DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025, 11/13/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 11/13/2024. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
4. Examiner suggests the Assignee must submit the Terminal Disclaimer accordingly, in order to process of the application promptly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,933 as further detailed in the table below:
Instant Application
United States Patent No. 12,149,933
Claim 1. A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processor configured to:
receive a broadcast frame, wherein the broadcast frame includes per-service information, and
wherein the per-service information includes first service information for a first service and second service information for a second service;
receive a broadcast data frame for a service,
wherein the service is the first service associated with the first service information included in the broadcast frame; and
authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Claim 1, A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processor; and a transceiver, wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to:
receive a broadcast frame, wherein the broadcast frame includes per-service information and per-service origin authentication information,
wherein the per-service information includes first service information for a first service and second service information for a second service, and
wherein the per-service origin authentication information includes a first origin authentication information and a second origin authentication information; receive a broadcast data frame for a service,
wherein the service is the first service associated with the first service information included in the broadcast frame; and
use the first origin authentication information to authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8. A method comprising:
receiving a broadcast frame, wherein the broadcast frame includes per-service information, and
wherein the per-service information includes first service information for a first service and second service information for a second service;
receiving a broadcast data frame for a service, wherein the service is the first service associated with the first service information included in the broadcast frame; and
authenticating the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Claim 10. A method comprising:
receiving a broadcast frame, wherein the broadcast frame includes per-service information and per-service origin authentication information,
wherein the per-service information includes first service information for a first service and second service information for a second service, and
wherein the per-service origin authentication information includes first origin authentication information and second origin authentication information;
receiving a broadcast data frame for a service, wherein the service is the first service associated with the first service information included in the broadcast frame; and
using the first origin authentication information to authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claim 11
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 13
Claim 13
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et al (US 2020/0015043), hereinafter “Patil“, in view of Kim et al (US 2008/0159535), hereinafter “Kim“.
Regarding claim 1, Patil teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising:
a processor configured to (par [0007]):
receive a broadcast frame (par [0016]), wherein the broadcast frame includes per-service information (pars [0042-0044]), and wherein the per-service information includes first service information for a first service and second service information for a second service (pars [0081-0082] [0084-0085]);
receive a broadcast data frame for a service, wherein the service is the first service associated with the first service information included in the broadcast frame (fig. 13, par [0112]); and
Patil does not explicitly teach authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service (pars [0006] [0103] [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Patil to Kim, in order to improve of protecting a broadcast frame and authenticating the broadcast frame without delay between the devices and stations (as suggested by Kim in paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Patil and Kim teach the WTRU of claim 1, Patil further teaches wherein the WTRU includes a station (STA) (par [0006]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, the combination of Patil and Kim teach the WTRU of claims 1, 8, Patil further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: use the service indicated in the broadcast frame based on a successful authentication (pars [0083] [0085]).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, the combination of Patil and Kim teach the WTRU of claims 1, 8, Patil further teaches wherein the per-service information includes a service definition (pars [0084-0085]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, the combination of Patil and Kim teach the WTRU of claims 1, 8, Patil further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to send a request that indicates one or more services to be used by the WTRU (pars [0084-0086]), wherein the request that indicates the one or more services to be used by the WTRU includes one or more respective identifiers associated with one or more devices associated with transmission of the indicated one or more services (pars [0084-0086], [0181]).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the combination of Patil and Kim teach the WTRU of claims 1, 8, Patil further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to use the first service indicated in the broadcast frame (pars [0081-0082] [0179-0181]), and wherein the first service is used without a query being sent from the WTRU to an originating device that provides the first service (pars [0081-0082] [0179-0181]).
Regarding claim 8, Patil teaches a method comprising:
receiving a broadcast frame (par [0016]), wherein the broadcast frame includes per-service information (pars [0042-0044]), and wherein the per-service information includes first service information for a first service and second service information for a second service (pars [0081-0082] [0084-0085]);
receiving a broadcast data frame for a service, wherein the service is the first service associated with the first service information included in the broadcast frame (fig. 13, par [0112]); and
authenticating the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Patil does not explicitly teach authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches authenticate the broadcast data frame associated with the first service (pars [0006] [0103] [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Patil to Kim, in order to improve of protecting a broadcast frame and authenticating the broadcast frame without delay between the devices and stations (as suggested by Kim in paragraph [0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 3, 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 3 and 9, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first service information includes a first service identifier, a first content with a first restrictions indicator, a first human readable description, and a first URL, and wherein the second service information includes a second service identifier, a second content with a second restrictions indicator, a second human readable description, and a second URL as specified in the claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641