DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (JP 2011185288 A) in view of Ikawa et al. (US 20180135724 A1) and further in view of Nozaki (US 20190291561 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Okamura discloses a vibration isolation unit (vibration isolator 10) comprising:
a vibration isolation device (anti-vibration device main body 18) including a shaft-like inner member (inner cylinder 12), a tubular outer member (outer cylinder 14), and a vibration isolation base made of an elastic material (main rubber portion 16) and connecting an outer peripheral surface of the inner member (12) and an inner peripheral surface of the outer member (14) (see ¶¶ 0012-15, and Figs. 4-6), the inner member (12) or the outer member being provided with a first projection (shaft-like portion 24) (see ¶ 0014, and Figs. 4-5);
a stopper made of an elastic material (stopper rubber member 20) and having a first attachment hole (opening hole 30) through which the first projection (shaft-like portion 24) is inserted (see ¶¶ 0016-17, and Figs. 7-8).
Okamura does not expressly disclose a first fixing member larger than the first attachment hole and attached to an end of the first projection to fix the stopper to the vibration isolation device, wherein the stopper is sandwiched between the first fixing member and the inner member or the outer member having the first projection.
Ikawa teaches a stopper made of an elastic material (stopper rubber 80) having a hook portion (87) with a rectangular hole through which a protrusion (38) of a connecting member (30) is inserted (see Ikawa, ¶¶ 0038, 0064, 0071-72, and Figs. 6A-6C, 8A-8B, 9A-9C). Ikawa further teaches that the hook portion (87) is sandwiched between the connecting member (30) and an upright portion (42) of a first attached member (40), thereby restraining the hook portion (87) from moving in the disengagement direction and coming off the protrusion (38) (see Ikawa, ¶¶ 0096-97, and Figs. 12B-12C).
Nozaki further teaches an enlarged retention portion (large-diameter portion of detent 58) provided on a projecting mounting structure (mounting leg 52 including neck 56) and larger than a corresponding hole (mounting hole 54). The enlarged retention portion engages the peripheral edge of the hole to resist dislodgment while maintaining assembly workability (see Nozaki, ¶¶ 0066-67, 0072-73, and Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach an enlarged end fixing member to Okamura’s shaft-like portion 24 and dimension the fixing member larger than opening hole 30, applying Ikawa's projection through hole and sandwich-retention arrangement and Nozaki’s enlarged end-retention feature, in order to prevent stopper rubber member 20 from detaching or moving during handling and service vibration and to maintain the stopper in intimate contact at the stopper interface, thereby securely retaining the stopper without adhesive and preserving its ability to reduce impact, noise, and vibration (see Okamura, ¶¶ 0006-7, Nozaki, ¶¶ 0060, 0067).
Regarding claim 2, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 1.
Okamura does not expressly disclose wherein, in a portion where the stopper is sandwiched between the first fixing member and the inner member or the outer member having the first projection, a distance between the first fixing member and the inner member or the outer member is equal to a thickness of the stopper in a no-load state.
Nozaki teaches an axial retaining dimension (axial length L of neck 56) approximately equal to the thickness of a retained member (stopper part 40). Nozaki further teaches making the length of neck 56 equal to or slightly shorter than the length of mounting hole 54 to avoid a gap and provide intimate abutment in the mounted state (Nozaki, ¶¶ 0068-69, and Fig. 6).
Nozaki’s elastic mounting leg 52 extends from rubber stopper 10 and is inserted through mounting hole 54 of rigid stopper part 40, which is the reverse of the claimed arrangement. Nozaki is relied upon for the approximately equal axial retaining dimension, not as expressly disclosing the claimed structural orientation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Nozaki’s approximately equal axial retaining dimension to the sandwich-retention arrangement established by Okamura and Ikawa by setting the axial spacing between inner cylinder 12 and the enlarged end fixing member equal to the no-load thickness of stopper rubber member 20, in order to balance attachment workability and detaining action while avoiding a gap, thereby retaining stopper rubber member 20 in intimate contact with vibration isolation device and resisting movement (Nozaki, ¶¶ 0068-69).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (JP 2011185288 A) in view of Ikawa et al. (US 20180135724 A1) and further in view of Nozaki (US 20190291561 A1) and Okado et al. (JP 2013072534 A).
Regarding claim 3, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 1.
Okamura does not expressly disclose wherein the first fixing member is a mass member for adjusting a resonance frequency of the inner member or the outer member having the first projection.
Okado teaches providing a rigid member of a vibration isolator (stopper member 60) with a mass member (mass member 74) whose mass is selected to shift the natural frequency of stopper member 60 and engine mount 10 away from the frequency of input vibration, thereby preventing vibration amplification caused by resonance. Okado further recognizes that bolting a separate mass can increase the number of components and that welding the mass can complicate assembly (Okado, ¶¶ 0004, 0047, and Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first fixing member attached to shaft-like portion 24 to have a selected mass and function as a mass member, in order to adjust the resonance frequency of inner cylinder 12 away from the frequency of input vibration while avoiding a separate tuning mass and its associated attachment structure, thereby suppressing vibration amplification caused by resonance without increasing the number of components (Okado, ¶¶ 0004, 0047).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (JP 2011185288 A) in view of Ikawa et al. (US 20180135724 A1) and further in view of Nozaki (US 20190291561 A1) and Miyake et al. (JP 2012087894 A).
Regarding claim 4, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 1.
Okamura does not expressly disclose wherein the stopper includes a peripheral surface portion that covers a part of an outer peripheral surface of the outer member in a circumferential direction and that has the first attachment hole, and the first projection protrudes from the outer peripheral surface of the outer member.
Miyake teaches a separate stopper made of an elastic material (stopper rubber 11) including a peripheral surface portion (51) held against an outer side surface (mounting base portion 3c) of a casing portion (3a). Upper and lower stopper mounting portions (61 and 71) extend radially inward from the upper and lower edges of stopper main body 51 to provide the stopper with a substantially U-shaped cross-section and sandwich casting portion 3a in the axial direction (Miyake, ¶ 0048, and Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Okamura’s stopper rubber member 20 with a peripheral surface portion corresponding to Miyake’s stopper main body 51 that extends partially in the circumferential direction over the outer peripheral surface of outer cylinder 14 and to provide the previously established projection through hole and enlarged fixing-member arrangement at the interface, with the first attachment hole formed in peripheral surface portion and the first projection protruding from the outer peripheral surface of outer cylinder 14, in order to firmly retain the stopper against the outer cylinder at the interface where separation, contact and rubbing could occur, thereby preventing stopper movement and suppressing abnormal noise (Miyake, ¶¶ 0053-54).
Regarding claim 5, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 4, wherein the stopper includes a pair of end surface portions (upper and lower stopper mounting portions 61 and 71) protruding radially inward from edges of the peripheral surface portion (upper and lower edges of stopper main body 51) in an axial direction and covering parts of end surfaces of the outer member (axial end surfaces of outer cylinder 14 in the modified Okamura unit) in the axial direction (see Miyake, ¶ 0048 and Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 4.
Okamura does not expressly disclose wherein the stopper has the first attachment hole at one end thereof in the circumferential direction and a second attachment hole at the other end thereof in the circumferential direction, a second projection inserted through the second attachment hole protrudes from the outer peripheral surface of the outer member, and a second fixing member larger than the second attachment hole is attached to an end of the second projection to fix a side of the stopper having the second attachment hole to the outer member.
Nozaki teaches securing a separately formed rubber stopper (rubber stopper 10) includes a pair of mounting legs 52 positioned at opposite portions of a stopper main body 48 in its lengthwise direction (Nozaki, ¶¶ 0064-65). Nozaki teaches that the opposed mounting legs efficiently position and hold the stopper against a load acting in the planar direction of the stopper main body (Nozaki, ¶ 0024). Nozaki's mounting legs project from the rubber stopper and pass through holes in a rigid member, which is the reverse of the claimed arrangement. Nozaki is relied upon for using opposed retention points, while the projection through rubber hole and enlarged fixing member arrangement is supplied by the modification previously established for claims 1 and 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Nozaki’s opposed-retention point arrangement to the stopper of Okamura by using the previously established projection through hole and enlarged fixing member arrangement at both circumferential movement and rotation of the stopper, thereby maintaining the stopper against outer cylinder 14 and suppressing separation and contact noise (Nozaki, ¶¶ 0023-24; Miyake, ¶¶ 0053-54).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (JP 2011185288 A) in view of Ikawa et al. (US 20180135724 A1) and further in view of Nozaki (US 20190291561 A1) and Miyake et al. (JP 2012087894 A), and Kanaya et al. (US 20090026675 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 6, and further discloses the first attachment hole (rectangular hole of hook portion 87) (Ikawa, ¶¶ 0064, 0071-72) is provided at one end of the peripheral surface portion (stopper main body 51) (Miyake, ¶ 0048) in the circumferential direction thereof, as established by the modifications of claims 4 and 6.
Okamura does not expressly disclose the stopper includes: a pair of circumferentially extending portions extending from the peripheral surface portion toward the other end in the circumferential direction and separated from each other in the axial direction of the outer member; and a pair of axially extending portions extending between the pair of circumferentially extending portions and separated from each other in the circumferential direction, and a portion enclosed by the pair of circumferentially extending portions and the pair of axially extending portions is the second attachment hole.
Kanaya teaches a rubber-elastic cover (heat insulator 20) having an integral structure including a pair of opposed mating plate portions (60) connected by a center connector plate portions (48) and a pair of outside connector plate portions (50) extending between the mating plate portions. Each rectangular opening (lightening hole 72) is bounded by the center connector plate portion (48), one outside connector plate portion (50), and intervening sections of the pair of mating plate portions (60) (Kanaya, ¶¶ 0058, 0061, 0064, 0069). Kanaya further teaches that hook portions (64 and 66) elastically deform during installation and thereafter clasp support panel portions (38) between vertical wall portions (70) of the hook portions and the mating plate portions (60), whereby the heat insulator (20) is securely supported (Kanaya, ¶¶ 0016, 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Kanaya’s integral four-sided rubber structure to the second attachment region previously established for claim 6, orienting the opposed mating-plate portions to extend circumferentially and the connector-plate portions to extend axially so that the four portions surround the existing second attachment hole. Kanaya teaches that integrally formed rubber attachment structures elastically deform to facilitate installation and thereafter securely support the rubber cover. Applying that structure at the existing second projection and hole interface would predictably provide a one-piece elastic attachment region that facilitates insertion of the second projection while securely retaining the stopper against outer cylinder 14 (Kanaya, ¶¶ 0016, 0071).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okamura et al. (JP 2011185288 A) in view of Ikawa et al. (US 20180135724 A1) and further in view of Nozaki (US 20190291561 A1) and Miyake et al. (JP 2012087894 A), and Okado et al. (JP 2013072534 A).
Regarding claim 8, Okamura as modified discloses the vibration isolation unit according to claim 6.
Okamura does not expressly disclose wherein the second fixing member is a mass member for adjusting a resonance frequency of the outer member.
Okado teaches providing a rigid member of a vibration isolator (stopper member 60) with a mass member (74) whose mass is selected to shift natural frequency of stopper member 60 and engine mount 10 away from the frequency of input vibration, thereby preventing vibration amplification caused by resonance (Okado, ¶ 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second fixing member attached to the second projection on outer cylinder 14 to have a selected mass and function as a mass member, in order to adjust the resonance frequency of outer cylinder 14 away from the frequency of input vibration while using the existing stopper retention member as the tuning mass, thereby suppressing vibration amplification caused by resonance without requiring a separate mass component (Okado, ¶ 0047).
Conclusion
/K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616