DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plan view of the second and fourth sensor must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuno et al. (US 2022/0084898).
Regarding claim 1, Kazuno et al. (hereinafter Kazuno) teaches a method for manufacturing a plurality of electronic devices including a first electronic device and a second electronic device (while silent, it is well-known in the art to make more than one electronic device), the first electronic device 1 including a first sensor 3z that detects a first physical quantity [0020], a second sensor 5 that detects a second physical quantity different from the first physical quantity [0020], a first circuit board 2 that is electrically coupled to the first sensor 3z and the second sensor 5 (Fig. 3), and a first package that houses the first sensor 3z, the second sensor 5, and the first circuit board 2 (Fig. 3), the second electronic device including a third sensor 3z that detects the first physical quantity (Fig. 8) [0020], a fourth sensor 5 that detects the second physical quantity (Fig. 8) [0020], a second circuit board 2 that is electrically coupled to the third sensor 3z and the fourth sensor 5 (Fig. 8), and a second package that houses the third sensor 3z, the fourth sensor 5, and the second circuit board 2 (Fig. 9), the first package and the second package having the same size in plan view (Fig. 2), the first sensor 3z and the third sensor 3z having the same size in plan view (Fig. 2), the first circuit board 2 and the second circuit board 2 having the same size in plan view, the method comprising: mounting the first circuit board 2 on the first package (Fig. 6) [0050] and then mounting the second sensor 5 on the first circuit board 2 (Fig. 7); and mounting the fourth sensor 5 on the second package (on to reference numeral 9) [0080] and then mounting the second circuit board 2 on the fourth sensor 5 (Fig. 11).
Kazuno remains silent as to the second sensor 5 having a size smaller than a size of the fourth sensor 5 in plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary art in the skill to have use different sensors for the second and fourth sensor in order to measure the desired physical quantities at the desired accuracy. Electronic devices are well-known to have a plurality of sensors to measure a plurality of physical quantities. It is also well-known in the art that physical quantity sensors come in various shapes and sizes. The method of stacking the different elements in an electronic device is merely a rearrangement of parts that would not produce any unexpected results.
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to stack the elements in a configuration in which the sensors would be able to measure the appropriate physical quantities and fit within the desired packaging.
Regarding claim 2, Kazuno teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second circuit board 2 includes a plurality of bonding pads (B1, B2), and when the second circuit board 2 is mounted on the fourth sensor 5, the plurality of bonding pads overlap the fourth sensor 5 in plan view (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kazuno teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: bonding the first circuit board 2 and the second sensor 5 by using a first die attachment film [0054]; and bonding the fourth sensor 5 and the second circuit 2 board by using a second die attachment film [0054].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuno et al. (US 2022/0084898) in view of Kameta et al. (US 2018/0231405).
Regarding claim 3, Kazuno teaches the method according to claim 1, but remains silent as to wherein the second sensor includes a detection portion that is displaced according to the second physical quantity, and an anchor portion that supports the detection portion, and when the second sensor is mounted on the first circuit board, the anchor portion overlaps the first circuit board in plan view.
Kameta et al (hereinafter Kameta) teaches a physical quantity measurement device wherein the second sensor 43 includes a detection portion 424 that is displaced according to the second physical quantity (Figs. 5 and 6), and an anchor portion 421 that supports the detection portion 424, and when the second sensor 43 is mounted on the first circuit board [0046], the anchor portion overlaps the first circuit board in plan view (the anchor portion would clearly overlap the circuit board as it is mounted onto the first circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic devices of Kazuno to include the second sensors of Kameta as they are a well-known type of physical quantity sensor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852