DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 08/13/2025 was considered.
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 10/15/2025 in which claims 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 13-14, 17 and 19 have been amended, claims 3, 5-6, 10, and 12 have been canceled and entered of record.
Figure 3A of the drawings and the Specification have been amended and enclosed with the Amendment. Based on the amended drawing, the objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Claims 17 and 19 have been amended herein to correct the insufficient antecedent basis in the claim. Based on the amended claims, the rejections under 35 U.S.C 112(b) second paragraph, are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-9, 11, and 13-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument regarding Ryan does not teach or suggest "a first power connection interface at an upstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a first electrical connector electrically coupled to the source of electricity" as claimed in amended claim 1 which was in original claim 3. The Examiner citing Ryan’s communication circuit 20 as Applicant’s first power connection is not analogous to Applicant's first power connection interface (Remarks pages 10-11). The cited reference designation 20 was a typographical error. It should be 10 as clearly shown in Fig. 2. As shown in claim 1, the Examiner already cited the reference designator 20 for the communication interface. Additionally, the Examiner clearly cited the electrical connector connected to the power source of electricity 3. Ordinary person in the art would realize the cited connector 20 is a typographical error which should be the reference designator 10 connected to power source of electricity 3 as shown in Fig. 2.
Applicant also argues that Ryan prefers “each output electrical socket are integrally formed with the housing, since the control apparatus can then be provided in a single integral unit which can readily easily be used for coupling a load to an electrical power supply." Ryan at [0078]. Therefore, the proposed modification unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Ryan teaches a control apparatus having an enclosure with integrated electrical socket on the enclosure that can be remotely control electrical power for appliances. Goss teaches a control apparatus having an enclosure with integrated electrical socket inside a locked box that can be remotely control electrical power for appliances. Wherein the locked box is to prevent unauthorize users. The examiner clearly provided the reason to combine. Applicant is reminded that, obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006). In this case, the modification does not alter the main function that the apparatus can be remotely control power to appliances.
In addition, Applicant has amended claim 1 to include the limitations of claims 3, 5 and 6. However, claim 3 is an independent of claim 1, claim 4 is an independent of claim 3, claim 5 is an independent of claim 4, and claim 6 is an independent of claim 5, since the limitations of claim 4 has not included in the amended independent claim 1, the scope of the amended independent claim 1 has been changed. Please see the rejections below.
Regarding independent claims 8 and 14, the responses are similar to the independent claim 1 above.
Regarding dependent claims, the claims were rejected due to the rejections of claims 1, 8 and 14
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “a second power connection interface configured to receive a second electrical connector electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem, wherein the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber” should be “a second power connection interface configured to receive a second electrical connector electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem, wherein the second power connection interface is housed within the enclosable chamber” (emphasis added). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, line 2 recites “an appliance comprising an electrical subsystem”. However, the newly amended feature in lines 13-14 recite “a housing defining an enclosable chamber that houses the electrical subsystem, power control device, and processor”. The disclosure discloses the electrical subsystem is belonging to the appliance [0005], not the power control device that including the housing. Therefore, there is no support for the limitation.
Regarding claims 15-20, the claims are rejected due to the rejection of claim 14 above.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, line 2 recites “an appliance comprising an electrical subsystem”. However, the newly amended feature in lines 13-14 recite “a housing defining an enclosable chamber that houses the electrical subsystem, power control device, and processor”. The disclosure discloses the electrical subsystem is belonging to the appliance [0005], not the power control device that including the housing. Therefore, it is unclear how the electrical subsystem of the appliance is inside the housing of the control device. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “a housing defining an enclosable chamber that houses the electrical subsystem, power control device, and processor” which excluding the “electrical subsystem”.
Regarding claims 15-20, the claims are rejected due to the rejection of claim 14 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryan et al., US Patent Publication 20070247134; hereinafter “Ryan” in view of Goss, US Patent Publication 20020185917; hereinafter “Goss”.
Regarding claim 1, Ryan discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-4) for controlling a supply of power (Mains AC 3) to an electrical device (Appliance 4), the apparatus comprising:
an electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) configured to be disposed between a source of electricity (Mains AC 3) and an electrical subsystem of the electrical device (electrical subsystem of Appliance 4 uses electric from Mains AC 3), the electrical flow path configured to selectively provide a flow electricity from the source to the electrical subsystem based on a power switching message originating from a location remote from the electrical device [0097];
a communication interface (20) configured to receive the power switching message [0097];
memory for storing instructions ([0112] processor requires memory and program to operate);
a processor (19) connected to the memory [0112] and the communication interface (20), wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to control the flow of electricity through the electrical path based on the power switching message [0097];
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 8) defining an enclosable chamber that houses the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14), the communication interface (20), the memory [0112], and the processor (19);
a first power connection interface (10) at an upstream end of the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) configured to receive a first electrical connector (10) electrically coupled to the source of electricity (3); and
a second power connection interface (14) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a second electrical connector (electrical connector that plug into socket 14) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (electrical subsystem of appliance 4).
Ryan discloses the second power connection on the housing. Ryan does not discloses the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber.
Goss discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for controlling a supply of power to an electrical device (Fig. 1, electrical power supply to powered device 18) having a first power connection interface (Fig. 1, 41) at an upstream end of an electrical flow path (Fig. 1, 12) configured to receive a first electrical connector (Fig. 1, 41) electrically coupled to a source of electricity (Fig. 1, 12); and
a second power connection interface (Fig. 1, 38) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a second electrical connector (Fig. 1, 18 is a power receive device) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (Fig. 1, 18 is a power receive device);
the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber (Fig. 1, male end 10 of the power 32 is in an enclosable chamber of a housing), further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed (Fig. 6A, male end 10 of the power 32 is in the enclosable chamber of the housing sealed by a lock 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Ryan to incorporate the teachings of Goss and have the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed. Doing so would prevent unauthorize access to the second power connection interface.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above, Ryan also discloses the communications interface includes a subscriber identification module (SIM) card for communicating over telecommunications networks, and wherein the power switching message is a text message [0051].
Regarding claim 8, Ryan discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1-4) comprising:
an appliance (Appliance 4) comprising an electrical subsystem [0092]; and
a power control device (Fig. 1-4, 1) comprising:
an electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) disposed between a source of electricity (Mains AC 3) and the electrical subsystem (Appliance 4), wherein the electrical flow path is configured to selectively provide a flow electricity from the source to the electrical subsystem based on a power switching message originating from a location remote from the apparatus [0097];
a communication interface (20) configured to receive the power switching message [0097];
memory for storing instructions ([0112] processor requires memory and program to operate); and
a processor (19) connected to the memory [0112] and the communication interface (20), wherein the processor configured to execute the instructions to control the flow of electricity through the electrical path based on the power switching message [0097];
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 8) defining an enclosable chamber (Fig. 2, hollow interior region 9) that houses the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14), the communication interface (20), the memory [0112], and the processor (19);
a first power connection interface (10) at an upstream end of the electrical flow path (from 17 to 14) configured to receive a first electrical connector (10) electrically coupled to the source of electricity (3); and
a second power connection interface (14) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a second electrical connector (14) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (4),
Ryan discloses the second power connection on the housing. Ryan does not discloses the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber.
Goss discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) for controlling a supply of power to an electrical device (Fig. 1, electrical power supply to powered device 18) having a first power connection interface (Fig. 1, 41) at an upstream end of an electrical flow path (Fig. 1, 12) configured to receive a first electrical connector (Fig. 1, 41) electrically coupled to a source of electricity (Fig. 1, 12); and
a second power connection interface (Fig. 1, 38) at a downstream end of the electrical flow path configured to receive a second electrical connector (Fig. 1, 18 is a power receive device) electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem of the electrical device (Fig. 1, 18 is a power receive device);
the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber (Fig. 1, male end 10 of the power 32 is in an enclosable chamber of a housing), further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed (Fig. 6A, male end 10 of the power 32 is in the enclosable chamber of the housing sealed by a lock 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Ryan to incorporate the teachings of Goss and have the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed. Doing so would prevent unauthorize access to the second power connection interface.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claim 8 above, Ryan also discloses the communications interface includes a subscriber identification module (SIM) card for communicating over telecommunications networks, and wherein the power switching message is a text message [0051].
Claim(s) 14-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon et al. US Patent Publication 20060108417; hereinafter “Simon” in view of Ryan and further in view of Goss.
Regarding claim 14, Simon discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an appliance (Appliance 242) comprising an electrical subsystem (Appliance power supply 240);
a power control device (220) electrically coupled between the electrical subsystem of the appliance (Appliance power supply 240) and a source of electricity (120 VAC power source), the power control device configured to selectively provide a flow electricity from the source to the electrical subsystem based on receiving a power switching message originating from a location remote from the appliance [0010]; and
a processor ([0010] “in the event the payment control center 202 indicates that a payment is overdue” and other disclosures indicate a processor is required) in communication with the power control device via a network ([0010] telephone network 250), wherein the processor is configured to:
maintain a database comprising a customer payment status associated with the appliance [0010]; and
transmit a notification to a remote device (206) when the customer payment status is delinquent [0010].
Simon discloses a build-in power control device for appliances payment system. Simon does not disclose a separate housing for the power control device.
Ryan discloses a system having a separate power control device for appliance comprising:
a housing (Fig. 2, housing 8) defining an enclosable chamber (Fig. 2, hollow interior region 9) that houses the electrical subsystem, power control device (Fig. 2, electrical components inside hollow interior region 9), and processor (Fig. 2, 19);
a first power connection interface (10) configured to receive a first electrical connector (10) electrically coupled to a source of electricity (3); and
a second power connection interface (14) configured to receive a second electrical connector (connector that plug in to the socket 14) electrically coupled to an electrical subsystem (electrical subsystem of appliance 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Simon to incorporate the teachings of Ryan and have an enclosure with a defining an enclosable chamber that houses the electrical subsystem, power control device, and processor;
a first power connection interface configured to receive a first electrical connector electrically coupled to the source of electricity; and
a second power connection interface configured to receive a second electrical connector electrically coupled to the electrical subsystem. Doing so would provide appliance payment system for appliances that do not have a build-in power control device for appliances payment system.
The combination of Simon and Ryan does not disclose the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed.
Goss discloses a system having a power control device comprising a second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber (Fig. 1, male end 10 of the power 32 is in an enclosable chamber of a housing), further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed (Fig. 6A, male end 10 of the power 32 is in the enclosable chamber of the housing sealed by a lock 112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Simon and Ryan to incorporate the teachings of Goss and have the second power connection is housed within the enclosable chamber, further wherein the enclosable chamber is configured to prevent the removal of the second electrical connector when the enclosable chamber is sealed. Doing so would prevent unauthorize access to the second power connection interface.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14 above, Simon also discloses the processor is configured to transmit the notification within a threshold period of time of the customer payment status becoming delinquent [0010] [0011] [0013] [0015].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14 above, Simon also discloses the processor is further configured to receive a message from the remote device instructing the server to transmit the power switching message to the power control device to terminate the flow of electricity to the appliance [0010].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 17, Simon also discloses the processor is further configured to transmit a second notification to the remote device when the customer payment status is no longer delinquent [0010].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 18, Simon also discloses processor is further configured to receive a second message from the remote device instructing the server to transmit a second power switching message to the power control device to commence the flow of electricity to the appliance [0010].
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14, Simon also discloses the processor is further configured to transmit a second notification to the remote device in response to determining that an enclosable chamber of the power control device has been breached [0010] [0013].
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryan and Goss in view of Gilbert, US Patent Publication 20050013081; hereinafter “Gilbert”.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claims 1 and 8 above, Ryan also discloses the first power connection interface is configured to receive a female end (Fig. 1, 10), further wherein the second power connection interface is configured to receive a male end of an electrical power cord of the electrical device (14 is a female to receive a male end of a power cord).
the combination of Ryan and Goss does not disclose the first power connection interface is configured to receive a female end of a C13 power cord. Gilbert discloses an apparatus a first power connection interface is configured to receive a female end of a C13 power cord (Fig. 8, 41 is a male connector that required a female end of a C13 power cord). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the combination of Ryan and Goss to incorporate the teachings of Gilbert and provide the first power connection interface is configured to receive a female end of a C13 power cord. Doing so would allow simplifying assembly shipping process without a power cord attaching to the apparatus.
Claim(s) 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Ryan and Goss in view of Simon.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the combination of Ryan and Goss discloses the apparatus of claim 1 above, the combination of Ryan and Gilbert does not disclose the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the communications interface to transmit a notification in response to determining that the enclosable chamber has been breached. Simon discloses an apparatus having a processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the communications interface to transmit a notification in response to determining that the enclosable chamber has been breached [0010] [0013]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Ryan and Gilbert to incorporate the teachings of Simon and have the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to cause the communications interface to transmit a notification in response to determining that the enclosable chamber has been breached. Doing so would avoid user bypassing the apparatus by tampering with the apparatus.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss in view of LEWIS et al., US Patent Publication 20080109334; hereinafter “LEWIS”.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Simon, Ryan and Goss discloses the system of claim 14 above, Simon discloses providing some grace period prior to turn off the appliance [0015]. Simon does not explicitly disclose the threshold period of time is between 0 hours and 72 hours. LEWIS discloses providing a grace period between 0 hours and 72 hours [0063]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Simon to incorporate the teachings of LEWIS and have the threshold period of time is between 0 hours and 72 hours. Doing so would provide user using an appliance for a short period of time while allow the user having some time to resolve a delinquent payment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836