DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 10-29, in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the flow of the supplemental fuel gas" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani et al. (JP 2006348063 A), hereafter referred to as Tani, in view of 40 CFR 63.7296 (Jan. 20, 2021).
With regard to claims 10, 13, and 14: Tani teaches a method for modulating a coke oven battery system including a coke oven battery, a stack (chimney) 10, and a fuel supply conduit (supply piping) 1c (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation), the method comprising:
Receiving an input from a plurality of sensors (analysis means) 2a and 2b (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0015], [0024], and [0027]). Note: “Analysis Means” 2b is inaccurately labeled with character “1a” in Figure 1.
Determining a specific gravity of coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the coke oven by receiving coke oven specific gravity data from sensor 2b and calculating the specific gravity of the coke oven gas from the coke oven gas specific gravity data using computer 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraph [0024]).
And, via control means/valves 3a and 3b, adjusting the flow rates of the coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1b and/or a blast furnace gas (BFG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1a, in order to set a mixing ratio of the BFG and COG and thereby maintain a constant ratio of theoretical amount of air for combusting the “combustion gas”1 to specific gravity of the combustion gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
It is well understood that blast furnace gas comprises a large fraction of nitrogen gas. As evidence, Examiner points to Ferraris et al. (US 2024/0417623) at paragraph [0026].
Accordingly, it is understood that, in service of setting the mixing ratio of the BFG and COG to maintain a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas, Tani implicitly comprises steps of:
i) determining that the specific gravity of the coke oven gas is less than a second predetermined threshold by receiving coke oven gas specific gravity data from sensor 2b and calculating the specific gravity of the coke oven gas from the coke oven gas specific gravity data using computer 12; and
ii) in response to determining that the specific gravity of the coke oven gas is less than the second predetermined threshold, increasing a flow of blast furnace gas, and thus the nitrogen gas therein, into the fuel supply conduit 1c by sending a signal to an actuator to open control means/valve 3a.
In the alternative, Tani’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said steps if and when necessary to maintain the constant ratio of theoretical amount of air to combustion gas specific gravity.
Tani is silent to determining that an opacity of the stack is greater than a first predetermined threshold.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a first threshold of a “Daily average of 15 percent opacity for a battery on a normal coking cycle,” 40 CFR 63.7296(a) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor a coke oven battery operating on battery wide extended coking to ensure that said first threshold were not violated.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tani by adding a step of determining, when appropriate, that the stack opacity has exceeded a first predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 15 percent opacity, so that battery operators are made aware that their battery is violating federal regulations, such that compliance can be expediently regained.
With regard to claim 11: Tani does not explicitly teach that the step of determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than a first predetermined threshold comprises: receiving opacity data from the one or more sensors; and calculating the opacity as a rolling average of the opacity data.
However, since at least January 2021, it has been required that one demonstrate compliance with opacity limits by using a continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) to measure opacity and, using measured opacity data, calculating hourly and 24 hour averages (40 CFR 63.7324 (Jan. 20, 2021).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani determining the opacity of the stack by receiving opacity data from at least one sensor (i.e. a continuous opacity monitoring system) and calculating opacity as an hourly and daily average of the opacity data.
As for the requirement that the average be a rolling average, because it is required that one calculate hourly and daily averages, the data for calculating various rolling averages (e.g. 24 hour, 7 day, 30 day, etc.) would be readily available. Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by calculating rolling average(s), e.g. 24 hour, 7 day, 30 day, etc., from the opacity data, in order to gauge the long term behavior of the coke oven stack opacity.
With regard to claim 12: Tani does not explicitly teach that the step of determining that the specific gravity of the COG is less than the second predetermined threshold comprises calculating the specific gravity of the COG as a rolling average.
However, Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis. Furthermore, from the standpoint of process control, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a rolling average of the COG specific gravity (and the BFG specific gravity) as a basis for control would be advantageous, as doing so would, to an extent, dampen noise in the specific gravity data measured by the sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by calculating the specific gravity of the COG as a rolling average in the step of determining that the specific gravity of the COG is less than the second predetermined threshold, in order to: 1) attain a better picture of the COG specific gravity on a long-term basis, and 2) dampen noise in the specific gravity data measured by the sensors.
With regard to claims 15, 17, 18, and 20: As discussed in the rejection of claim 10 above, modified Tani comprises determining, when appropriate, that the opacity of the stack is greater than a first predetermined threshold. Accordingly, modified Tani necessarily comprises determining, when appropriate, that the opacity of the stack is greater than a third predetermined threshold that is equal to the first predetermined threshold. Note: The language of claim 20 expressly allows the first and third predetermined thresholds to be equal.
In modified Tani, the gas supply conduit 1c is a mixed gas supply conduit, and the combustion gas flowing therein is a mixed gas comprised of BFG and COG (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). The method of modified Tani comprises maintaining a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). Accordingly, it is understood that modified Tani comprises a step of determining the specific gravity of the mixed gas (the combustion gas) in the mixed gas supply conduit 1c, as the specific gravity of the mixed gas must be known (and thus must be determined) in order to maintain the ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 10 above, Tani includes adjusting, via control means/valves 3a and 3b, the flow rates of the coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1b and/or a blast furnace gas (BFG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1a, in order to set a mixing ratio of the BFG and COG and thereby maintain a constant ratio of theoretical amount of air for combusting the combustion gas to specific gravity of the combustion gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
It is well understood that blast furnace gas comprises a large fraction of nitrogen gas. As evidence, Examiner points to Ferraris et al. (US 2024/0417623) at paragraph [0026].
Thus, it is further understood that, in service of setting the mixing ratio of the BFG and COG to maintain a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas, Tani implicitly comprises steps of:
i) determining that the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas, i.e. the mixture of COG and BFG) is less than a fourth predetermined threshold by receiving BFG specific gravity data from sensor 2a and COG specific gravity data from sensor 2b, said specific gravity data together amounting to mixed gas specific gravity data, and calculating the specific gravity of the mixed gas from the mixed gas specific gravity data using computer 12; and
ii) in response to determining that the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas, i.e. the mixture of COG and BFG) is less than the fourth predetermined threshold, increasing a flow of blast furnace gas, and thus the nitrogen gas therein, into the mixed gas supply conduit 1c by sending a signal to an actuator to open control means/valve 3a.
In the alternative, Tani’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said steps if and when necessary to maintain the constant ratio of theoretical amount of air to combustion gas specific gravity.
With regard to claims 15, 17, 18, and 20: Modified Tani is silent to determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than a third predetermined threshold that is greater than the first predetermined threshold.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a second threshold of a “Daily average of 20 percent opacity for a battery on batterywide extended coking,” 40 CFR 63.7296(b) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor a coke oven battery operating on battery wide extended coking to ensure that said third threshold were not violated.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by adding a step of determining, when appropriate, that the stack opacity has exceeded a second predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 20 percent opacity, so that battery operators are made aware that their battery is violating federal regulations, such that compliance can be expediently regained.
In modified Tani, the gas supply conduit 1c is a mixed gas supply conduit, and the combustion gas flowing therein is a mixed gas comprised of BFG and COG (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). The method of modified Tani comprises maintaining a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). Accordingly, it is understood that modified Tani comprises a step of determining the specific gravity of the mixed gas (the combustion gas) in the mixed gas supply conduit 1c, as the specific gravity of the mixed gas must be known (and thus must be determined) in order to maintain the ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 10 above, Tani includes adjusting, via control means/valves 3a and 3b, the flow rates of the coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1b and/or a blast furnace gas (BFG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1a, in order to set a mixing ratio of the BFG and COG and thereby maintain a constant ratio of theoretical amount of air for combusting the combustion gas to specific gravity of the combustion gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
It is well understood that blast furnace gas comprises a large fraction of nitrogen gas. As evidence, Examiner points to Ferraris et al. (US 2024/0417623) at paragraph [0026].
Thus, it is further understood that, in service of setting the mixing ratio of the BFG and COG to maintain a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas, Tani implicitly comprises steps of:
i) determining that the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas, i.e. the mixture of COG and BFG) is less than a fourth predetermined threshold by receiving BFG specific gravity data from sensor 2a and COG specific gravity data from sensor 2b, said specific gravity data together amounting to mixed gas specific gravity data, and calculating the specific gravity of the mixed gas from the mixed gas specific gravity data using computer 12; and
ii) in response to determining that the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas, i.e. the mixture of COG and BFG) is less than the fourth predetermined threshold, increasing a flow of blast furnace gas, and thus the nitrogen gas therein, into the mixed gas supply conduit 1c by sending a signal to an actuator to open control means/valve 3a.
In the alternative, Tani’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said steps if and when necessary to maintain the constant ratio of theoretical amount of air to combustion gas specific gravity.
Modified Tani is silent to determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than a third predetermined threshold greater than the first.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a second threshold of a “Daily average of 20 percent opacity for a battery on batterywide extended coking,” 40 CFR 63.7296(b) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor a coke oven battery operating on battery wide extended coking to ensure that said second threshold were not violated.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Matsushita by adding a step of determining, when appropriate, that the stack opacity has exceeded a second predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 20 percent opacity, so that battery operators are made aware that their battery is violating federal regulations, such that compliance can be expediently regained. Note: In determining that the stack opacity has exceeded the second predetermined threshold, it is implicit that the stack opacity has also been determined to be greater than the first predetermined threshold, i.e. a daily average of 15 percent opacity.
With regard to claim 16: Tani does not explicitly teach that the step of determining that the specific gravity of the mixed gas is less than the fourth predetermined threshold comprises calculating the specific gravity of the mixed gas as a rolling average.
However, Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis. Furthermore, from the standpoint of process control, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a rolling average of the mixed gas specific gravity as a basis for control would be advantageous, as doing so would, to an extent, dampen noise in the specific gravity data measured by the sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by calculating the specific gravity of the mixed as a rolling average in the step of determining that the specific gravity of the mixed gas is less than the fourth predetermined threshold, in order to: 1) attain a better picture of the mixed gas specific gravity on a long-term basis, and 2) dampen noise in the specific gravity data measured by the sensors.
With regard to claim 19: In Tani, fuel gas is supplied to the coke oven battery as a mixed gas, i.e. a mixture of COG and BFG, at all times (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0015] and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0015], [0024], and [0027]). Therefore, the step of determining that the opacity of the stack is greater than the third predetermined threshold is necessarily preceded by an implicit determination that mixed gas is being supplied to the coke oven battery.
With regard to claim 21: In modified Tani, the gas supply conduit 1c is a mixed gas supply conduit, and the combustion gas flowing therein is a mixed gas comprised of BFG and COG (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). The method of modified Tani comprises maintaining a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). Accordingly, it is understood that modified Tani comprises a step of determining the specific gravity of the mixed gas (the combustion gas) in the mixed gas supply conduit 1c, as the specific gravity of the mixed gas must be known (and thus must be determined) in order to maintain the ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas).
With regard to claim 22: As discussed in the rejection of claim 10 above, Tani comprises adjusting the flow rates of the coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1b and/or a blast furnace gas (BFG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1a, in order to set a mixing ratio of the BFG and COG and thereby maintain a constant ratio of theoretical amount of air for combusting the combustion gas to specific gravity of the combustion gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
Accordingly, it is understood that, in service of setting the mixing ratio of the BFG and COG to maintain a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas, Tani implicitly comprises a step of decreasing the flow of nitrogen gas to the fuel supply conduit.
In the alternative, Tani’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said step if and when necessary to maintain the constant ratio of theoretical amount of air to combustion gas specific gravity.
With regard to claims 23 and 24: As discussed in the rejection of claim 10 above, Tani includes introducing blast furnace gas to the coke oven gas suppled to the coke oven battery in the fuel supply conduit 1c (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation). Said introducing of blast furnace gas amounts to introducing a supplemental fuel gas supply into the coke oven gas in the fuel supply conduit 1c.
It is understood that blast furnace gas comprises hydrogen. As evidence, Examiner points to Ferraris et al. (US 2024/0417623) at paragraph [0026].
With regard to claim 25: In Tani, introducing the BFG into the coke oven gas in the fuel supply conduit comprises sending a signal from ratio setting device to an actuator which opens control means/valve 3a to introduce a flow of the BFG (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
With regard to claim 26: Tani teaches a method for modulating a coke oven battery system including a coke oven battery, a stack (chimney) 10, and a fuel supply conduit (supply piping) 1c (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation), the method comprising:
Receiving an input from a plurality of sensors (analysis means) 2a and 2b (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0015], [0024], and [0027]). Note: “Analysis Means” 2b is inaccurately labeled with character “1a” in Figure 1.
Determining a specific gravity of coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the coke oven by receiving coke oven specific gravity data from sensor 2b and calculating the specific gravity of the coke oven gas from the coke oven gas specific gravity data using computer 12 (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraph [0024]).
And, via control means/valves 3a and 3b, adjusting the flow rates of the coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1b and/or a blast furnace gas (BFG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1a, in order to set a mixing ratio of the BFG and COG and thereby maintain a constant ratio of theoretical amount of air for combusting the “combustion gas”2 to specific gravity of the combustion gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
Accordingly, it is understood that, in service of setting the mixing ratio of the BFG and COG to maintain a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas, Tani implicitly comprises steps of:
i) determining that the specific gravity of the coke oven gas is greater than a second predetermined threshold by receiving coke oven gas specific gravity data from sensor 2b and calculating the specific gravity of the coke oven gas from the coke oven gas specific gravity data using computer 12; and
ii) in response to determining that the specific gravity of the coke oven gas is greater than the second predetermined threshold, introducing, increasing, or decreasing a flow of supplemental fuel gas, i.e. blast furnace gas, into the fuel supply conduit 1c by sending a signal to an actuator to open control means/valve 3a.
In the alternative, Tani’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said steps if and when necessary to maintain the constant ratio of theoretical amount of air to combustion gas specific gravity.
Tani is silent to determining that an opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a first threshold of a “Daily average of 15 percent opacity for a battery on a normal coking cycle,” 40 CFR 63.7296(a) (Jan. 20, 2021).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tani by adding a step of determining that an opacity of the stack, i.e. the opacity of waste gas issuing therefrom, is less than a first predetermined threshold, daily average of 15 percent opacity, in order to ensure compliance with federal regulations.
With regard to claim 27: Tani does not explicitly teach that the step of determining that the opacity of the stack is less than a first predetermined threshold comprises: receiving opacity data from the one or more sensors; and calculating the opacity as a rolling average of the opacity data.
However, since at least January 2021, it has been required that one demonstrate compliance with opacity limits by using a continuous opacity monitoring system (COMS) to measure opacity and, using measured opacity data, calculating hourly and 24 hour averages (40 CFR 63.7324 (Jan. 20, 2021).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani determining the opacity of the stack by receiving opacity data from at least one sensor (i.e. a continuous opacity monitoring system) and calculating opacity as an hourly and daily average of the opacity data.
As for the requirement that the average be a rolling average, because it is required that one calculate hourly and daily averages, the data for calculating various rolling averages (e.g. 24 hour, 7 day, 30 day, etc.) would be readily available. Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by calculating rolling average(s), e.g. 24 hour, 7 day, 30 day, etc., from the opacity data, in order to gauge the long term behavior of the coke oven stack opacity.
With regard to claim 28: Tani does not explicitly teach that the step of determining that the specific gravity of the COG is less than the second predetermined threshold comprises calculating the specific gravity of the COG as a rolling average.
However, Calculation of rolling averages is widely practiced and well within the level of ordinary skill. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that calculating a rolling average of a measured property allows one to attain a better picture of how the measured property is behaving on a long-term basis. Furthermore, from the standpoint of process control, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using a rolling average of the COG specific gravity (and the BFG specific gravity) as a basis for control would be advantageous, as doing so would, to an extent, dampen noise in the specific gravity data measured by the sensors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by calculating the specific gravity of the COG as a rolling average in the step of determining that the specific gravity of the COG is less than the second predetermined threshold, in order to: 1) attain a better picture of the COG specific gravity on a long-term basis, and 2) dampen noise in the specific gravity data measured by the sensors.
With regard to claim 29: Tani teaches a method for modulating a coke oven battery system including a coke oven battery, a stack (chimney) 10, and a mixed gas supply conduit (supply piping) 1c (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation), the method comprising:
Receiving an input from a plurality of sensors (analysis means) 2a and 2b (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraphs [0015], [0024], and [0027]). Note: “Analysis Means” 2b is inaccurately labeled with character “1a” in Figure 1.
Determining a specific gravity of blast furnace gas (BFG) based on the input from sensor 2a and specific gravity of coke oven gas (COG) based on the input from sensor 2b, wherein the BFG and the COG are both supplied to the mixed gas supply conduit 1c to form a mixed gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0013]-[0029] and [0034] of Espacenet translation, especially paragraph [0024]).
And, via control means/valves 3a and 3b, adjusting the flow rates of the coke oven gas (COG) supplied to the fuel supply conduit 1c via piping 1b and/or a blast furnace gas (BFG) supplied to the mixed gas supply conduit 1c via piping 1a, in order to set a mixing ratio of the BFG and COG and thereby maintain a constant ratio of theoretical amount of air for combusting the “combustion gas”3 (i.e. the mixed gas) to specific gravity of the combustion gas (Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation).
Because Tani comprises maintaining a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas (Tani: Figure 1, paragraphs [0015], [0019], and [0023]-[0025] of Espacenet translation), it understood that modified Tani comprises a step of determining the specific gravity of the mixed gas (the combustion gas) in the mixed gas supply conduit 1c, as the specific gravity of the mixed gas must be known (and thus must be determined) in order to maintain the ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the mixed gas (combustion gas).
It is well understood that blast furnace gas comprises a large fraction of nitrogen gas. As evidence, Examiner points to Ferraris et al. (US 2024/0417623) at paragraph [0026].
Accordingly, it is further understood that, in service of setting the mixing ratio of the BFG and COG to maintain a constant ratio of the theoretical amount of air to the specific gravity of the combustion gas, Tani implicitly comprises a step of:
ii) based on the input from the plurality of sensors and the specific gravity of the mixed gas introducing, increasing, or decreasing a flow of blast furnace gas, and thus the nitrogen gas therein, into the mixed gas supply conduit 1c.
In the alternative, Tani’s teachings would, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at least suggest a method comprising said step if and when necessary to maintain the constant ratio of theoretical amount of air to combustion gas (mixed gas) specific gravity.
Tani is silent to determining that an opacity of the stack.
However, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a first threshold of a “Daily average of 15 percent opacity for a battery on a normal coking cycle,” 40 CFR 63.7296(a) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to monitor a coke oven battery operating on battery wide extended coking to ensure that said first threshold were not violated.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tani by adding a step of determining the opacity of the stack, in order to determine whether or not the coke oven battery is operating in compliance with federal regulations on stack opacity.
Modified Tani is silent to introducing, increasing, or decreasing the flow of the BFG (and thus the nitrogen gas therein) based on the opacity.
However, as discussed above, since at least January 2021, emissions opacity from coke oven battery stacks have been regulated to a first threshold of a “Daily average of 15 percent opacity for a battery on a normal coking cycle,” 40 CFR 63.7296(a) (Jan. 20, 2021). Thus, there is clear motivation to take action to reduce the opacity in the event that it exceeds or threatens to exceed said regulatory threshold.
Tani teaches that “by controlling the mixing ratio of blast furnace gas (BFG) and coke oven gas (COG) so that the A0/γ1/2 ratio of the combustion gas mixture remains constant, it is possible to prevent incomplete combustion in the combustion chamber while minimizing the excess ratio relative to the theoretical air amount,” (paragraph [0027] of Espacenet translation, emphasis added). Tani further teaches that “black smoke” is generated as a result of incomplete combustion (paragraph [0004] of Espacenet Translation). When said teachings are considered together, it becomes clear that, the opacity of the stack exhaust can be controlled by controlling the mixing ratio of BFG and COG so as to reduce occurrence of incomplete combustion. Consequently, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is possible to decrease an undesirably high stack opacity by controlling the BFG supply, e.g. by increasing or reducing the BFG flow, to reduce incomplete combustion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Tani by introducing, increasing, or decreasing the flow of the BFG (and thus the nitrogen gas therein) based on the opacity, i.e. in response to the opacity being undesirably high, in order to minimize incomplete combustion and thereby reduce the undesirably high opacity.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 1,876,037; US 2,306,366; US 2,458,515; US 3,123,540; US 3,556,947; and CN 1779326 A are all relevant to the claimed invention in that they teach methods which involve supplying mixed gases to a coke oven battery combustion chamber. Said references have potential utility as primary and/or secondary references in alternative 103 rejections of the claims.
Ferraris et al. (US 2024/0417623) is cited in the 103 rejections above as an evidentiary reference showing that blast furnace gas contains nitrogen gas. Ferraris has additional relevance to the claimed invention in that it teaches a method which involves supplying mixed gases to a coke oven battery combustion chamber. Said reference has potential utility as primary and/or secondary reference in alternative 103 rejections of the claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN LUKE PILCHER/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
1 By “combustion gas” Tani means fuel gas(es) which will be combusted in combustion chamber 5, e.g. a mixture of coke oven gas and blast furnace gas (see Paragraphs [0013] and [0014], of Espacenet translation). Tani is NOT using the term “combustion gas” to refer to gases comprised of combustion products.
2 By “combustion gas” Tani means fuel gas(es) which will be combusted in combustion chamber 5, e.g. a mixture of coke oven gas and blast furnace gas (see Paragraphs [0013] and [0014], of Espacenet translation). Tani is NOT using the term “combustion gas” to refer to gases comprised of combustion products.
3 By “combustion gas” Tani means fuel gas(es) which will be combusted in combustion chamber 5, e.g. a mixture of coke oven gas and blast furnace gas (see Paragraphs [0013] and [0014], of Espacenet translation). Tani is NOT using the term “combustion gas” to refer to gases comprised of combustion products.