DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-7 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 amended to recited “an overall thickness” of the front and rear support sections, however the dependent claims recite “the thickness” throughout. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Da Pra’ et al. (US 2007/0145794 A1)(hereinafter Da Pra’).
RE Claim 1: Da Pra’ discloses a bicycle seat tube (Fig 15) comprising:
a tube head (Fig 15)(see upper end near 16, 17, 18, 19);
a tube tail (Fig 15)(opposite lower end); and
a tube body (Fig 15) integrally connected between the tube head and the tube tail and having an annular cross-sectional shape (para 0139), the tube body extending along an axial direction and being divided in relation to the axial direction into a front support section, a rear support section opposite to the front support section, and two side support sections opposite to each other and integrally connected between the front support section and the rear support section (Fig 15, also para 0139),
wherein an overall thickness of the front support section is greater than an overall thickness of the rear support section (s’ greater than s).
RE Claim 2: Da Pra’ discloses the bicycle seat tube as claimed in claim 1, wherein the thickness of the front support section and the thickness of the rear support section both remain consistent along the axial direction (s on and s’ remain consistent in width over a portion of the axial)(as currently drafted, the claim does not require consistent thickness along an entire axial length).
*** IN AN ALTERNATIVE INTERPRETATION OF DA PRA’, THE FOLLOWING REJECTION IS MADE ***
RE Claim 1: Da Pra’ discloses a bicycle seat tube (Fig 14) comprising:
a tube head (Fig 15)(see upper end);
a tube tail (Fig 15)(opposite lower end); and
a tube body (Fig 15) integrally connected between the tube head and the tube tail and having an annular cross-sectional shape (para 0138), the tube body extending along an axial direction and being divided in relation to the axial direction into a front support section, a rear support section opposite to the front support section, and two side support sections opposite to each other and integrally connected between the front support section and the rear support section (Fig 15, also para 0138),
wherein an overall thickness of the front support section is greater than an overall thickness of the rear support section (s’ greater than s).
RE Claim 4: Da Pra’ discloses the bicycle seat tube as claimed in claim 1, wherein the thickness of the front support section and the thickness of the rear support section gradually decrease along the axial direction from the tube tail toward the tube head (along a portion of the length of the tube the sides decrease).
RE Claim 6: Da Pra’ discloses the bicycle seat tube as claimed in claim 1, wherein the thickness of the front support section and the thickness of the rear support section gradually decrease along the axial direction from the tube head toward the tube tail (along a portion of the length of the tube the sides increase).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not disclose, either alone or in combination, the details an axis of the tube head and an axis of the tube tail are eccentric relative to the axial direction, along with the remaining limitations of the claim. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Claim 8 allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not disclose, either alone or in combination, the details of T1 and T2 satisfy the relationship T1-T2 > 0.1 mm, along with the remaining limitations of the claim. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternatives designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various bike seats and bike seat mounts.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644