DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,212,575 to Kojima et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0033976 to Yin et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Kojima discloses (e.g., at least Figs. 1–4 and their descriptions) an electronic device, comprising: a first substrate (e.g., 14A); a second substrate (e.g., 14B) disposed opposite to the first substrate (Fig. 4, noting that the two substrates have similar structures, oriented at 90° with each other, col. 6, lines 54–68); a liquid crystal layer 42 disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 4); a plurality of first electrodes (e.g., 11A) disposed between the first substrate and the liquid crystal layer; a plurality of second electrodes (e.g., 11B) disposed between the second substrate and the liquid crystal layer; a first signal line (e.g., 12A) disposed between the first substrate and the liquid crystal layer, and electrically connected to one of the plurality of first electrodes (col. 4, lines 25–32); and a second signal line (e.g., 12B) disposed between the second substrate and the liquid crystal layer (Fig. 4), and electrically connected to one of the plurality of second electrodes (col. 4, lines 25–32).
Kojima teaches that signal lines 12A/12B are low-resistivity electrodes with a light-screening function (e.g., col. 4, lines 33–34), such as a metal material “applied with a reflection preventative treatment (e.g., col. 4, lines 54–64), but Kojima does not explicitly disclose that the first signal line and the second signal line comprise a blackened metal1.
Yin discloses a display device, and teaches that the function of a black matrix may be achieved using electrodes, where the electrodes include blackened metal layers (e.g., at least paragraphs [0004], [0011], [0041], and [0073]).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Kojima such that the signal lines 12A/12B which are described as having a light-screening function, are formed such that they comprise a blackened metal, as suggested by Yin as a suitable configuration for such light-screening electrodes, and in order to simplify manufacture by eliminating the need for a separate black matrix, as taught by Yin.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Yin, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0370105 to Hong et al.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Kojima and Yin would have rendered obvious a spacer structure (44 of Kojima) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate.
The combination of Kojima and Yin does not explicitly disclose wherein the first signal line and the second signal line are overlapped with the spacer structure, and in a cross-sectional view, a width of the first signal line and a width of the second signal line are greater than a width of the spacer structure.
Hong discloses a display, and teaches forming a spacer with a width less than that of a black matrix, at an intersection of the black matrix, in order to reduce light leakage when the spacer is misaligned (e.g., Figs. 2, 6, and 7 and paragraphs [0085]–[0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Kojima and Yin such that the first signal line and the second signal line are overlapped with the spacer structure, and in a cross-sectional view, a width of the first signal line and a width of the second signal line are greater than a width of the spacer structure, as suggested by Hong, in order to reduce light leakage when the spacer is misaligned (where the signal lines of Kojima are taught as light blocking, thus reasonably corresponding to the teachings of Hong regarding light blocking layers covering the spacer with a larger width at an intersection).
Claims 5–8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima and Yin, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0098127 to Higuchi et al.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Kojima and Yin does not explicitly disclose wherein the first signal line comprises a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, and a third conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is disposed between the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer, the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer comprise yttrium oxide (Y2O3) alloy.
Higuchi discloses an electronic device, and teaches a connecting electrode (similar to the claimed signal lines) that connects to an electrode (similar to the claimed electrodes), where the connecting electrode has a low resistance (similar to the corresponding signal lines 12A/B of Kojima which are taught as low resistance), and the connecting electrode may be formed of layers of metal including yttrium oxide and copper (e.g., paragraphs [0071] and [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the device of Kojima and Yin such that the first signal line comprises a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, and a third conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is disposed between the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer, the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer comprise yttrium oxide (Y2O3) alloy, as suggested by Higuchi as a suitable configuration for a low resistance connecting or signal line connected to an electrode (e.g., also MPEP §§ 2144.06–07).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kojima, Yin, and Higuchi would have rendered obvious wherein the second conductive layer comprises copper (Cu) (e.g., paragraphs [0071] and [0098] of Higuchi).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Kojima, Yin, and Higuchi would have rendered obvious wherein the second signal line comprises a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, and a third conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is disposed between the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer, the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer comprise yttrium oxide (Y2O3) alloy (e.g., paragraphs [0071] and [0098] of Higuchi, as discussed above with respect to Claim 5).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kojima, Yin, and Higuchi would have rendered obvious wherein the second conductive layer comprises copper (Cu) (e.g., paragraphs [0071] and [0098] of Higuchi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN CROCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871
1 Note that the term “blackened metal” does not appear to be a specific term of art; Applicant describes it as a “blackened metal with the light absorbing property resulted from a blackening treatment” (paragraph [0053] of Applicant’s specification), which will be the claim interpretation used.