DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of US 12,170,804 B2.
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-10 of US 11,770,573 B2.
Claims 1,6-11 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-8 of US 11,445,233 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, if allowed would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter. Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0313419 A1 to KIM et al.
As to claim 1, KIM discloses a video display device comprising: a tuner configured to receive a digital broadcast signal (see fig.1-2; page.4, ¶0082¶); first interface circuitry configured to communicate with an external device (see fig.2 and 3; page.4, ¶0076-¶0077, ¶0081-¶0082); second interface circuitry configured to communicate with a smart phone through a network (see fig.2 and 3; page.4, ¶0082 and fig.8; page.6,¶0107); a display configured to display a video (see fig.2-3; page.5,¶0086); a memory configured to store a program (see fig.2,el.160; page.5,¶0091); and a processor, when executing the program, configured to, when detecting information showing that the external device is connected to the first interface circuitry, or information showing that the external device connected to the first interface circuitry is turned on, control the second interface circuitry to communicate with the smart phone to start a cooperative operation with the external device (see fig.3; page.5,¶0097 and see fig.20, page.10,¶0166-0167).
As to claim 2, KIM further discloses wherein the first interface circuitry is a High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI) interface (fig.2-3, page.4,¶0081).
As to claim 3, KIM further discloses wherein the first interface circuitry is a USB interface (fig.2-3, page.4,¶0081).
As to claim 4, KIM further discloses wherein the first interface circuitry is a short-range wireless communication interface (fig.2-3, page.4,¶0082).
As to claim 5, KIM further discloses wherein the second interface circuitry is a wireless LAN interface (fig.2-3, page.4,¶0082).
As to claim 6, KIM further discloses wherein the information showing that the external device is connected to the video display device, or the information showing that the external device is turned on, which is detected by the processor by the communication via the first interface circuitry, includes at least a device ID information of the external device (see fig.3; page.5,¶0097).
As to claim 9, KIM further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from the smart phone via the second interface circuitry, an operation instruction accepted by the smart phone; and relay the operation instruction to the external device via the first interface circuitry(see fig.20, page.10,¶0166-0167).
As to claim 10, KIM further discloses wherein the cooperative operation with the external device starts by initiating an application software on the smart phone configured to accept a user operation for the external device (see fig.20, page.10,¶0166-0167).
As to claim 11, KIM discloses a cooperative control method for a video display device configured to connect an external device and a smart phone configured to remotely operate the external device (see fig.2 and 3; page.4, ¶0076-¶0077), the cooperative control method comprising: receiving a digital broadcast signal by a tuner(see fig.1-2; page.4, ¶0082); detecting, via first interface circuitry, information showing that the external device is connected to the video display device, or information showing that the external device connected to the video display device is turned on; and carrying out communication with the smart phone via second interface circuitry to start a cooperative operation with the external device (see fig.3;page.5,¶0097 & see fig.20, page.10,¶0166-0167).
As to claim 12, KIM further discloses receiving, from the smart phone via the second interface circuitry, an operation instruction accepted by the smart phone; and relaying the operation instruction to the external device via the first interface circuitry(see fig.20, page.10,¶0166-0167).
As to claim 13, KIM further discloses wherein the cooperative operation with the external device starts by initiating an application software on the smart phone configured to accept a user operation for the external device (see fig.20, page.10,¶0166-0167).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0313419 A1 to KIM et al in view of US 10,548,003 B2 to Lee et al.
As to claim 7, KIM fails explicitly discloses wherein the processor is further configured to refer to a relay table generated beforehand, and select the smart phone out of candidates of smart phones as registered in association with the external device detected as connected to the video display device in the relay table.
Lee discloses wherein the processor is further configured to refer to a relay table generated beforehand, and select the smart phone out of candidates of smart phones as registered in association with the external device detected as connected to the video display device in the relay table (see fig.15, col.18,ll.56- col.19,ll.7 and col.4,ll.18-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KIM with the teaching as taught by Lee in order to making it possible to automatically make a connection request to the external device without requiring user intervention.
As to claim 8, Lee further discloses wherein the relay table is generated according to a request from each of the candidates of the smart phones, wherein the relay table includes a candidate of an external device associated with a candidate of the smart phone of a request source, and wherein the candidate of the external device is configured to be connected to the video display device (see fig.15, col.18,ll.56- col.19,ll.7 and col.4,ll.18-20).
Conclusion
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424