DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “separate printed circuit board electrically connected to the exposed portion of some of the fingers” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The separate printed circuit board referenced with number 200 does not touch the exposed portions of the fingers in for example figures 2 & 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant cited Zaderej et al (WO2018/009554)1 in view of Takiar et al (US2012/0164828).
A smart connector (¶0077 “Smart High or Low-Side Power Switches”) comprising:
an Application Specific Electronics Packaging device (¶0044 “manufactured using an Application Specific Electronics Packaging ("ASEP") system and method”, component 10) comprising a plurality of fingers (e.g.: 34, 56, 134, 234, 256, 334 and others), a substrate overmolded (Abstract sentences 6 & 7) onto the fingers (figures 7 & 8 fingers 357, 358 molded into 390, 338 & 396), the substrate having a plurality of openings provided therethrough forming exposed portions of the fingers (¶0012 “each lead frame defining an opening and having at least one finger which extends into the opening”, ¶0047 next to last sentence), electroplated traces (“electroplating process not only electroplates the traces 46/conductive traces 48 to form electronic circuit traces 50”) on the substrate which are electrically coupled to the exposed portions (figures 2, 2C/D/E/F), and at least one electrical component mounted on the substrate and electrically coupled to the traces (figures 2I at 86); and
a separate printed circuit board electrically connected to the exposed portion of some of the fingers of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device, the separate printed circuit board having electrical components configured to control functionality of the at least one electrical component of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device or having electrical components configured to modify properties of the at least one electrical component of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device.
Zaderej does not disclose the separate PCB connected to exposed portions of some of the fingers.
Takiar discloses a separate printed circuit board (circuit board stacking in figures 4, 5 & 16, ¶0044 1st sentence, ¶0049 “stacked”) electrically connected to the exposed portion of some of the fingers (114) of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device (Zaderej discloses the ASEP), the separate printed circuit board having electrical components (¶0051 2nd sentence) configured to control functionality of the at least one electrical component of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device (¶0007 ¶0021 used to control “host” devices) or having electrical components configured to modify properties of the at least one electrical component of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device.
At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the electrical connector art to upgrade the capacity of the ASEP device of Zaderej by stacking another PCB onto the die and fingers of Zaderej as taught by Takiar. An advantage for this combination would be to enable high-density, compact designs, that reduces electromagnetic interference (EMI), and improves overall signal integrity. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale A; combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 6 Zaderej discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one electrical component on the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device comprises a field effect transistor (¶0077).
Claim 7 Zaderej discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 6, wherein the at least one electrical component of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device further comprises a current sensor (¶0044).
Claim 8 Zaderej discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, further comprising a housing (375) in which the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device and the printed circuit board are mounted (fig. 9).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaderej et al (WO2018/009554) in view of Takiar et al (US2012/0164828).
Neither Zaderej nor Takiar disclose that the separate printed circuit board is replaceable by another circuit board.
At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill to replace or change out the circuit board of Zaderej/Takiar with another circuit board. A motivation for this would be to replace a faulty board.
This combination follows the KSR case law rationale B; simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaderej et al (WO2018/009554) in view of Takiar et al (US2012/0164828).
Zaderej discloses that the ASEP device comprises an FET (¶0077). There is no disclosure in either Zaderej or Takiar that the components on the separate PCB comprise a micro controller and a communication protocol.
At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill to include components on the PCB like a micro controller and a communication protocol. The motivation for this combination would be to increase functionality of the device. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaderej et al (WO2018/009554) in view of Takiar et al (US2012/0164828).
Zaderej does not disclose that the at least one electrical component on the ASEP device comprises a communication frontend device like an RJ connector. Takiar does not disclose that the electrical components on the separate printed circuit board comprises a micro controller unit.
At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill to include well known components on either or both the ASEP device or the separate PCB. A motivation for this would be to increase functionality of the invention by allowing it to be used in various situations.
This combination follows the KSR case law rationale B; simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaderej et al (WO2018/009554) in view of Takiar et al (US2012/0164828).
Zaderej does not disclose that the ASEP device comprises a motor driver. There is also no disclosure in either Zaderej or Takiar that the components on the separate PCB comprise a micro controller and a communication protocol.
At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill to include components on the PCB like a motor driver and on the separate PCB a micro controller and a communication protocol. The motivation for this combination would be to increase functionality of the device. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zaderej et al (WO2018/009554) in view of Takiar et al (US2012/0164828).
Neither Zaderej nor Takiar disclose a plurality of ASEP devices are electrically connected to the printed circuit board.
At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill to connect a plurality of ASEP devices to the printed circuit board. A motivation for this combination would be to increase functionality of the device. Long standing case law has stated that it has been held that a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658
1 This reference was published one year and 11 days before the earliest priority date of the instant application. This reference has common inventors and assignee.