DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 October 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blott et al. (US 20110213319 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Blott discloses a medical device system ("apparatus (1) for aspirating, irrigating, and/or cleansing wounds" [0449]; FIG. 1) comprising: a bag ("collection bag (not shown)" [0449]; FIG. 1) including a first opening (inlet of collection bag [0449]); a pad ("conformable wound dressing (2)" [0449]; FIG. 1) coupled to the bag proximate to the first opening ("a container that contains a cell or tissue component (12b) connected to the supply tube (7), and the outlet pipe (9) being connected via means for aspirate flow regulation, here a valve (16) and a fluid offtake tube (10) to waste, e.g. to a collection bag (not shown)" [0449]; FIG. 1); and a tube including a distal portion ("first tube (101) extending from the inlet pipe (46), and second tube (102) extending from the outlet pipe (47)" [0486]; FIG. 8a), wherein the distal portion is coupled to the pad ("points at which they pass through the backing layer, to run over the scaffold and/or wound bed" [0486]) and includes at least one opening ("orifices (103) and (104)" [0487]); wherein the tube is configured to provide negative pressure therapy to a wound site ("supplying optionally varying positive and/or negative pressure, which is optionally pulsed, to a wound bed and optionally tissue surrounding the wound" [0378]).
Regarding Claim 2, Blott discloses a pump assembly fluidically coupled to the tube, wherein the pump assembly applies negative pressure to the tube ("diaphragm pump (18), e.g. preferably a small portable diaphragm pump, acting on the fluid offtake tube (10) to apply a low negative pressure on the wound" [0449]; FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Blott discloses the pad is circular ("circular backing layer (42)" [0457]; FIG. 3a) and includes a central lumen, and wherein the central lumen aligns with the first opening ("central tunnel (50)" [0458]; FIG. 3a).
Regarding Claim 4, Blott discloses the distal portion of the tube extends circumferentially around the central lumen ("one layout of each of the pipes (101) and (102) as inlet pipe and outlet pipe manifolds is a spiral" [0489]; FIG. 8a).
Regarding Claim 5, Blott discloses the at least one opening of the tube includes a plurality of openings ("orifices (103) and (104) along the pipes (101) and (102)" [0487]; FIG. 8a), and wherein the plurality of openings face a direction towards the pad ([0488]; FIG. 8a).
Regarding Claim 6, Blott discloses a filter assembly coupled to the tube and configured to filter material received from the wound site ("macroscopic and/or microscopic filter for particulates including cell debris and micro-organisms" [0159]).
Regarding Claim 7, Blott discloses the pump assembly includes a pump ("diaphragm pump, acting on the fluid offtake tube (10) to apply a low negative pressure on the wound" [0449]) and a reservoir configured to receive material from a wound site (the volume within the "collection bag (not shown)" [0449]).
Regarding Claim 8, Blott discloses the pad includes a channel configured to receive the tube ("Through the sheet (111) pass the inlet pipe (46) and the outlet pipe (47)" [0493]), wherein the channel extends circumferentially around a central lumen of the pad ("Each extends in pipes (51) and (52) respectively through the tunnel (50) of the toroidal hollow body (48) and then radially in diametrically opposite directions under the body (48)" [0459]; FIG. 3a).
Regarding Claim 10, Blott discloses the pad includes a first layer of porous material ("backing layer (42)" [0492]; FIG. 9b) and a second layer of porous material ("wound filler (110)" [0492]), and wherein a portion of the tube is positioned between the first layer of porous material and the second layer of porous material (see FIG. 9b).
Regarding Claim 11, Blott discloses the pad includes an adhesive on a first side of the pad ("periphery of the wound-facing face of the backing layer may bear an adhesive film" [0108]), and wherein the adhesive extends across a first portion of the first side of the pad and not across a second portion of the first side of the pad ("periphery of the wound-facing face of the backing layer may bear an adhesive film" [0108]).
Regarding Claim 12, Blott discloses a wafer ("backing layer may have a flange or lip extending around the proximal face of the backing layer" [0109]), wherein a first side of the wafer is configured to couple the bag to the wafer ("suction outlet that passes through the flange or lip to communicate with the channel or conduit and may be connected to a device for applying a vacuum" [0121]), and wherein a second side of the wafer is configured to couple the pad to the wafer ("backing layer may be integral with or attached, for example by heat-sealing, to the flange or lip" [0121]).
Regarding Claim 13, Blott discloses the wafer includes a convex portion ("flange or lip is concave on its proximal face" [0121]), wherein the convex portion extends circumferentially around a central lumen of the wafer ("flange or lip extends around the periphery of the proximal face of the backing layer of the wound dressing" [0120]), and wherein the tube is positioned radially-outward, relative to a central longitudinal axis of the central lumen ("Each extends in pipes (51) and (52) respectively through the tunnel (50) of the toroidal hollow body (48) and then radially in diametrically opposite directions under the body (48)" [0459]), relative to the convex portion (see FIG. 9a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blott in view of Lattimore et al. (US 20110213287 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Blott fails to specify the pad includes a perforated portion configured to be removable from the pad. However, Lattimore teaches “a foam pad, which may be suitable for use in abdominal wound sites, and which may be sized in a dimensionally-independent manner” (Abstract) wherein the pad includes a perforated portion configured to be removable from the pad ("porous pad is perforated to allow removal of pad portions" [0011]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Blott to arrive at the claimed invention “to permit sizing of the pad in a dimensionally-independent manner to fit the wound site” ([0011]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blott in view of Heiser et al. (US 20120316538 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Blott fails to specify the bag includes a pocket and the pump assembly is positioned within the pocket. However, Heiser teaches “a negative pressure wound therapy (NPWT) system” ([0003]) wherein the bag includes a pocket and the pump assembly is positioned within the pocket ("housing 102 defines multiple interior compartments or cavities. In one of those cavities, a pump 252 may be integrated within the housing 102" [0066]; FIG. 12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Blott to arrive at the claimed invention to improve “convenience and, or ease of use by placing or storing the pump in a quieter or more travel-friendly location” ([0054]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blott in view of Subilski (US 20180043069 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Blott fails to specify the pad is C-shaped. However, Subilski teaches “a system and method for a modular external interface for a skin penetrating appliance” wherein the pad is C-shaped ("main body 516 with the slit 534 separated" [0039]; FIG. 13B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Blott to arrive at the claimed invention “to prevent wrinkling of the medical dressing where the main body 316, foam layer 326, and the subject's skin meet” ([0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781