DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2024 and 04/25/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A certified copy of application JP 2023-196026 was filed on 01/07/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
cash handling unit in claims 1 and 14.
acquisition unit in claim 11.
recognition unit in claim 14.
storage unit in claims 14 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 10665050) in view of Michiho (JP 5200388 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a cash handling apparatus with which a predetermined store and another store different from the predetermined store perform cash handling, the cash handling apparatus comprising (col. 2, line 62 to col. 3, line 9; Fig. 1 cash handling apparatus 100):
a cash handling unit configured to handle cash (col. 10, lines 17-50; Figs. 1, 8, 9, cash handling unit 110, includes an inlet 120, an outlet 122, a recognition unit 132, a storage unit 134, 136, a collection unit 140, and a transport unit 130.); and
a control unit configured to control the cash handling unit to perform cash handling including a depositing process of storing, into the cash handling apparatus, cash received from outside the apparatus, and a dispensing process of discharging cash stored in the cash handling apparatus to outside the cash handling apparatus (col. 13, lines 10-18; control unit 102; The control unit 102 controls components of the banknote handling unit 110, including coin feeding mechanism 153, the depositing transport unit 154, the recognition unit 156, the first diverter 158, the storing/feeding units 160, the dispensing transport unit 162, and the second diverter 164, which are included in the coin handling unit 150),
wherein the control unit determines whether a store that performs the cash handling is the predetermined store or the other store (col 14, lines 37-49; control unit has a store determination unit 102a that determines between first store and second store using a store ID read from IC tags attached to cassettes 60a and 60b).
Ito does not disclose “in a case where the store is the other store, the control unit restricts the dispensing process, based on a predetermined dispensing restriction”.
Michiho discloses a cash handling apparatus that can be jointly used by multiple stores that includes a control unit that identifies a store by a store ID number and restricts the dispensing process, based on a predetermined dispensing restriction (para. [0020], [0022]; the control unit identifies a store by a store ID card inserted in to the machine and implements restrictions based on withdrawal limit for a particular store).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito and incorporate the teachings in Michiho where the control unit restricts the dispensing process, based on a predetermined dispensing restriction in a case where the store is the other store to guarantee access to cash inventory for the predetermined store by avoiding the situation where the other store withdraws an excessive amount of cash, depleting the available inventory in the cash handling machine, before replenishment (Michiho: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Michiho further discloses what Ito lacks, specifically, the control unit accepts a dispensing restriction set for the other store by the predetermined store, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction (para. [0011]; dispensing condition set for each store is maintained in a table on memory in the cash handling device and the control units manages the contents of the table. This arrangement contemplates accepting dispensing restriction set for the other store).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and further incorporate the teachings in Michiho where the control unit accepts a dispensing restriction set for the other store by the predetermined store, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction to allow the predetermined store to manage the shared cash handling apparatus and provide flexibility in configuring dispensing restrictions according to the different operational needs of the other participating stores to achieve fairness in the distribution of the shared cash supply.
Regarding claim 3, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Michiho further discloses what Ito lacks, specifically, the control unit restricts a period in which the other store is allowed to perform the dispensing process (para. [0011], the control units set a daily withdrawal limit for each store, and the store is prevented from withdrawal until the next day when the daily limit resets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and further incorporate the teachings in Michiho where the control unit restricts a period in which the other store is allowed to perform the dispensing process to guarantee access to cash inventory for the predetermined store to avoid the situation where the other store withdraws an excessive amount of cash, depleting the available inventory in the cash handling machine, before replenishment (Michiho: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 9, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Michiho further discloses what Ito lacks, specifically, the dispensing restriction is set for each of a plurality of other stores, and the control unit identifies each of the other stores, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction corresponding to the other store that performs cash handling (para. [0011], [0020]-[0022]; the dispensing conditions set for each store, the daily dispensing limit for each denomination set for each store, and the number of bills of each denomination to be dispensed to each store are stored in memory and are used for restricting dispensing operations; the control unit identifies a store by a store ID card inserted in to the machine and implements restrictions based on withdrawal limit for a particular store).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and further incorporate the teachings in Michiho where the dispensing restriction is set for each of a plurality of other stores, and the control unit identifies each of the other stores, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction corresponding to the other store that performs cash handling to guarantee access to cash inventory for the predetermined store to avoid the situation where one or more of the other stores withdrawing an excessive amount of cash, thus depleting the available inventory in the cash handling machine for the predetermined or other stores, before replenishment (Michiho: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 10, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Michiho further discloses what Ito lacks, specifically, a memory that stores identification information for identifying each of the plurality of other stores and the dispensing restriction set for a corresponding one of the other stores so as to be associated with each other, wherein the control unit identifies the other store, based on the identification information, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction associated with the identification information (para. [0011], [0019]; memory 7 stores the store number of each store using the cash processing device, dispensing conditions set for each store, the daily dispensing limit for each denomination set for each store, and the number of bills of each denomination to be dispensed to each store are stored in memory and are used for restricting dispensing operations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and further incorporate the teachings in Michiho where a memory store identification information for identifying each of the plurality of other stores and the dispensing restriction set for a corresponding one of the other stores so as to be associated with each other, wherein the control unit identifies the other store, based on the identification information, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction associated with the identification information to guarantee access to cash inventory for the predetermined store to avoid the situation where one or more of the other stores withdrawing an excessive amount of cash, thus depleting the available inventory in the cash handling machine for the predetermined or other stores, before replenishment (Michiho: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Ito further discloses the predetermined store is a store that manages cash stored in the apparatus (col. 3, lines 18-34; Fig. 1, cash handling apparatus is installed in the predetermined store - store A; store B paying a fee for using the cash handling machine implies machine is managed by store A).
Regarding claim 13, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Ito further discloses the predetermined store is a store in which the cash handling apparatus is installed (col. 3, lines 18-34; Fig. 1, cash handling apparatus is installed in the predetermined store - store A).
Regarding claim 14, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Ito further discloses the cash handling unit includes: a recognition unit configured to recognize kinds of cash (col.11, lines 48-63; Fig. 9, recognition unit 132);
a first storage unit configured to store cash and feed out cash stored therein (col.11, lines 48-63; Fig. 9, first storage unit 134, 136); and
a second storage unit configured to store cash but not to feed out cash stored therein (col.11, line 64 to col. 12 line 7; Fig. 9, second storage unit with no feed out 140) , and
in the depositing process, the control unit stores cash in the first storage unit and the second storage unit for each kind, based on a result of recognition performed by the recognition unit (col.11, line 48 to col. 12 line 7).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 10665050) in view of Michiho (JP 5200388 B2), and in further view of Hitoshi et al. (JP 2005234792 A), hereinafter “Hitoshi”.
Regarding claim 4, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Ito in view of Michiho, does not disclose the control unit restricts the dispensing process by the other store such that the dispensing process can be performed after the depositing process has been performed by the other store.
Hitoshi discloses a deposit and withdrawal management device that includes a control unit restricts the dispensing process by the other store such that the dispensing process can be performed after the depositing process has been performed by the other store (para. [0031]; controller checks if desired withdrawal amount from store A exceeds the amount deposited by store A before dispensing. Effectively, this means a store cannot withdraw from the machine without performing a depositing process prior to requesting a withdrawal as deposit amount would be and less than withdraw amount).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and further incorporate the teachings in Hitoshi where the control unit restricts the dispensing process by the other store such that the dispensing process can be performed after the depositing process has been performed by the other store to ensure that stores contribute cash before consuming the shared cash inventory. This modification would have predictably promoted equitable use of the shared cash inventory while maintaining sufficient cash available for subsequent withdrawal operations by other stores (Michiho: para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ito, Michiho, and Hitoshi discloses all the limitations of claim 4. Hitoshi further discloses the control unit restricts a dispensing amount of cash that can be dispensed by the other store in the dispensing process, to a range in which the dispensing amount does not exceed a deposited amount of cash in the depositing process that has been performed by the other store (para. [0031]; controller restricts withdrawal when the desired withdrawal amount from store A exceeds the amount deposited by store A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito, Michiho, and Hitoshi and further incorporate the teachings in Hitoshi of restricting a dispensing amount of cash that can be dispensed by the other store in the dispensing process, to a range in which the dispensing amount does not exceed a deposited amount of cash in the depositing process that has been performed by the other store to improve the equitable use of the shared cash inventory by preventing excessive withdrawal, past a specific store’s deposit amount, thus preserving sufficient cash available for subsequent withdrawal operations by other stores (Michiho: para. [0004]).
Claims 6-7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 10665050) in view of Michiho (JP 5200388 B2), and in further view of Keiichi (JP 2019066923 A).
Regarding claim 6, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 1. However, Ito in view of Michiho, does not disclose the control unit restricts the dispensing process that can be performed by the other store, to a dispensing process based on a dispensing reservation made by the other store, in which denominations and a quantity for each denomination of cash to be dispensed are designated.
Keiichi discloses a cash handling device including a control unit 170 that restricts a dispensing process based on a dispensing reservation made by the other store, in which denominations and a quantity for each denomination of cash to be dispensed are designated (para. 0079], [0093]; Step 105, during reservation a user can set the transaction type, transaction amount, denomination and amount of cash to be withdrawn, and the date and time to execute the transaction by making input operations on the reservation menu screen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and incorporate the teaching of Keiichi of a control unit that restricts a dispensing process based on a dispensing reservation made by the other store, in which denominations and a quantity for each denomination of cash to be dispensed are designated to reduce the time required to perform dispensing transactions by obtaining desired denomination and amount for withdrawal in advance and performing counting and transportation to improve efficiency (Keiichi: para. [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ito, Michiho, and Keiichi discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Keiichi further discloses the control unit accepts change and deletion of the dispensing reservation by the predetermined store (para. [0087]; control unit accepts cancellation of a reserved transaction by an operator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito, Michiho and Keiichi and further incorporate the teaching of Keiichi of a control unit accepts change and deletion of the dispensing reservation by the predetermined store to improve functionality by returning funds held in relation to a reservation request thereby increasing the amount of available cash for other transactions (Keiichi: para. [0107]).
Regarding claim 15, Ito in view of Michiho discloses all the limitations of claim 14. Ito in view of Michiho does not disclose in a case where a dispensing reservation has been made by the other store, in which denominations and a quantity for each denomination of cash to be dispensed are designated, the control unit stores cash in the denominations designated in the dispensing reservation into the first storage unit and cash in other denominations into the second storage unit.
Keiichi discloses a cash handling device in a case where a dispensing reservation has been made by the other store, in which denominations and a quantity for each denomination of cash to be dispensed are designated, the control unit stores cash in the denominations designated in the dispensing reservation into the first storage unit and cash in other denominations into the second storage unit (para. [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho and incorporate the teaching of Keiichi where in a case a dispensing reservation has been made by the other store, in which denominations and a quantity for each denomination of cash to be dispensed are designated, the control unit stores cash in the denominations designated in the dispensing reservation into the first storage unit and cash in other denominations into the second storage unit to improve dispensing efficiency and speed by preparing the required denominations in advance so they are ready and available for pickup when the reserved time arrives (Keiichi: para. [0066]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 10665050) in view of Michiho (JP 5200388 B2), in view of Keiichi (JP 2019066923 A), and in further view of Akira (JP 2010086016 A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ito, Michiho, and Keiichi discloses all the limitations of claim 6. The combination of Ito, Michiho, and Keiichi does not disclose the control unit performing a process for a cash replenishment request, based on the denominations and the quantity for each denomination of cash reserved in the dispensing reservation.
Akira discloses an automated teller machine with a reservation acceptance means for accepting reservations, and a control unit performing a process for a cash replenishment request, based on the denominations and the quantity for each denomination of cash reserved in the dispensing reservation (para. [0023], [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito, Michiho, and Keiichi and further incorporate the teaching of Akira of performing a process for a cash replenishment request, based on the denominations and the quantity for each denomination of cash reserved in the dispensing reservation to improve system utilization by making sure the required denominations are present at the time of withdrawals and no cash shortage is encountered (Akira: para. [0048]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 10665050) in view of Michiho (JP 5200388 B2), and in further view of Mattison et al. (US 8229816), hereinafter “Mattison”.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ito and Michiho, discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Ito further discloses an acquisition unit configured to acquire, from an external device (col. 13, line. 58 to col. 14, line 4; Fig. 11, acquisition unit 105). However, the combination of Ito and Michiho does not disclose an acquisition unit configured to acquire, from an external device storing identification information for identifying each of the plurality of other stores and the dispensing restriction set for a corresponding one of the other stores so as to be associated with each other, the identification information and the dispensing restriction, wherein the control unit identifies the other store, based on the identification information, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction associated with the identification information.
Mattison discloses a remote accessible cash recycler (130) storing identification information for identifying each of the plurality of other stores and the dispensing restriction set for a corresponding one of the other stores so as to be associated with each other, the identification information and the dispensing restriction, wherein the control unit identifies the other store, based on the identification information, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction associated with the identification information (col. 11, line 61 to col. 12, line 7; col. 12, lines 46-67; Fig. 1, acquisition unit 131; the recycler settings that CADA Operations 250 can change include, but are not limited to, the maximum and target for each denomination, store and forward dollar limits, daily withdrawal limits, limits by job title, passwords, user edits, hours of operation, and recycler identification numbers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cash handling device of Ito in view of Michiho, and incorporate the teachings in Mattison of an acquisition unit configured to acquire, from an external device storing identification information for identifying each of the plurality of other stores and the dispensing restriction set for a corresponding one of the other stores so as to be associated with each other, the identification information and the dispensing restriction, wherein the control unit identifies the other store, based on the identification information, and restricts the dispensing process, based on the dispensing restriction associated with the identification information to improve the application of store specific dispensing restrictions and identification information by maintaining and updating settings from a central location rather than manually at each machine. It would also help to provide a backup mechanism to restore settings from a remote location in the event of a catastrophic failure of the cash handling machine (Mattison: col. 12, lines 46-67).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MACHIDA discloses a cash management system that restricts dispensing of cash based on predetermined rules set for each individual user of the device during an offline mode (para. [0045], [0162]-[0167]).
KEIICHI (JP 2019066923 A) also discloses a bill validator incorporates therein a plurality of types of sensors such as an image sensor such as an optical character recognition (OCR) or a magnetic sensor (para. [0026]).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655