DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action responses to the Appeal Brief filed on 05/04/2026.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
The following grounds of rejection are not presented for review on appeal because they have been withdrawn by the examiner. The Non-Final Rejection dated 07/15/2025 and the Final Rejection dated 11/05/2025 are withdrawn in view of new ground of rejections.
Priority
Applicant's claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged. This application claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/614,734, filed on 12/26/2023.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 11, and 13-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument regarding Ryan does not teach or suggest "a first power connection interface at an upstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a first electrical connector electrically coupled to the source of electricity" as claimed in amended claim 1. The argument has been considered but moot in view of new ground of rejection (see rejection below)
Applicant further argues that that a person of ordinary skill would not have modified Ryan's apparatus as suggested by Examiner because the modification renders Ryan's apparatus unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, Ryan's stated advantage would be compromised, and a person of ordinary skill would not have modified Ryan's apparatus as suggested by the Examiner because Ryan teaches away from the proposed modification (see Appellant Brief pages 11-13).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ryan does not teach away from the proposed modification. In paragraph [0078], Ryan discloses “[t]his advantage is particularly enhanced when the input electrical plug and each output electrical socket are integrally formed with the housing, since the control apparatus can then be provided in a single integral unit which can readily easily be used for coupling an electrical load to an electrical power supply”. Ryan’s disclosure clearly indicated that when providing the integrated the input electrical plug and the electrical output socket with the unit, the unit “can readily easily be used for coupling an electrical load to an electrical power supply” without having to wiring a new input electrical plug and electrical output socket (if they are not installed) every time an appliance needs to make connection with the apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al., US Patent Publication 20070247134; hereinafter “Ryan” in view of Goss, US Patent Publication 20020185917; hereinafter “Goss”.
Regarding claim 1, Ryan discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-4) for controlling a supply of power (Power from Mains AC 3) to an electrical device (Appliance 4), the apparatus comprising:
an electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) configured to be disposed between a source of electricity (Mains AC 3) and an electrical subsystem of the electrical device (electrical subsystem of Appliance 4 uses electric from Mains AC 3), the electrical flow path configured to selectively provide a flow electricity from the source to the electrical subsystem based on a power switching message originating from a location remote from the electrical device [0093] [0097] (Switch 16 is controlled by the control apparatus 1 to control electric flowing from Main AC 10 to Appliance 4);
a communication interface (20) configured to receive the power switching message [0097];
memory for storing instructions ([0112] processor requires memory and program to operate);
a processor (19) connected to the memory [0112] and the communication interface (20), wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to control the flow of electricity through the electrical path based on the power switching message [0097];
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 8) defining an enclosable chamber that houses the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14), the communication interface (20), the memory [0112], and the processor (19);
a first power connection interface (22) at an upstream end (22 is at an input end of electric flow from Main AC to the appliance 4) of the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) configured to receive a first electrical connector (10) electrically coupled to the source of electricity (3); and
a second power connection interface (14) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path (14 is at an output end of electric flow from Main AC to the socket 14 for supplying power to appliance 4) configured to receive a second electrical connector (electrical connector that plug into socket 14) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (electrical subsystem of appliance 4).
Ryan discloses the second power connection on the housing. Ryan does not disclose the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber.
Goss discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for controlling a supply of power to an electrical device (Fig. 1, electrical power supply to powered device 18) having a first power connection interface (Fig. 1, 36) at an upstream end of an electrical flow path (from 41 to 18) configured to receive a first electrical connector (Fig. 1, 41) electrically coupled to a source of electricity (Fig. 1, 12); and
a second power connection interface (Fig. 1, 38) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path (Fig. 1, 18 is a power receive device) configured to receive a second electrical connector (Fig. 1, 10) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (Fig. 1, 18 subsystem of powered device 18);
the second power connection interface is housed within the enclosable chamber (Fig. 1, male end 10 of the power 32 is in an enclosable chamber of a housing), wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed (Fig. 6A, male end 10 of the power 32 is in the enclosable chamber of the housing sealed by a lockable box 102 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Ryan to incorporate the teachings of Goss and have the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed. Doing so would reduce auxiliary components such as sockets and cables and firmly integrate the connector into the adapter for supplying or allowing power into the loads and control the authorization of power flow into loads.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above, Ryan also discloses the communications interface includes a subscriber identification module (SIM) card for communicating over telecommunications networks ([0051] [0094] [0095] GSM need a SIM card), and wherein the power switching message is a text message [0051].
Regarding claim 8, Ryan discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-4) comprising:
an appliance (Appliance 4) comprising an electrical subsystem ([0092] appliances have electrical subsystem); and
a power control device (Fig. 1-4, 1) comprising:
an electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) disposed between a source of electricity (Mains AC 3) and the electrical subsystem (Appliance 4), wherein the electrical flow path is configured to selectively provide a flow electricity from the source to the electrical subsystem based on a power switching message originating from a location remote from the apparatus [0093] [0097] (Switch 16 is controlled by the control apparatus 1 to control electric flowing from Main AC 10 to Appliance 4);
a communication interface (20) configured to receive the power switching message [0092]-[0097];
memory for storing instructions ([0112] processor requires memory and program to operate); and
a processor (19) connected to the memory [0112] and the communication interface (20), wherein the processor configured to execute the instructions to control the flow of electricity through the electrical path based on the power switching message [0092]-[0097];
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 8) defining an enclosable chamber (Fig. 2, hollow interior region 9) that houses the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14), the communication interface (20), the memory [0112], and the processor (19);
a first power connection interface (22) at an upstream end (22 is at an input end of electric flow from Main AC to the appliance 4) of the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) configured to receive a first electrical connector (10) electrically coupled to the source of electricity (3); and
a second power connection interface (14) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a second electrical connector (14) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (4),
Goss discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for controlling a supply of power to an electrical device (Fig. 1, electrical power supply to powered device 18) having a first power connection interface (Fig. 1, 36) at an upstream end of an electrical flow path (from 41 to 18) configured to receive a first electrical connector (Fig. 1, 41) electrically coupled to a source of electricity (Fig. 1, 12); and
a second power connection interface (Fig. 1, 38) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path (Fig. 1, 18 is a power receive device) configured to receive a second electrical connector (Fig. 1, 10) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (Fig. 1, 18 subsystem of powered device 18);
the second power connection interface is housed within the enclosable chamber (Fig. 1, male end 10 of the power 32 is in an enclosable chamber of a housing), wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed (Fig. 6A, male end 10 of the power 32 is in the enclosable chamber of the housing sealed by a lockable box 102 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Ryan to incorporate the teachings of Goss and have the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed. Doing so would reduce auxiliary components such as sockets and cables and firmly integrate the connector into the adapter for supplying or allowing power into the loads and control the authorization of power flow into loads.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claim 8 above, Ryan also discloses the communications interface includes a subscriber identification module (SIM) card for communicating over telecommunications networks, and wherein the power switching message is a text message [0051].
Claim(s) 14-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. US Patent Publication 20060108417; hereinafter “Simon” in view of Ryan and further in view of Goss.
Regarding claim 14, Simon discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an appliance (Appliance 242) comprising an electrical subsystem (Appliance power supply 240);
a power control device (220) electrically coupled between the electrical subsystem of the appliance (Appliance power supply 240) and a source of electricity (120 VAC power source), the power control device configured to selectively provide a flow electricity from the source to the electrical subsystem based on receiving a power switching message originating from a location remote from the appliance [0010]; and
a processor ([0010] “in the event the payment control center 202 indicates that a payment is overdue” and other disclosures indicate a processor is required) in communication with the power control device via a network [0010], wherein the processor is configured to:
maintain a database comprising a customer payment status associated with the appliance [0010]; and
transmit a notification to a remote device (206) when the customer payment status is delinquent [0010].
Simon discloses a build-in power control device for appliances payment system. Simon does not disclose a separate housing for the power control device.
Ryan discloses a system having a housing with a separate power control device from an appliance comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 8) defining an enclosable chamber (Fig. 2, hollow interior region 9) that houses the power control device (Fig. 2, electrical components inside hollow interior region 9);
a first power connection interface (22) configured to receive a first electrical connector (10) electrically coupled to a source of electricity (3); and
a second power connection interface (14) configured to receive a second electrical connector (connector that plug in to the socket 14) electrically coupled to an electrical subsystem (electrical subsystem of appliance 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Simon to incorporate the teachings of Ryan and have an enclosure with a defining an enclosable chamber that houses the power control device;
a first power connection interface configured to receive a first electrical connector electrically coupled to the source of electricity; and
a second power connection interface configured to receive a second electrical connector electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem. Doing so would provide appliance payment system for appliances that do not have a build-in power control device for appliances payment system.
The combination of Simon and Ryan does not disclose the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed.
Goss discloses a system having a power control device comprising a second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber (Fig. 1, male end 10 of the power 32 is in an enclosable chamber of a housing), further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed (Fig. 6A, male end 10 of the power 32 is in the enclosable chamber of the housing sealed by a lock 112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified the combination of Simon and Ryan to incorporate the teachings of Goss and have the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed. Doing so would reduce auxiliary components such as sockets and cables and firmly integrate the connector into the adapter for supplying or allowing power into the loads and control the authorization of power flow into loads.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14 above, Simon also discloses the processor is configured to transmit the notification within a threshold period of time of the customer payment status becoming delinquent [0010] [0011] [0013] [0015].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14 above, Simon also discloses the processor is further configured to receive a message from the remote device instructing the server to transmit the power switching message to the power control device to terminate the flow of electricity to the appliance [0010].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 17, Simon also discloses the processor is further configured to transmit a second notification to the remote device when the customer payment status is no longer delinquent [0010].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 18, Simon also discloses processor is further configured to receive a second message from the remote device instructing the server to transmit a second power switching message to the power control device to commence the flow of electricity to the appliance [0010].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14, Simon also discloses the processor is further configured to transmit a second notification to the remote device in response to determining that an enclosable chamber of the power control device has been breached [0010] [0013].
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryan and Goss in view of Gilbert, US Patent Publication 20050013081; hereinafter “Gilbert”.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 8 above, Ryan also discloses the second power connection interface is configured to receive a male end of an electrical power cord of the electrical device (14 is a female to receive a male end of a power cord).
the combination of Ryan and Goss does not disclose the first power connection interface is a connector, and is configured to receive a female end of a C13 power cord. Gilbert discloses an apparatus having a first power connection interface (Fig. 8, 41 is configured to receive a female end of a C13 power cord (Fig. 8, 41 is a male connector that required a female end of a C13 power cord [0022]; art convention: male connector for receiving power and female connector for supplying power which related to safety to prevent electrical shock). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified the combination of Ryan and Goss to incorporate the teachings of Gilbert and provide the first power connection interface is configured to receive a female end of a C13 power cord. Doing so would allow simplifying assembly shipping process without a power cord attaching to the apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryan and Goss in view of Simon.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above, the combination of Ryan and Gilbert does not disclose the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the communications interface to transmit a notification in response to determining that the enclosable chamber has been breached. Simon discloses an apparatus having a processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the communications interface to transmit a notification in response to determining that the enclosable chamber has been breached [0010] [0013]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Ryan and Gilbert to incorporate the teachings of Simon and have the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the communications interface to transmit a notification in response to determining that the enclosable chamber has been breached. Doing so would avoid user bypassing the apparatus by tampering with the apparatus.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss in view of LEWIS et al., US Patent Publication 20080109334; hereinafter “LEWIS”.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14 above, Simon discloses providing some grace period prior to turn off the appliance [0015]. Simon does not explicitly disclose the threshold period of time is between 0 hours and 72 hours. LEWIS discloses providing a grace period between 0 hours and 72 hours [0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have modified Simon to incorporate the teachings of LEWIS and have the threshold period of time is between 0 hours and 72 hours. Doing so would provide user using an appliance for a short period of time while allow the user having some time to resolve a delinquent payment.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836