DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant should note that the large number of references in the attached IDS have been considered by the examiner in the same manner as other documents in Office search files are considered by the examiner while conducting a search of the prior art in a proper field of search. See MPEP 609.05(b). Applicant is requested to point out any particular references in the IDS which they believe may be of particular relevance to the instant claimed invention in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18 and 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thirstrup et al (U.S. 8,398,603). Thirstrup discloses (Figs. 8a-b) a memory (col. 17, line 65-col. 18, line 25); a processor coupled to the memory; and an interface, coupled to the processor, configured to communicate with one or more devices of the ostomy system, the one or more devices comprising a monitor device coupled to an ostomy appliance, wherein the ostomy appliance is configured to be placed on a skin surface of a user (Fig. 1a; 2) ; wherein the interface is configured to obtain monitor data from the monitor device, the monitor data being indicative of adhesion condition of the ostomy appliance to the skin surface (“A leak detected by the reader 109 transmits the signal to an event-handling device 103 using short-range wireless communication.”); wherein the processor is configured to determine an operating state of the ostomy appliance based on the obtained monitor data, wherein the operating state is indicative of adhesive performance of the ostomy appliance (col. 10, lines 26-38); wherein the memory is configured to store the monitor data and/or the operating state; and wherein the processor is further configured to generate a visual indicator of the operating state of the ostomy appliance for presentation to the user via a user interface.
Regarding claim 21, Thirstrup discloses (col. 9, lines 3-23) the adhesion condition of the ostomy appliance is indicative of a moisture level of an adhesive layer of a base plate of the ostomy appliance.
Regarding claim 22, Thirstrup discloses (col. 10, lines 39-67) the monitor data corresponds to an electrical property of the adhesive layer measured by a plurality of electrodes of the base plate.
Regarding claim 23, Thirstrup discloses (col. 4, lines 43-58) the electrical property is at least capacitance measured between the plurality of electrodes.
Regarding claim 24, Thirstrup discloses (col. 4, lines 43-58) the electrical property is a change of at least capacitance measured between the plurality of electrodes.
Regarding claim 25, Thirstrup discloses (col. 5, lines 56-61) the monitor data corresponds to a sensing zone of the ostomy appliance.
Regarding claim 26, Thirstrup discloses (col. 15, lines 1-21) determining the operating state of the ostomy appliance comprises determining a moisture pattern type from a set of moisture pattern types based on the monitor data; and the visual indicator comprises a graphical representation of the determined moisture pattern type.
Regarding claim 27, Thirstrup discloses (col. 15, lines 1-21) processing the monitor data based on one or more criteria to identify the determined moisture pattern type from the set of moisture pattern types.
Regarding claim 28, Thirstrup discloses (Fig. 8a-b) at least one processor (col. 17, line 65-col. 18, line 25); a communication interface communicably coupled to the at least one processor and operable to communicate with a monitor device of an ostomy system; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the accessory device to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising: obtaining, via the communication interface from the monitor device, monitor data indicative of an adhesion condition of a base plate of the ostomy system to a skin surface of a user (Fig. 1a; 2); determining an operating state of the base plate based on the obtained monitor data, wherein the operating state is indicative of adhesive performance of the base plate (“A leak detected by the reader 109 transmits the signal to an event-handling device 103 using short-range wireless communication.”); and presenting a graphical representation of the operating state to the user via a user interface of the accessory device.
Regarding claim 29, Thirstrup discloses (col. 5, lines 12-20) the accessory device is at least a wearable device.
Regarding claim 30, Thirstrup discloses (Figs. 8a-b) the accessory device is a docking device of the ostomy system configured to charge the monitor device.
Regarding claim 31, Thirstrup discloses (Figs. 8a-b) transmitting an indication of at least one of the monitor data or the determined operating state to a server device of the ostomy system.
Regarding claim 32, Thirstrup discloses (col. 5, lines 56-61) the monitor data corresponds to a sensing zone of the base plate.
Regarding claim 33, Thirstrup discloses (col. 15, lines 1-21) determining, based on the monitor data and from a set of moisture pattern types, a moisture pattern type that relates to the sensing zone of the base plate; and the graphical representation comprises a graphical representation of the sensing zone of the base plate according to the determined moisture pattern type.
Regarding claim 34, Thirstrup discloses (col. 4, lines 43-58) the monitor data corresponds to an electrical property of an adhesive layer of the base plate, the electrical property corresponding to at least one of a resistance, a capacitance, or an inductance as measured between a plurality of electrodes of the base plate.
Regarding claim 35, Thirstrup discloses (col. 17, line 65-col. 18, line 25) obtaining, via a communication interface of the accessory device and from a monitor device of an ostomy system, monitor data indicative of an adhesion condition of a base plate of the ostomy system to a skin surface of a user; determining an operating state of the base plate based on the obtained monitor data, wherein the operating state comprises a wear property that is indicative of adhesive performance of the base plate; and presenting a visual indication of the operating state to the user via a user interface of the accessory device, wherein the visual indication comprises a graphical representation of a sensing zone of the base plate according to the wear property.
Regarding claim 36, Thirstrup discloses (col. 15, lines 1-21) determining, based on the monitor data and from a set of moisture pattern types, a moisture pattern type that relates to the sensing zone of the base plate.
Regarding claim 37, Thirstrup discloses (col. 5, lines 56-61) the monitor data comprises a first instance of monitor data that corresponds to the sensing zone of the base plate and a second instance of monitor data that corresponds to a different sensing zone of the base plate.
Regarding claim 38, Thirstrup discloses (Fig. 8a-8b) transmitting an indication of at least one of the monitor data or the determined operating state to a server device of the ostomy system
Regarding claim 39, Thirstrup discloses (col. 5, lines 12-20) the accessory device is at least a handheld device.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792