DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new grounds resulted from the art submitted by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed by the applicant on 7/13/2026, before filing of the final rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “connected to the exposed portion of some [emphasis added] of the plurality of fingers” of new claim 10 (component 200 has been identified as the separate printed circuit board) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over newly submitted art by applicant1 Takakusaki et al (US2009/0135572) in view of Johnson et al (US6243654) and further in view of applicant admitted prior art (AAPA)2.
A smart connector comprising:
an Application Specific Electronics Packaging device comprising a plurality of fingers (25, 25A/B/C), a substrate (14) overmolded onto the plurality of fingers (fig. 2A), the substrate having a plurality of openings provided therethrough forming exposed portions of the plurality of fingers (figures 2A, 5A or 6), electroplated traces (13A/B/C) on the substrate which are electrically coupled to the exposed portions (fig. 1B), and at least one electrical component mounted on the substrate and electrically coupled to the traces (fig. 1B 15A/B/C and various unnumbered components); and
a separate printed circuit board (0024 “this embodiment includes multiple circuit boards 11A, 11B, and 11C”) electrically connected to the exposed portion of some of the plurality of fingers (fig. 2A) of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device, the separate printed circuit board having electrical components (17, 18) configured to control functionality of the at least one electrical component (“metal wire”, “pads”) of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device or having electrical components configured to modify properties of the at least one electrical component of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device.
Takakusaki does not disclose that the connector is a smart connector comprising an application specific electronics packaging (ASEP).
Johnson discloses an electrical connector that is a smart connector (Title of invention and Field of Invention). At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in the electrical connector art to change the electrical connector of Takakusaki to a smart electrical connector as taught by Johnson. An advantage for this combination would be to enable high-density, compact designs, that reduces electromagnetic interference (EMI), and improves overall signal integrity. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Neither Takakusaki nor Johnson disclose that the smart connector is an application specific electronics packaging (ASEP) device.
The applicant’s own admitted prior art (throughout DESCRIPTION OF RELATED ART paragraphs 0002 to 0008) discloses a smart connector being an application specific electronics packaging device. At the time the invention was made it would have been well known to one of ordinary skill in this art to design the smart connector of Takakusaki in view of Johnson as an ASEP device. A motivation for making the connector of Takakusaki in view of Johnson an application specific electronic package to use a proven design that provides size reduction, weight savings, harsh environment durability and it integrates multiple components into a single tailored unit. This combination follows the KSR case law rationale C; use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Claim 2 modified Takakusaki discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, wherein the separate printed circuit board is replaceable by another circuit board (circuit board could be removed in for example figures).
Claim 6 Takakusaki discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, wherein the at least one electrical component on the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device comprises a field effect transistor (0031 last sentence).
Claim 8 Takakusaki discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, further comprising a housing (22A/B or 108) in which the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device and the printed circuit board are mounted (figures 5A & 6).
Claim 9 Takakusaki discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, further comprising a plurality of Application Specific Electronics Packaging devices electrically connected to the printed circuit board (figures 1B, 3A/B, 4A & 5B).
Claim 10 Takakusaki discloses the smart connector as defined in claim 1, wherein the separate printed circuit board is electrically connected to the exposed portion of some of the plurality of fingers of the Application Specific Electronics Packaging device through respective ones of the plurality of openings in the substrate overmolded onto the plurality of fingers (figures 2A, 3A, 4A, 5A & 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658
1 IDS submitted 7/13/2026 after last office action.
2 See MPEP 2129.