DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 8/24/2026.
Claims 1-24 are pending.
Claims 1, 5, 12, 16 and 23 have been amended.
Claim 24 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response to double patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument(s) filed on 8/24/2026with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-10, 12, 13, 15, 17-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain (US20130212610A1) in view of McCarthy (US 20150163206 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, a method for accessing content comprising:
Hussain teaches generating, at a primary device, an access code for accessing one or more content items; (Hussain, [0019] Generate a coupon code for the VOD gift, wherein the coupon code is associated with the contact information for the recipient and the VOD gift selection.)
transmitting, to a secondary device, the access code; (Hussain, [0047], FIG.1; promotional coupon platform 140 may also generate a confirmation 350 to indicate to the user of media client 172-1 that the GVOD coupon was successfully generated and/or transmitted to the recipient. Assuming the GVOD coupon is successfully created, promotional coupon platform 140 may send confirmation 350 to application server 120. Application server 120 may, in turn, forward confirmation 350 to media client 172-1 for presentation to the user. [0050] A user may input, or cause to be input, a coupon code 410 for a GVOD coupon to media client 172-2 (e.g., a device at a GVOD-coupon recipient's premises). Coupon code 410 may correspond to, for example, coupon code 340 received on user device 180-2.)
determining that the access code is valid; (Hussain, [0032], after receiving the coupon code/instructions from promotional coupon platform 140 (e.g., via communications device 180-2), the recipient user may use media client 172-2, display device 174-2, and user interface device 176-2 to provide the coupon code to provider network 110 (e.g., application server 120). Application server 120 may, upon receipt of the coupon code, provide the coupon code to promotional coupon platform 140 for validation.)
presenting, via a user interface of the secondary device, a content database comprising one or more content items based on the access code, wherein the access code enables the secondary device to view the content database comprising the one or more content items; (Hussain, [0016]. FIG.1; provider network 110 may include, for example, application servers (e.g., application server 120), content information servers (e.g., catalog server 130), customer information servers (e.g., profile server 165), content storage and distribution devices (e.g., content delivery system 160), billing devices (e.g., order processing system 150), security/licensing devices, advertising information servers, etc. [0017] A database server device provides support for media client to access VOD content. [0030] In operation, a user at giving customer premises 170-1 may desire to provide a VOD gift to another user (e.g., a user at receiving customer premises 170-2). A VOD gift may include, for example, a rental or purchase of a particular VOD title, a rental or purchase of a VOD series, a monetary credit for VOD use, etc. The giving user may access a gift coupon application via media client 172-1, causing media client 172-1 to obtain a listing of VOD gift selections from provider network 110 (e.g., catalog server 130). [0032] After receiving the coupon code/instructions from promotional coupon platform 140 (e.g., via communications device 180-2), the recipient user may use media client 172-2, display device 174-2, and user interface device 176-2 to provide the coupon code to provider network 110 (e.g., application server 120). Application server 120 may, upon receipt of the coupon code, provide the coupon code to promotional coupon platform 140 for validation. Assuming promotional coupon platform 140 is able to validate the coupon, application server 120 may update the recipient user's profile in profile server 165 and provide access to the VOD content associated with the coupon code. In one example, application server 120 may provide an address or link that media client 172-2 may use to retrieve content from content delivery system 160. [examiner notes: a VOD series intercept to be subset of the one or more content items.])
receiving, at the primary device from the secondary device, an access request, wherein the access request comprises a request for a subset of the one or more content items from the content database; and (Hussain, [0016]. FIG.1; provider network 110 may include, for example, application servers (e.g., application server 120), content information servers (e.g., catalog server 130), customer information servers (e.g., profile server 165), content storage and distribution devices (e.g., content delivery system 160), billing devices (e.g., order processing system 150), security/licensing devices, advertising information servers, etc. [0017] A database server device provides support for media client to access VOD content. [0030] In operation, a user at giving customer premises 170-1 may desire to provide a VOD gift to another user (e.g., a user at receiving customer premises 170-2). A VOD gift may include, for example, a rental or purchase of a particular VOD title, a rental or purchase of a VOD series, a monetary credit for VOD use, etc. The giving user may access a gift coupon application via media client 172-1, causing media client 172-1 to obtain a listing of VOD gift selections from provider network 110 (e.g., catalog server 130). [0032] After receiving the coupon code/instructions from promotional coupon platform 140 (e.g., via communications device 180-2), the recipient user may use media client 172-2, display device 174-2, and user interface device 176-2 to provide the coupon code to provider network 110 (e.g., application server 120). Application server 120 may, upon receipt of the coupon code, provide the coupon code to promotional coupon platform 140 for validation. Assuming promotional coupon platform 140 is able to validate the coupon, application server 120 may update the recipient user's profile in profile server 165 and provide access to the VOD content associated with the coupon code. In one example, application server 120 may provide an address or link that media client 172-2 may use to retrieve content from content delivery system 160. [examiner notes: a VOD series intercept to be subset of the one or more content items.])
providing access, to the secondary device, to the subset of the one or more content items corresponding to the access request. (Hussain, [0030] In operation, a user at giving customer premises 170-1 may desire to provide a VOD gift to another user (e.g., a user at receiving customer premises 170-2). A VOD gift may include, for example, a rental or purchase of a particular VOD title, a rental or purchase of a VOD series, a monetary credit for VOD use, etc. The giving user may access a gift coupon application via media client 172-1, causing media client 172-1 to obtain a listing of VOD gift selections from provider network 110 (e.g., catalog server 130). [0032] After receiving the coupon code/instructions from promotional coupon platform 140 (e.g., via communications device 180-2), the recipient user may use media client 172-2, display device 174-2, and user interface device 176-2 to provide the coupon code to provider network 110 (e.g., application server 120). Application server 120 may, upon receipt of the coupon code, provide the coupon code to promotional coupon platform 140 for validation. Assuming promotional coupon platform 140 is able to validate the coupon, application server 120 may update the recipient user's profile in profile server 165 and provide access to the VOD content associated with the coupon code. In one example, application server 120 may provide an address or link that media client 172-2 may use to retrieve content from content delivery system 160. [examiner notes: a VOD series intercept to be subset of the one or more content items.])
Hussain does not teach based at least in part on the transmitting the access code, generating for display, via a user interface of the primary device: a status indicating that the access code has been transmitted but not used to access the one or more content items; and a user interface option to cancel validity of the access code, wherein selection of the user interface option makes the access code invalid;
McCarthy however in the same field of computer networking teaches based at least in part on the transmitting the access code, generating for display, via a user interface of the primary device: (McCarthy, [0195]-[0198] Document access reports may also be updated whenever the link is activated (e.g., ‘clicked’), and the access attributed to the user who was permissioned to use the document. Since access to content may be enabled and tracked through a URL link, the system may then limit distribution by de-permissioning a URL (which makes that URL inactive). Since the user doesn't know the URL, they can't obtain access if the URL is inactive. [examiner notes: the URL Link interprets to be the access code.]) a status indicating that the access code has been transmitted but not used to access the one or more content items; and a user interface option to cancel validity of the access code, wherein selection of the user interface option makes the access code invalid; (McCarthy, [0149], [0160], [0168]-, [0170], [0180] and [0183] Teach a system integrate the sharing capability, enable user to track access and viewing of sharing content within the user interface. Then when the content is shared with that user, access to the content may be revoked at any time (e.g. by changing the DRM, removing access to the key, changing permissions, and the like). Further, if the sender of the content controls the protection feature, then the sender has complete lifetime control of any content they distribute or provide access to.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hussain by incorporating the teachings of McCarthy. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for such systems and for users to utilize the systems in such a way that does not force them to adopt new infrastructure, software, and business and personal processes in their daily workflow in order to achieve a shared and potentially secure extended work environment. (McCarthy, [0003]).
Claim(s) 12 and 23 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach wherein providing access to the subset of the one or more content items further comprises providing the secondary device with access to stream the one or more content items corresponding to the access request from the content database. (Hussain, [0016]. FIG.1; provider network 110 may include, for example, application servers (e.g., application server 120), content information servers (e.g., catalog server 130), customer information servers (e.g., profile server 165), content storage and distribution devices (e.g., content delivery system 160), billing devices (e.g., order processing system 150), security/licensing devices, advertising information servers, etc. [0017] A database server device provides support for media client to access VOD content. [0030] In operation, a user at giving customer premises 170-1 may desire to provide a VOD gift to another user (e.g., a user at receiving customer premises 170-2). A VOD gift may include, for example, a rental or purchase of a particular VOD title, a rental or purchase of a VOD series, a monetary credit for VOD use, etc. The giving user may access a gift coupon application via media client 172-1, causing media client 172-1 to obtain a listing of VOD gift selections from provider network 110 (e.g., catalog server 130). [0078], FIG.7; the client-side application may permit a user of user device 770 to log into an account (e.g., via application server 724), access catalog information (e.g., from catalog server 722), submit a GVOD order (e.g., to promotional coupon platform 750), redeem a GVOD coupon, and/or consume live streaming video content (e.g., from VCMS 710). [examiner notes: a VOD series intercept to be subset of the one or more content items.])
Regarding claim(s) 4, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach wherein the access request further comprises an access identifier and wherein the method further comprises storing the access identifier in the content database, wherein the access identifier identifies the one or more requested content items and the primary device. (Hussain, [0022], Profile server 165 may include one or more network devices, or other types of computation or communication devices, to store user profile information for users (e.g., users of media clients 172). The user profile information may include various information regarding a user, such as login information (e.g., a user identifier and a password), billing information, address information, types of services to which the user has subscribed, a list of digital content purchased by (or given to) the user, a list of video content rented by (or given to) the user, a list of video content to which the user has subscribed (or has received a gift subscription), a user device identifier (e.g., a media player identifier, a mobile device identifier, a set top box identifier, a personal computer identifier) for media client 172, a video application identifier associated with the video application obtained from application server 120, or the like.)
Regarding claim(s) 6, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach wherein the one or more content items is authorized to a first user account associated with the primary device. (Hussain, [0068], FIG.7; data center 720 may include one or more network devices, or other types of computation or communication devices, to manage the authorization, selection, and/or purchase of multimedia content by a user of user devices 770.)
Regarding claim(s) 7, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach wherein the primary device and the secondary device comprise the same hardware. (Hussain, [0057] Contact information may include, for example, a phone number, an email address, or an account name associated with a recipient. Additionally, or alternatively, contact information may include a selection of stored contact from a contact list (e.g., associated with media client 172-1 or a giver's account). Fig.1 shows primary device 174-1 and 174-2.)
Regarding claim(s) 8, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach wherein the primary device is associated with a first user account and the secondary device is associated with a second user account. (Hussain, [0043], FIG.1; Media client 172-1 may present titles 310 to a user and solicit a title selection and a gift recipient. For example, a user of media client 172-1 may use remote control 176-1 to select a particular title or series of VOD titles from the list of titles 310. Additionally, or alternatively, the user may identify a monetary value of VOD purchases to credit to a recipient's account. The user may also input information to identify a recipient of the particular title. In one implementation, a recipient may be identified using a name and contact information, such as a phone number or email address. In another implementation, the recipient may be identified by selecting from a list of previously identified contacts associated with the user's account (e.g., an address book or contact list).)
Regarding claim(s) 9, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach wherein the access code enables only viewing of a portion of the content database comprising the one or more content items. (Hussain, [0032] After receiving the coupon code/instructions from promotional coupon platform 140 (e.g., via communications device 180-2), the recipient user may use media client 172-2, display device 174-2, and user interface device 176-2 to provide the coupon code to provider network 110 (e.g., application server 120). Application server 120 may, upon receipt of the coupon code, provide the coupon code to promotional coupon platform 140 for validation. Assuming promotional coupon platform 140 is able to validate the coupon, application server 120 may update the recipient user's profile in profile server 165 and provide access to the VOD content associated with the coupon code. In one example, application server 120 may provide an address or link that media client 172-2 may use to retrieve content from content delivery system 160.)
Regarding claim(s) 10, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach further comprising restricting, by the primary device, access by the secondary device, to a portion of the content database comprising the one or more content items. (Hussain, [0032] After receiving the coupon code/instructions from promotional coupon platform 140 (e.g., via communications device 180-2), the recipient user may use media client 172-2, display device 174-2, and user interface device 176-2 to provide the coupon code to provider network 110 (e.g., application server 120). Application server 120 may, upon receipt of the coupon code, provide the coupon code to promotional coupon platform 140 for validation. Assuming promotional coupon platform 140 is able to validate the coupon, application server 120 may update the recipient user's profile in profile server 165 and provide access to the VOD content associated with the coupon code. In one example, application server 120 may provide an address or link that media client 172-2 may use to retrieve content from content delivery system 160. [examiner notes: the secondary device only can view the VOD content associated the coupon ode. The VOD content is selected by the primary device/user.)
Claim(s) 13 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 15 is/are substantially similar to claim 4, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 17 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 7, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 19 is/are substantially similar to claim 8 and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 20 is/are substantially similar to claim 9, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 21 is/are substantially similar to claim 10, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
2. Claim(s) 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view of McCarthy further in view of Goldston (US 20200082061 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 3, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy do not teach wherein the access code is valid for a duration of time.
Goldston however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the access code is valid for a duration of time. (Goldston, [0068], Activation of the link may cause a streaming media player on the reviewing device to be activated. The invitation may include a specific access code that is specific to the music reviewer and non-transferrable. The access code may be for a review session of a single designated media item or may be for multiple review sessions over a predetermined period of time with a specific beginning and end established by the owner for the specific reviewer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hussain by incorporating the teachings of Goldston. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to keeping track of records regarding items (Goldston, [0008]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are substantially similar to claim 3, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
3. Claim(s) 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view of McCarthy further in view of Denton (US 20200004829 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 5, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy do not teach further comprising transmitting a status corresponding to the access code to the primary device, wherein transmitting the status occurs after generating the access code.
Denton however in the same field of computer networking teaches further comprising transmitting the status corresponding to the access code to the primary device, wherein transmitting the status occurs after generating the access code. (Denton, Abstract, Systems and methods are provided receiving, from a computing device associated with a first user of a content sharing platform, a request to access a second user profile associated with a second user in the content sharing platform, accessing activity data related to both the first user and the second user in the content sharing platform, determining common activity data to both the first user and the second user, wherein the common activity data comprises at least one media content item generated by the second user that was viewed or saved by the first user, or one or more datum saved by the first user from a communication received from the second user, and generating second user profile data comprising the common activity data related to both the first user and the second user in the content sharing platform as part of the second user profile.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hussain by incorporating the teachings of Denton. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to generating and displaying profile data for users and publishers in a content sharing platform (Denton, [0014]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are substantially similar to claim 5, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
4. Claim(s) 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view McCarthy further in view of Liston (US 20180192089 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, the method of claim 1,
Hussain does not teach further comprising simultaneously accessing the one or more content items corresponding to the access request by the primary device and the secondary device.
Liston however in the same field of computer networking teaches further comprising simultaneously accessing the one or more content items corresponding to the access request by the primary device and the secondary device. (Liston, [0015] Process 900 begins at 902, where control circuitry 404 receives a request from a user to access a video (e.g., media asset 102) that is scheduled for transmission (e.g., from media content source 516 by way of communications network 414), simultaneously to a plurality of users, beginning from a scheduled start time, where the request is received after the scheduled start time, and where the transmission is performed by a linear service (e.g., media content source 516) to which the user subscribes.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hussain by incorporating the teachings of Liston. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to enabling a user to start playback of a scheduled video over when a first service to which the user subscribes does not offer an option to the user to start playback of the video over from a beginning of the video (Liston, [0003]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are substantially similar to claim 11, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
5. Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hussain in view McCarthy further in view of Enoki (US 20180109539 A1)
Regarding claim(s) 24, the method of claim 1,
Hussain- McCarthy teach further comprising: updating the status to indicate the access code is active; and (McCarthy, [0149], [0160], [0168]-, [0170], [0180] and [0183] Teach a system integrate the sharing capability, enable user to track access and viewing of sharing content within the user interface. Then when the content is shared with that user, access to the content may be revoked at any time (e.g. by changing the DRM, removing access to the key, changing permissions, and the like). Further, if the sender of the content controls the protection feature, then the sender has complete lifetime control of any content they distribute or provide access to. [0195]- [0198] Document access reports may also be updated whenever the link is activated (e.g., ‘clicked’), and the access attributed to the user who was permissioned to use the document. Since access to content may be enabled and tracked through a URL link, the system may then limit distribution by de-permissioning a URL (which makes that URL inactive). Since the user doesn't know the URL, they can't obtain access if the URL is inactive. [examiner notes: the URL Link interprets to be the access code.])
Hussain- McCarthy do not teach updating the user interface option to indicate that the validity of the access code cannot be canceled.
Enoki however in the same field of computer networking teaches updating the user interface option to indicate that the validity of the access code cannot be canceled. (Enoki, [0150]- [0158] Teach preventing Premature Revocation: Instead of immediately killing an active URL or access session upon any background trigger, the system monitors a specific child memory segment. It ensures that as long as the resource server is actively delivering requested assets to an active window, the access code/token remains un-revoked. Revocation is explicitly "withheld" or prevented until specific completion or boundary criteria are met (such as closing the window or completing the specific resource loop). FIG.4; In step 406, the client device (211) determines whether anyone of the situations (a) to (c) is detected or not. If the determination is positive, the client device (211) proceeds to step 407. Meanwhile, if the determination is negative, the client device (211) proceeds back to step 405.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Hussain by incorporating the teachings of Enoki. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to invalidate an access token used in the web services. (Enoki, [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449