DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-3 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “uphill road determination unit that determines – corresponding to element 162b in Fig. 2”, “determination unit that determines – corresponding to element 162c in Fig. 2”, “notification unit that notifies – corresponding to element 162f in Fig. 2”, “reception unit that receives– corresponding to element 162h in Fig. 2” and “a control unit that activates– corresponding to element 162g in Fig. 2” in claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Follen et al. (Follen; US 2017/0129492) in view of Eriksson et al. (Eriksson; US 2014/0200788).
For claim 1, Follen discloses a control device for a vehicle [E.g. 0019, 0021, 0023], comprising:
an uphill road determination unit that determines whether or not there is an uphill road continuing for a certain distance or more forward of the vehicle [E.g. 0037: The route grade signal 302 is provided to the section grade and surface classification module 230. A non-limiting example of the route grade signal 302 is illustrated in FIG. 4. The route grade signal 302 may contain data for an entire route the vehicle will be travelling during a route trip, 0039: The route grade sectioning module 316 receives the filtered route grade 314 and sections of the filtered route grade 314 into a route sections output 318 based on the filtered route grade 314 and a section length, or resolution, 0041: The surface classification module 324 receives the average grade 234 and determines a surface classification 232 for each route section. One non-limiting example of the surface classification 232 is illustrated in FIG. 5. An example surface classification module 324 determines the surface classification 232 for each route section based on each section grade and a classification threshold for each classification. In certain embodiments, each route section may be classified as one of the following surface classifications: an uphill surface, a downhill surface, and a flat surface. In one example non-limiting embodiment, the classification threshold may be a grade percentage. For example, when the section grade has a positive grade greater than an uphill surface percentage threshold, the route section may be classified as the uphill surface, when the section grade has a negative grade less than a downhill surface percentage threshold, the route section may be classified as the downhill surface, and when the section grade has a positive grade less than or equal to uphill surface percentage threshold or a negative grade greater than or equal to the downhill surface percentage threshold, the route section may be classified as the flat surface. In certain embodiments, it is contemplated that other thresholds may be used in addition to and/or alternatively to the grade percentage classification threshold, such as a hysteresis based threshold defined as a function of the current state, and/or determining a threshold using a search heuristic, such as a genetic algorithm, and/or adaptive control logic];
a determination unit that determines whether or not a reaching time or a reaching distance required for the vehicle to enter the uphill road from a present position is equal to or lower than a predetermined value [E.g. 0051: From operation 908, procedure 900 continues to procedure 910, where a current section and a next section are determined from the route sections determined at operation 906, 0031: speed mode determination module 240 may determine each section as being one of a cruise speed mode (i.e., return to or maintain a cruise speed that may be defined by the operator of the vehicle), a pre-uphill speedup speed mode (i.e., speed up before entering an upcoming uphill surface), an uphill slowdown speed mode (i.e., slow down during a hill surface), a pre-downhill slowdown speed mode (i.e., slow down before entering an upcoming downhill surface), and a downhill speedup speed mode (i.e., speed up during a downhill surface). 0043: The mode identification adjustment module 336 receives the average grade 234 and the speed mode output 334 as inputs to determine and output the vehicle speed mode 242 to allow for a pre-hill adjustment length, which may be applied to each route section; Notes; Follen discloses identifying the current section of a route and next section of a route and making a pre-hill adjustment (a proactive change of cruise speed) based on that information, it is implied that in order to do that a reaching distance to enter an uphill needs to be compared to some sort of a stored threshold]; and
a notification unit that notifies, when the reaching time or the reaching distance becomes equal to or lower than the predetermined value, a driver of a speed maintaining function of the vehicle [E.g. 0009, 0011, 0024, 0038].
Follen fails to expressly disclose notifying the driver of an activation proposal of activating a speed maintaining function of the vehicle.
However, as shown by Eriksson, it was well known in the art of vehicles to include notifying the driver of an activation proposal of activating a speed maintaining function of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles before
the effective filling date of the claimed invention modify Follen with the teaching of Eriksson in order to give the driver the ability to activate the speed maintaining function when needed so that the driver has more control over the vehicle and thereby enhance the overall driving experience, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results.
For claim 2, Eriksson further teaches a reception unit that receives a response of the driver with respect to the activation proposal, wherein the notification unit ends notification of the activation proposal when the reception unit receives the response indicating refusal of the activation proposal [E.g. 0009, 0011, 0024, 0038], when the vehicle has entered the uphill road without reception of the response by the reception unit, or when a certain time has elapsed without reception of the response by the reception unit.
For claim 3, Eriksson further teaches a reception unit that receives a response of the driver with respect to the activation proposal; and a control unit that activates the speed maintaining function when the reception unit receives the response indicating acceptance of the activation proposal [E.g. 0009, 0011, 0024, 0038].
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689