DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg., filed 08/24/2026, with respect to claims 8 & 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The respective rejections of 04/23/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/24/2026, with respect to claim 17, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 17, in response to applicants arguments that Nosaka (US 2020/0366273 A1) in view of Takamine (US 2017/0126204 A1) does not disclose “an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of the second series-arm resonator is smallest among electrode finger pitches of the IDT electrodes of any other series-arm resonators included in the second filter”, this is not persuasive. Takamine discloses, in figure 1, that the second series-arm resonator S2 of all other series-arm resonators S3, S1 has the smallest IDT wavelength among the series-arm resonators of the second filter (see Table 2). One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would recognize the direct correlation that exists between the IDT wavelength and the pitch associated with the resonators (i.e., IDT wavelength = 2 x Pitch). The series-arm resonator with the smallest IDT wavelength would also have the smallest pitch. Thus, an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of the second series-arm resonator is smallest among electrode finger pitches of the IDT electrodes of any other series-arm resonators included in the second filter is disclosed, as required by the invention as claimed.
Further, applicant's arguments, with respect to claim 17, fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka (US 2020/0366273 A1) in view of Nosaka (US 2021/0013871 A1), hereinafter Nos.
Regarding claim 1, Nosaka discloses, in figure 9 & 10, a multiplexer, comprising:
a first filter with a first pass band (Para [0072], “filter FLT21…has passband PB22”…approximately 1.428 GHz-1.462 GHz); and
a second filter with a second pass band on a higher frequency side than the first pass band (Para [0072], “FLT22…passband PB3”…approximately 1.476 GHz-1.55 GHz); wherein
the first filter and the second filter are coupled to a common terminal (FLT21 and FLT22 coupled to terminal T1);
the first filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (FLT21 includes series arm resonators sc1, s2), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided between the series-arm path and a ground (FLT21 includes parallel arm resonator p1 between the series arm path and ground);
a resonance band width of at least one of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the first filter is wider than the first pass band (table 5, resonance band width of series arm resonator sc1 is 43.6 MHz and s2a is 56.5 MHz, both wider than the first pass band);
a first series-arm resonator among the two or more series-arm resonators (sc1) included in the first filter is coupled closest to the common terminal among the two or more series-arm resonators and the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the first filter (resonator sc1 is coupled closest to terminal T1); and
an anti-resonant frequency of the first series-arm resonator is lower than a high frequency end (high frequency end of the second pass band is 1.55 GHz) of the second pass band (table 5, anti-resonant frequency of sc1 is 1.483 GHz), and is lowest among anti-resonant frequencies positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band among anti-resonant frequencies of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the first filter (table 5, anti-resonant frequency of s2 is 1.4865 GHz, which is positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band and higher than the anti-resonant frequency of sc1), but does not explicitly disclose the common terminal is the only input or output terminal that is coupled in common to the first filter and the second filter.
However, Nos discloses, in figure 8, the common terminal is the only input or output terminal that is coupled in common to the first filter and the second filter (common terminal P.sub.com is the only input or output terminal coupled in common to first filter FLT1 and second filter FLT2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the common terminal connection of Nos in the multiplexer of Nosaka, to achieve the benefit of implementing a duplexer capable of facilitating transmission/reception of signals in desired passbands to separate loads (Nos, Para [0055]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Nosaka in view of Nos disclose the multiplexer according to claim 1, and Nos continues to discloses, in figure 8 & 9, wherein
the second filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (FLT1 including resonator s11b, s12b), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and coupled between the series-arm path and a ground (FLT1 including parallel-arm resonators p12, p13, & p14 coupled between series-arm path and ground);
a resonance band width of at least one of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter is wider than the second pass band (table 1 discloses both series-arm resonators s11b, s12b with a resonance band width wider than the second pass band PB1);
a second series-arm resonator among the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter is coupled closest to the common terminal among the two or more series-arm resonators and the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the second filter (resonator s11b is coupled closest to the common terminal Pcom); and
a resonant frequency of the second series-arm resonator is higher than a high frequency end of the first pass band (table 1, resonant frequency of the resonator s11b is 881.8 MHz), and is highest among resonant frequencies positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band among resonant frequencies of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter (table 1, resonant frequency of the resonator s11b is higher than the resonant frequency of resonator s12b, both of which are positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band PB2).
Regarding claim 3, Nosaka in view of Nos disclose the multiplexer according to claim 1, and Nosaka continues to disclose, in figure 9 & 10, wherein a resonant frequency of the first series-arm resonator is higher than a low frequency end of the first pass band (table 5, resonant frequency of resonator sc1, 1.4394 GHz, is higher than a low frequency end, 1.428 GHz, of the first pass band).
Regarding claim 4, Nosaka in view of Nos disclose the multiplexer according to claim 1, and Nosaka continues to disclose, in figure 9 & 10, wherein the first series-arm resonator includes:
a first acoustic wave resonator (resonator s1); and
a first capacitor portion coupled to the first acoustic wave resonator in parallel (Para [0068], “capacitor Cs1 is connected in parallel with series arm resonator s1…series arm circuit sc1”).
Regarding claim 7, Nosaka in view of Nos disclose the multiplexer according to claim 1, and Nosaka continues to disclose, in figure 9 & 10, wherein
each of the acoustic wave resonators included in the first filter includes (resonators sc1 & s2):
a piezoelectric substrate (Para [0081], “When the elastic wave resonator is a SAW resonator…a piezoelectric substrate”):
an IDT electrode on the piezoelectric substrate (Para [0081], “an insulator or a dielectric body between interdigitated electrodes and a piezoelectric substrate and changing the thickness of the first adjustment film”);
a first dielectric film between the piezoelectric substrate and the IDT electrode or on the IDT electrode (Para [0081], “first adjustment film formed of an insulator or a dielectric body between interdigitated electrodes and a piezoelectric substrate and changing the thickness of the first adjustment film”); and
the first dielectric film (Para [0081], “the fractional bandwidth decreases with a larger thickness of the first adjustment film”) of the first series-arm resonator is thickest among the two or more series-arm resonators included in the first filter (table 5, the fractional bandwidth of first resonator sc1 is smaller than the fractional bandwidth of resonator s2).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka in view of Nos, as applied to claims 1-4 & 7 above, and further in view of Takeuchi (US 2022/0123717 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nosaka in view of Nos discloses the multiplexer according to claim 1, and Nosaka continues to disclose, in figure 9 & 10, wherein the acoustic wave resonator of the first series-arm resonator includes an IDT electrode (Para [0146], “when a SAW resonator is used as an elastic wave resonator, the elastic wave resonator has an IDT electrode composed of multiple electrode fingers formed on a piezoelectric substrate”), but fails to disclose the first series-arm resonator IDT electrode structure.
However, Takeuchi discloses, in figure 5A, 5B, & 5C, the IDT electrode includes a pair of comb-shaped electrodes each including a plurality of electrode fingers extending in a direction intersecting an acoustic wave propagation direction and being parallel to each other (Para [0083], “comb-shaped electrode 101a includes a plurality of electrode fingers 151a parallel or substantially parallel to each other…The electrode fingers 151a and 151b extend in a direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the propagation direction of surface acoustic waves (X-axis direction)”), and a busbar electrode coupling one ends of the plurality of electrode fingers (Para [0083], “comb-shaped electrode 101a includes a plurality of electrode fingers 151a parallel or substantially parallel to each other and a busbar electrode 161a connecting one-side ends of the electrode fingers 151a to each other. The comb-shaped electrode 101b includes a plurality of electrode fingers 151b parallel or substantially parallel to each other and a busbar electrode 161b connecting one-side ends of the electrode fingers 151b to each other”); and
when an electrode finger (152), among the plurality of electrode fingers, not coupled to any of the busbar electrodes of the pair of comb-shaped electrodes is a floating withdrawal electrode (Para [0087], “electrode fingers 152 define a floating withdrawal electrode in which the electrode fingers 152 are not coupled to either of the busbar electrodes 161a and 161b”), a second electrode finger (252 of figure 5b), among the plurality of electrode fingers, coupled to a same busbar electrode to which the electrode fingers on both sides of the second electrode finger are coupled is a polarity-inverted withdrawal electrode (Para [0095], “electrode fingers 252 define a polarity-inverting withdrawal electrode in which the electrode fingers 252 are coupled to the same busbar electrode as the electrode fingers on both sides with respect to each electrode finger 252 of all of the electrode fingers of a pair of the comb-shaped electrodes 201a and 201b”), and a third electrode finger (352 of figure 5C), among the plurality of electrode fingers, having a maximum electrode finger width equal to about twice or more an average electrode finger width of the electrode fingers excluding the third electrode finger is a filled-in withdrawal electrode (Para [0103], “electrode fingers 352 define a filled withdrawal electrode in which the electrode finger width of the electrode fingers 352 is twice or more the average electrode finger width of the electrode fingers except the electrode fingers 352, which is the widest electrode finger width in the IDT electrode of the acoustic wave resonator 301”), the IDT electrode of the first series-arm resonator includes any of the floating withdrawal electrode, the polarity-inverted withdrawal electrode, or the filled-in withdrawal electrode (Para [0105], “in the acoustic wave filter 1 according to the present preferred embodiment, the first withdrawal electrode included in the divided resonator 11A is one withdrawal electrode selected from a floating withdrawal electrode, a polarity-inverting withdrawal electrode, and a filled withdrawal electrode”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the withdrawal electrode of Takeuchi in the resonator of Nosaka and Nos, to achieve the benefit of adjusting the resonance and anti-resonance frequencies of the resonator in the filter to attain a sufficient degree of sharpness during the transition from both ends of the pass band to attenuation bands while also reducing ripples based on spurious signals caused outside the pass band (Takeuchi, Para [0111]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Nosaka, Nos, and Takeuchi disclose the multiplexer according to claim 5, and Takeuchi continues to disclose, in figure 3A, wherein each of the plurality of electrode fingers and the busbar electrode (Para [0046], “FIG. 3A illustrates an acoustic wave resonator 100 having a basic structure of the series arm resonators, parallel arm resonators, and divided resonators of the acoustic wave filter 1 or 2”) has a multilayer structure including an adhesion layer and a main electrode layer (Para [0049], “interdigital transducer (IDT) electrode 54 including the electrode fingers 150a and 150b and the busbar electrodes 160a and 160b has a layered structure of a fixing layer 540 and a main electrode layer 542”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka in view of Takamine.
Regarding claim 17, Nosaka discloses, in figures 9 & 10, a multiplexer, comprising:
a first filter with a first pass band (Para [0072], “filter FLT21…has passband PB22”…approximately 1.428 GHz-1.462 GHz); and
a second filter with a second pass band on a higher frequency side than the first pass band (Para [0072], “FLT22…passband PB3”…approximately 1.476 GHz-1.55 GHz); wherein
the first filter and the second filter are coupled to a common terminal (FLT21 and FLT22 coupled to terminal T1);
the first filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (FLT21 includes series arm resonators sc1, s2), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided between the series-arm path and a ground (FLT21 includes parallel arm resonator p1 between the series arm path and ground);
each of the acoustic wave resonators of the first filter and the second filter includes an interdigital transducer (IDT) electrode (Para [0146], “when a SAW resonator is used as an elastic wave resonator, the elastic wave resonator has an IDT electrode composed of multiple electrode fingers formed on a piezoelectric substrate”), but fails to disclose the second filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end, and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and coupled between the series-arm path and the ground; and
the electrode finger pitch configuration.
However, Takamine discloses, in figure 1, the second filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (series resonators S2, S1 coupling an input and output end), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and coupled between the series-arm path and the ground (parallel resonators P3, P21, P22, P1 coupled to series-arm path and ground);
an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of at least one of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter is smaller than an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of at least one of the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the second filter (table 2, IDT wavelength [directly related to the pitch, i.e., a smaller IDT wavelength results in a smaller pitch] of series resonator S2 is smaller than the IDT wavelength of parallel resonators P1-P3);
a second series-arm resonator among the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter is coupled closest to the common terminal among the two or more series-arm resonators and the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the second filter (series resonator S2 is coupled closest to the common terminal 5 among the two or more series resonators S2, S1); and
an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of the second series-arm resonator is smallest among electrode finger pitches of the IDT electrodes of any of the series-arm resonators included in the second filter (table 2, IDT wavelength of resonator S2 is smallest among IDT wavelengths of the series resonators S2, S1, S3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the electrode pitch configuration of Takamine in the multiplexer of Nosaka, to achieve the benefit of sharply defining the passband of the filter while effectively attenuating signals just outside the passband (Takamine, Para [0038]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nosaka in view of Takamine as applied to claims 17 above, and further in view of Takeuchi.
Regarding claim 18, Nosaka in view of Takamine disclose the multiplexer according to claim 17, but fail to disclose wherein each of the acoustic wave resonators of the first filter and the second filter has a plurality of electrode fingers and a busbar electrode that has a multilayer structure including an adhesion layer and a main electrode layer.
However, Takeuchi discloses, in figure 3A, wherein each of the acoustic wave resonators of the first filter and the second filter has a plurality of electrode fingers and a busbar electrode (Para [0046], “FIG. 3A illustrates an acoustic wave resonator 100 having a basic structure of the series arm resonators, parallel arm resonators, and divided resonators of the acoustic wave filter 1 or 2”) that has a multilayer structure including an adhesion layer and a main electrode layer (Para [0049], “interdigital transducer (IDT) electrode 54 including the electrode fingers 150a and 150b and the busbar electrodes 160a and 160b has a layered structure of a fixing layer 540 and a main electrode layer 542”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the multilayer structure of Takeuchi in the resonators of Nosaka and Takamine, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art [i.e., utilizing the typical structure of an acoustic wave resonator (Takeuchi, Para [0046])]. (KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415‐421, 82 USPQ2d 1385).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 are allowed.
Regarding claim 8, Nos discloses, in figure 8 & 9, a multiplexer, comprising:
a first filter with a first pass band (Para [0058], “filter FLT2 passes a signal in passband PB2”…814 to 849 MHz); and
a second filter with a second pass band on a higher frequency side than the first pass band (Para [0057], “filter FLT1 passes a signal in passband PB1”…859 to 894 MHz); wherein
the first filter and the second filter are coupled to a common terminal (FLT1 and FLT2 coupled to common terminal Pcom);
the second filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (FLT1 including resonator s11b, s12b), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and coupled between the series-arm path and a ground (FLT1 including parallel-arm resonators p12, p13, & p14 coupled between series-arm path and ground);
a resonance band width of at least one of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter is wider than the second pass band (table 1 discloses both series-arm resonators s11b, s12b with a resonance band width wider than the second pass band PB1; and
a second series-arm resonator among the two or more series-arm resonators included in the second filter is coupled closest to the common terminal among the two or more series-arm resonators and the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the second filter (resonator s11b is coupled closest to the common terminal Pcom).
However, none of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claim:
a resonant frequency of the second series-arm resonator is higher than a high frequency end of the first pass band, and is highest among resonant frequencies positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band among resonant frequencies of any other series-arm resonators included in the second filter.
Regarding claim 14, Nosaka discloses, in figures 9 & 10, a multiplexer, comprising:
a first filter with a first pass band (Para [0072], “filter FLT21…has passband PB22”…approximately 1.428 GHz-1.462 GHz); and
a second filter with a second pass band on a higher frequency side than the first pass band (Para [0072], “FLT22…passband PB3”…approximately 1.476 GHz-1.55 GHz); wherein
the first filter and the second filter are coupled to a common terminal (FLT21 and FLT22 coupled to terminal T1);
the first filter includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (FLT21 includes series arm resonators sc1, s2), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided between the series-arm path and a ground (FLT21 includes parallel arm resonator p1 between the series arm path and ground);
each of the acoustic wave resonators of the first filter and the second filter includes an interdigital transducer (IDT) electrode (Para [0146], “when a SAW resonator is used as an elastic wave resonator, the elastic wave resonator has an IDT electrode composed of multiple electrode fingers formed on a piezoelectric substrate”);
a first series-arm resonator among the two or more series-arm resonators (sc1) included in the first filter is coupled closest to the common terminal among the two or more series-arm resonators and the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the first filter (resonator sc1 is coupled closest to terminal T1); and
an anti-resonant frequency of the first series-arm resonator is lower than a high frequency end (high frequency end of the second pass band is 1.55 GHz) of the second pass band (table 5, anti-resonant frequency of sc1 is 1.483 GHz), and is lowest among anti-resonant frequencies positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band among anti-resonant frequencies of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the first filter (table 5, anti-resonant frequency of s2 is 1.4865 GHz, which is positioned on the higher frequency side than the first pass band and higher than the anti-resonant frequency of sc1).
Osada (US 2021/0273633 A1) discloses, in figure 14, the second filter (2) includes two or more series-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and provided in a series-arm path coupling an input end and an output end (second filter 2 includes two or more series-arm resonators S101-S105 coupling port 3 to port 5), and one or more parallel-arm resonators each including an acoustic wave resonator and coupled between the series-arm path and the ground (parallel arm resonators P101-P104 between the series-arm path and ground).
However, none of the prior art or combination thereof teaches or fairly suggests the following features in combination with the other limitations of the claim:
an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of at least one of the two or more series-arm resonators included in the first filter is smaller than an electrode finger pitch of the IDT electrode of at least one of the one or more parallel-arm resonators included in the second filter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taniguchi (US 2023/0020490 A1) [Figure 1. Discloses a multiplexer including a common terminal, first and second transmit filters, and a first receive filter connected to the common terminal and each including resonators. A resonator closest to the common terminal in the first receive filter is a series arm resonator, and a pitch ratio denoted by pS1(Rx1)/p(Tx2) is more than about 1 and less than or equal to about 1.035, where p(Tx2) denotes an electrode finger pitch of an IDT electrode in a resonator closest to the common terminal in the second transmit filter and pS1(Rx1) denotes an electrode finger pitch of an IDT electrode of the series arm resonator closest to the common terminal in the first receive filter].
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836