DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 18-21, 24-28, 30, 33-35, 37, 40-43, 45 and 48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,173,996. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are directed to substantially the same structure of claims 1-27 with the omission of limitations like fragmenting rings which is an obvious matter of omission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20, 24-25, 33-34, 37, 40 and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al., hereafter Wilson, US Patent Publication No. 2012/0291654 in view of Treadway et al., hereafter Treadway, US Patent No. 8,904,936.
Regarding claim 18, Wilson discloses a modular warhead comprising: an outer warhead subassembly (assembly of 100, 300 inter alia) defining a core slot (cavity of 300 filled by 400), the outer warhead subassembly including: a warhead body (100); and a warhead high explosive (300) operative, when detonated, to drive fragments from the warhead body ([0026]); and a core subassembly (400, 200 inter alia) mounted in the core slot and including: a forward effector (200) in or on the core tube; and a core high explosive (400) disposed in the core slot and operative, when detonated, to drive the forward effector ([0027]); however, Wilson does not specifically disclose the core slot having a core tube formed of a non-explosive material. Nonetheless, Treadway teaches a barrier (shown in figures 4C and 4D for example) positioned in a core slot between a core explosive and an outer explosive and the barrier being non-explosive material.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Wilson to have a barrier similar to that as taught by Treadway with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a warhead with selectable effects with multiple explosive sections like Wilson and also prevent unintentional sympathetic detonation of the section which is not intended to be detonated similar to that as taught by Treadway in 9:39-12:10 for example.
Regarding claim 19, Wilson as modified by Treadway further discloses the warhead high explosive is tubular and radially surrounds the core slot (Wilson, figure 1 for example)
Regarding claim 20, Wilson as modified by Treadway further discloses an array of fragments or at least one preferentially fragmenting member radially surrounding the warhead high explosive (Wilson 100 as in [0026])
Regarding claim 24, Wilson as modified by Treadway further discloses the warhead is configured to detonate the core high explosive; the detonated core high explosive generates a detonation shock wave in the core tube to drive the forward effector; and the core tube shapes the detonation shock wave (Wilson discloses the core charge driving the forward effector in [0027] and, as modified by Treadway, the core charge is surrounded by a barrier which shapes or attenuates the detonation wave as taught in Treadway 10:39-60)
Regarding claim 25, Wilson as modified by Treadway further discloses the forward effector includes at least one of an explosively formed projectile, an anti-armor flyer, and a shaped charge jet (Wilson and Treadway, figure 4C-4D, both disclose a forward projecting fragmentation configuration; however, Treadway also considers a shaped charge configuration in figure 4E. Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Wilson to utilize a shaped charge forward end similar to that as taught by Treadway with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate penetration of a target as an obvious design choice based on desired effect as taught by Treadway in 11:46-58)
Regarding claim 33, Wilson discloses a munition (Abstract) comprising: a munition platform (figure 1 for example is broadly, yet reasonably a munition platform); and a modular warhead on the munition platform for flight therewith, the modular warhead including: an outer warhead (100 and 300 inter alia) subassembly defining a core slot (cavity inside of 300 containing 400), the outer warhead subassembly including: a warhead body (100); and a warhead high explosive (300) operative, when detonated, to drive fragments from the warhead body ([0026]); and a core subassembly (400 and 200 inter alia) mounted in the core slot and including: a forward effector (200) in or on the core tube; and a core high explosive (400) disposed in the core slot and operative, when detonated, to drive the forward effector ([0027]); however, Wilson does not specifically disclose the core slot having a core tube formed of a non-explosive material. Nonetheless, Treadway teaches a barrier (shown in figures 4C and 4D for example) positioned in a core slot between a core explosive and an outer explosive and the barrier being non-explosive material.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Wilson to have a barrier similar to that as taught by Treadway with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a warhead with selectable effects with multiple explosive sections like Wilson and also prevent unintentional sympathetic detonation of the section which is not intended to be detonated similar to that as taught by Treadway in 9:39-12:10 for example.
Regarding claim 34, Wilson discloses a modular warhead (figure 1 for example) comprising: a warhead body (100); a warhead high explosive (300) in the warhead body and operative, when detonated, to drive fragments from the warhead body ([0026]); a core slot interior of 300 containing 400 for example) in the warhead high explosive; and a forward effector system including: a core high explosive (400) in the core slot; and a forward effector located (200) at or proximate a front end of the detonation wave shaping wall; wherein the core high explosive is operative, when detonated, to generate a detonation shock wave that drives the forward effector ([0027]); however, Wilson does not specifically disclose the core slot having a tubular detonation wave shaping wall surrounding the core explosive and formed of a non-explosive material. Nonetheless, Treadway teaches a barrier (shown in figures 4C and 4D for example) positioned in a core slot between a core explosive and an outer explosive and the barrier being non-explosive material.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Wilson to have a barrier similar to that as taught by Treadway with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a warhead with selectable effects with multiple explosive sections like Wilson and also prevent unintentional sympathetic detonation of the section which is not intended to be detonated similar to that as taught by Treadway in 9:39-12:10 for example.
Wilson therefore discloses the core charge driving the forward effector in [0027] and, as modified by Treadway, the core charge is surrounded by a barrier which shapes or attenuates the detonation wave as taught in Treadway 10:39-60 and is operative to shape the detonation shock wave.
Regarding claim 37, Wilson as modified by Treadway further discloses an array of fragments or at least one preferentially fragmenting member radially surrounding the warhead high explosive. (Wilson 100 as in [0026])
Regarding claim 40, Wilson as modified by Treadway further discloses the forward effector includes at least one of an explosively formed projectile, an anti-armor flyer, and a shaped charge jet (Wilson and Treadway, figure 4C-4D, both disclose a forward projecting fragmentation configuration; however, Treadway also considers a shaped charge configuration in figure 4E. Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Wilson to utilize a shaped charge forward end similar to that as taught by Treadway with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitate penetration of a target as an obvious design choice based on desired effect as taught by Treadway in 11:46-58)
Regarding claim 48, Wilson discloses a munition (Abstract) comprising: a munition platform (figure 1 for example is broadly, yet reasonably a munition platform); and a modular warhead on the munition platform for flight therewith, the modular warhead including: a warhead body (100); a warhead high explosive (300) in the warhead body and operative, when detonated, to drive fragments from the warhead body ([0026]); a core slot (interior of 300 containing 400) in the warhead high explosive; and a forward effector system including: a core high explosive (400) in the core slot; and a forward effector located (200) at or proximate a front end of the detonation wave shaping wall; wherein the core high explosive is operative, when detonated, to generate a detonation shock wave that drives the forward effector ([0027]); however, Wilson does not specifically disclose the core slot having a tubular detonation wave shaping wall surrounding the core explosive and formed of a non-explosive material. Nonetheless, Treadway teaches a barrier (shown in figures 4C and 4D for example) positioned in a core slot between a core explosive and an outer explosive and the barrier being non-explosive material.
Thus it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Wilson to have a barrier similar to that as taught by Treadway with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a warhead with selectable effects with multiple explosive sections like Wilson and also prevent unintentional sympathetic detonation of the section which is not intended to be detonated similar to that as taught by Treadway in 9:39-12:10 for example.
Wilson therefore discloses the core charge driving the forward effector in [0027] and, as modified by Treadway, the core charge is surrounded by a barrier which shapes or attenuates the detonation wave as taught in Treadway 10:39-60 and is operative to shape the detonation shock wave.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 26-28, 30, 35, 41-43 and 45 are only rejected under the double patenting rejection above but would otherwise be objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and approval of a Terminal Disclaimer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided on form PTO-892.
/DERRICK R MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641