CTNF 18/945,748 CTNF 93823 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is in response to the above application filed on 13 November 2024. Claims 1-3 are examined. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Drawings Figure 4 is objected to, in accordance with 37 CFR 1.84(l), because the weight, density, and darkness of all lines and letters (dashed lines, solid lines, and text within and outside of shaded areas) are not heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction (the figures as filed are blurry). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities : Regarding Claim 1: The recitation “nozzle opening toward the combustion chamber to the combustion chamber;” (l. 4) is believed to be in error for – nozzle opening toward the combustion chamber to the combustion chamber ; –. Regarding Claim 3: The recitation “the air flow path gradually increases from an upstream side toward a downstream side” (l. 3) is believed to be in error for – the air flow path gradually increases from an upstream side of the nozzle port toward a downstream side of the nozzle port –. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Samarasinghe 2023/0194090 . Regarding Claim 1 , Samarasinghe teaches a combustion nozzle 90, 124 that injects compressed air (C, in Fig. 3) and fuel (F, in Fig. 3) to be combusted into a combustion chamber 98 of a combustor 30 of a gas turbine 10, comprising ([0034]; Fig. 3): an air flow path 148 through which the compressed air C flows out from the combustion nozzle 90, 124 opening toward the combustion chamber 98 to the combustion chamber 30 ([0037]; Fig. 3); and a fuel flow path 122 through which the fuel F flows out to the air flow path 148 (seen in Fig. 3), the combustion nozzle 90, 124 is shaped to expand (via element 116, seen in Fig. 3) toward the combustion chamber 98 ([0037]; Fig. 3). Regarding Claim 2, Samarasinghe teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 1, and Samarasinghe further teaches the combustion nozzle 90, 124 has a nozzle port 116 that opens toward the combustion chamber 98 ([0037]; Fig. 3); and the nozzle port 116 is shaped to expand (seen in Fig. 3) toward the combustion chamber ([0037]; Fig. 3). Regarding Claim 3, Samarasinghe teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above for claim 2, and Samarasinghe further teaches the nozzle port 116 constitutes a part of the air flow path 148 (seen in Fig. 3); and the air flow path 148 gradually increases from an upstream side toward a downstream side (seen in Fig. 3. Airpath 148 connects to expanded outlet section 116, through which airflow C flows and enters combustion chamber. Fig. 3 shows the path extending through the nozzle port 116 from upstream to downstream side, as claimed.). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JACEK LISOWSKI whose telephone number is (408) 918-7635. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 10 am - 6 pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Phutthiwat Wongwian can be reached on (571) 270-5426. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov . Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JACEK LISOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/945,748 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741