentation content delivery module 232 selects a second portion of the presentation content to be displayed in step 612…The second portion of the presentation content can also be selected based on the result of the analysis or the audience's response to the poll).
With regard to claim 9, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches wherein in response to detecting the first user input the method further includes hiding or disabling the page transition control ([0067] Activity option 532 enables a user to engage with other users through posting questions (by activating ask question option 540) or making comments (by activating make comment option 542). After activity option 532 is activated, an activity interface 538 can be displayed, and the user can type in questions or comments to be displayed in activity interface 538; the user would have to enable the control first).
With regard to claim 10, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 11, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 12, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 13, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 14, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 15, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 17, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 8, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 19, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 20, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 21, the limitations are addressed above and Miller teaches wherein the first user interface control is a play presentation control ([0033] Presentation content module 220 also enables a user to embed content from external sources into the electronic file. The external sources includes but not limited video sharing websites (e.g., Youtube™ and Vimeo™), photo sharing websites, financial data, weather or any websites that provide contents. Presentation content module 220 also enables a user to create the electronic file. The presentation thus created can include slides, polls, and interactive slides that allow the audiences to the presentation to provide information during the presentation; [0056] communication module 240 also enables the audiences to transmit and broadcast audio data and video during a live presentation, to raise a question or add a comment; [0065] content creation option 506 enables a user to embed video from Youtube™. Content creation option 508 enables a user to create a poll (or other means for engaging with the audience) to create an interactive presentation) and in response to the first user input the method further includes playing, by the client system, the presentation using the document data and the media data ([0022] Presenter device 102 can transmit control data configured to control the flow of the media presentation, through network 110, to hosting system 106; [0024] provides analytical data for assessing a quality of engagement between the presenter and the audience during the presentation. Hosting system 106 can extract data related to the media presentation, such as data collected during a live presentation (e.g., gestures and audio of the presenter), comments about the presentation (from internal sources such as the associated workspace and external sources such as the Internet), etc.; [0029] Content creation and updating module 204 enables a presenter to upload or create content of the media presentation, and to create a workspace associated with the media presentation. Content creation and updating module 204 also enables a user to add and edit annotations, comments, questions, etc. at the workspace).
With regard to claim 22, the system claim corresponds to the method claim 21, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 23, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 21, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Young (US Patent No. 10,708,337) teaches a method of controlling a computer presentation through a network such as the internet.
Vora (US 2022/0121352) teaches a system for controlling access to an online presentation including granting a controller status to a first user for a first slide during the online presentation
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171