DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 16-18 rejected under 35 USC § 101.
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 10, and 16
Step 2A, Prong One. Claims 1, 10, and 16 recite acquiring a current overload or underload state, requiring a shorter overload detection cycle than underload detection cycle, and performing processing based on that state. The inequality between qualification intervals is a mathematical relationship expressed in words. The load assessment also encompasses mental observation and judgment. An administrator can assess reported load over a shorter period for overload and a longer period for underload. No required data volume, observation count or evaluation speed prevents that assessment from being performed mentally. The acquired state may be also supplied without calculation. These limitations recite mathematical concepts and mental processes under MPEP §2106.04(a)(2), subsections I.A and III.
Step 2A, Prong Two. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. State acquisition supplies input, and the target server identifies the computing environment and object of the response. Claim 10 adda processor and instruction memory, while claim 16 adds a tangible medium containing instructions executed by an electronic device. These component implement the recited procedure.
The limitation “performing overload processing or underload processing on the target server based on the load state” requires a responsive function but does not specify the operation accomplishing it. The OR permits either alternative and does not request a sequence of load reduction and restoration. The unequal intervals constrain the assessment, but leave its technical application as a general instruction to perform load processing. Considered as a whole, the claims specify assessment criteria and a general responsive function without identifying a particular technical operation that applies the assessment. MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.05(f), 2106.05(g), and 2106.05(h).
Step 2B. The claims do not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In claims 10 and 16, instruction storage and retrieval correspond to “Storing and retrieving information in memory,” identified in MPEP § 2106.05(d), subsection II, computer functions item iv. These disclosures support the ordinary implementation functions under MPEP § 2106.07(a), subsection III.
Considered together, the additional elements obtain the state and implement an unspecified response using those computing functions. They supply no particular technical arrangement beyond applying the assessment. The unequal intervals define the assessment relationship, while the general processing instruction adds no inventive implementation. Accordingly, the ordered combination does not supply significantly more. MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Claims 2 and 11
Claims 2 and 11 add acquisition of cluster and individual load rates and an overload determination when either exceeds its threshold during the overload detection cycle. A person can compare supplied values and apply this OR rule mentally. The acquisitions provide inputs without requiring calculation of the average or a particular measurement technique. Together with the inherited limitations, these additions refine the assessment without specifying its technical application or adding significantly more. MPEP §§ 2106.04(a)(2), 21016.05(f), and 2106.05(g).
Claims 3 and 12
Claims 3 and 12 add an AND test during the underload detection cycle, with both rates below recovery threshold that are strictly below their corresponding overload thresholds. These mentally practicable comparisons, combined with the inherited upper OR rule and unequal intervals, define more restrictive recovery criteria. The leave the responsive server operation unspecified and therefore provide neither practical integration nor significantly more. MPEP §§ 2106.04(a)(2) and 2106.05(f).
Claim 17
Claim 17 adds recipient acquisition, multimedia transmission, and the upper OR test discussed for claims 2 and 11. Recipient acquisition identifies a destination, and transmission does not require any load responsive change to the stream. Specification paragraphs 0079 and 0116 describe stream forwarding and ordinary network communication, corresponding to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network” in MPEP § 2106.05(d), subsection II, computer function item i. Combined with claim 16, these additions place the assessment in a streaming environment without a particular technical application or inventive arrangement. MPEP §§ 2106.05(f), 2106.05(h), and 2106.07(a).
Claim 18
Claims 18 adds the lower AND test and threshold ordering discussed for claims 3 and 12. Applied to the complete combination inherited from claim 17, these comparisons further constrain the assessment but require no change to the transmitted stream or other specified server operation. They therefore provide neither practical integration nor significantly more. MPEP §§ 2106.04(a)(2) and 2106.05(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2021/0160155 A1 (hereinafter WRIGHT), in view of Jaska et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2015/0016253 A1 (hereinafter JASKA).
Claim 1
WRIGHT discloses a method for load processing. ¶ 0077: Load management instructions encoded on a readable medium cause the computing device to perform the method.
WRIGHT discloses acquiring a load state that is current for a target server, wherein the load state comprises an overload state or an underload state. ¶ 0360: The system identifies an overloaded volume server and “underutilized volume servers”. ¶ 0079: The performance manager can use information local to the particular volume server performing the management.
WRIGHT discloses performing overload processing or underload processing on the target server based on the load state. ¶ 0350: High load restricts client operations near their minimum rate. Low load permits bursts above the ordinary maximum. ¶ 0136: The controller changes the client command window or the amount of data serviced at a time.
WRIGHT does not expressly disclose an overload detection cycle corresponding to the overload state is less than an underload detection cycle corresponding to the underload state.
JASKA discloses an overload detection cycle corresponding to the overload state is less than an underload detection cycle corresponding to the underload state. ¶ 0034: The controller can restrict on detecting congestion and “wait for a preset delay before expanding pipes” when spare capacity appears. Restriction can follow congestion detection while expansion waits. ¶ 0028: A congestion change can be detected based on its persisting “for more than some amount of time.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load state qualification of WRIGHT to incorporate the duration based detection and asymmetric recovery wait taught by JASKA. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that recovery wait into WRIGHT, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce repeated restriction and release of client traffic by retaining the restriction while spare capacity is confirmed, as inferred from JASKA at ¶¶ 0028, 0034.
Claim 4
WRIGHT discloses acquiring an accessor that accesses to the target server. ¶ 0061: The client identifies itself, names the volume and connects directly to the responsible volume server. ¶ 0068: The target returns read data to clients and recognizes video and audio as data types.
JASKA discloses sending a multimedia data stream to the accessor. ¶ 0027: A streaming service delivers the same video to a subscriber at selectable bitrates.
JASKA discloses performing a hierarchical degradation strategy on the multimedia data stream in response to the target server being in the overload state, wherein the hierarchical degradation strategy is used to gradually reduce data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream. ¶ 0034: Continuing congestion can trigger another incremental reduction on the same selected stream. ¶ 0032: A stream may move from Best to Better and then to Good. ¶ 0035: Reduced available throughput can cause the content source to lower the bitrate of the communicated media.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the client bandwidth control of WRIGHT to incorporate the staged adjustment of adaptive media throughput taught by JASKA. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that staged adjustment into WRIGHT, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to relieve congestion while preserving ongoing video playback and other client traffic by lowering adaptive streams to supported quality levels, as taught by JASKA at ¶¶ 0027, 0033.
Claim 5
JASKA discloses performing hierarchical degradation strategy fallback on the multimedia data stream in response to the target server being in the underload state, wherein the hierarchical degradation strategy fallback is used to gradually increase the data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream. ¶ 0034: When spare capacity appears, the controller can expand the same previously restricted stream in successive increments. ¶ 0035: Expansion can cause the source to increase the quality of the communicated media.
Claim 6
JASKA discloses wherein the hierarchical degradation strategy comprises a plurality of levels. ¶ 0032: The policy uses a “plurality of predefined throughput levels”.
JASKA discloses reducing the data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream level by level based on the plurality of levels included in the hierarchical degradation strategy.¶ 0032: One embodiment moves the stream down one adjacent level at a time. ¶ 0034: A further congestion check can trigger a further reduction.
Claim 7
JASKA discloses acquiring an accessor category corresponding to the accessor. ¶ 0029: The subscriber terminal is associated with a shaping policy that may depend on subscription level or device capabilities. ¶ 0031: The controller identifies subscribers exceeding their assigned throughput.
JASKA discloses reducing the data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream based on the accessor category. ¶ 0031: Streams to those subscribers can be restricted first, faster or to a greater extent.
Claim 8
JASKA discloses increasing a level of the hierarchical degradation strategy in response to the load state being the overload state. ¶ 0034: If congestion persists, the controller can restrict the identified stream again. ¶ 0032: The controller can move to the next lower throughput level.
JASKA discloses decreasing the level of the hierarchical degradation strategy in response to the load state being the underload state. ¶ 0034: The controller can expand the same stream incrementally when spare capacity appears.
Claim 9
JASKA discloses wherein the hierarchical degradation strategy comprises a plurality of levels.¶ 0032: The policy specifies multiple throughput levels.
JASKA discloses reducing the data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream level by level based on the plurality of levels included in the hierarchical degradation strategy. ¶ 0032: The stream can move down one adjacent level at a time.
Claims 10 and 13-15
Claims 10 and 13-15 are rejected utilizing the rationale for claims 1 and 4-6; the claims are directed to a medium storing instructions corresponding to the method.
Claim 16
WRIGHT discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein when the instructions in the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium are executed by a processor of an electronic device, the electronic device is caused to perform a method of load processing. ¶ 0077: Load management instructions encoded on a readable medium cause the computing device to perform the method.
WRIGHT discloses acquiring a load state that is current for a target server; wherein the load state comprises an overload state or an underload state. ¶ 0360: Individual volume servers can be classified as overloaded or underutilized.
WRIGHT discloses performing overload processing or underload processing on the target server based on the load state. ¶ 0350: The applicable load policy restricts or permits additional client service.
WRIGHT does not expressly disclose an overload detection cycle corresponding to the overload state is less than an underload detection cycle corresponding to the underload state.
JASKA discloses an overload detection cycle corresponding to the overload state is less than an underload detection cycle corresponding to the underload state. ¶ 0034: The controller can restrict on detecting congestion and “wait for a preset delay before expanding pipes” when spare capacity appears. Restriction can follow congestion detection while expansion waits. ¶ 0028: A congestion change can be detected based on its persisting “for more than some amount of time.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load state qualification of WRIGHT to incorporate the duration based detection and asymmetric recovery wait taught by JASKA. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that recovery wait into WRIGHT, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce repeated restriction and release of client traffic by retaining the restriction while spare capacity is confirmed, as inferred from JASKA at ¶¶ 0028, 0034.
Claim 19
WRIGHT discloses acquiring an accessor that accesses to the target server. ¶ 0061: The identified client connects directly to the responsible volume server.
JASKA discloses sending a multimedia data stream to the accessor. ¶ 0027: Video continues to the subscriber at an available bitrate.
JASKA discloses performing a hierarchical degradation strategy on the multimedia data stream in response to the target server being in the overload state, wherein the hierarchical degradation strategy is used to gradually reduce data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream. ¶ 0034: The controller can restrict the same stream repeatedly as congestion persists. ¶ 0035: The content source can reduce actual media bitrate to fit the restricted throughput.
Claim 20
JASKA discloses performing hierarchical degradation strategy fallback on the multimedia data stream in response to the target server being in the underload state, wherein the hierarchical degradation strategy fallback is used to gradually increase the data transmission amount of the multimedia data stream. ¶ 0034: The same previously restricted stream can be expanded in successive increments. ¶ 0035: Expansion can cause the source to increase the quality of communicated media.
Claims 2-3, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WRIGHT, in view of JASKA, further in view of Subramaniam et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2020/0183758 A1 (hereinafter SUBRAMANIAM).
Claim 2
SUBRAMANIAM discloses acquiring an average load rate of a server cluster where the target server is located and a single-machine load rate of the target server. ¶ 0044: Each host can report current processor utilization with its cluster identifier. ¶ 0018: A rule sets a ceiling on the “average processor utilization of servers” within a cluster.
SUBRAMANIAM discloses in response to, during the overload detection cycle, the average load rate being greater than a first threshold value, or the single-machine load rate being greater than a second threshold value, determining that the current load state of the target server is the overload state. ¶ 0045: A 62% cluster average against a 50% ceiling establishes inadequate capacity. Any violated rule can suffice. ¶ 0032: A policy can also test whether a specified number or proportion of individual servers exceed their ceilings.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load inputs of the target server controller of WRIGHT-JASKA to incorporate the cluster average and individual server utilization measures taught by SUBRAMIAM. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those measures into WRIGHT-JASKA, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect running workloads from a capacity shortfall by withholding additional traffic while either the serving host or its cluster lacks headroom ,as inferred from SUBRAMANIAM at ¶¶ 0018, 0032, 0045, and 0047-0048.
Claim 3
WRIGHT discloses in response to, during the underload detection cycle, the average load rate being less than a third threshold value, and the single-machine load rate being less than a fourth threshold value, determining that the current load state of the target server is the underload state. ¶ 0210: The maximum function returns the highest of its inputs. ¶ 0208: The disclosed example selects among client read and write load measures. ¶ 0285: A reading strictly below the first boundary invoked the low policy. An example boundary is 0.33.
WRIGHT discloses wherein the third threshold value is less than the first threshold value, and the fourth threshold value is less than the second threshold value. ¶ 0286: An example second boundary is 0.66. ¶ 0299: The worked example places 0.39 above the first boundary and below the second.
Claims 11 and 12
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected utilizing the rationale for claims 2 and 3; the claims are directed to a medium storing instructions corresponding to the method.
Claim 17
WRIGHT discloses acquiring an accessor that accesses to the target server. ¶ 0061: The named client connects directly to the selected volume server. ¶ 0143: Any load exceeding its corresponding threshold indicates overload.
JASKA discloses sending a multimedia data stream to the accessor. ¶ 0027: An ongoing video stream is delivered to the subscriber.
WRIGHT-JASKA does not expressly disclose in response to, during the overload detection cycle, the average load rate being greater than a first threshold value, or the single-machine load rate being greater than a second threshold value, determining that the current load state of the target server is the overload state.
SUBRAMANIAM discloses in response to, during the overload detection cycle, the average load rate being greater than a first threshold value, or the single-machine load rate being greater than a second threshold value, determining that the current load state of the target server is the overload state. ¶ 0045: Exceeding the cluster average ceiling can establish inadequate cluster capacity. ¶ 0032: Resource rules also evaluate individual hosts against upper limits.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load inputs of the target server controller of WRIGHT-JASKA to incorporate the cluster average and individual server utilization measures taught by SUBRAMIAM. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those measures into WRIGHT-JASKA, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to protect running workloads from a capacity shortfall by withholding additional traffic while either the serving host or its cluster lacks headroom ,as inferred from SUBRAMANIAM at ¶¶ 0018, 0032, 0045, and 0047-0048.
Claim 18
WRIGHT discloses in response to, during the underload detection cycle, the average load rate being less than a third threshold value, and the single-machine load rate being less than a fourth threshold value, determining that the current load state of the target server is the underload state. ¶ 0210: The maximum function returns the highest of its inputs. ¶ 0208: The disclosed example selects among client read and write load measures. ¶ 0285: A reading strictly below the first boundary invoked the low policy. An example boundary is 0.33.
WRIGHT discloses wherein the third threshold value is less than the first threshold value, and the fourth threshold value is less than the second threshold value. ¶ 0286: An example second boundary is 0.66. ¶ 0299: The worked example places 0.39 above the first boundary and below the second.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Shams et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,887,642 B1, teaching reducing streaming video bitrates when bandwidth consumption exceeds a capacity threshold, delivering reduced bitrate streams to existing viewers, and restoring higher bitrate quality when spare bandwidth becomes available. SHAMS col. 6, ll. 18 and 36-64; col. 7, ll. 15-27.
/FRANK D MILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194 November 10, 2026