Claim(s) 1-18 are pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested INFORMATION PROCESSING DEVICE AND INFORMATION PROCESSING METHOD FOR EXECUTING AIR CONDITIONING WITH AND WITHOUT INTERNAL COMBUSTION ENGINE
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20200398640 A1, hereinafter known as Chang) in view of Nakagawa (US 20140330453 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chang teaches An information processing device that controls a vehicle that executes a first mode and a second mode, the first mode being a mode in which an air conditioner is actuated by electric power of a battery, the second mode being a mode in which the air conditioner is actuated by electric power that is generated using dynamic power of an internal combustion engine, the information processing device comprising a processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
Para [0042] “The processor 240 is operative to perform the algorithm for active vehicle cabin occupant protection. According to an exemplary embodiment, the processor 240 is first operative to detect if a driver is in the vehicle. This detection may be made in response to a signal from the occupancy detector 205. If the driver is estimated to not be present, the processor 240 is then operative to determine if the engine of the vehicle is running. The vehicle run state may be determined in response to a signal or a query to the vehicle controller 210 or by determining the position of the vehicle ignition switch. For example, if the vehicle ignition switch is in the off or lock position, the processor 240 may assume that the engine is not running. The processor 240 may further detect the voltage output of the alternator to determine if the engine is running. The processor 240 may query a vehicle controller 210 to determine the run state of the vehicle.”
}
receive an actuation request for the climate control,
{Para [0006] “In accordance with an aspect of the present invention an apparatus is provided having a cabin temperature sensor for detecting a vehicle cabin temperature, a ventilation system having a fan and an outside air duct for introducing outside air into a vehicle cabin, an air conditioning system driven by a vehicle engine for cooling the vehicle cabin, and a processor for engaging the ventilation system in response to the vehicle cabin temperature exceeding a first threshold temperature and for engaging the air conditioning system in response to the vehicle cabin temperature exceeding a second threshold temperature wherein the second threshold temperature is greater than the first threshold temperature.”
}
determine whether a remaining amount of the battery is equal to or higher than a first threshold, in response to receiving the actuation request, determine whether a predetermined condition that is an execution condition for the second mode is satisfied, in response to determination is made that the remaining amount of the battery is less than the first threshold, and control the vehicle such that the second mode is executed, in response to determination is made that the predetermined condition is satisfied.
{ Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
The predetermined condition is the fuel level
}
Chang does not teach, receive an actuation request for the air conditioner by a remote operation,
However, Nakagawa teaches receive an actuation request for the air conditioner by a remote operation,
{Para [0067-0069] “First, the user operates the mobile terminal 300 to launch a pre-air-conditioning application so as to start the pre-air-conditioning. The pre-air-conditioning application is stored in advance in the non-volatile memory 307 of the mobile terminal 300. In the following description, the main control section 306 of the mobile terminal 300, which executes the pre-air-conditioning application program, is referred to simply as "mobile terminal 300".
When the pre-air-conditioning application is started, a pre-air-conditioning screen is displayed on the touch-panel type liquid crystal display 304. The user touches and operates a start button displayed on the pre-air-conditioning screen. In this manner, in Step S11, the mobile terminal 300 transmits a pre-air-conditioning start request to the server 210 of the vehicle information center 200. When performing the communication to/from the server 210, the mobile terminal 300 always transmits a mobile-terminal ID together. In Step S12, when receiving the pre-air-conditioning start request transmitted from the mobile terminal 300, the server 210 transmits a pre-air-conditioning start command to the DCM 150 of the vehicle 100 corresponding to the ID of the mobile terminal 300 (hereinafter referred to simply as "DCM 150").
When receiving the start command transmitted from the server 210, the DCM 150 starts the CAN communication system and the vehicle ECUs 110, and in addition, transmits an air-conditioning start command to the air-conditioning ECU 110a in Step S13. After performing pre-air-conditioning start processing in accordance with the air-conditioning start command, the air-conditioning ECU 110a transmits a start completion report to the DCM 150. In Step S14, based on the start completion report, the DCM 150 transmits a pre-air-conditioning start report to the server 210. Then, in Step S15, the server 210 transmits the pre-air-conditioning start report to the mobile terminal 300. In Step S16, when receiving the pre-air-conditioning start report, the mobile terminal 300 performs display indicating that the pre-air-conditioning has been started on a display screen of the touch-panel type liquid crystal display 304.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa to activate air conditioning using remote operation because as is known in the art it improves convenience. The car can be cooled before the user gets to it improving their comfort.
Regarding Claim 2, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 1. Chang further teaches wherein the processor is configured to send a command to a terminal, in case where determination is made that the predetermined condition is not satisfied is made, the command being a command to display a screen
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
Para [0057] “The exemplary system 400 may further include retractable sunshades and a luminance detector 430. The sunshade is deployed in response to the luminance level exceeding a luminance threshold value indicative of the vehicle being in direct sunlight. Internal cabin temperature can be greatly increased due to solar radiation being converted to heat from illuminated surfaces within the vehicle cabin. The exemplary system may further include an occupancy detector for detecting the absence or presence of a driver or another vehicle occupant such as a child or a pet. The processor 420 may initiate an algorithm for active vehicle cabin occupant protection in response to a detected occupant or in the absence of the driver. The transmitter 435 may be operative to transmit an alert to an emergency services provider in response to the vehicle cabin temperature exceeding the second threshold temperature. The transmitter 435 may be operative to transmit an alert to a driver via a mobile device or a key fob indicative of the state of the vehicle and/or the detection of an occupant.”
}
Nakagawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to send a command to a terminal, in case where determination is made that the predetermined condition is not satisfied is made, the command being a command to display a screen for selecting whether execution of the second mode is necessary, the terminal being a terminal that is used by a user of the vehicle.
{Para [0091] “When the notification condition is satisfied because the remaining battery level becomes lower than the set remaining level during the air-conditioning (S26: Yes) and the destination is set in the navigation device 140 (S102: Yes), the mobile terminal 300 displays a notification/selection screen G3 illustrated in FIG. 7. On the notification/selection screen G3, the guidance notification M1 "REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL IS DECREASING. YOU CAN STOP REMOTE AIR-CONDITIONING TO SAVE ELECTRICITY FOR TRAVEL TO DESTINATION." is displayed. Below the guidance notification M1, the state notification M2 indicating both the information regarding the vehicle state indicating the set temperature, the vehicle-interior temperature, and the remaining battery level, and information regarding travel assistance indicating the destination, the distance to the destination, and the remaining battery level (charging rate) necessary for the travel to the destination is displayed. The information notification regarding the travel assistance is displayed as, for example, "DESTINATION: ***, DISTANCE TO DESTINATION: 40 km, REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL NECESSARY FOR TRAVEL: 45%". As the information regarding the travel assistance, the values which are calculated at the time of execution of the set remaining level setting routine (FIG. 4) are used. Below the state notification M2, the stop selection button B1 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning, the continuation selection button B2 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning, an air-conditioning stop and charging start button B3 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "STOP AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING", and an air-conditioning continuation and charging start button B4 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "CONTINUE AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING" are displayed.”
Para [0157] “Moreover, in this embodiment, the system is applied to the plug-in vehicle including the battery which is chargeable by the external power supply. However, the remote control system for the pre-air-conditioning can also be applied to other vehicles, for example, a non-plug-in hybrid vehicle or a vehicle without a drive motor, which runs with an internal combustion engine alone. In this case, for example, a notification of information regarding a fuel amount may be made in place of the notification of the information regarding the remaining battery level. Specifically, a notification of information regarding a remaining amount of energy of an energy supply source for supplying energy required for a travel of the vehicle and energy required for pre-air-conditioning only needs to be made.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa to request that the user confirm whether they want to run the AC when energy is low because as discussed in para [0091] it helps ensure that the vehicle has sufficient range for an upcoming trip improving convenience.
Regarding Claim 3, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 2. Nakagawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the vehicle such that the second mode is executed, in case where a signal is received from the terminal, the signal indicating that the execution of the second mode is selected as necessary.
{Para [0091] “When the notification condition is satisfied because the remaining battery level becomes lower than the set remaining level during the air-conditioning (S26: Yes) and the destination is set in the navigation device 140 (S102: Yes), the mobile terminal 300 displays a notification/selection screen G3 illustrated in FIG. 7. On the notification/selection screen G3, the guidance notification M1 "REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL IS DECREASING. YOU CAN STOP REMOTE AIR-CONDITIONING TO SAVE ELECTRICITY FOR TRAVEL TO DESTINATION." is displayed. Below the guidance notification M1, the state notification M2 indicating both the information regarding the vehicle state indicating the set temperature, the vehicle-interior temperature, and the remaining battery level, and information regarding travel assistance indicating the destination, the distance to the destination, and the remaining battery level (charging rate) necessary for the travel to the destination is displayed. The information notification regarding the travel assistance is displayed as, for example, "DESTINATION: ***, DISTANCE TO DESTINATION: 40 km, REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL NECESSARY FOR TRAVEL: 45%". As the information regarding the travel assistance, the values which are calculated at the time of execution of the set remaining level setting routine (FIG. 4) are used. Below the state notification M2, the stop selection button B1 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning, the continuation selection button B2 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning, an air-conditioning stop and charging start button B3 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "STOP AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING", and an air-conditioning continuation and charging start button B4 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "CONTINUE AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING" are displayed.”
Para [0157] “Moreover, in this embodiment, the system is applied to the plug-in vehicle including the battery which is chargeable by the external power supply. However, the remote control system for the pre-air-conditioning can also be applied to other vehicles, for example, a non-plug-in hybrid vehicle or a vehicle without a drive motor, which runs with an internal combustion engine alone. In this case, for example, a notification of information regarding a fuel amount may be made in place of the notification of the information regarding the remaining battery level. Specifically, a notification of information regarding a remaining amount of energy of an energy supply source for supplying energy required for a travel of the vehicle and energy required for pre-air-conditioning only needs to be made.”
Para [0014] “One embodiment of the present invention is to be applied to the remote air-conditioning control system. When the remaining energy amount of the energy supply source for actuation of the air-conditioning device becomes lower than the set value or the travelable distance of the vehicle, which is calculated based on the remaining energy amount, becomes smaller than the set value, the user is informed of the information regarding the vehicle-interior temperature and the remaining energy amount. Along with the notification, the selection screen for allowing the user to select whether to continue or terminate the actuation of the air-conditioning device is displayed. Here, the energy supply source for actuation corresponds to, for example, an in-vehicle battery in the case of the air-conditioning device which is actuated by electric power of the in-vehicle battery and a fuel in the case of the air-conditioning device which is actuated by an engine output. The remaining energy amount corresponds to a remaining battery level (electric energy supply capacity) of the in-vehicle battery or a fuel amount.”
}
Regarding Claim 4, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 2. Chang further teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the vehicle such that the second mode is executed in a state where a predetermined restriction is imposed,
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
}
Nakagawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to control the vehicle such that the second mode is executed
{Para [0091] “When the notification condition is satisfied because the remaining battery level becomes lower than the set remaining level during the air-conditioning (S26: Yes) and the destination is set in the navigation device 140 (S102: Yes), the mobile terminal 300 displays a notification/selection screen G3 illustrated in FIG. 7. On the notification/selection screen G3, the guidance notification M1 "REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL IS DECREASING. YOU CAN STOP REMOTE AIR-CONDITIONING TO SAVE ELECTRICITY FOR TRAVEL TO DESTINATION." is displayed. Below the guidance notification M1, the state notification M2 indicating both the information regarding the vehicle state indicating the set temperature, the vehicle-interior temperature, and the remaining battery level, and information regarding travel assistance indicating the destination, the distance to the destination, and the remaining battery level (charging rate) necessary for the travel to the destination is displayed. The information notification regarding the travel assistance is displayed as, for example, "DESTINATION: ***, DISTANCE TO DESTINATION: 40 km, REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL NECESSARY FOR TRAVEL: 45%". As the information regarding the travel assistance, the values which are calculated at the time of execution of the set remaining level setting routine (FIG. 4) are used. Below the state notification M2, the stop selection button B1 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning, the continuation selection button B2 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning, an air-conditioning stop and charging start button B3 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "STOP AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING", and an air-conditioning continuation and charging start button B4 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "CONTINUE AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING" are displayed.”
Para [0157] “Moreover, in this embodiment, the system is applied to the plug-in vehicle including the battery which is chargeable by the external power supply. However, the remote control system for the pre-air-conditioning can also be applied to other vehicles, for example, a non-plug-in hybrid vehicle or a vehicle without a drive motor, which runs with an internal combustion engine alone. In this case, for example, a notification of information regarding a fuel amount may be made in place of the notification of the information regarding the remaining battery level. Specifically, a notification of information regarding a remaining amount of energy of an energy supply source for supplying energy required for a travel of the vehicle and energy required for pre-air-conditioning only needs to be made.”
Para [0014] “One embodiment of the present invention is to be applied to the remote air-conditioning control system. When the remaining energy amount of the energy supply source for actuation of the air-conditioning device becomes lower than the set value or the travelable distance of the vehicle, which is calculated based on the remaining energy amount, becomes smaller than the set value, the user is informed of the information regarding the vehicle-interior temperature and the remaining energy amount. Along with the notification, the selection screen for allowing the user to select whether to continue or terminate the actuation of the air-conditioning device is displayed. Here, the energy supply source for actuation corresponds to, for example, an in-vehicle battery in the case of the air-conditioning device which is actuated by electric power of the in-vehicle battery and a fuel in the case of the air-conditioning device which is actuated by an engine output. The remaining energy amount corresponds to a remaining battery level (electric energy supply capacity) of the in-vehicle battery or a fuel amount.”
}
Regarding Claim 5, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 4. Chang further teaches wherein the predetermined restriction includes restricting an actuation time of the internal combustion engine to equal to or shorter than a predetermined time.
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
}
Regarding Claim 6, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 4. Chang further teaches wherein the predetermined restriction includes restricting a load on the internal combustion engine to equal to or lower than a predetermined load.
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
Turning off the engine can be considered as a restricting a load on an internal combustion engine. If the engine is off no load can be placed on it. Cycling an engine can also be considered as restricting a load as the average load over the cycling is reduced.
}
Regarding Claim 7, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 1. Chang further teaches wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition that a remaining amount of fuel of the internal combustion engine is equal to or larger than a second threshold.
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
}
Regarding Claim 8, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 1. Chang further teaches wherein the predetermined condition includes a condition that a parking position of the vehicle does not fall under a predetermined area, the predetermined area being an area unsuitable for execution of the second mode.
{Para [0036] “Currently, there is no robust system to address the temperature increase within a vehicle 110 when all the windows are closed, the ventilation system is inactive and it is exposed to solar radiation 145 from the sun 135. The disclosed system and method are an active heat protection technology operative to prevent heat-stroke from occupants, such as infants and pets, left or forgotten in a vehicle 110. The system is operative to automatically control air temperature and air quality when an occupant is detected inside a vehicle. In this exemplary embodiment a driver parks a car either in an open space, such as a parking lot, or closed space, such as a garage, and the system is operative to determine if there is an occupant remaining in the vehicle 110. The system is then operative to automatically control sun shades, fans, and the air conditioner to control vehicle cabin temperature. In addition, the system may be operative to communicate with the driver, a networked service provider, such as OnStar, and/or local emergency services, such as the police, to provide an alert of the remaining vehicle occupant. If the car is in a closed space, the system may be operative to determine a CO level. If CO is detected inside the vehicle, the engine may be turned off and the networked service provider or emergency services are immediately contacted.”
}
Regarding Claim 9, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 8. Chang further teaches wherein the predetermined area includes at least one of an idling prohibition area and an indoor area.
{Para [0036] “Currently, there is no robust system to address the temperature increase within a vehicle 110 when all the windows are closed, the ventilation system is inactive and it is exposed to solar radiation 145 from the sun 135. The disclosed system and method are an active heat protection technology operative to prevent heat-stroke from occupants, such as infants and pets, left or forgotten in a vehicle 110. The system is operative to automatically control air temperature and air quality when an occupant is detected inside a vehicle. In this exemplary embodiment a driver parks a car either in an open space, such as a parking lot, or closed space, such as a garage, and the system is operative to determine if there is an occupant remaining in the vehicle 110. The system is then operative to automatically control sun shades, fans, and the air conditioner to control vehicle cabin temperature. In addition, the system may be operative to communicate with the driver, a networked service provider, such as OnStar, and/or local emergency services, such as the police, to provide an alert of the remaining vehicle occupant. If the car is in a closed space, the system may be operative to determine a CO level. If CO is detected inside the vehicle, the engine may be turned off and the networked service provider or emergency services are immediately contacted.”
}
Regarding claim 10, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 1 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 11, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 12, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 13, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 14, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 15, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 16, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 7 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 17, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 8 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 18, it recites A method having limitations similar to those of claim 9 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20200398640 A1, hereinafter known as Chang) in view of Nakagawa (US 20140330453 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Chang in view of Nakagawa teaches The information processing device according to claim 4. Chang further teaches wherein the processor is configured to send a command to a terminal, in case where determination is made that the predetermined condition is not satisfied is made, the command being a command to display a screen
{Para [0053] “When initiating a vehicle system, such as the HVAC fan or starting the engine to run the air conditioning, the method is operative to monitor the battery level and/or the gas level. If the battery voltage level drops lower than a threshold value, the vehicle may be operative to start the vehicle engine in order to recharge the battery. The vehicle may the stop the engine in response to the battery reaching a desired recharged level. The method may further be operative to monitor a fuel level when running the engine. If the fuel level drops below a threshold level, the estimated remaining run time may be transmitted to the driver and/or emergency services. In response to a low fuel level, the method may be operative to cycle, or periodically start and stop, the engine operation in order to extend the available cooling time.”
Para [0057] “The exemplary system 400 may further include retractable sunshades and a luminance detector 430. The sunshade is deployed in response to the luminance level exceeding a luminance threshold value indicative of the vehicle being in direct sunlight. Internal cabin temperature can be greatly increased due to solar radiation being converted to heat from illuminated surfaces within the vehicle cabin. The exemplary system may further include an occupancy detector for detecting the absence or presence of a driver or another vehicle occupant such as a child or a pet. The processor 420 may initiate an algorithm for active vehicle cabin occupant protection in response to a detected occupant or in the absence of the driver. The transmitter 435 may be operative to transmit an alert to an emergency services provider in response to the vehicle cabin temperature exceeding the second threshold temperature. The transmitter 435 may be operative to transmit an alert to a driver via a mobile device or a key fob indicative of the state of the vehicle and/or the detection of an occupant.”
}
Nakagawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to send a command to a terminal, in case where determination is made that the predetermined condition is not satisfied is made, the command being a command to display a screen for selecting whether execution of the second mode is necessary, the terminal being a terminal that is used by a user of the vehicle.
{Para [0091] “When the notification condition is satisfied because the remaining battery level becomes lower than the set remaining level during the air-conditioning (S26: Yes) and the destination is set in the navigation device 140 (S102: Yes), the mobile terminal 300 displays a notification/selection screen G3 illustrated in FIG. 7. On the notification/selection screen G3, the guidance notification M1 "REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL IS DECREASING. YOU CAN STOP REMOTE AIR-CONDITIONING TO SAVE ELECTRICITY FOR TRAVEL TO DESTINATION." is displayed. Below the guidance notification M1, the state notification M2 indicating both the information regarding the vehicle state indicating the set temperature, the vehicle-interior temperature, and the remaining battery level, and information regarding travel assistance indicating the destination, the distance to the destination, and the remaining battery level (charging rate) necessary for the travel to the destination is displayed. The information notification regarding the travel assistance is displayed as, for example, "DESTINATION: ***, DISTANCE TO DESTINATION: 40 km, REMAINING BATTERY LEVEL NECESSARY FOR TRAVEL: 45%". As the information regarding the travel assistance, the values which are calculated at the time of execution of the set remaining level setting routine (FIG. 4) are used. Below the state notification M2, the stop selection button B1 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning, the continuation selection button B2 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning, an air-conditioning stop and charging start button B3 for commanding the termination of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "STOP AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING", and an air-conditioning continuation and charging start button B4 for commanding the continuation of the air-conditioning and the start of battery charging with an indication "CONTINUE AIR-CONDITIONING AND START CHARGING" are displayed.”
Para [0157] “Moreover, in this embodiment, the system is applied to the plug-in vehicle including the battery which is chargeable by the external power supply. However, the remote control system for the pre-air-conditioning can also be applied to other vehicles, for example, a non-plug-in hybrid vehicle or a vehicle without a drive motor, which runs with an internal combustion engine alone. In this case, for example, a notification of information regarding a fuel amount may be made in place of the notification of the information regarding the remaining battery level. Specifically, a notification of information regarding a remaining amount of energy of an energy supply source for supplying energy required for a travel of the vehicle and energy required for pre-air-conditioning only needs to be made.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang to incorporate the teachings of Nakagawa to request that the user confirm whether they want to run the AC when energy is low because as discussed in para [0091] it helps ensure that the vehicle has sufficient range for an upcoming trip improving convenience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hadano et al (US 20220266795 A1) teaches in the abstract “An engine is prevented from being started by a remote operation in a case where an angle of inclination detected by an acceleration sensor is not within a predetermined angle range in a situation where a shift position is not set to a neutral position in a manual transmission.”.
/A.G.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JUSTIN S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668